Georg Baselitz Rebellion by Standing Reality on Its Head

Special exhibition "Georg Baselitz: Nature as Motif"
Special exhibition "Georg Baselitz: Nature as Motif" | © Picture alliance

Painting motifs upside-down became his hallmark. Georg Baselitz is less concerned with the recognition factor of his technique and far more with depicting the world as he has experienced it: an upside-down world.

There are artists and writers who struggle with a theme throughout their lives, returning again and again to the same motifs and wrestling with that which eludes depiction. Many soon end up stagnating and become uninteresting. But those however, who continually take different perspectives, discover unconventional means and thereby illuminate their themes in new ways – these artists’ works never cease to ask interesting questions. Kafka was such a writer, Georg Baselitz is such a painter.

The process of painting as process of insight

The fact that Baselitz is not concerned with an interpretation of his subjects, but with the process of painting itself, can be seen in his works: his canvases appear unfinished by means of paint can edges, shoe prints and over-painting. Baselitz rejects clear-cut contours and cleanly-painted figures, since the foreground is taken up by the how and not the what. His first sculpture, which he presented in 1980 in Venice, was entitled Modell für eine Skulptur (Model for a Sculpture), half of which still remained un-carved in the wood block. The “how” enables us to follow the progress of the work and Baselitz’s thought process, which among other things leads to the insight that the “what” can be assertion pure and simple, and therefore absolutely must be called into question.

A German-German-German biography

Even as a child, Baselitz experienced the arbitrariness of such claims to truth. He was born into the Nazi dictatorship as Hans-Georg Kern on 23 January 1938, in Deutschbaselitz in Saxony. His parents were teachers – he remembers the schoolhouse where he lived with them: “A banner was stretched around the building with ‘Ein Volk, ein Reich, ein Führer’ (‘one people, one empire, one leader’) written on it.”

The next truth was presented to him in the form of GDR socialism. In 1956 he began studying art in East Berlin and concentrated on Picasso, but not the way his teachers intended. When after two semesters Baselitz submitted “his” Picassos of the war years in Paris, they saw only the decadence of the west. Baselitz was expelled from the academy on the grounds of “social immaturity” and continued studying in West Berlin.

But the West also confronted him with “truths.” Pollock and de Kooning were the new heroes, but however much they impressed Baselitz, he was not inclined to emulate them. Baselitz, for whom being a follower had a bad aftertaste, encountered the truths of this world with distrust. Someone that sceptical is compelled to find his own truth – and Baselitz, young and aggressive, set off in search of it. In 1961 he changed his name to Baselitz after his birthplace.
 

Rebellion without penalty

In 1962 he married Elke Kretzschmar and began to do something that “simply no one wanted at all,” he says. No recognition, not exactly a pleasant time, Die große Nacht im Eimer (A Big Night Down the Drain) had come. In 1963, the picture of a man masturbating was confiscated from the Galerie Werner und Katz in Berlin, as was the painting Nackter Mann (Naked Man) that shows a nude with an oversized, erect penis. Baselitz was prosecuted. He was forced to find another way of expressing his scepticism if he was to avoid getting into trouble with the state prosecutor’s office each and every time he rebelled. In 1969 he created his fracture paintings (Frakturbilder): figures he cut up into strips and put back together in displaced order. The irritating effect of madness ultimately led to his upside-down take on reality, which was to become his hallmark: in that same year he painted an upside-down motif for the first time – Der Wald auf dem Kopf (The Forest Upside-Down). Rebellion by turning reality upside-down, and it worked: formally, Baselitz overcame concrete meaning and thereby created his own, personal alternative to the ideologically charged debates over realism and abstraction. He turned reality on its head and thereby rendered it abstract – it was this idea that made him famous.

“Strangely upright”

Baselitz knew he was on the right track. Starting in 2005, he began to revise his work and at the same time to deepen it. He then sometimes paints “strangely upright”, as he puts it. He also now finally feels stable enough to quote the great American artists of Abstract Expressionism and squeezes his figures out of the paint tube onto the black canvas, Action Painting without splattering. Negative images arise with reversed brightness values and the black eagles that convey the depressing aura of an oil-tanker accident. On the occasion of his major retrospective exhibition at the Haus der Kunst in Munich, Baselitz, now 76, finds succinct words for his revisions of the past: he considers his works over and over again and understands that “it could all have been done differently.” And because Baselitz doesn’t stop at this insight, he goes and does things differently.
 

A survey of Baselitz’ work Back Then, In Between and Today – Damals, dazwischen und heute is offered by the exhibition of the same name in the Haus der Kunst, Munich, until 1 February 2015.

Georg Baselitz Aufstand durch Kopfstand

Sonderausstellung „Georg Baselitz: Das Naturmotiv“
Sonderausstellung „Georg Baselitz: Das Naturmotiv“ | © Picture alliance

Motive verkehrt herum zu malen wurde zu seinem Markenzeichen. Dabei geht es Georg Baselitz weniger um den Wiedererkennungseffekt als vielmehr darum, die Welt als die zu zeigen, die er erfahren hat: als eine verkehrte.

Es gibt Künstler und Schriftsteller, die sich ihr Leben lang an einem Thema abarbeiten, zu denselben Motiven zurückkehren und mit dem Nicht-Darstellbaren ringen. Manche treten dabei bald auf der Stelle und werden uninteressant. Aber die, die indessen immer andere Blickwinkel einnehmen, unkonventionelle Mittel finden und das Thema dadurch neu beleuchten, vermögen mit ihren Werken immer wieder interessante Fragen zu stellen. Kafka war ein solcher Schriftsteller, Georg Baselitz ist ein solcher Maler.

