„One could travel around the world with a camera“

Leonore Mau | Carnival, 1974 | Trinidad
Leonore Mau | Carnival, 1974 | Trinidad | © Estate Leonore Mau, S. Fischer Stiftung

Leonore Mau’s and Hubert Fichte’s life journey together lasted for a quarter of a century. The legacy of the photographer and author continues to inspire artists and researchers.

Leonore Mau, born in 1916 in Leipzig, began her career as a photographer in 1953. At that point she was 37 years old. Just under 10 years later, she moved in with an as-yet unknown writer, Hubert Fichte – and then journeyed halfway around the world with him. Photographer Nathalie David, German studies expert Peter Braun and ethnologist Claus Deimel take a look at their unconventional life and work together.

Nathalie David: “A Citizen of the World”

Nathalie David Nathalie David | © N. David She was still and discreet. She was more of an observer. Leonore was very refined and courteous, patrician – utterly un-bourgeois, and she knew five languages. She was a citizen of the world! At the same time she was a stubborn person – in a positive sense: she knew what she wanted.
She gave up her patrician lifestyle with architect Ludwig Mau, who was 20 years her senior, along with the villa in Blankenese. She had already begun photographing there with a Leica, including for the magazine Schöner Wohnen. She had raised her two children, Michael (born 1937), who became a painter, and Ulrike (born 1940), and then took off with Hubert Fichte, 20 years her junior. She moved into a small one-room flat on the Elbchaussee with him. I have a feeling that she had her puberty with him. 

She was very generous and free in her thinking. This change was her free decision. She knew that Fichte had a lot of male lovers. He was obsessed with sexuality. She took it in stride, because it was a kind of liberation for her as well. In Fichte´s letters we learn how much he loved her and how important she was to him. He absolutely wanted to possess her physically, even though he was homosexual. Actually, he was bisexual.

He wanted to make a photographer out of her. He believed in her and saw her as his completion. They supported each other. It was a time of experimentation. They worked in a symbiosis and very experimentally, very conceptually. Both nourished themselves intellectually in this way.

After Fichte’s death Leonore Mau did two additional volumes: Psyche (2005) and Die Kinder Herodots (i.e. the children of Herodotus /2006) in collaboration with Roland Kay, the husband of Pina Bausch, with whom she was friends. In 1987 she photographed the series Wuppertaler Architektur (i.e. Wuppertal architecture) and in the following year a portrait series of the Pina Bausch Ensemble. From 1990 until 2004 she created still lifes under the title Fata Morgana: for this project she constructed and collaged masks, sculptures and mementoes very freely with knife and mask, rubber gloves … a very youthful work! Leonore Mau died on 22 September 2013 in Hamburg.
 
Trailer: “Diese Photographin hei0ßt Leonore Mau” (i.e. This photographer is called Leonore Mau) by Nathalie David
 

Starting in the early 1990’s, filmmaker and photographer Nathalie David was Leonore Mau’s assistant, helping her archive her immense stock of photographs. She studied fine arts in Nice at the Villa Arson and parallel to this at HfbK Hamburg. A fellowship at the Film University Babelsberg followed. In summer 2005 she accompanied Leonore Mau with her camera, and the film Diese Photographin heißt Leonore Mau (i.e. This photographer is called Leonore Mau; 2005,  54 min.), available on DVD starting November 2016.

 

A Life Journey Together

“You take photos / I write. / We visit each other./ You make me into a great poet. / And I’ll make you into a great photographer.” That was Jäcki’s plan, Hubert Fichte´s literary alter ego, and Irma – who bears Mau’s biographical features – as proposed in Der Kleine Hauptbahnhof oder Lob des Strichs (1988). They begin their life journey together. They go in search of the unknown, describe it in word and image, synergistically: Portugal, Rome, then in 1969 the first trip to Brazil. They study African-American religions: Candomblé, Voodoo, Santería.
 

