“(Mis)Understanding Photography” Photos about Photography

Aneta Grzeszykowska, “Untitled Film Still #3”, 2006, C-Print, 25 x 16,5 cm
Aneta Grzeszykowska, “Untitled Film Still #3”, 2006, C-Print, 25 x 16,5 cm | © Aneta Grzeszykowska, Courtesy Raster Gallery, Warschau

Whether as media images, commodities, documents or works of art – today photographs are omnipresent. The exhibition „(Mis)Understanding Photography“ of the Photographic Collection in the Museum Folkwang Essen showed how artists interpret the contradictory roles of this image medium.

“Is photography an object or an image, or is photography a kind of seeing?” asks New York artist Zoe Leonard in a 2013 interview. Not only have numerous theorists been zeroing in on the potentials and limits of this technical image medium. Practitioners have also time and again tried to sort out what photography is as such. What it means to them and how it is publically used and understood. How the misplaced belief in its objectivity can persist even today, although now not only forgers and counterfeiters, secret services and artists can manipulate photos, but anyone who has a digital camera. In other words just about anyone by now. “It even seems as though one sometimes understands more about it if one misunderstands it,” writes Florian Ebner, director of the Photographic Collection of the Museum Folkwang Essen and curator of the German Pavilion at the 2015 Venice Biennale, in the reader for the exhibition (Mis)Understanding Photography, which presented photos that analyse, comment on and parody the history and status of this medium from 14 june until 17 August 2014.

Trust in photography

Joachim Schmid, “Photogenetic Drafts #24”, 1990/1991, Bromsilbergelatine, 36,9 x 28 cm Joachim Schmid, “Photogenetic Drafts #24”, 1990/1991, Bromsilbergelatine, 36,9 x 28 cm | © Joachim Schmid Intention and context are not always as entertainingly accessible as in the audio-visual collage Photographers by Mishka Henner and David Oates: the cameras click unceasingly. Scenes from cinema films have been compiled into a photo movie and regale the viewer with clichés: the photographer, for the most part a man at the shutter – at the right place at the right time. Whether in war or during sex, he records everything. By contrast, Zoe Leonard has made up the biography of an African-American woman. Means and perspectives could not be further apart.

The exhibition’s starting point was the claim that: “art possesses a special feeling for our trust in photography just as for our erroneous ideas about it, for our phantasms and obsessions, so that it gives more expressive acuity to the popular and affective, the paradoxical and unfathomable, than any other study.”

To this end, works by 60 international artists of the past 50 years were grouped in five chapters. Topics were all about material and technique, rituals, pre- and afterimages, about the evidence of documents and the obsessions of collecting.

Jeff Guess, “Addressability”, 2011, Still image, individual Software (Java / Processing / OpenGL) Jeff Guess, “Addressability”, 2011, Still image, individual Software (Java / Processing / OpenGL) | © Jeff Guess

First and last images

Gilian Wearing, “Me as Arbus”, 2008, Bromsilbergelatine, 146 × 123 cm, On loan to the Frans Hals Museums, Haarlem Gilian Wearing, “Me as Arbus”, 2008, Bromsilbergelatine, 146 × 123 cm, On loan to the Frans Hals Museums, Haarlem | © Gilian Wearing, Courtesy Maureen Paley, London Sylvia Ballhause reminds us of just how ephemeral the pictures are. At first, her three-part, poetic print reminds one of a starry night sky, until one recognises the shadowy forms of buildings. The artist has in fact photographed one of the very first photographs: the badly-damaged Triptych by Louis Daguerre (1838/39) in Bavarian National Museum in Munich.

Since then, lending visibility to images taken with technical devices has lost none of its magic. But how, why, what for and with what they are taken has not only undergone technical change. Conceptual artist Hans Eijkelboom has chronicled an annual self-portrait from 1949 until 2009, combined with advertisements for cameras from each year.

