Düsseldorf photography How a school changed the way we see

A photograph of Becher student Jörg Sasse;
A photograph of Becher student Jörg Sasse; | © Jörg Sasse, VG Bildkunst, Bonn/courtesy Schirmer/Mosel

In Düsseldorf, the photographer Bernd Becher and his wife Hilla Becher trained artists who went down in art history as the Düsseldorf School of Photography.

Anyone talking about German photography nowadays is likely to think first of the often large-format images produced by exponents of the Düsseldorf School of Photography, which these days enjoys worldwide renown as a hallmark of high artistic standards and a comprehensive rethinking of artistic photography. The name Düsseldorf School of Photography, however, which is used largely synonymously with Becher class or Becher school, is a somewhat problematic label describing what originally was a documentary tradition of photography that has changed radically since the 1970s. For precisely this reason, Düsseldorf School of Photography is no longer an appropriate term to designate a specific style.

First chair in photography in Germany

Formally speaking, the name refers to 87 photographers who between 1976 and 1998 studied under the internationally renowned photographer Bernd Becher at the Kunstakademie Düsseldorf, the city’s art academy. Becher’s appointment as a professor there in 1976 also marked the establishment of the first chair in artistic photography at a German academy of art. His first six students were Tata Ronkholz, who abandoned her artistic work a number of years later, Volker Döhne, Candida Höfer, Axel Hütte, Thomas Struth and Thomas Ruff. Andreas Gursky switched from Essen to Düsseldorf in 1981. 

Although photography was still not considered to be art in the European context until well into the 1970s, it was doubtless clear to the first students right from the outset that they no longer really had to battle for recognition as artists. They were able to fill a void which Bernd and his wife Hilla Becher – likewise a well-regarded photographer – had created for them together with other artists. Nonetheless, it still took more than ten years for the young photographers to gain international acknowledgment through leading exhibitions and the art market. The considerable fascination around the world with the Düsseldorf School of Photography is due above all to the impression that its exponents use new and modern techniques to “paint”. It was not only the form that approximated painting: portraits and landscapes also returned to the works of the Düsseldorf artists – the only difference being that they were composed not with a brush but with a mouse.

A single label for all photographers

Giving a uniform label to the students of the Düsseldorf School of Photography reveals a remarkable parallel between the history of the term and the history of the art market. Leaving aside those photography artists who were successful on all levels, the Düsseldorf School of Photography label was also used particularly by art dealers to profitably advertise less successful graduates of the Becher class. The reference to the teacher and thus to the documentary tradition of the visual language that had become historically established in New Objectivity was used as a promise of excellent quality and potential appreciation in value. The term has taken on a historical element in the meantime: photography – not only in Düsseldorf – has developed a tremendous artistic diversity to which no single label can be applied any longer.

But what were the formal characteristics of the most prominent representatives of the Düsseldorf School of Photography? Though renouncing the systematic approach followed by their teachers, the first generation of Becher students does at least reveal a certain affinity to them in the sense that they would select a particular motif which would feature in a collection of black-and-white prints. Influenced by American photography, students in the 1980s then developed series of colour photographs. Another formal step was the introduction of large-format photography, used for the first time in 1986 by Axel Hütte and Thomas Ruff. The new prints were created in connection with the laboratory of Düsseldorf advertising firm Grieger. Thomas Struth and Andreas Gursky used this new form of photography soon after. The next step concerned framing: using the patented “Diasec” technique, the photograph was directly bonded to the acrylic glass, without any space in-between.

At the boundaries of photography

One radical change to the conventional understanding of photography was introduced in 1987 and likewise originated in Düsseldorf. For the first time, Thomas Ruff used digital techniques to alter the photographic image. His motifs are characterized by extreme diversity – Ruff works not only with newspaper cutouts but also with abstract motifs, pornographic images and also portraits. In somewhat more moderate fashion by comparison, Andreas Gursky also explores the boundaries of the medium with his images, which he has edited digitally since 1991: he creates monumental individual images of landscapes or huge indoor spaces which are produced in comparatively small quantities; just one reason why they appear to follow the artistic tradition of “masterpiece” painting.

Ruff and Gursky have become established on the art market with phenomenal success, with the result that art critics use the ironic label Struffskys to describe the ubiquitous presence they have achieved together with Thomas Struth, especially on the American market.

Düsseldorfer Fotografie Wie eine Schule das Sehen veränderte

Ein Bild des Becher-Schülers Jörg Sasse;
Ein Bild des Becher-Schülers Jörg Sasse; | © Jörg Sasse, VG Bildkunst, Bonn/courtesy Schirmer/Mosel

Die Entwicklung der zeitgenössischen Fotografie ist mit Düsseldorf ganz wesentlich verbunden. Hier wurden Künstlerpersönlichkeiten ausgebildet, die als Düsseldorfer Fotoschule Kunstgeschichte schrieben.

Wer heute von deutscher Fotografie spricht, denkt vermutlich zunächst an die oft großformatigen Bilder von Vertretern der Düsseldorfer Fotoschule. Weltweit gilt diese mittlerweile als Markenzeichen, das für hohes künstlerisches Niveau und eine umfassende Neuorientierung der künstlerischen Fotografie steht. Bei dem Begriff Düsseldorfer Fotoschule, der weitgehend synonym zu Becherklasse oder Becher-Schule gebraucht wird, handelt es sich allerdings um ein nicht ganz unproblematisches Etikett, das eine ursprünglich dokumentarische Tradition der Fotografie bezeichnet, die sich seit den 1970er-Jahren radikal gewandelt hat. Gerade deshalb taugt Düsseldorfer Fotoschule heute auch keineswegs mehr als ein Stil-Begriff.