  • Leonore Mau | Self-protrait with Photo of Hubert Fichte, 1962 © Estate Leonore Mau, S.Fischer Stiftung
    Leonore Mau | Self-protrait with Photo of Hubert Fichte, 1962
  • Leonore Mau | untitled, 1964 Sesimbra © Estate Leonore Mau, S. Fischer Stiftung
    Leonore Mau | untitled, 1964 Sesimbra
  • Leonore Mau | Hubert Fichte in front of his notes on "Attempt about the puberty" |Hamburg 1971 © Estate Leonore Mau, S. Fischer Stiftung
    Leonore Mau | Hubert Fichte in front of his notes on "Attempt about the puberty" |Hamburg 1971
  • Leonore Mau | untitled, 1967 | Spanish Steps in Rome © Estate Leonore Mau, S. Fischer Stiftung
    Leonore Mau | untitled, 1967 | Spanish Steps in Rome
  • Leonore Mau | Dots Ritual | 1975 | Afrika © Estate Leonore Mau, S. Fischer Stiftung
    Leonore Mau | Dots Ritual | 1975 | Afrika
  • Leonore Mau | Initiation ritual, 1971 | Brasilien © Estate Leonore Mau, S. Fischer Stiftung
    Leonore Mau | Initiation ritual, 1971 | Brasilien
  • Leonore Mau | Sunday before the church, 1973 | Port-au-Prince, Haiti © Estate Leonore Mau, S. Fischer Stiftung
    Leonore Mau | Sunday before the church, 1973 | Port-au-Prince, Haiti
  • Leonore Mau | Boy with Blister-Mask, 1974 | Abomey, Benin © Estate Leonore Mau, S. Fischer Stiftung
    Leonore Mau | Boy with Blister-Mask, 1974 | Abomey, Benin
  • Leonore Mau | Carnival, 1974 | Trinidad © Estate Leonore Mau, S. Fischer Stiftung
    Leonore Mau | Carnival, 1974 | Trinidad
  • Leonore Mau | Port of Spain. Hubert Fichte  with Mother Darling on the rice field, in conversation, 1974 © Nachlass Leonore Mau, S. Fischer Stiftung
    Leonore Mau | Port of Spain. Hubert Fichte with Mother Darling on the rice field, in conversation, 1974
  • Leonore Mau | Xango Ceremony, 1975 | Trinidad © Estate Leonore Mau, S. Fischer Stiftung
    Leonore Mau | Xango Ceremony, 1975 | Trinidad
  • Leonore Mau | Magic market near Lomé, 1975 | Togo © Estate Leonore Mau, S. Fischer Stiftung
    Leonore Mau | Magic market near Lomé, 1975 | Togo
  • Leonore Mau | Ein Haus für Irre, Psychiatrie in Aneho, 1975 | Togo © Nachlass Leonore Mau, S. Fischer Stiftung
  • Leonore Mau | Agadir. Mosque From the film "Das neue Agadir" from Hubert Fichte and Leonore Mau, 1970 | Agadir © Estate Leonore Mau, S. Fischer Stiftung
    Leonore Mau | Agadir. Mosque From the film "Das neue Agadir" from Hubert Fichte and Leonore Mau, 1970 | Agadir
  • Leonore Mau | untitled, about 1983 © Estate Leonore Mau, S. Fischer Stiftung
    Leonore Mau | untitled, about 1983
  • Leonore Mau | Casa das Minas in Sao Luiz de Maranhao, 1982 | Brasilien © Estate Leonore Mau, S. Fischer Stiftung
    Leonore Mau | Casa das Minas in Sao Luiz de Maranhao, 1982 | Brasilien
  • Leonore Mau | Wuppertal. Pina Bausch in the mirror, reflected three times, 1987 | Wuppertal © Estate Leonore Mau, S. Fischer Stiftung
    Leonore Mau | Wuppertal. Pina Bausch in the mirror, reflected three times, 1987 | Wuppertal

Many thanks to the S. Fischer Foundation for its generous support.


In 1975 Mau won the den World Press Prize for her photo of an African boy with a Blister mask. Then: New York, Venezuela, Trinidad, Benin; Trance cults and tracing their roots back to Africa. From 1974 until 1978 they devoted themselves to documenting psychiatric villages in Senegal. Mau’s photo volume Xango. Afroamericanische Religionen. Bahia Haiti Trinidad with texts by Fichte appeared in 1976. Ethnopoetic studies in which word and image illuminate each other. Then they are off once again on the trail of Afro-American religions: Miami, Grenada, Nicaragua and Haiti. In 1981 they took their last journey together, to Brazil. It was here, in the Casa das Minas in São Luis de Maranão, that Mau’s portraits of Candomblé priestesses arose.

