documenta 14 Learning from the South

MARIANA CASTILLO DEBALL |
MARIANA CASTILLO DEBALL | "NEWSPAPER WORKS" In: SOUTH AS A STATE OF MIND #7 [DOCUMENTA 14 #2] 2016, S. 76-77. | courtesy Mariana Castillo Deball (Detail)

Quinn Latimer, Editor-in-Chief of documenta 14 Publications, speaks about the South as a learning process, documenta’s public programme taking place in Athens and language as a liberating act.

Ms. Latimer, what do you mean by “South as a State of Mind” in documenta’s magazine? Is documenta 14 just centered on the North-South divide or is it going to address South-South relations as well?
 
South as a State of Mind was founded by Marina Fokidis in Athens in 2012. Beginning in 2015, it temporarily became the documenta 14 journal, edited by myself and documenta 14 Artistic Director Adam Szymczyk. We have published three issues so far; we have one more to go. I’m sure the meaning of the title for Marina is a bit different, but I have always read it in a number of ways. One may understand it as a nod to a geopolitical site in contemporary narrations of power and what are commonly referred to as the “Global South” and the “Global North”, once called the “East” and the “West”. But it also may be read as a space for imagination, resistance and a certain kind of climate-induced subjectivity, be it radical or not. Despite exploring aspects of the entangled history of modern Greece and Germany, however, documenta 14 is not interested in embodying or furthering binaries like the North-South divide, and neither is our magazine.

MARIANA CASTILLO DEBALL | MARIANA CASTILLO DEBALL | “NEWSPAPER WORKS” In: SOUTH AS A STATE OF MIND #7 [DOCUMENTA 14 #2] 2016, S. 64-65 | Courtesy Mariana Castillo Deball For the first issue of the D14 South we decided to look at forms and figures of displacement and dispossession, and the modes of resistance found within them. For me, the crucial essay is the one by feminist political theorist Françoise Vergès. It’s a text I still think about. In it, she describes growing up amid the resistance movements on La Reunion Island, a former French colony in the Indian Ocean, and then later on in Algeria. Vergès narrates the long history of South-South relations, something often left out in hegemonic histories of center and periphery. She describes a world of exchanges between Africa and Asia – a world, as she writes, “of solidarity routes among anti-imperialist movements of the various Souths, the Southern world of music, literature, and images.” For her, Europe was geographically and culturally on the periphery.
 
Her essay Like a Riot: The Politics of Forgetfulness, Relearning the South, and the Island of Dr. Moreau invokes Audre Lorde’s famous maxim: “The learning process is something you can incite, literally incite, like a riot.” Inspired by Françoise’s essay, we have tried, to the degree that we can, to displace the centrality of “Europe” in our thinking and in the work that we do. We did not come to Athens three years ago to make a magazine about the “South” per se and yet by being here the work changes, one’s thinking changes.

Greece is the starting point in this edition of documenta. The programme connects Greek’s military dictatorship with other dictatorships worldwide (among them Chile, Argentina and Spain). Is it a counterpoint to the fact that Athens is the birthplace of democracy? What are the reasons to speak about it?
 
The public programmes of documenta 14, called The Parliament of Bodies and ongoing in Athens since September 2016, has focused at times on the history of the Greek dictatorship – it’s true. It’s an episode that happened not so long ago (1967 to 1974) and, as with many violent periods of fascist rule across the world, it’s a history that has often been systematically suppressed by successive governments, democratic or other.

The Fridericianum in Kassel after the Allied air raids of September 8 and 9, 1941, South as a State of Mind #6 [documenta 14 #1] (2015), pp. 12–13. The Fridericianum in Kassel after the Allied air raids of September 8 and 9, 1941, South as a State of Mind #6 [documenta 14 #1] (2015), pp. 12–13. | Courtesy South as a State of Mind The Parliament of Bodies is held in a building in Parko Eleftherias (Freedom Park), a former nineteenth-century military quarter. Behind the Athens Municipality Art Center, which hosts documenta 14’s public programme, is the Museum of Anti-dictatorial and Democractic Resistance. Both buildings were used by the dictatorship: one as offices, one as a site for torture. The Greek Ministry of Defense still owns the buildings: both the art gallery and the museum of memory, which seems like a pretty emblematic state of institutional progression in our contemporary world. After former sites of governmental violence become cultural centers and contemporary art galleries, after former factories become our museums, what does the institution become next?
 