Erste Professur für Fotografie in Deutschland

Formal bezeichnet der Begriff 87 Fotografinnen und Fotografen, die zwischen 1976 und 1998 bei dem international renommierten Fotografen Bernd Becher an der Kunstakademie Düsseldorf studiert haben. Mit der Berufung von Becher wurde 1976 zugleich die erste Professur für künstlerische Fotografie an einer deutschen Kunstakademie vergeben. Seine ersten sechs Studierenden waren Tata Ronkholz, die mehrere Jahre später ihre künstlerische Arbeit aufgab, sowie Volker Döhne, Candida Höfer, Axel Hütte, Thomas Struth und Thomas Ruff. Andreas Gursky wechselte 1981 von Essen nach Düsseldorf. 

Nachdem die Fotografie bis in die 1970er-Jahre im europäischen Kontext noch nicht als Kunst galt, durfte für die ersten Studenten von Anfang an klar gewesen sein, dass sie keinen wirklichen Kampf mehr um eine Anerkennung als Künstler führen mussten. Sie konnten einen Freiraum ausfüllen, den ihnen Bernd und seine Frau Hilla Becher – ebenfalls eine angesehene Fotografin – gemeinsam mit anderen Künstlern erarbeitet hatten. Es dauerte allerdings noch mehr als zehn Jahre, bis die jungen Fotografen durch wichtige Ausstellungen und am Kunstmarkt internationale Anerkennung erfuhren. Die weltweit große Faszination für die Düsseldorfer Fotoschule ist vor allem dem Eindruck geschuldet, hier werde mit neuen und modernen Mitteln „gemalt“. Nicht nur die Form glich sich dem Gemälde an. In den Werken der Düsseldorfer Künstler kehrten auch Porträt und Landschaft zurück – nur, dass sie nicht mit dem Pinsel, sondern am Computer mit der Maus komponiert wurden.

Ein Stempel für alle Künstler

Die vereinheitlichende Etikettierung der Schüler offenbart eine bemerkenswerte Parallele zwischen der Geschichte des Begriffs und der des Kunstmarkts. Abgesehen von den auf allen Ebenen erfolgreichen Fotokünstlern diente das Etikett Düsseldorfer Fotoschule besonders dem Kunsthandel dazu, auch für wirtschaftlich weniger erfolgreiche Absolventen der Becher-Klasse gewinnbringend werben zu können. Der Verweis auf den Lehrer und der Hinweis auf die damit vermittelte dokumentarische Tradition der historisch etablierten Bildsprache der Neuen Sachlichkeit wurden als ein qualitatives Versprechen für Exzellenz und potenziellen Wertzuwachs eingesetzt. Mittlerweile ist der Begriff historisch geworden: Die Fotografie hat – nicht nur in Düsseldorf – eine ungeheure künstlerische Vielfalt entwickelt, die sich nicht länger mit einem Etikett belegen lässt.

Was aber waren die formalen Charakteristika der prominentesten Vertreter der Düsseldorfer Fotoschule? In Abkehr von der systematischen Arbeitsweise ihrer Lehrer ist in der ersten Generation der Schüler von Becher immerhin noch insofern eine Verwandtschaft erkennbar, als sich diese ein bestimmtes Thema auswählten und in Schwarzweiß-Abzügen sammelten. Unter dem Eindruck der amerikanischen Fotografie entwickelten die Schüler in den 1980er-Jahren sodann farbige Bild-Reihen. Ein weiterer formaler Schritt war die Einführung des Großformats, das 1986 Axel Hütte und Thomas Ruff erstmals nutzten. Die neuen Abzüge entstanden im Zusammenhang mit dem Labor der Düsseldorfer Werbefirma Grieger. Thomas Struth und Andreas Gursky nutzten diese neue Bildform wenig später. Der nächste Schritt betraf die Rahmung: Im patentierten „Diasec“-Verfahren wurde das Foto ohne Zwischenraum mit dem Plexiglas verschweißt.

An den Grenzen der Fotografie

Eine extreme Veränderung des klassischen Verständnisses der Fotografie wurde seit 1987 ebenfalls von Düsseldorf aus eingeleitet. Thomas Ruff nutzte erstmals digitale Mittel zur Veränderung des fotografischen Abbildes. Dabei sind seine Bildmotive durch eine extreme Vielfalt charakterisiert – neben Zeitungsausschnitten arbeitet Ruff mit abstrakten Motiven, pornografischen Bildern oder auch Porträts. In vergleichsweise gemäßigter Manier geht auch Andreas Gursky mit seinen seit 1991 digital bearbeiteten Bildern an die Grenzen des Mediums. Er schafft monumentale Einzelbilder von Landschaften oder riesigen Innenräumen, die in vergleichsweise geringer Zahl entstehen und nicht nur aus diesem Grund eine Anlehnung an die malerische Tradition des „Meisterwerks“ zeigen.

Ruff und Gursky haben sich auf dem Kunstmarkt äußerst erfolgreich etabliert, sodass die Kunstkritik deren Allgegenwärtigkeit, die sie zusammen mit Thomas Struth gerade auch auf dem US-amerikanischen Markt erreicht haben, mit dem ironischen Begriff der Struffskys belegt hat.