Peter Braun: “Against the Narrowing of the World”

Peter Braun Peter Braun | courtesy Peter Braun The abundance of ritual and sensuousness of Afro-American religions was a source of great fascination to the photographer and the writer. This demanded more than mere documentation. They therefore sought opportunities to capture the atmosphere of the locations and the physical movements of the actors, their gazes, gestures, actions – and the “energies” released in this way. In particular, Leonore Mau often reacted to structures and arrangements in her photographs – and time and again to occurrences between the people before the camera. Above all, the portrait format gains a special significance for Leonore Mau towards the end of their work together. In the faces of the old priestesses in the Casa das Minas she not only traces the long tradition of the oldest Candomblé temple in Brazil, but also concentrates in them her almost 15-years of photographic experience of the Afro-American world.

In their works, both move along the narrow boundary between ethnology and art. Like scientists, they seek to comprehend Afro-American syncretism. They are interested in both the life stories of the people who participate in these cultures, in their motivations and hopes, as well as in the political and social conditions under which they live. However, their artistic presentation does not aim for a reflected, intellectual discourse. On the contrary, they see in this a “neo-imperialistic victors’ language.” They wish to keep close to the persons, do not want to speak about them, but up close with them – and this always includes a speaking about themselves. Leonore Mau’s works are no “victors’ photographs” – that expose their subject to the viewer down to the last detail. They bear witness to discretion and nearness.

Peter Braun is an expert in German language and culture and directs the Writing Centre of the Friedrich Schiller University Jena; in addition he teaches and researches literature, primarily of the 20th and 21st centuries. One key topic is the life and work of Hubert Fichte, on which he has written, among other things, the introduction ›Eine Reise durch das Werk von Hubert Fichte‹ (i.e. a journey through the works of Hubert Fichte /Fischer Verlag, 2005). Most recently he edited Hubert Fichte’s letters to Leonore Mau under the title “ Ich beiße Dich zum Abschied ganz zart heraus”  (i.e. in farewell I’ll bite you out very tenderly” / Fischer-Verlag, 2016)

 

 

Claus Deimel: “Feeling and Seeing”

Claus Deimel Claus Deimel | © Captain Globo, 2016 The works of Leonore Mau and Hubert Fichte reveal a heretofore rare unity of poetic text and photography. Both authors would have been inconceivable without their mutual translation of sensing and seeing. Here, on both sides, what Hubert Fichte termed “sensitivity“ (Empfindlichkeit) is lent a texture of sorts: in the image as spontaneous transposition of a powerful sympathy for the rites of the persons being depicted and for the persons themselves, in the text as an attempt at a meticulous record of the events and their accompanying circumstances.
Of particular relevance to ethnology is the unity, the cooperation for a poetic conception, which incidentally Fichte did not describe as art, or for that matter as ethnology, but instead as part of a “history of sensitivity.” In this project, both take up the discrepancy between subjectivity and objectivity, and do not seek to overcome it, but instead to describe it through a wealth of detail. In this very process of objectification the photographer and text author remain continually present. For ethnology, Mau and Fichte have retrieved the value of precise description.
In many cases, Fichte’s texts are translations of Leonora Mau’s images, and thus in a certain way pictorial descriptions. During a ritual, the photographer perceived other things, and only in retrospect did he develop texts. Fichte opened up a new world to Mau ­ who prior to her relationship had photographed mainly architecture – which she gave back to him in her images as bases for his texts. Both authors avoided the sentimental gaze on the initially alien-seeming image of the other. In this way, they succeed in achieving a decidedly crude documentation of what they felt to be beautiful.

Ethnologist Claus Deimel curated his first exhibition with Eleonore Mau and texts by Hubert Fichte in the Forum of the State Museum of Lower Saxony as early as 1993, and edited the two-volume catalogue: Götter aus Afrika (i.e. Gods of Africa /Niedersächsisches Landesmuseum Hannover, 1993). In 2002 a second exhibition followed entitled Xango – Lebende Götter. Fotografien von Leonore Mau – Texte: Hubert Fichte (i.e. Xango, Living Gods, photographs by Leonore Mau) in the Grassi Museum /Leipzig Museum of Ethnology. Leonore Mau personally co-curated both exhibitions.