This is all to say that ideas and forms of democracy and freedom have always been tied to their denial. That Athens is said to the “birthplace” or sometimes “cradle” of democracy makes it sound very natural, almost biological. There is nothing natural about it, though. We’re seeing this more clearly now, perhaps, as democracy itself – in all its undemocratic forms – seems to be shedding its skin across the West, which took so much of its democratic political imaginary and visions of white male supremacy from its elected ancestors in ancient Greece. These are all reasons to speak about it, I suppose, not in order to simply memorialise or institutionalise the past, but to think and voice how such authoritarianism continues to be enacted today.
 
Parallel to documenta 14, the city of Athens is also presenting the Athens Biennale 2015-2017, “Omonoia” (Concordance/Agreement). One of its programmes, the Synapse sections “Rethinking Institutional Critique – A view From the South”, is also addressing the topic of the “South”. Is this event linked to documenta 14? If yes, in which sense are both art events related?
 
I think language floats – terms migrate. And sometimes they hit the ground. Thinking through the ideas and implications of the “Global South” has been an academic and political focus for years now, which I am sure the Athens Biennale is also picking up. That Athens has had a magazine for several years called South is very likely another reference. That said, the Athens Biennale programme is not linked in any sort of collaborative way to our own. Nevertheless, the biennale’s offices are just upstairs from ours. We are breathing the same air, so to speak.

Naeem Mohaiemen, Naeem Mohaiemen, “Volume Eleven (A Flaw in the Algorithm of Cosmopolitanism)”, South as a State of Mind #6 [documenta 14 #1] (2015), S. 150–151. | Courtesy South as a State of Mind Another important issue of documenta 14 is language. How does the magazine understand it and what does it add to documenta’s programme?
 
Language structures our reading of and our being in the world. Language is also a form of control. But language, untied from its empty clichés and fascist operations, can be liberating as well. It is the medium in which we think; it is often the medium in which we relate to others. I’ve been thinking about the foundational act of language – its uses and abuses and affects, as public rhetoric or private literary production. Thus the d14 publications explore language itself; they do not simply employ it in the service of various aesthetic, political, and discursive regimes.
 
One way we’ve considered the publications of documenta 14 is as a means of reading power through resistance to it. The magazine is also a space in which the artists of documenta 14 can test out ideas, try to articulate or generate something new. Some artists have created works for the magazine that think through those they are creating for the documenta 14 exhibitions in Athens and Kassel. Likewise, documenta 14 is not primarily an exhibition with sideshows of publications and public programmes. The magazine South as a State of Mind, the public programme The Parliament of Bodies, the exhibitions in Athens and Kassel, together they make up what we know as documenta 14.

Portrait: Quinn Latimer Portrait: Quinn Latimer | Photo: Natasha Papadopoulou Quinn Latimer is a poet, critic, and editor from California, USA. She is the author of the forthcoming Like a Woman: Essays, Readings, Poems (Sternberg Press, 2017),
Sarah Lucas: Describe This Distance (Mousse Publishing, 2013), and Rumored Animals (Dream Horse Press, 2012).

