Touchdown The First Exhibition by and with People with Down’s Syndrome

Pascal Leyder | Untitled (Map) | 2013  (Detail)
Pascal Leyder | Untitled (Map) | 2013 (Detail) | © La ”S” Grand Atelier, Vielsalm, Belgien (Detail)

The exhibition Touchdown in the Bundeskunsthalle in Bonn is an unusual presentation for an art museum, as it spotlights an anthropological theme: investigating and delineating the contours of Down’s syndrome, also called trisomy 21.
 

This syndrome arises through a tripling of the human chromosome 21. People with this trisomy display physical features and possess abilities that people without trisomy 21 do not have. In addition, they are susceptible to particular illnesses, including serious cardiac problems, thyroid deficiencies and leukemia. Their life expectancy is significantly lower than that of people without trisomy 21.
Under the project direction of Henriette Pleiger of the Bundeskunsthalle, three independent research curators and an advisory board to Julia Bertmann, who has Down’s syndrome, belongs, have assembled over 100 exhibits from archaeology, history medicine, genetics, film and the visual arts. What is unusual about the Bonn concept is the “participative” model of the exhibition’s design, thus Katja de Bragança, Touchdown’s curator. De Bragança, a biologist who majored in human genetics, has been working closely with people with Down’s Syndrome for over 20 years. In Touchdown ‘s case, “participative” means that one half of the exhibition and the catalogue were developed and written by people with trisomy 21.

Strength

From her long years of experience with people with trisomy 21, Katja de Bragança knows that “that these people are strikingly strong and equipped with an extremely high degree of resilience.” Their strength makes them resistant to humiliation. People with Down’s Syndrome are often stressed by being stared at. “Actually, I get along fine with people, including non-handicapped people, but I find it stupid when they’re always eyeballing me…,” explains Julia Bertmann. “I imagine my future in such a way that non-handicapped people sometimes see my real self, and also understand why I am the way I am.”
  • Patrick Hanocq | untitled, 2015 © Atelier Créahm, Liège, Belgien
    Patrick Hanocq | untitled, 2015
  • Johanna von Schönfeld | Ohrenkuss-Ausgabe „Superpowers“, 2013 © Martin Langhorst
    Johanna von Schönfeld | Ohrenkuss-Ausgabe „Superpowers“, 2013
  • Britt Schilling | Six portraits of people with Down-Syndrome | From top left to bottom right: Michael Häger, Jeanne-Marie Mohn, Jule Müller, Susanne Kümpel, Achim Priest, Marc Lohmann, 2016 © Britt Schilling
    Britt Schilling | Six portraits of people with Down-Syndrome | From top left to bottom right: Michael Häger, Jeanne-Marie Mohn, Jule Müller, Susanne Kümpel, Achim Priest, Marc Lohmann, 2016
  • Birgit Ziegert | untitled (wedding dress), 2012 | Lebenshilfe Frankfurt am Main e.V. | Photo: David Ertl, Cologne © Atelier Goldstein
    Birgit Ziegert | untitled (wedding dress), 2012 | Lebenshilfe Frankfurt am Main e.V. | Photo: David Ertl, Cologne
  • Susanne Kümpel | Own rooms, 2000 | Photo: Enno Jäkel © KUNSTHAUS KAT 18, Köln
    Susanne Kümpel | Own rooms, 2000 | Photo: Enno Jäkel
  • Pascal Leyder | Untitled (Map) | 2013 © La ”S” Grand Atelier, Vielsalm, Belgien
    Pascal Leyder | Untitled (Map) | 2013
  • Susanne Kümpel | The Golden Centuries, 2015 Photo: Enno Jäkel © KUNSTHAUS KAT 18, Köln
    Susanne Kümpel | The Golden Centuries, 2015 Photo: Enno Jäkel
  • Erik Derkenne | Untitled, image from a series, 2004-2009 © La ”S” Grand Atelier, Vielsalm, Belgien
    Erik Derkenne | Untitled, image from a series, 2004-2009
  • Markus Keuler | Otto, 2012 © Markus Keuler, Bremen
  • Veronika Hammel | Ohrenkuss-Ausgabe „Fashion“, 2004 Foto © Mathias Bothor
    Veronika Hammel | Ohrenkuss-Ausgabe „Fashion“, 2004
  • Judith Scott | Ball, around 1998 | Photo: Leon Borensztein © Collection de l’Art Brut, Lausanne
    Judith Scott | Ball, around 1998 | Photo: Leon Borensztein

According to the expert de Bragança, one special ability of people with trisomy 21 is their linguistic faculty, which “is characterised by a very high degree of abstraction, clarity and honesty.” The texts in the exhibition and the catalogue by authors with Down’s Syndrome exemplify this, conveying their ideas and feelings on human and personal themes without superfluous embellishment. Julia Bertmann explains in few words her optimal choice of partner: “It has to be a nice, attractive, handicapped young man who isn’t boring.”