 

As part of the regional project “Hubert Fichte – Liebe und Ethnologie” (i.e. Hubert Fichte, love and ethnology), the Goethe-Institut Porto Alegre presents the exhibition “A casa de Leonore Mau” (i.e. at home with Leonore Mau). Over 100 photos will be shown that Leonore Mau took on several journeys from 1969 until 1982 in Bahia, Rio de Janeiro, São Luís do Maranhão, Brasília and Porto Alegre. With a few exceptions, these photos have never been shown before in Brazil. At the invitation of the Goethe Institut Porto Alegre, and in collaboration with Nathalie David, curator Prof. Alexandre Santos, professor of fine arts at the Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil, travelled to Hamburg in July 2015 to select photos from the estate of Leonore Mau at the S. Fischer Foundation. The exhibition will open on 17. November with a lecture by Diedrich Diederichsen.

Leonore Mau „Man könnte mit einer Kamera um die Welt fahren“

Leonore Mau | Karneval, 1974 | Trinidad
Leonore Mau | Karneval, 1974 | Trinidad | © Nachlass Leonore Mau, S. Fischer Stiftung

Ein Vierteljahrhundert dauerte die gemeinsame Lebensreise von Leonore Mau und Hubert Fichte. Das Vermächtnis der Fotografin und des Schriftstellers inspiriert weiterhin Künstler und Wissenschaftler.

Leonore Mau, 1916 geboren in Leipzig, wurde ab 1953 als Fotografin tätig. Da war sie 37 Jahre alt. Knapp 10 Jahre später zog sie mit dem noch unbekannten Schriftsteller Hubert Fichte zusammen – und dann mit ihm um die halbe Welt. Die Fotografin Nathalie David, der Germanist Peter Braun und der Ethnologe Claus Deimel blicken auf das ungewöhnliche Leben und das gemeinsame Werk.

Nathalie David: „Die Weltbürgerin“

Nathalie David Nathalie David | © N. David Sie war still und diskret. Sie war eher Beobachterin. Leonore war sehr höflich und vornehm, großbürgerlich – aber nicht bourgeoise und sie konnte fünf Sprachen. Sie war eine Weltbürgerin! Gleichzeitig war sie eine sture Person – im positiven Sinn: Sie wusste, was sie wollte.
Ihr großbürgerliches Leben mit dem 20 Jahre älteren Architekten Ludwig Mau und die Villa in Blankenese gab sie auf. Da fotografierte sie schon mit der Leica, unter anderem für die Zeitschrift Schöner Wohnen. Ihre beiden Kinder Michael (geboren 1937), der Maler wurde, und Ulrike (geboren 1940) hatte sie großgezogen und dann ist sie abgehauen – mit dem 20 Jahre jüngeren Hubert Fichte. Mit ihm zog sie in eine kleine Einzimmerwohnung an der Elbchaussee. Ich glaube, dass ihre Pubertät mit Fichte stattgefunden hat.

Sie war sehr großzügig und frei in ihren Gedanken. Dieser Wechsel war ihre freie Entscheidung. Sie wusste, dass Fichte viele Männer hatte. Er war besessen von Sexualität. Das hat sie in Kauf genommen. Weil es für sie auch eine Art Befreiung war. In Fichtes Briefen erfährt man, wie er sie geliebt hat und wie wichtig sie für ihn war. Auch er wollte sie unbedingt körperlich haben, auch wenn er homosexuell war. Eigentlich war er bisexuell.

Er wollte eine Fotografin aus ihr machen. Er hat an sie geglaubt und sie als seine Ergänzung gesehen. Sie haben sich gegenseitig unterstützt. Es war die Zeit der Experimente. Sie arbeiten in einer Symbiose und sehr experimentell, sehr konzeptuell. Beide haben sich dadurch intellektuell ernährt.

Nach Fichtes Tod machte Leonore Mau zwei weitere Bücher: Psyche (2005) und Die Kinder Herodots (2006) zusammen mit Roland Kay, dem Mann von Pina Bausch, mit dem sie befreundet war. 1987 fotografierte sie die Serie Wuppertaler Architektur und im darauffolgenden Jahr eine Porträtreihe des Pina-Bausch-Ensembles. 1990 bis 2004 schuf sie Stillleben unter dem Titel Fata Morgana: Dafür baute und collagierte sie sehr frei Masken, Skulpturen und Erinnerungsstücke mit Messer und Maske, mit Gummihandschuhen… Eine sehr junge Arbeit! Leonore Mau verstarb am 22. September 2013 in Hamburg.
 