Playful dismantling

Jojakim Cortis & Adrian Sonderegger, “Making Of ‚Rhein II‚ (by Andreas Gursky, 1999)”, 2012, from the series “Ikonen, ”C-Print, 120 x 80 cm Jojakim Cortis & Adrian Sonderegger, “Making Of ‚Rhein II‚ (by Andreas Gursky, 1999)”, 2012, from the series “Ikonen, ”C-Print, 120 x 80 cm | © Jojakim Cortis & Adrian Sonderegger Time and again, photographers run through the various parameters of analogue and digital technology. And they pick up on the ways in which the private and mass-medial availability of photos has changed. Richard Prince’s series are legendary: For Cowboys he photographed cigarette ads, for Girlfriends personal ads in biker magazines. In the 1980’s, Thomas Ruff’s objective and austere portraits broke with the conventions of the genre. Polish artist Zbigniew Libera parodies the documentary pretensions of press photos by positively reinterpreting traumatic media images. The photo of Che Guevara’s death now shows a laid-back smokers’ scene.

And even the hypes of the most contemporary photo art are disrespectfully dismantled: with its auction record of 3.1 million Euros, Rhein II by Andreas Gursky is one of the most expensive photographs ever. For their series Making Of, Jojakim Cortis and Adrian Sonderegger reconstructed it as a model. On the other hand, Wolfgang Tilmans installed his own early and more recent photos almost retrospectively as an exhibition within the exhibition. And in a computer animation, Jeff Guess had digital images decay into their pixels.

„(Mis)Understanding Photography“ Fotografien über Fotografie

Aneta Grzeszykowska, Standfoto, Ohne Titel #3, 2006, C-Print, 25 x 16,5 cm
Aneta Grzeszykowska, Standfoto, Ohne Titel #3, 2006, C-Print, 25 x 16,5 cm | © Aneta Grzeszykowska, Courtesy Raster Gallery, Warschau

Medienbild, Massenware, Dokument oder Kunstwerk – Fotografien sind heute allgegenwärtig. Die Fotografische Sammlung im Museum Folkwang Essen hat in der Ausstellung „(Mis)Understanding Photography“ gezeigt, wie Künstler die widersprüchlichen Rollen dieses Bild-Mediums aufgreifen.

„Ist Fotografie ein Objekt oder ein Bild? Oder ist Fotografie eine Art des Sehens?“, fragt die New Yorker Künstlerin Zoe Leonard in einem Interview von 2013. Nicht nur zahlreiche Theoretiker haben Möglichkeiten und Grenzen dieses technischen Bildmediums eingekreist. Auch Fotografen haben immer wieder zu klären versucht, was Fotografie überhaupt ist, was sie für sie selbst bedeutet und wie sie öffentlich benutzt und verstanden wird. Wie kann sich der Irrglaube an ihre Wahrhaftigkeit auch heute noch so hartnäckig halten, obwohl sie nun nicht mehr nur Fälscher, Geheimdienste und Künstler manipulieren können, sondern potenziell jeder, der eine digitale Kamera besitzt? „Es scheint gar, dass man manchmal mehr von ihr versteht, wenn man sie missversteht“, schreibt Florian Ebner, Leiter der Fotografischen Sammlung im Museum Folkwang Essen und Kurator des deutschen Pavillons der Venedig-Biennale 2015, im Reader zur Ausstellung (Mis)Understanding Photography, die vom 14. Juni bis 17. August 2014 Fotografien zeigte, die Geschichte und Status des Mediums analysieren, kommentieren und parodieren.

Vertrauen in die Fotografie

Joachim Schmid, „Fotogenetische Entwürfe #24“, 1990/1991, Bromsilbergelatine, 36,9 x 28 cm Joachim Schmid, „Fotogenetische Entwürfe #24“, 1990/1991, Bromsilbergelatine, 36,9 x 28 cm | © Joachim Schmid Nicht immer erschließen sich Intention und Kontext so unterhaltsam wie in der Bild-Sound-Collage Photographers von Mishka Henner und David Oates: Unaufhörlich klicken die Kameras. Szenen aus Kinofilmen sind zu einem Foto-Movie zusammengeschnitten und geben Klischees zum Besten: Der Fotograf, zumeist als Mann am Auslöser, hält alles fest: am entscheidenden Ort, zur richtigen Zeit, ob im Krieg oder beim Sex. Zoe Leonard dagegen hat die Bild-Biografie einer schwarzen Amerikanerin geschaffen. Mittel und Perspektiven könnten nicht gegensätzlicher sein.

