Brilliant Dilletantes Shvantz 1979 – The Frankfurt Art Scene

The city Frankfurt am Main
The city Frankfurt am Main | Photo (detail): Colourbox

The fun of wrestling with their own limits and the unashamed pleasure of failure were characteristics of West Berlin’s Geniale Dilletanten (i.e., Brilliant Dilletantes). But the 1980s also left deep traces in the Frankfurt art scene.

The irreverent spirit of do-it-yourself, the fun of wrestling with their own limits and the unashamed pleasure of failure: all this could be found in West Berlin’s Geniale Dilletanten (i.e., Brilliant Dilletantes), but also in other German cities – for example, in Düsseldorf and Munich. The times left particularly deep traces in the Frankfurt art scene. But why, of all places, in the banking metropolis, the supposedly the most American city in Europe, “Mainhatten”?

Frankfurt and the beginnings of Shvantz

The cultural life of Frankfurt in the 1970s was strongly conservative; there were only a few cultural institutions. Almost all today’s significant cultural institutions are foundings of the 1980s: the museum embankment with the Museums for Architecture, Film and Design, the Schirn Kunsthalle and the Museum of Modern Art. The world-famous art academy, the Städel School, was then a respected but rather inaccessible place. It was precisely here that probably the most influential protagonist of the young scene did his studies: Walter E. Baumann. Under the title Shvantz, Baumann published small numbers of an artists’ magazine that he produced on the school’s photocopier, which dealt in essence with art and music in Frankfurt and beyond. In 1979 he organized the Shvantz Festival under the motto forget about ART – here is SHVANTZ!… and brought the Düsseldorf bands Der Plan and Mittagspause to a concert in the auditorium of the Academy of Arts. The festival attracted a good deal of attention even in the boring daily press and is today looked upon as a kind of initial spark: one year later Baumann again organized a concert, this time with the British noise and industrial music pioneers Throbbing Gristle, whose performance became legendary. The aggressive gig of the singer Genesis P. Orridge, the brute volume of the electronic music and a film showing a castration in close-up, permanently changed the Frankfurt art scene. From now on it was no longer about theory but about the direct implementation of ideas – immediately, concretely and flat-out. The snotty attitude that still shapes the work of later Frankfurt artists like Manfred Peckl, Anja Czioska and Thomas Zipp is an echo of this time.

From Minus Delta T to the Station Gallery

In the following years Baumann remained as an artist within the circle of the performance group Minus Delta T and grew into a permanent fixture of the Frankfurt art world. He organized festivals, published art magazines, founded in 1999 the Station Gallery for new art at the Mousonturm Artists’ House and wrote for the Frankfurter Rundschau the cult column Walters Wochenende (i.e., Walter’s Weekend), in which he commented on exhibitions, openings and concerts in his inimitably brash style. Baumann died in 2008 of a heart attack. It says a good deal about him and his position in the Frankfurt art world that the Art Association of the Montez Family, headed by the artist Mirek Macke, which Baumann never noticed in his columns, organized a memorial exhibition on the occasion of his death.

Children of the Dilletantes

Baumann’s direct successor as curator of the Station Gallery was Annette Gloser. An essential driving force of the Frankfurt off scene since the early 1990s, she has founded and run several art galleries that see themselves as “missing links” between established art and subculture. These art galleries have been experimental fields for young artists and interdisciplinary projects. Artcargobay, Gloser’s major project of the year 2012, continued the characteristic stylistic mixture of trash culture, music and art: as part of a pop music festival, Artcargobay was staged at the adjacent car park as an informal artists’ flea market and improvised performance art fair. Meanwhile, after the forced closure of their ancestral abode, Mirek Macke sent his Art Association of the Montez Family on a tour of Germany with the exhibition Wurzeln weit mehr Aufmerksamkeit widmen (i.e., Give Roots Far More Attention). Improvised and chaotic, the exhibition was primarily an avowal of solidarity with artists and with the art scene as the fertile ground for new talents and ideas. For this art and for the Art Association of the Montez Family, the city of Frankfurt will provide new spaces at the Honsell Bridge since early 2014. So the dilletante spirit lives on.
 
Starting 23 April 2015 in Minsk (Belarus) and following with a global tour, the exhibition Geniale Dilettanten (Brilliant Dilletantes) will present the most comprehensive survey of German subculture of the 1980’s to date. It can be seen in Munich’s Haus der Kunst from June–October 2015. Geniale Dilletanten is a touring exhibition by the Goethe-Institut.

Geniale Dilletanten Shvantz 1979 – Frankfurts Kunstszene

Frankfurt am Main
Frankfurt am Main | Foto (Ausschnitt): Colourbox

Der Spaß am Ringen mit den eigenen Grenzen und die unverhohlene Lust am Scheitern waren Merkmale der Genialen Dilletanten Westberlins. Doch auch in der Frankfurter Kunstszene haben die 1980er-Jahre bis heute tiefe Spuren hinterlassen.

Den respektlosen Geist des Do-it-Yourself, den Spaß am Ringen mit den eigenen Grenzen und die unverhohlene Lust am Scheitern – all das fand man bei den Genialen Dilletanten Westberlins, doch auch in anderen deutschen Städten, zum Beispiel in Düsseldorf und München. Besonders tiefe Spuren hat diese Zeit in der Kunstszene Frankfurts hinterlassen. Aber warum ausgerechnet in der Bankenmetropole, der angeblich amerikanischsten Stadt Europas, „Mainhattan“?

