Diango Hernández A distanced view of the island

Diango Hernández | Theoretical Beach | Anne reclinada en la orilla | Photo: Anne Pöhlmann 2016
Diango Hernández | Theoretical Beach | Anne reclinada en la orilla | Photo: Anne Pöhlmann 2016 | © D. Hernández

Conceptual artist Diango Hernández, who was born in Cuba in 1970, has been living in Düsseldorf since 2003. He gained international fame with his large-scale installations of furnishings, found objects from everyday life, sketches and collages that highlight the realities of Cuban life and the rhetoric of revolution through biographical references and an aesthetic of the provisional.

Growing up in Sancti Spiritus and Camagüey, Diango Hernández witnessed the country’s dramatic economic crisis, the “special period” (Periodo especial) that began in the aftermath of the collapse of the Soviet Union, as he was beginning his design studies in Havana. But it was only in 1994, when after graduating, he was given an opportunity to work in the Ministry of Construction and in the state architectural agency, that the absolute dearth that characterised this “special period” became clear to him in all its dimensions. Hernández quit his job and with friends founded the group Ordo Amoris Cabinet that initially conceived itself as a design research project. Thanks to sponsorship by the Ludwig Foundation, which had recently set up a branch in Havana, they experienced the transition from design to research and the visual arts as fluid.

An independent spirit

While many Cubans immigrated to the United States, Hernández decided to go to Italy, Spain and ultimately Düsseldorf, primarily on account of his interest in contemporary art.
In continual dialogue with this new artistic environment, he now investigated both the aesthetic he had brought with him from Cuba and the discourse capabilities of the objects whose rhetoric originates in precarity. From this situation, which he experienced as productive, the artist developed conceptual spaces that are at once idiosyncratic and yet accessible to the viewer, in which poetic and rational moments conjoin.

 
  • Diango Hernández | Revolución | 2006 © D. Hernández © D. Hernández
    Diango Hernández | Revolución | Installation View 2006
  • Revolución Almost Falling | 2006 © D. Hernández
    Revolución Almost Falling | 2006
  • Revolución | Installation View 2006 | Photo: Anne Pöhlmann © D. Hernández
    Revolución | Installation View 2006 | Photo: Anne Pöhlmann
  • Diango Hernández | Revolución | Installation View 2006 © D. Hernández
    Diango Hernández | Revolución | Installation View 2006
  • Diango Hernández | Diamond 2005 © Diango Hernández
    Diango Hernández | Diamond 2005
  • Diango Hernández | I can see the flamingoes from here | Theoretical Beach | Photo: Anne Pöhlmann, 2016 © Diango Hernández
    I can see the flamingoes from here | Theoretical Beach | Photo: Anne Pöhlmann, 2016
  • Diango Hernández | Installation view 2014 | Photo: Annette Kradisch © D. Hernández
    Diango Hernández | Installation view 2014 | Photo: Annette Kradisch
  • Diango Hernández | In Hazard Translated | Installation view 2014 | Photo: Annette Kradisch © D. Hernández
    Diango Hernández | In Hazard Translated | Installation view 2014 | Photo: Annette Kradisch
  • La camisa | Theoretical Beach | Installation View 2016 | Foto: Anne Pöhlmann © D. Hernández
    La camisa | Theoretical Beach 2016
  • Diango Hernández | Theoretical Beach | Installation View 2016 | Photo: Anne Pöhlmann © D. Hernández
    Diango Hernández | Theoretical Beach | Installation View 2016 | Photo: Anne Pöhlmann
  • Diango Hernández | Theoretical Beach | Installation View 2016 | Photo: Anne Pöhlmann © D. Hernández
    Diango Hernández | Theoretical Beach | Installation View 2016 | Photo: Anne Pöhlmann
  • Diango Hernández | Theoretical Beach 2016 | Photo: Anne Pöhlmann © D. Hernández
    Diango Hernández | Theoretical Beach 2016 | Photo: Anne Pöhlmann

In the initial phase works arose that interpret various aspects of daily life in Cuba. Thus in his exhibition Revolution in the Kunsthalle Basel 2006, Diango Hernández presented a rigorously composed parcours of objects and sketches that deal with provisional structures in times of crisis, but also with growing up in an authoritarian system saturated by the ideology of the Eastern Bloc.
 
Today the artist assesses the oppressive presence of economic and societal relations in the everyday life of the individual: “In Cuba it is very difficult to distance yourself from the reality that touches you. But distance is what allows you to recognise art and its potential.”