Ausgangspunkt der Ausstellung war die These, „dass die Kunst für unser Vertrauen in die Fotografie ebenso wie für unsere irrigen Vorstellungen von ihr, für unsere Phantasmen und Obsessionen ein besonderes Sensorium besitzt, dass sie das Populäre und Affektive, das Paradoxe und Abgründige weitaus pointierter zum Ausdruck bringt als jede Studie“.

Dazu wurden Werke von 60 internationalen Künstlerinnen und Künstlern aus den letzten 50 Jahren in fünf Kapiteln gruppiert. Die Themen waren: Material und Technik, Rituale, Vor- und Nachbilder, die Evidenz von Dokumenten und Obsessionen des Sammelns.

Jeff Guess Addressability, 2011 Standbild aus der Internetarbeit Individualsoftware (Java / Processing / OpenGL) Jeff Guess Addressability, 2011 Standbild aus der Internetarbeit Individualsoftware (Java / Processing / OpenGL) | © Jeff Guess

Erste und letzte Bilder

Gilian Wearing, „Ich als Arbus“, 2008, Bromsilbergelatine, 146 × 123 cm, Leihgabe des Frans Hals Museums, Haarlem Gilian Wearing, „Ich als Arbus“, 2008, Bromsilbergelatine, 146 × 123 cm, Leihgabe des Frans Hals Museums, Haarlem | © Gilian Wearing, Courtesy Maureen Paley, London Wie vergänglich Bilder sind, daran erinnert Sylvia Ballhause. Bei ihrem dreiteiligen poetischen Druck denkt man zunächst an einen Sternenhimmel, bis man schemenhaft Gebäude erkennt. Tatsächlich hat die Künstlerin eine der ersten Fotografien fotografiert: das stark beschädigte Triptychon von Louis Daguerre (1838/39), das sich im Bayerischen Nationalmuseum in München befindet.

Das Sichtbarmachen der mit technischen Apparaten aufgenommenen Bilder hat seitdem nichts von seiner Magie verloren. Doch wie, warum, wofür und womit sie festgehalten werden, das hat sich nicht nur technisch bedingt gewandelt. Der Konzeptkünstler Hans Eijkelboom zeichnete von 1949 bis 2009 jährlich ein Selbstporträt auf, kombiniert mit jeweils aktueller Kamerawerbung.

Lustvolle Demontagen

Jojakim Cortis & Adrian Sonderegger, „Making Of ‚Rhein II‘ (by Andreas Gursky, 1999)“, 2012, aus der Serie „Ikonen, “C-Print, 120 x 80 cm Jojakim Cortis & Adrian Sonderegger, „Making Of ‚Rhein II‘ (by Andreas Gursky, 1999)“, 2012, aus der Serie „Ikonen, “C-Print, 120 x 80 cm | © Jojakim Cortis & Adrian Sonderegger Immer wieder spielen Fotografen die unterschiedlichen Parameter analoger und digitaler Technik durch. Und sie greifen auf, wie sich die private und massenmediale Verfügbarkeit von Fotos geändert hat. Legendär sind die Serien von Richard Prince. Für Cowboys lichtete er Zigarettenwerbungen ab, für Girlfriends Kontaktanzeigen in Biker-Zeitschriften. Thomas Ruffs sachlich-nüchterne Porträts brachen in den 1980er-Jahren mit den Konventionen des Genres. Den dokumentarischen Anspruch von Pressefotos parodiert der polnische Künstler Zbigniew Libera, indem er traumatisierende Medienbilder positiv umdeutet. Das Foto vom toten Che Guevara zeigt nun eine relaxte Raucherszene.

Und sogar Hypes jüngster Fotokunst wurden respektlos demontiert. Rhein II von Andreas Gursky gilt mit dem Auktionsrekord von 3,1 Millionen Euro als eine der teuersten Fotografien überhaupt. Für ihre Reihe Making Of haben Jojakim Cortis und Adrian Sonderegger das Bild als Modell nachgebaut. Wolfgang Tillmans wiederum installierte eigene frühe und neue Fotografien fast schon retrospektiv zu einer Ausstellung in der Ausstellung. Und Jeff Guess ließ in einer Computeranimation digitale Bilder in ihre Pixel zerfallen.