Trailer: „Diese Photographin heißt Leonore Mau“ von Nathalie David
 

Die Filmemacherin und Fotografin Nathalie David assisiterte Leonore Mau seit Beginn der 1990er-Jahre beim Archivieren ihres immensen Fotofundus. Sie studierte freie Kunst in Nizza an der Villa Arson und an der Hochschule für bildende Künste Hamburg. Es folgt ein Fellow-Stipendiat an der Hochschule für Film und Fernsehen Potsdam-Babelsberg. Im Sommer 2005 begleitete sie Leonore Mau mit der Kamera. Es entstand der Film Diese Photographin heißt Leonore Mau (2005, 54 Min.) erhältlich auf DVD ab November 2016

Gemeinsame Lebensreise

„– Du fotografierst / Ich schreibe. / Wir besuchen uns./ Du machst aus mir einen großen Dichter. / Und ich mache aus dir eine große Fotografin.“ – Das war der Plan den Jäcki, Hubert Fichtes literarisches Alter-Ego und Irma, die die biographischen Züge Leonore Maus trägt, in Fichtes Roman Der Kleine Hauptbahnhof oder Lob des Strichs (1988) vorschlägt. Sie beginnen ihre gemeinsame Lebensreise. Sie suchen das Fremde, beschreiben es in Wort und Bild, synergetisch: Portugal, Rom, dann 1969 die erste Reise nach Brasilien. Sie erforschen die afroamerikanischen Religionen: Candomblé, Voodoo, Santería.

  • Leonore Mau | Selbstportrait mit Foto von Hubert Fichte, 1962 © Nachlass Leonore Mau, S. Fischer Stiftung
    Leonore Mau | Selbstportrait mit Foto von Hubert Fichte, 1962
  • Leonore Mau | ohne.Titiel, 1964 Sesimbra © Nachlass Leonore Mau, S. Fischer Stiftung
    Leonore Mau | ohne.Titiel, 1964 Sesimbra
  • Leonore Mau | Hubert Fichte vor seinen Notizen zum © Nachlass Leonore Mau, S. Fischer Stiftung
    Leonore Mau | Hubert Fichte vor seinen Notizen zum "Versuch über die Pubertät“ | Hamburg 1971
  • Leonore Mau | ohne Titiel, 1967 | Rom, auf der Spanischen Treppe © Nachlass Leonore Mau, S. Fischer Stiftung
    Leonore Mau | ohne Titiel, 1967 | Rom, auf der Spanischen Treppe
  • Leonore Mau | Pünktchen Ritual, 1975 | Afrika © Nachlass Leonore Mau, S. Fischer Stiftung
    Leonore Mau | Pünktchen Ritual, 1975 | Afrika
  • Leonore Mau | Einweihungsritus, 1971 | Brasilien © Nachlass Leonore Mau, S. Fischer Stiftung
    Leonore Mau | Einweihungsritus, 1971 | Brasilien
  • Leonore Mau | Sonntag vor der Kirche, 1973 | Port-au-Prince, Haiti © Nachlass Leonore Mau, S. Fischer Stiftung
    Leonore Mau | Sonntag vor der Kirche, 1973 | Port-au-Prince, Haiti
  • Leonore Mau | Junge mit Tablettenmaske, 1974 | Abomey, Benin © Nachlass Leonore Mau, S. Fischer Stiftung
    Leonore Mau | Junge mit Tablettenmaske, 1974 | Abomey, Benin
  • Leonore Mau | Karneval, 1974 | Trinidad © Nachlass Leonore Mau, S. Fischer Stiftung
    Leonore Mau | Karneval, 1974 | Trinidad
  • Leonore Mau | Port of Spain. Hubert Fichte mit Mother Darling auf dem Reisfeld, im Gespräch, 1974 © Nachlass Leonore Mau, S. Fischer Stiftung
    Leonore Mau | Port of Spain. Hubert Fichte mit Mother Darling auf dem Reisfeld, im Gespräch, 1974
  • E Leonore Mau | Xango Zeremonie, 1975 | Trinidad © Nachlass Leonore Mau, S. Fischer Stiftung
    E Leonore Mau | Xango Zeremonie, 1975 | Trinidad
  • Leonore Mau | Zaubermarkt bei Lomé, 1975 | Togo	© Nachlass Leonore Mau, S. Fischer Stiftung
    Leonore Mau | Zaubermarkt bei Lomé, 1975 | Togo
  • Leonore Mau | Ein Haus für Irre, Psychiatrie in Aneho, 1975 | Togo © Nachlass Leonore Mau, S. Fischer Stiftung
    Leonore Mau | Ein Haus für Irre, Psychiatrie in Aneho, 1975 | Togo
  • Leonore Mau | Agadir. Moschee Aus dem Film © Nachlass Leonore Mau, S. Fischer Stiftung
    Leonore Mau | Agadir. Moschee Aus dem Film "Das neue Agadir" von Hubert Fichte und Leonore Mau, 1970 | Agadir
  • Leonore Mau | o.T., um 1983 © Nachlass Leonore Mau, S. Fischer Stiftung
    Leonore Mau | o.T., um 1983
  • Leonore Mau | Casa das Minas in Sao Luiz de Maranhao, 1982 | Brasilien © Nachlass Leonore Mau, S. Fischer Stiftung
    Leonore Mau | Casa das Minas in Sao Luiz de Maranhao, 1982 | Brasilien
  • Leonore Mau | Wuppertal. Pina Bausch im Spiegel, dreifach gespiegelt, 1987 | Wuppertal © Nachlass Leonore Mau, S. Fischer Stiftung
    Leonore Mau | Wuppertal. Pina Bausch im Spiegel, dreifach gespiegelt, 1987 | Wuppertal
Wir danken der S. Fischer Stiftung für die freundliche Unterstützung.