Interpreting the tropics

After 2013 Hernández’ artistic practice changed. During the preparations for the exhibition In hazard, translated (2014) for the Nuremberg Art Association (Nürnberger Kunstverein), he took off on a spontaneous trip to Havana. While there, when by chance he was watching a group of young fruit sellers, a feeling transposed itself into a concrete image: the solitude of the tropics and the culture of the Caribbean. For Hernández, the rediscovery of a tropical Cuba opened up new artistic perspectives by showing him the significance of transmission, “To transform something that permits us to understand what is actually incomprehensible.” At the Nuremberg Art Association, Hernández transposes the literary depiction of a tropical hurricane that devastated the southern coast of Cuba in 1932 and sent oranges, mangoes and papayas whirling through the air into minimalistic installations and assemblages of perishable tropical fruits.

Theoretical Beach

In Theoretical Beach, his current exhibition in the Museum Schloss Morsbroich, undulating lines drawn in maritime blue with a brush overlay both spaces and objects. For this purpose, Hernández has transposed Fidel Castro’s lengthy, often improvised speeches which, amplified by loudspeakers, make up the background noise of every day life on the island, into painted waves. Aluminium candelabra adorned with oranges, an arrangement of Cuban modernist sculptures, the intimation of the floor-plan of his parents’ house and benches filled with white sand: in the interaction of playful sketches and reduced installations, Diango Hernández transmits the image and the synthesis of a landscape, a culture and a political system.
 
Despite the various biographical references in his work, Diango Hernández resists being described as a Cuban artist: “I don’t see any need to underscore nationality.” Dr. Markus Heinzelmann, director of the Museum Morsbroich in Leverkusen, takes a similar view. For him, Hernández is “one of the Rhineland’s most important younger and also internationally respected artists,” who combines Caribbean improvisational talent with reduced conceptualism.
 
Solo exhibition: Diango Hernández “Theoretical Beach,” until 28.08.2016, Museum Morsbroich Leverkusen. Group exhibition: "We Call It Ludwig" (Wir nennen es Ludwig), curated by Yilmaz Dziewior, 27.08.2016 – 8. 01.2017, Museum Ludwig, Cologne.

Diango Hernández Der distanzierte Blick auf die Insel

Diango Hernández | Theoretical Beach | Anne reclinada en la orilla | Foto: Anne Pöhlmann
Diango Hernández | Theoretical Beach | Anne reclinada en la orilla | Foto: Anne Pöhlmann | © D. Hernández

Seit 2003 lebt der 1970 auf Kuba geborene Konzeptkünstler Diango Hernández in Düsseldorf. International bekannt wurde er mit raumgreifenden Installationen aus Möbeln, Fundstücken des Alltags, Zeichnungen und Collagen, die mit biografischen Bezügen und mit einer Ästhetik des Provisorischen auf die kubanische Lebensrealität und die Rhetorik der Revolution verweisen.

Aufgewachsen in Sancti Spiritus und Camagüey erlebte Diango Hernández die nach dem Zerfall der Sowjetunion einsetzende, dramatische Wirtschaftskrise des Landes, die „Sonderperiode“ (Periodo especial), als er sein Designstudium in Havanna beginnt. Doch erst 1994, als er nach seinem Abschluss die Gelegenheit bekam, im Ministerium für Bauwesen und im staatlichen Architekturbüro zu arbeiten, wurde ihm das ganze Ausmaß dieser von absolutem Mangel geprägten „Sonderperiode“ deutlich. Hernández kündigte und gründete mit Freunden die Gruppe Ordo Amoris Cabinet, die sich zunächst als Design-Forschungsprojekt verstand. Mit der Förderung durch die kurz zuvor in Havanna niedergelassenen Ludwig Stiftung, erlebten sie den Übergang von Design über Forschung zur Bildenden Kunst als fließend.

Ein unabhängiger Geist

Während viele Kubaner in die Vereinigten Staaten auswanderten, entschied sich Hernández, vor allem wegen seines Interesses für zeitgenössische Kunst, nach Italien, Spanien und schließlich nach Düsseldorf zu gehen.
In steter Auseinandersetzung mit der neuen künstlerischen Umgebung hinterfragte er nun seine aus Kuba mitgebrachte Ästhetik sowie die Diskursfähigkeit der Objekte, deren Rhetorik der Prekarität entstammen. Aus dieser für ihn produktiven Situation entwickelte der Künstler eigenwillige, aber für den Betrachter zugängliche Denkräume, in denen sich poetische und rationale Momente miteinander vereinen.