A regular contributor to Artforum and a contributing editor to Frieze, she is also the editor of Paul Sietsema: Interviews on Films and Works (2012), and co-editor of Stories, Myths, Ironies, and Other Songs: Conceived, Directed, Edited, and Produced by M. Auder (Sternberg Press, 2014) and No Core: Pamela Rosenkranz (JRP-Ringier, 2012). She is Editor-in-Chief of Publications for documenta 14.

documenta 14 Vom Süden lernen

MARIANA CASTILLO DEBALL |
MARIANA CASTILLO DEBALL | "NEWSPAPER WORKS" In: SOUTH AS A STATE OF MIND #7 [DOCUMENTA 14 #2] 2016, S. 76-77. | courtesy Mariana Castillo Deball (Ausschnitt)

Quinn Latimer, Chefredakteurin der Publikationen zur documenta 14, spricht über den Süden als Lernprozess, das öffentliche Programm der documenta in Athen und über die Sprache als Akt der Befreiung.

Ms. Latimer, was ist mit „South as a State of Mind“ („Süden als Bewusstseinszustand“) im Magazin der documenta gemeint? Konzentriert sich die documenta 14 auf das Nord-Süd-Gefälle oder wird es auch um Süd-Süd-Beziehungen gehen?
 
South as a State of Mind, auch D14 South genannt, wurde 2012 von Marina Fokidis in Athen gegründet. Seit 2015 ist es vorübergehend das Magazin der documenta 14, herausgegeben von mir und Adam Szymczyk, dem künstlerischen Leiter der documenta 14. Bislang haben wir drei Ausgaben veröffentlicht; eine weitere ist in Arbeit. Sicher hat Marina ihre eigene Auffassung von der Bedeutung des Titels, aber ich habe immer mehrere Lesarten darin gesehen. Man kann ihn auf einen geopolitischen Schauplatz in zeitgenössischen Erzählungen von Macht beziehen, auf das, was gemeinhin als „globaler Süden“ und „globaler Norden“ bezeichnet wird, und früher „Osten“ und „Westen“ hieß. Genauso gut kann er aber auch gelesen werden als Raum für Fantasie, Widerstand und eine gewisse Form klimainduzierter Subjektivität, ob radikal oder nicht. Die documenta 14 beschäftigt sich zwar mit Aspekten der historischen Verflechtungen Griechenlands und Deutschlands in heutiger Zeit, doch weder der Ausstellung noch dem Magazin geht es darum, Dichotomien wie das Nord-Süd-Gefälle zu übernehmen oder zu befördern.

MARIANA CASTILLO DEBALL | MARIANA CASTILLO DEBALL | „NEWSPAPER WORKS“ In: SOUTH AS A STATE OF MIND #7 [DOCUMENTA 14 #2] 2016, S. 64-65 | Courtesy Mariana Castillo Deball In der ersten Ausgabe von D14 South widmeten wir uns Formen und Figuren von Vertreibung und Enteignung sowie den Praktiken des Widerstands, die darin zu finden sind. Der entscheidende Beitrag dazu ist meiner Ansicht nach der Essay der feministischen Politologin Françoise Vergès. Über diesen Text denke ich immer noch nach. Sie schildert darin ihre Kindheit und Jugend im Umfeld der Widerstandsbewegungen auf La Réunion, einer ehemaligen französischen Kolonie im Indischen Ozean, und später in Algerien. Vergès erzählt die lange Geschichte der Süd-Süd-Beziehungen, die in den hegemonialen Geschichtsschreibungen von Zentrum und Peripherie häufig fehlen. Sie beschreibt eine Welt regen Austausches zwischen Afrika und Asien – eine Welt, so Vergès, „der Solidaritäts-Routen innerhalb der antiimperialistischen Bewegungen, die Welt der Musik und der Literatur und Bilder in den unterschiedlichen Hemisphären des Südens“. Aus ihrer Sicht lag Europa geografisch und kulturell an der Peripherie.
 
Ihrem Essay Wie ein Aufstand: Die Politik der Vergesslichkeit, den Süden umlernen, und die Insel des Dr. Moreau ist Audre Lordes berühmte Maxime vorangestellt: „Der Lernprozess ist etwas, das man anstiften kann, wortwörtlich anstiften, wie einen Aufstand.“ Inspiriert von Françoises Essay haben wir versucht, uns von der Zentralität Europas in unserem Denken und in unserer Arbeit zu lösen, so weit uns das möglich wurde. Wir sind vor drei Jahren nicht nach Athen gekommen, um ein Magazin über den Süden an sich zu machen, und doch verändert sich die Arbeit, verändert sich unser Denken dadurch, dass wir hier sind.
 
