Photo Festivals Focus on the amateur

f/stop Festival for photography | Leipzig
f/stop Festival for photography | Leipzig | Photo (detail): Nils A. Petersen

Photo are often held in locations spread out over the city, also gladly at places not associated with art that the visitors can then capture and occupy. The festival atmosphere stimulates conversation.

In the run-up to preparations for a festival, artist Wolfgang Tillmans regretted the fact that photo festivals and institutions, such as the Photographer’s Gallery in London, are now completely dedicated to art, instead of, say, photo journalism or nature and animal photography. In his view, photography is much more than this: “Medical photography, technical photography, the entire amateur area.”  … “There are incredibly many people whom we do not reach at all with our approach, but who are passionately involved with photography.”

Interest in the amateur and his potential for innovation has tradition. Recall, for example, the Pictorialists of the turn of the twentieth century, who trained themselves in contradistinction to professional studio photography, or the avant-garde of the 1920’s and the Bauhaus. Today as well, the amateur, whom Tillmans wishes to be taken seriously, also sets some of the most interesting impulses, such as smartphone photography and sharing photos on social media. Or the phenomenon of citizen journalism accompanying an important historical moment.

Umweltfotofestival horizonte Zingst | sundown Umweltfotofestival horizonte Zingst | sundown | Photo: Oliver Nieschulz This ought to spark our curiosity for the Fürstenfelder Naturfototage, (i.e. Fürstenfeld nature photography), the Internationale Naturfotofestival (i.e. international nature photo festival) in Lünen, and the environmental photo festival horizonte zingst, all of which explicitly address the amateur. The point here, though, is to take photos rather than analyse them. At the trade fair organised in Lünen by the Gesellschaft Deutscher Tierfotografen (society of German animal photographers) and accompanying the festival, amateur photographers and photo industry reps bustle about. Apart from the photo market, one of the most important formats of festivals such as these with an interest in the amateur, are also the photo workshops. 

Analysing photos

If a festival attracts attention in the art context, the focus shifts from photographing to an appraisal of pictorial results. Independence from the photo industry seems to be the foremost principle. Thus, for instance, in connection with the Photobook Festival Kassel, the photo book market is the subject of critical discussion. The reason is that the festival’s critical potential is endangered by the market that compromises the added-value of distinction, which in turn is profitably utilised as an advertising factor for the cities, instead of fuelling the market of the photo industry. 

Fotobook Festival Kassel | in Peking Fotobook Festival Kassel | in Peking | Photo: Fotobook Festival Kassel In recent years in the festival sector, movement is away from photo journalism and reportage and towards a multi-disciplinary art photography. This is evident in the repositioning of the oldest and most prominent photo festival, the Rencontres d’Arles, that was founded in 1969. In 2015, newly appointed festival director Sam Stourdzé spoke of how art supplies the freedom to see in different ways. Here, art is trusted and the market eyed with suspicion.

Alternative exhibition venues

Like photo festivals in Germany, the Fotofestival Arles was founded in a climate in which exhibition opportunities for photography were still exceedingly rare. The medium established itself in German museums only in the 1980’s: the photography departments in art museums were started in the late 1970’s, at a time in which an art market was also developing. Photo festivals were therefore initially alternative venues where photography was exhibited that as yet had found no place in museums. Nowadays, in a cultural landscape in which photography has its place as a matter of course in museums’ exhibition spaces, the question of the function of festivals presents itself.

European Month of Photography Berlin | Kike Arnal | Samen from the series Voladores, 2014 European Month of Photography Berlin | Kike Arnal | Samen from the series Voladores, 2014 | Photo: © Kike Arnal The two festivals with the greatest number of venues in Germany are the European Month of Photography Berlin and the Triennale der Photographie Hamburg. Both are held in locations whose institutions and galleries have a tradition of photographic exhibition. They feature wide-ranging thematic areas that make it possible to integrate a great many curators and their work.

Biennale für aktuelle Fotografie | curators 2017 | (Boaz Levin, Florian Ebner, Christin Müller, Fabian Knierim, Kathrin Schönegg, Kerstin Meincke) Biennale für aktuelle Fotografie | curators 2017 | (Boaz Levin, Florian Ebner, Christin Müller, Fabian Knierim, Kathrin Schönegg, Kerstin Meincke) | Photo: Biennale für aktuelle Fotografie The Biennale für aktuelle Fotografie (biennial for current photography) in Mannheim, Heidelberg and Ludwigshafen is held in a region where only a few exhibition surfaces are available for photography. The event has been organising frequent discourses with a varying list of invited curators, and in doing so presents Germany’s most ambitious festival of recent years. In 2017, with Farewell Photography, the festival addresses the theme of the transformation of analogue photography. The f/stop Photography Festival in Leipzig was launched by local interest groups and maintains close contact with the Academy of Fine Arts.