Für das Foto eines afrikanischen Jungen mit Tablettenmaske gewinnt Mau 1975 den World Press Preis. Dann: New York, Venezuela, Trinidad, Benin; Trance-Kulte und ihre Rückverfolgung nach Afrika. 1974 bis 1978 widmen sie sich der Dokumentation von psychiatrischen Dörfern in Senegal. 1976 erscheint Maus Fotoband Xango. Die Afroamerikanischen Religionen. Bahia Haiti Trinidad mit Texten von Fichte. Ethnopoetische Forschungen, in denen sich Wort und Bild gegenseitig beleuchten. Dann sind sie wieder den afroamerikanischen Religionen auf der Spur: Miami, Grenada, Nicaragua und Haiti. 1981 unternehmen sie ihre letzte gemeinsame Reise nach Brasilien. Hier, in der Casa das Minas in São Luis de Maranão, entstehen Maus Porträts der Candomblé-Priesterinnen.

Peter Braun: „Gegen die Enge der Welt“

Peter Braun Peter Braun | Privat Der rituelle Reichtum und die Sinnlichkeit der afroamerikanischen Religionen übten eine große Faszination auf die Fotografin und den Schriftsteller aus. Das erforderte mehr als eine bloße Dokumentation. So suchten sie nach Möglichkeiten, in Bild und Wort die Atmosphäre der Orte und die körperlichen Bewegungen der Akteure, ihre Blicke, ihre Gesten, ihre Handlungen – und die derart freigesetzten „Energien“ einzufangen. Gerade Leonore Mau reagiert in ihren Fotografien oftmals auf Farben und Formen, auf Strukturen und Ordnungen – und immer wieder auf ein Geschehen zwischen Menschen vor der Kamera. Gegen Ende ihrer gemeinsamen Arbeit gewinnt vor allem das Porträt für Leonore Mau eine besondere Bedeutung. In den Gesichtern der alten Priesterinnen in der Casa das Minas spürt sie nicht nur die lange Tradition des ältesten Candomblé-Tempels in Brasilien auf, sondern konzentriert darin auch ihre eigene fast 15-jährige fotografische Erfahrung der afroamerikanischen Welt.

Beide bewegen sich mit ihren Arbeiten auf dem schmalen Grat zwischen Ethnologie und Kunst. Wie Wissenschaftler bemühen sie sich um ein Verstehen des afroamerikanischen Synkretismus. Sie interessieren sich sowohl für die Lebensgeschichten der Menschen, die an den Kulten teilnehmen, für ihre Beweggründe und Hoffnungen, als auch für die politischen und sozialen Bedingungen, unter denen sie leben. Ihre künstlerische Darstellung jedoch zielt nicht auf einen reflektierten intellektuellen Diskurs. In ihm sehen sie vielmehr eine „neoimperialistische Siegersprache“. Sie wollen dichter an den Menschen bleiben, wollen nicht über sie, sondern in ihrer Nähe sprechen – und das schließt immer auch ein Sprechen über sich selbst mit ein. Auch die Arbeiten von Leonore Mau stellen keine „Siegerfotografien“ dar – die ihr Sujet dem Betrachter restlos erschließen. Sie zeugen von Diskretion und Nähe.