Griechenland ist der Ausgangspunkt für diese Ausgabe der documenta. Das Programm setzt die griechische Militärdiktatur in Bezug zu anderen Diktaturen weltweit (darunter Chile, Argentinien und Spanien). Ist das ein Kontrapunkt zu Athen als Wiege der Demokratie? Aus welchen Gründen wird das thematisiert?
 
Die öffentlichen Programme der documenta 14, die unter dem Titel The Parliament of Bodies (Das Parlament der Körper) seit September 2016 in Athen stattfinden, haben sich gelegentlich auf die Geschichte der griechischen Diktatur konzentriert, das stimmt. Es ist eine Periode, die noch nicht lange zurückliegt (1967 bis 1974), und wie bei vielen gewaltsamen Phasen faschistischer Herrschaft in aller Welt ist die Geschichte dieser Jahre von einer ganzen Reihe von – demokratisch oder anderweitig eingesetzten – Regierungen oft systematisch verdrängt worden.
 
Das Fridericianum in Kassel nach den Luftangriffen der Alliierten am 8. und 9. September 1941, South as a State of Mind #6 [documenta 14 #1] (2015), S. 12–13. Das Fridericianum in Kassel nach den Luftangriffen der Alliierten am 8. und 9. September 1941, South as a State of Mind #6 [documenta 14 #1] (2015), S. 12–13. | Courtesy South as a State of Mind Das Parlament der Körper wird in einem Gebäude im Parko Eleftherias (Freiheitspark) abgehalten, der im 19. Jahrhundert als Militärstützpunkt diente. Hinter dem Kunstzentrum der Athener Stadtverwaltung, in dem die öffentlichen Programme der documenta 14 stattfinden, liegt das Museum des demokratischen Widerstandes gegen die Diktatur. Beide Gebäude wurden von der Militärregierung genutzt: das eine als Amtssitz, das andere als Foltereinrichtung. Das griechische Verteidigungsministerium ist immer noch Eigentümer beider Häuser, der Kunstgalerie ebenso wie des Gedenkmuseums. Eine institutionelle Abfolge, die in unserer heutigen Zeit durchaus emblematisch scheint. Wenn einstige Stätten von Regierungsverbrechen zu Kulturzentren und zeitgenössischen Kunstgalerien geworden sind, wenn ehemalige Fabriken heute zu unseren Museen werden, wozu wird sich die Institution als Nächstes wandeln?
 
Was ich damit sagen will: Die Begriffe und Formen von Demokratie und Freiheit waren immer schon mit ihrer Ablehnung verknüpft. Dass Athen die Geburtsstätte oder manchmal auch Wiege der Demokratie genannt wird, hört sich so an, als sei dies ein natürlicher, fast biologischer Umstand. Daran ist ganz und gar nichts natürlich. Das sehen wir jetzt vielleicht deutlicher, da die Demokratie selbst – in all ihren undemokratischen Erscheinungsformen – offenbar gerade ihre Haut abwirft, und das überall im Westen, der einen Großteil seiner demokratisch-politischen Vorstellungen und Visionen weißer männlicher Vorherrschaft von seinen gewählten Vorfahren im alten Griechenland übernommen hat. Das sind sicher alles Gründe, das zu thematisieren – nicht, um die Vergangenheit lediglich zu musealisieren oder zu institutionalisieren, sondern um zu reflektieren und auszusprechen, wie solche autoritären Systeme heute weiterbestehen.
 
Parallel zur documenta 14 präsentiert die Stadt Athen auch die Athens Biennale 2015–2017, „Omonoia“ (Eintracht/Übereinstimmung). Eines ihrer Programme, die „Synapse“-Sektion „Institutionskritik neu denken – aus Sicht des Südens“, befasst sich ebenfalls mit dem Thema Süden. Gibt es eine Verbindung zur documenta 14? Wenn ja: Welcher Zusammenhang besteht zwischen den beiden Kunstveranstaltungen?
 