Der Malprozess als Erkenntnisprozess

Dass es Baselitz nicht um eine Interpretation der Gegenstände geht, sondern um den Malprozess, sieht man seinen Arbeiten an: Durch Farbtopfränder, Schuhabdrücke und Übermalungen wirken die Leinwände unfertig. Baselitz verweigert klare Umrisse und sauber ausgemalte Figuren, denn im Vordergrund steht das Wie, nicht das Was. Seine erste Plastik, die er 1980 in Venedig präsentierte, hieß Modell für eine Skulptur und steckte zur Hälfte noch im Block. Am Wie lässt sich der Arbeitsverlauf und Baselitz’ Denkprozess verfolgen, der unter anderem zu der Erkenntnis führt, dass das Was reine Behauptung sein kann und der Wahrheitsgehalt unbedingt angezweifelt werden muss.

Eine deutsch-deutsch-deutsche Biografie

Die Willkür solcher Wahrheitsbehauptungen hat Baselitz von klein auf erfahren. Am 23. Januar 1938 wird er als Hans-Georg Kern im sächsischen Deutschbaselitz in die Nazi-Diktatur hineingeboren. Seine Eltern sind Lehrer, er erinnert sich an das Schulhaus, in dem er mit ihnen wohnte: „Um das Gebäude war eine Banderole gespannt. Da stand drauf ‚Ein Volk, ein Reich, ein Führer‘“.

Die nächste Wahrheit präsentiert sich ihm in Form des DDR-Sozialismus. 1956 beginnt er ein Kunststudium in Ost-Berlin und setzt sich mit Picasso auseinander, aber nicht so, wie seine Lehrer sich das vorstellen. Als Baselitz nach zwei Semestern „seine“ Picassos aus den Pariser Kriegsjahren abliefert, sehen die Dozenten nur die Dekadenz des Westens. Wegen „gesellschaftspolitischer Unreife“ fliegt Baselitz von der Akademie und studiert in West-Berlin weiter.

Doch auch der Westen konfrontiert ihn mit Wahrheiten. Pollock und de Kooning heißen die neuen Helden, und so sehr sie Baselitz auch beeindrucken, so wenig fühlt er sich bereit, ihnen nachzueifern. Baselitz, für den Gefolgschaft einen schlechten Beigeschmack hat, begegnet den Wahrheiten dieser Welt mit Misstrauen. Wer so skeptisch ist, muss seine eigene Wahrheit finden – und Baselitz, jung und aggressiv, macht sich auf die Suche. 1961 benennt er sich nach seinem Geburtsort in Baselitz um.
 

Rebellion ohne Strafverfolgung

1962 heiratet er Elke Kretzschmar und fängt an, „etwas zu machen, was einfach keiner wollte“, wie er sagt. Keine Anerkennung, keine schöne Zeit, es kommt Die große Nacht im Eimer. Das Bild eines onanierenden Mannes wird 1963 aus der Berliner Galerie Werner und Katz beschlagnahmt, ebenso das Gemälde Nackter Mann, das einen Akt mit überdimensioniertem, erigiertem Glied zeigt. Baselitz wird angeklagt. Um sich nicht jedes Mal, wenn er rebelliert, Ärger mit der Staatsanwaltschaft einzuhandeln, muss er einen anderen Weg finden, seine Skepsis auszudrücken. 1969 schafft er seine Frakturbilder: Figuren, die er in Streifen zerlegt und versetzt wieder zusammenfügt. Der irritierende Effekt des Verrückten führt schließlich zum Verkehrten, das sein Markenzeichen werden soll: Im selben Jahr malt er mit Der Wald auf dem Kopf erstmals ein umgedrehtes Motiv. Aufstand durch Kopfstand. Es funktioniert: Baselitz überwindet formal die gegenständliche Bedeutung und schafft damit seine persönliche Alternative zum ideologisch aufgeladenen Streit zwischen Realismus und Abstraktion. Er stellt die Realität auf den Kopf und abstrahiert sie dadurch – diese Idee macht ihn berühmt.

„Sonderlich aufrecht“

Baselitz weiß, dass er auf dem richtigen Weg ist. Ab 2005 beginnt er, in Remix-Bildern sein Schaffen zu revidieren und gleichsam zu vertiefen. Manchmal malt er dann „sonderlich aufrecht“, sagt er. Auch fühlt er sich endlich stabil genug, die großen Amerikaner des abstrakten Expressionismus zu zitieren und drückt seine Figuren aus der Tube auf die schwarze Leinwand – Action Painting ohne Gespritze. Es entstehen die Negativ-Bilder mit umgekehrten Helligkeitswerten und die schwarzen Adler, die das Bedrückende einer Öltanker-Havarie vermitteln. Anlässlich der großen Werkschau im Haus der Kunst in München findet der 76-Jährige für seine Vergangenheitsrevisionen lapidare Worte: Immer wieder betrachte er sein Werk und erkenne, „man hätte alles auch ganz anders machen können“. Und weil Baselitz es nicht bei dieser Erkenntnis belässt, geht er hin und macht es anders.
 

Einen Überblick über Baselitz’ Werk Damals, dazwischen und heute gibt die gleichnamige Ausstellung im Münchner Haus der Kunst, die bis 1. Februar 2015 zu sehen ist.