Life’s value?

A question runs through the entire Bonn exhibition like a leitmotif: is a life with trisomy 21 of less value than a life without it? The resilience cited by de Bragança is demanded once more of those affected, to withstand this question: a sombre chapter of the exhibition tells of the “T4” programme, the systematic murder of more than 70,000 human beings whose existence the National Socialists classified as “worthless life” under the banner of German racial-hygiene madness between 1940 and 1945. Among them were children and adults with trisomy 21. Despite Johanna von Schönfeld’s view: “That’s 80 years past. Today’s world is better than 80 years ago,” the theme is nonetheless still topical. In March 2015, the German daily newspaper Die Welt ran the headline: „Nine out of ten couples abort in cases of trisomy 21. Based on the valid medical indication, the abortion can be carried out until shortly before birth. Katja de Bragança is aware that women frequently decide on an abortion when they receive insufficient support from their partners or the latter clearly express their opposition to the birth. Julia Bertmann comments on this state of affairs without any trace of a reproachful undertone: “Because they (the couples) think they won’t be able to manage. Because they don’t know that a person like me can have a good life, a life with Down’s Syndrome can be happy. Because they don’t know me.”

Art knows no prejudice

Prejudice plays no role in art. This is also shown by the Bonn exhibition in which artworks by people with and without Down’s Syndrome are displayed on an equal footing, side by side. Among the celebrated examples of artists with Down’s syndrome is the US-American Judith Scott, who died in 2005 at the age of 62. She lost her hearing very early on, and used her art to communicate with her surroundings. The Ball, a highly characteristic work of hers, is to be seen in Bonn. Ball is a wrapped-up ventilator that Scott wound about with yarn until it had taken on a round, organic form. Judith Scott was one of those people who have led highly successful lives through art despite their physical disabilities. Their works are part of the inventories of important collections such as the Collection de l’Art Brut in Lausanne. In 2014, the Brooklyn Museum in New York devoted a retrospective to her, and she is highly valued on the art market: In September 2016 a collector paid over 19,000 Euros for a found object wrapped in yarn by her.
The works of Markus Keuler in the exhibition demonstrate just how inspiring people with trisomy 21 can be for artists. The wood sculptor, who lives in Bremen, chooses them preferentially as models for his life-size sculptures, for instance Otto from 2012. The models are enthusiastic. “If Markus Keuler wants to do a sculpture of me – I’m in!” says Natalie Dedreux, an author with Down’s Syndrome.

The Exhibition by and with People with Down’s Syndrome can be seen until 12th March 2017 at the Bundeskunsthalle Bonn.

Touchdown Die erste Ausstellung von und mit Menschen mit Downsyndrom

Pascal Leyder | Ohne Titel (Landkarte) | 2013  (Ausschnitt)
Pascal Leyder | Ohne Titel (Landkarte) | 2013 (Ausschnitt) | © La ”S” Grand Atelier, Vielsalm, Belgien (Ausschnitt)

Die Ausstellung Touchdown in der Bonner Bundeskunsthalle ist eine außergewöhnliche Schau für ein Kunstmuseum, denn sie stellt ein anthropologisches Thema in den Mittelpunkt: Es ist die Spurensuche zum Thema Downsyndrom, auch Trisomie 21 genannt.
 