Special festivals

Also of interest are festivals heavily specialising in subdivisions of photography, such as the 9. Photobook Festival Kassel, which with its mini-editions and inexpensive self-publishing, has evolved since the late 1990s into an exciting, alternative venue for showing photography. Another example of specialisation is the festival Fotodoks, which with its focus on documentary photography presents countries one at a time, in alternating sequence. 

Fotodoks Festival | Cassius Clay posing for Malcolm X Fotodoks Festival | Cassius Clay posing for Malcolm X | Photo: © Bob Gomel Alternative exhibition format or city marketing? Festivals are interesting when they make things possible which in that form are not to be seen in institutions, whether it be experimental exhibition formats or seldom-treated themes.

Fotofestivals Der Amateur im Fokus

f/stop Festival für Fotografie | Leipzig
f/stop Festival für Fotografie | Leipzig | Foto (Detail): Nils A. Petersen

Fotofestivals bespielen häufig Orte, die über die Stadt verteilt sind – oft auch kunstferne Plätze, die die Besucher erobern können. Die Festivalatmosphäre regt zum Gespräch an.

Der Künstler Wolfgang Tillmans bedauerte im Vorfeld einer Festival-Vorbereitung die Tatsache, dass sich Fotofestivals und Institutionen, wie beispielsweise die Photographer’s Gallery in London, inzwischen ganz der Kunst verschreiben, statt sich etwa um journalistische Fotografie oder um Natur- oder Tierfotografie zu kümmern. Die Fotografie sei ja viel mehr: „die medizinische Fotografie, die technische Fotografie, der ganze Amateurbereich“. „Da gibt es unglaublich viele Leute, die wir gar nicht erreichen mit unserem  Ansatz, die aber trotzdem eine leidenschaftliche Beziehung zur Fotografie haben.“

Sich für den Amateur und für sein Innovationspotenzial zu interessieren, hat Tradition. Man denke an die Piktorialisten der Jahrhundertwende, die sich in Abgrenzung zur professionellen Studiofotografie ausbildeten oder an die Avantgarde der 1920er-Jahre und das Bauhaus. Der Amateur, den Tillmans ernst nehmen möchte, gibt auch heute einige der interessantesten Impulse, wie zum Beispiel durch die Handyfotografie und das Teilen von Bildern in sozialen Netzwerken. Oder das Phänomen des Bürgerjournalismus, des am Geschehen partizipierenden Zeitzeugen, der einen wichtigen historischen Moment begleitet.

Umweltfotofestival horizonte Zingst | Sonnenuntergang Umweltfotofestival horizonte Zingst | Sonnenuntergang | Foto: Oliver Nieschulz Dies sollte uns neugierig machen auf die Fürstenfelder Naturfototage, das Internationale Naturfotofestival in Lünen oder das Umweltfotofestival Horizonte Zingst, die alle explizit den Amateur adressieren. Allerdings geht es hier eher darum, Fotos zu machen, statt Fotos zu analysieren. Auf der von der Gesellschaft Deutscher Tierfotografen veranstalteten Messe in Lünen, die das Festival begleitet, tummeln sich Amateurfotografen und die Vertreter der Fotoindustrie. Eines der wichtigsten Formate solcher am Amateur interessierten Festivals sind neben dem Fotomarkt auch die Fotoworkshops.

Fotos analysieren

Erreicht ein Festival Aufmerksamkeit im Kunstkontext, so verschiebt sich der Fokus vom Fotografieren zu einer Beurteilung von Bildergebnissen. Die Unabhängigkeit von der Fotoindustrie scheint dann als höchstes Gebot zu gelten. So wird etwa im Zusammenhang mit dem Photobook Festival Kassel der Fotobuchmarkt kritisch diskutiert. Denn das kritische Potenzial der Festivals ist durch den Markt in Gefahr, der dem Distinktionsgewinn schadet. Dieser wiederum wird gewinnbringend als Werbefaktor für die Städte eingesetzt, anstatt den Markt der Fotoindustrie zu befeuern.