Ich glaube, Sprache ist im Fluss, Begriffe wandern. Und manchmal laufen sie auf Grund. Seit Jahren prägen die Ideen und Implikationen des „globalen Südens“ das Denken in Forschung und Politik, und das greift die Athens Biennale mit Sicherheit auf. Dass Athen seit etlichen Jahren eine Zeitschrift namens South hat, nimmt wahrscheinlich ebenfalls darauf Bezug. Abgesehen davon hat das Programm der Athens Biennale auf kollaborativer Ebene nichts mit unserem zu tun. Die Büros der Biennale befinden sich aber im Stockwerk über uns. Wir atmen gewissermaßen dieselbe Luft.

Naeem Mohaiemen, Naeem Mohaiemen, „Volume Eleven (A Flaw in the Algorithm of Cosmopolitanism)“, South as a State of Mind #6 [documenta 14 #1] (2015), S. 150–151. | Courtesy South as a State of Mind Ein anderes wichtiges Thema der documenta 14 ist Sprache. Wie versteht das Magazin dieses Thema und wie fließt es in das Programm der documenta ein?
 

Sprache strukturiert, wie wir die Welt lesen und wie wir uns in ihr bewegen. Sprache ist auch eine Form von Kontrolle. Losgelöst von ihren hohlen Phrasen und faschistischen Handlungen kann Sprache aber auch befreiend sein. Sie ist das Medium, in dem wir denken; oft ist sie das Medium, durch das wir uns zu anderen verhalten. Ich habe immer wieder über den fundierenden Akt der Sprache nachgedacht – wie sie gebraucht und missbraucht wird, und wie affektiv besetzt sie ist, sei es in öffentlicher Rede oder in privater literarischer Produktion. In diesem Sinne erkunden die Publikationen der documenta 14 die Sprache selbst; sie benutzen sie nicht lediglich im Dienst verschiedener ästhetischer, politischer und diskursiver Systeme. Wir haben sie daher unter anderem als Mittel konzipiert, Macht durch den Widerstand dagegen zu lesen. Das Magazin ist auch ein Raum, in dem die Künstler und Künstlerinnen der documenta 14 Ideen ausprobieren und etwas Neues artikulieren oder hervorbringen können. Einige haben Arbeiten für das Magazin geschaffen, die ihre Werke für die Ausstellungen im Rahmen der documenta 14 in Athen und Kassel weiterdenken. Die documenta 14 ist ja auch nicht primär eine Ausstellung, die von Publikationen und öffentlichen Programmen begleitet wird. Das Magazin South as a State of Mind, das öffentliche Programm Das Parlament der Körper, die Ausstellungen in Athen und Kassel – all das zusammen macht das aus, was wir als documenta 14 kennen.
 

Porträt: Quinn Latimer Porträt: Quinn Latimer | Foto: Natasha Papadopoulou Die gebürtige Kalifornierin Quinn Latimer ist Lyrikerin, Kritikerin und Herausgeberin. Demnächst erscheint ihr Buch Like a Woman: Essays, Readings, Poems (Sternberg Press, 2017). Außerdem liegen von ihr vor: Sarah Lucas: Describe This Distance (Mousse Publishing, 2013) und Rumored Animals (Dream Horse Press, 2012).

Neben regelmäßigen Beiträgen für Artforum und ihrer redaktionellen Tätigkeit für Frieze hat sie den Sammelband Paul Sietsema: Interviews on Films and Works (2012) herausgegeben. Sie ist Mitherausgeberin von Stories, Myths, Ironies, and Other Songs: Conceived, Directed, Edited, and Produced by M. Auder (Sternberg Press, 2014) sowie No Core: Pamela Rosenkranz (JRP-Ringier, 2012). Latimer ist Chefredakteurin der Publikationen zur documenta 14.