Frankfurt und der Beginn von Shvantz

In den 1970er-Jahren war das kulturelle Leben Frankfurts stark konservativ geprägt, es gab nur wenige Kulturinstitutionen. Fast alle heute wesentlichen kulturellen Einrichtungen sind Gründungen der 1980er-Jahre: das Museumsufer mit den Museen für Architektur, Film und Design, die Kunsthalle Schirn, das Museum für Moderne Kunst. Die weltweit bekannte Kunstakademie Städelschule war bis dato ein angesehener, aber eher unzugänglicher Ort. Genau hier studierte der wohl einflussreichste Protagonist der jungen Szene: Walter E. Baumann. Unter dem Titel Shvantz gab Baumann eine von ihm auf dem Kopiergerät erstellte Künstlerzeitschrift in kleiner Auflage heraus, die sich im Wesentlichen mit Kunst und Musik in Frankfurt und darüber hinaus beschäftigte. Er organisierte 1979 das Shvantz-Festival unter dem Motto forget about ART – here is SHVANTZ!… und holte dafür die Düsseldorfer Bands Der Plan und Mittagspause zu einem Konzert in die Aula der Kunstakademie. Das Festival sorgte selbst in der drögen Tagespresse für Aufmerksamkeit und wird heute als eine Art Initialzündung angesehen: Im Jahr darauf veranstaltete Baumann wieder ein Konzert, diesmal mit den britischen Noise- und Industrial-Pionieren Throbbing Gristle, deren Auftritt legendär wurde. Die aggressive Performance des Sängers Genesis P. Orridge, die brachiale Lautstärke der elektronischen Musik und ein Film, der in Großaufnahme eine Kastration zeigte, veränderten die Frankfurter Kunstszene nachhaltig. Ab jetzt ging es nicht mehr um Theorie, sondern um die direkte Umsetzung von Ideen – sofort, konkret und mit aller Macht. Die rotzige Attitüde, die das Werk späterer Frankfurter Künstler wie Manfred Peckl, Anja Czioska oder Thomas Zipp bis heute prägte, ist auch ein Nachhall dieser Zeit.

Von Minus Delta T zur Galerie Station

In den folgenden Jahren blieb Baumann als Künstler im Umfeld der Performancegruppe Minus Delta T aktiv und wuchs zu einer festen Größe der Frankfurter Kunstwelt heran. Er organisierte Festivals, gab Kunstzeitschriften heraus, gründete 1999 im Künstlerhaus Mousonturm die Galerie Station für junge Kunst und schrieb für die Frankfurter Rundschau die Kult-Kolumne Walters Wochenende, in der er Ausstellungen, Eröffnungen und Konzerte auf seine eigene schnoddrige Weise kommentierte. Baumann starb im Jahr 2008 an den Folgen eines Herzinfarkts. Es sagt einiges über ihn und seine Stellung in der Frankfurter Kunstwelt, dass ausgerechnet der von dem Künstler Mirek Macke organisierte Kunstverein Familie Montez, den Baumann in seiner Kolumne nie berücksichtigte, anlässlich des Todes von Baumann eine Gedächtnisausstellung organisierte.

Dilletanten-Kinder

Baumanns direkte Nachfolgerin auf dem Kuratorposten der Galerie Station war Annette Gloser. Seit den frühen 1990er-Jahren wesentlicher Motor der Frankfurter Off-Szene, gründete und betrieb sie mehrere Künstlergalerien, die sich als „missing link“ zwischen etablierter Kunst und Subkultur verstanden. Diese Galerien waren Experimentierfelder für junge Künstler und interdisziplinäre Projekte. Auch Artcargobay, Glosers Großprojekt im Jahr 2012, setzte diesen charakteristischen Stilmix aus Trashkultur, Musik und Kunst fort: An ein Popmusik-Festival gegliedert, wurde Artcargobay als informeller Künstlerflohmarkt und improvisierte Performance-Kunstmesse auf dem anliegenden Parkplatz inszeniert. Mirek Macke schickte derweil seinen Kunstverein Familie Montez – nach erzwungener Schließung des angestammten Domizils – mit der Ausstellung Wurzeln weit mehr Aufmerksamkeit widmen durch Deutschland. Wieder improvisiert und chaotisch, war die Ausstellung in erster Linie ein Bekenntnis der Künstler zur Solidarität untereinander und zur Kunstszene als fruchtbarer Erde für neue Talente und Ideen. Für diese Kunst und den Kunstverein Familie Montez stellt die Stadt Frankfurt seit Anfang 2014 neue Räume an der Honsellbrücke zur Verfügung. Der Dilletanten-Geist weht also weiter.
 
Die Ausstellung Geniale Dilletanten präsentiert ab 23. April 2015 in Minsk (Belarus) und im Anschluss auf Welt-Tournee den bisher umfangreichsten Überblick über die deutsche Subkultur der 1980er-Jahre. Von Juni bis Oktober 2015 wird sie im Münchener Haus der Kunst zu sehen sein. Geniale Dilletanten ist eine Tourneeausstellung des Goethe-Instituts.