 
  • Revolución Poster | 2006 © D. Hernández
    Diango Hernández | Revolución | 2006 © D. Hernández
  • Revolución Almost Falling | 2006 © D. Hernández
    Revolución Almost Falling | 2006
  • Revolución | Installation View 2006 © D. Hernández
    Revolución | Installation View 2006 | Foto: Anne Pöhlmann
  • Revolución | Installation View 2006 © D. Hernández
    Diango Hernández | Revolución | Installation View 2006
  • Diamond | 2005 © Diango Hernández
    Diango Hernández | Diamond 2005
  • I can see the flamingoes from here | 2016 © Diango Hernández
    Diango Hernández | I can see the flamingoes from here | Theoretical Beach | Foto: Anne Pöhlmann, 2016
  • In Hazard Translated | Installation view 2014 © D. Hernández
    Diango Hernández | Installation view 2014 | Foto: Annette Kradisch
  • In Hazard Translated 2014 © D. Hernández
    Diango Hernández | In Hazard Translated | Installation view 2014 | Foto: Annette Kradisch
  • La camisa | Theoretical Beach  2016 © D. Hernández
    La camisa | Theoretical Beach | Installation View 2016 | Foto: Anne Pöhlmann
  • Theoretical Beach | 2016 © D. Hernández
    Diango Hernández | Theoretical Beach | Installation View 2016 | Foto: Anne Pöhlmann
  • Theoretical Beach | Installation View 2016 © D. Hernández
    Diango Hernández | Theoretical Beach | Installation View 2016 | Foto: Anne Pöhlmann
  •  Theoretical Beach 2016  © D. Hernández
    Diango Hernández | Theoretical Beach 2016 | Foto: Anne Pöhlmann

In der ersten Phase entstanden konzeptionelle Arbeiten, die verschiedene Aspekte des kubanischen Alltags interpretieren. So präsentierte Diango Hernández in seiner Ausstellung Revolution in der Kunsthalle Basel 2006 einen streng durchkomponierten Parcours aus Objekten und Zeichnungen, die von provisorischen Strukturen in Zeiten der Krise, aber auch vom Aufwachsen in einem autoritären System handeln, das kulturell durch die Ideologie des Ostblocks geprägt ist.
Über die drückende Präsenz der ökonomischen und gesellschaftlichen Verhältnisse im Alltag des Einzelnen urteilt der Künstler heute: „In Kuba fällt es sehr schwer, sich von der Realität, die dich berührt, zu distanzieren. Distanz aber erlaubt dir, die Kunst und ihr Potenzial zu erkennen“.

Die Tropen übersetzen

Nach 2013 verändert sich Hernández künstlerische Praxis. Während der Vorbereitung zu der Ausstellung für den Nürnberger Kunstverein In hazard, translated (2014), reist er spontan nach Havanna. Dort, bei der zufälligen Beobachtung einer Gruppe jugendlicher Obstverkäufer, übersetzt sich für ihn ein Gefühl in ein reales Bild: die Abgeschiedenheit der Tropen und der Kultur der Karibik. Die Wiederentdeckung eines tropischen Kubas eröffnet Hernández neue künstlerische Perspektiven. Sie zeigt ihm die Bedeutung der Übertragung, „etwas zu verwandeln, das uns erlaubt zu verstehen, was eigentlich unverständlich ist.“ Die literarische Schilderung eines tropischen Hurrikans, der 1932 die Südküste Kubas verwüstete und Orangen, Mangos sowie Papayas durch die Luft wirbeln ließ, übersetzt Hernández im Nürnberger Kunstverein in minimalistische Installationen und Assemblagen aus verderblichen Südfrüchten.

Theoretischer Strand

In Theoretical Beach, seiner aktuellen Ausstellung im Museum Schloss Morsbroich, überziehen wellenförmige, mit dem Pinsel gezogene Linien in maritimen Blau Räume und Objekte. Hernández hat dafür die langen, oft improvisierten Reden Fidel Castros, die durch Lautsprecher verstärkt das Hintergrundgeräusch im Alltag der Insel bildeten, in gemalte Wellen übertragen. Mit Orangen besetzte Aluminiumleuchter, einem Arrangement von Skulpturen der kubanischen Moderne, dem angedeutete Grundriss des Elternhauses und mit weißem Sand gefüllten Bänken: Im Zusammenspiel mit verspielten Zeichnungen und reduzierten Installationen überträgt Diango Hernández das Bild und die Synthese einer Landschaft, einer Kultur und eines politischen Systems.
 
Trotz der vielfältigen biografischen Bezüge seines Werks widerstrebt es Diango Hernández, als kubanischer Künstler bezeichnet zu werden: „Ich sehe keine Notwendigkeit, die Nationalität hervorzuheben.“ Das sieht Heinzelmann, Direktor des Leverkusener Museum Morsbroich, ähnlich. Für ihn ist Hernández „einer der wichtigsten jüngeren und auch international beachteten Künstler des Rheinlands“, der karibisches Improvisationstalent mit reduzierter Konzeptualität verbindet.
 
Einzelausstellung: Diango Hernández „Theoretical Beach“ bis 28. August 2016, Museum Morsbroich Leverkusen. Gruppenausstellung: Wir nennen es Ludwig, kuratiert von Yilmaz Dziewior 27. August 2016 – 8. Januar 2017, Museum Ludwig, Köln.