 

Peter Braun ist Germanist und leitet das Schreibzentrum an der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena; zudem lehrt und forscht er zur Literatur vornehmlich des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts. Einen Schwerpunkt bilden Leben und Werk Hubert Fichtes, zu dem er unter anderem die Einführung Eine Reise durch das Werk von Hubert Fichte (Fischer Verlag, 2005) geschrieben hat. Jüngst gab er die Briefe Hubert Fichtes an Leonore Mau unter dem Titel Ich beiße Dich zum Abschied ganz zart heraus  (Fischer-Verlag, 2016).

 

Claus Deimel: „Empfindung und Sehen“

Claus Deimel Claus Deimel | © Captain Globo, 2016 Die Arbeiten von Leonore Mau und Hubert Fichte zeigen eine bis dahin seltene Einheit von poetischem Text und Fotografie. Beide Autoren wären ohne ihre gegenseitige Übersetzung von Empfindung und Sehen wohl gar nicht denkbar. Dabei erhält, was Hubert Fichte „Empfindlichkeit“ nannte, auf beiden Seiten eine Art Textur: im Bild als spontane Umsetzung einer starken Sympathie für die Riten der Dargestellten und für diese selbst, im Text als Versuch einer minutiösen Aufzeichnung der Geschehnisse und ihrer Begleitumstände.

Das Besondere für die Ethnologie ist die Einheit, die Kooperation für einen poetischen Entwurf, den Fichte übrigens nicht als Kunst bezeichnet hat, auch nicht als Ethnografie, sondern als Teil einer Geschichte der Empfindlichkeit. Beide greifen in diesem Projekt die Diskrepanz zwischen Subjektivität und Objektivität auf und suchen sie nicht zu überwinden, sondern sie beschreiben diese detailreich. Eben in diesem Prozess der Objektivierung bleiben Fotografin und Textautor immer präsent. Für die Ethnologie haben Mau und Fichte den Wert der genauen Beschreibung zurückgewonnen.


Fichtes Texte sind in vielen Fällen Übersetzungen der Bilder von Leonore Mau, also in gewisser Weise Bildbeschreibungen. Während eines Rituals nahm die Fotografin andere Dinge wahr und er hat daraus erst im Nachhinein Texte entwickelt. Fichte eröffnete Mau, die ja vor ihrer Beziehung vor allem Architektur fotografierte, eine neue Welt, die sie ihm in ihren Bildern als Vorlage für seine Texte zurückgab. Beide Autoren vermieden den sentimentalen Blick auf das zunächst fremd erscheinende Bild des Anderen. Dadurch gelingt ihnen eine durchaus krude Dokumentation dessen, was sie als schön empfanden.

Der Ethnologe Claus Deimel kuratierte bereits 1993 seine erste Ausstellung mit Leonore Mau und Texten von Hubert Fichte im Forum des Niedersächsischen Landesmuseums Hannover und gab den zweibändigen Katalog Götter aus Afrika (Niedersächsisches Landesmuseum Hannover, 1993) heraus. 2002 folgte eine zweite Ausstellung unter dem Titel Xango – Lebende Götter. Fotografien von Leonore Mau – Texte: Hubert Fichte im Grassimuseum für Völkerkunde zu Leipzig. An beiden Ausstellungen wirkte Leonore Mau selbst kuratorisch mit.

Im Rahmen des Regionalprojekts „Hubert Fichte – Liebe und Ethnologie“ zeigt das Goethe-Institut Porto Alegre die Ausstellung „A casa de Leonore Mau“. Ausgestellt werden über 100 Fotos, die Leonore Mau auf mehreren Reisen zwischen 1969 und 1982 in Bahia, Rio de Janeiro, São Luís do Maranhão, Brasília und Porto Alegre gemacht hat. Bis auf wenige Ausnahmen waren diese Fotos nie in Brasilien zu sehen. Der Kurator Prof. Alexandre Santos, Kunstwissenschaftler an der Bundesuniversität Rio Grande do Sul, ist auf Einladung des Goethe-Instituts Porto Alegre im Juli 2016 nach Hamburg gereist, um die Fotos gemeinsam mit Nathalie David aus dem Nachlass Leonore Maus bei der S. Fischer Stiftung auszuwählen. Die Ausstellung wird am 17. November mit einem Vortrag von Diedrich Diederichsen eröffnet