Das Syndrom entsteht durch eine Verdreifachung des menschlichen 21er-Chromsoms. Menschen mit dieser Trisomie haben körperliche Besonderheiten, verfügen über Fähigkeiten, die Menschen ohne Trisomie 21 nicht haben. Zudem sind sie anfälliger für bestimmte Krankheiten, darunter starke Herzleiden, Schilddrüsenunterfunktionen und Leukämie. Ihre Lebenserwartung liegt um einiges unter der von Menschen ohne Trisomie 21.
Unter der Projektleitung von Henriette Pleiger der Bundeskunsthalle haben drei unabhängige wissenschaftliche Kuratoren und ein Beirat, dem Julia Bertmann mit Downsyndrom angehört, über 100 Ausstellungsstücke aus Archäologie, Geschichte, Medizin, Genetik, Film und bildender Kunst zusammengetragen. Außergewöhnlich am Bonner Konzept ist das „partizipative“ Modell der Ausstellungsgestaltung, so Katja de Bragança, Kuratorin von Touchdown. Die studierte Humangenetikerin und Biologin arbeitet seit über 20 Jahren eng mit Menschen mit Downsyndrom zusammen. „Partizipativ“ heißt im Fall von Touchdown, dass die Ausstellung und der Katalog zur Hälfte von Menschen mit Trisomie 21 erarbeitet, beziehungsweise geschrieben wurde.

Stark sein

Aus ihrer langjährigen Arbeit mit Menschen mit Trisomie 21 weiß Katja de Bragança, „dass diese Menschen ausgesprochen stark und mit einer extrem hohen Resilienz ausgestattet sind.“ Ihre Kraft macht sie gegen Demütigungen widerstandsfähig. Belastet werden Menschen mit Downsyndrom oftmals durch das Angestarrt-werden. „Ich komme eigentlich gut mit Menschen klar, auch mit nicht-behinderten Menschen, aber ich finde es doof, wenn die mich immer anglotzen…,“ erklärt Julia Bertmann. „Meine Zukunft stelle ich mir so vor, dass die nicht-behinderten Menschen mal mein richtiges Ich sehen, und auch verstehen, warum ich so bin.“
  • Patrick Hanocq | Ohne Titel, 2015 © Atelier Créahm, Liège, Belgien
    Patrick Hanocq | Ohne Titel, 2015
  • Johanna von Schönfeld | Ohrenkuss-Ausgabe „Superkräfte“, 2013 © Martin Langhorst
    Johanna von Schönfeld | Ohrenkuss-Ausgabe „Superkräfte“, 2013
  • Britt Schilling | Sechs Porträts von Menschen mit Down-Syndrom | Von links oben nach rechts unten: Michael Häger, Jeanne-Marie Mohn, Jule Müller, Susanne Kümpel, Achim Priester, Marc Lohmann, 2016 © Britt Schilling
    Britt Schilling | Sechs Porträts von Menschen mit Down-Syndrom | Von links oben nach rechts unten: Michael Häger, Jeanne-Marie Mohn, Jule Müller, Susanne Kümpel, Achim Priester, Marc Lohmann, 2016
  • Birgit Ziegert | Ohne Titel (Brautkleid), 2012 | Lebenshilfe Frankfurt am Main e.V. | Foto: David Ertl, Köln © Atelier Goldstein
    Birgit Ziegert | Ohne Titel (Brautkleid), 2012 | Lebenshilfe Frankfurt am Main e.V. | Foto: David Ertl, Köln
  • Susanne Kümpel | Eigene Zimmer, 2000 | Foto: Enno Jäkel © KUNSTHAUS KAT 18, Köln
    Susanne Kümpel | Eigene Zimmer, 2000 | Foto: Enno Jäkel
  • Pascal Leyder | Ohne Titel (Landkarte) | 2013 © La ”S” Grand Atelier, Vielsalm, Belgien
    Pascal Leyder | Ohne Titel (Landkarte) | 2013
  • Susanne Kümpel | Die goldenen Jahrhunderte, 2015 | Foto: Enno Jäkel © KUNSTHAUS KAT 18, Köln
    Susanne Kümpel | Die goldenen Jahrhunderte, 2015 | Foto: Enno Jäkel
  • Erik Derkenne | Ohne Titel, Bild aus einer Serie, 2004–2009 © La ”S” Grand Atelier, Vielsalm, Belgien
    Erik Derkenne | Ohne Titel, Bild aus einer Serie, 2004–2009
  • Markus Keuler | Otto, 2012 © Markus Keuler, Bremen
    Markus Keuler | Otto, 2012
  • Veronika Hammel | Ohrenkuss-Ausgabe „Mode“, 2004 Foto © Mathias Bothor
    Veronika Hammel | Ohrenkuss-Ausgabe „Mode“, 2004
  • Judith Scott | Ball, um 1998 | Foto: Leon Borensztein © Collection de l’Art Brut, Lausanne
    Judith Scott | Ball, um 1998 | Foto: Leon Borensztein

Eine besondere geistige Fähigkeit der Menschen mit Trisomie 21, so die Expertin de Bragança, liegt in ihrer sprachlichen Fertigkeit, die ein „sehr hoher Grad an Abstraktion, Klarheit und Ehrlichkeit auszeichnet.“ Dafür stehen die Texte der Autoren mit Downsyndrom in der Ausstellung und im Katalog, die ohne überflüssige Schnörkel ihre Ideen und Gefühle zu menschlichen und persönlichen Themen vermitteln. So erklärt Julia Bertmann knapp zu ihrer optimalen Partnerwahl: „Es muss ein netter, attraktiver, behinderter junger Mann sein, der nicht langweilig ist.“

Wert des Lebens?