Fotobook Festival Kassel | in Peking Fotobook Festival Kassel | in Peking | Foto: Fotobook Festival Kassel Seit einigen Jahren bewegt man sich im Bereich der Festivals vom Fotojournalismus und der Reportage weg, hin zu einer spartenübergreifenden künstlerischen Fotografie. Das wird an der Neupositionierung des bekanntesten und ältesten Fotofestivals, der 1969 gegründeten Rencontres d’Arles deutlich. 2015 spricht der neu eingesetzte Festivalleiter Sam Stourdzé davon, dass die Kunst die Freiheit gebe, anders zu sehen. Hier vertraut man also der Kunst und misstraut dem Markt.

Alternative Ausstellungsorte

Gegründet wurde das Fotofestival Arles, ebenso wie die ersten Fotofestivals in Deutschland, in einem Klima, in dem Ausstellungsmöglichkeiten für Fotografie noch äußerst rar waren. In deutschen Kunstmuseen etablierte sich das Medium erst im Laufe der 1980er-Jahre: Die Abteilungen für Fotografie in den Kunstmuseen wurden Ende der 1970er-Jahre gegründet, zu jener Zeit als sich auch ein Kunstmarkt entwickelte. Fotofestivals waren also zunächst alternative Orte, an denen Fotografie ausgestellt wurde, die im Museum noch keinen Platz hatte. In einer Kulturlandschaft, in der Fotografie ganz selbstverständlich seinen Platz in den Ausstellungsräumen der Museen gefunden hat, stellt sich heute die Frage nach der Funktion der Festivals.

European Month of Photography Berlin | Kike Arnal | Samen from the series Voladores, 2014 European Month of Photography Berlin | Kike Arnal | Samen from the series Voladores, 2014 | Foto: © Kike Arnal Die beiden Festivals mit  der größten Zahl von Spielorten in Deutschland sind der European Month of Photography Berlin und die Triennale der Photographie Hamburg. Beide finden an Orten statt, die in ihren Institutionen und Galerien eine Tradition im Ausstellen von Fotografie haben. Sie zeichnen sich durch breitgefasste Themengebiete aus, die es ermöglichen, viele Kuratoren und ihre Arbeit zu integrieren.

Biennale für aktuelle Fotografie | Kuratoren 2017 | (Boaz Levin, Florian Ebner, Christin Müller, Fabian Knierim, Kathrin Schönegg, Kerstin Meincke) Biennale für aktuelle Fotografie | Kuratoren 2017 | (Boaz Levin, Florian Ebner, Christin Müller, Fabian Knierim, Kathrin Schönegg, Kerstin Meincke) | Foto: Biennale für aktuelle Fotografie Die Biennale für aktuelle Fotografie, in Mannheim, Heidelberg und Ludwigshafen findet in einer Region statt, in der für Fotografie nur wenige Ausstellungsflächen existieren. Die Veranstaltung stiftet mit wechselnden eingeladenen Kuratoren immer wieder Diskurse und präsentiert damit das anspruchsvollste Festival der letzten Jahre in Deutschland. 2017 stellt es sich mit Farewell Photography dem Thema der Veränderung der analogen Fotografie. Das f/stop Festival für Fotografie in Leipzig ist von lokalen Interessensgruppen gegründet worden und pflegt einen engen Kontakt zur Hochschule für Bildende Künste.

Spezialfestivals

Interessant sind zudem jene Festivals, die sich stark auf einen Teilbereich der Fotografie spezialisieren, wie das 9. Photobook Festival Kassel, das seit Ende der 1990er-Jahre mit seinen Kleinstauflagen und dem kostengünstigen Selbstpublishing zu einem spannenden, alternativen Ort des Zeigens für Fotografen geworden ist. Ein anderes Beispiel der Spezialisierung ist das Festival Fotodoks, das mit seinem Fokus auf Dokumentarfotografie jeweils im Wechsel ein Land vorstellt.

Fotodoks Festival | Cassius Clay posing for Malcolm X Fotodoks Festival | Cassius Clay posing for Malcolm X | Foto: © Bob Gomel Alternatives Ausstellungsformat oder Stadtmarketing? – Interessant sind Festivals dann, wenn sie Dinge möglich machen, die in den Institutionen so nicht zu sehen sind, seien dies experimentelle Ausstellungsformate oder wenig behandelte Themen.