Wie ein roter Faden zieht sich eine Frage durch die gesamte Bonner Ausstellung: Ist ein Leben mit Trismonie 21 weniger wert als ein Leben ohne? Um dieser Frage als Betroffener standzuhalten, ist die von de Bragança zitierte „Resilienz“ einmal mehr gefordert: Ein trauriges Kapitel der Ausstellung erzählt von „T4“, der systematischen Ermordung von mehr als 70.000 Menschen, deren Existenz von den Nationalsozialisten unter der Flagge des deutschen Rassenhygienewahns zwischen 1940 und 1945 als „unwertes Leben“ klassifiziert wurde. Darunter waren auch Kinder und Erwachsene mit Trisomie 21. Wenn Johanna von Schönfeld meint: „Das war vor 80 Jahren. Die jetzige Welt ist besser als vor 80 Jahren“, so ist das Thema in anderer Hinsicht immer noch aktuell. Im März 2015 titelte die deutsche Tageszeitung Die Welt: „Neun von zehn Paaren lassen bei Trisomie abtreiben.“ Basierend auf der dafür zulässigen medizinischen Indikation kann die Abtreibung bis knapp vor der Geburt vorgenommen werden. Katja de Bragança weiß, dass Frauen sich oftmals für eine Abtreibung entscheiden, wenn sie zu wenig Rückhalt von ihrem Partner bekommen oder dieser sich klar gegen die Geburt ausspricht. Julia Bertmann kommentiert diese Sachlage ohne jeden vorwurfsvollen Unterton: „Weil sie (die Paare) denken, dass sie es nicht schaffen. Weil sie nicht wissen, dass ein Mensch wie ich ein gutes Leben haben kann, ein Leben mit Downsyndrom Freude macht. Weil sie mich nicht kennen.“

Kunst ist ohne Vorurteile

In der Kunst spielen Vorurteile keine Rolle. Das zeigt auch die Bonner Ausstellung, in der Kunstwerke von Menschen mit und ohne Downsyndrom gleichberechtigt nebeneinanderstehen. Zu den berühmten Beispielen der Künstler mit Downsyndrom zählt die 2005 im Alter von 62 verstorbene Amerikanerin Judith Scott. Sie verlor sehr früh ihr Gehör. Um sich ihrer Umwelt mitzuteilen, nutzte sie ihre Kunst. In Bonn ist von ihr der Ball zu sehen, eine für sie sehr typische Arbeit. Ball ist ein verpackter Ventilator, den Scott so lange mit Garn umwickelte, bis er eine rund-organische Form angenommen hatte. Judith Scott gehört zu den Menschen, denen trotz ihrer körperlichen Versehrtheit über die Kunst ein sehr erfolgreiches Leben gelungen ist. Ihre Arbeiten gehören zum Bestand bedeutender Sammlungen, wie der Collection de l’Art Brut in Lausanne. Das Brooklyn Museum in New York widmete ihr 2014 eine Retrospektive und auch auf dem Kunstmarkt ist sie sehr geschätzt: Im September 2016 zahlte ein Sammler in einer Auktion bei Christie´s für ein von ihr umgarntes Fundstück über 19.000 Euro.
Wie inspirierend Menschen mit Trisomie auf Künstler wirken, beweisen in der Ausstellung die Arbeiten von Markus Keuler. Der in Bremen lebende Holzbildhauer wählt sie bevorzugt als Modell für seine lebensgroßen Skulpturen, so zum Beispiel für Otto aus dem Jahr 2012. Die Modelle sind begeistert. „Wenn Markus Keuler eine Skulptur von mir machen will – ich bin dabei“, meint Natalie Dedreux, Autorin mit Downsyndrom.

Die Ausstellung mit und über Menschen mit Down-Syndrom ist bis zum 12. März 2017 in der Bundeskunsthalle in Bonn zu sehen.