Christoph Böninger “To design with complete freedom”

Munich designer and manager Christoph Böninger fulfilled a personal dream when he created the label Auerberg. He produces furniture and accessories created by internationally renowned designers and which defy all marketing logic. The company’s slogan: “Radically subjective.”

Book Bench, Design: Christoph Böninger Book Bench, Design: Christoph Böninger | Photo: © Thomas Koller In your graduate thesis in the early 80s you presented the design of the world’s first notebook. Are you proud of being a pioneer in the computer world?

Proud is taking it a bit too far. But I did get the chance to work for Schlagheck & Schultes in Silicon Valley after graduating. It was a huge privilege to witness first-hand this exciting period that marked the dawn of computer development in America.

As former managing director of Designaffairs, you stood for marketing-led design. With Auerberg, the design label you created in 2011, you have gone a step further, putting aside marketing strategies. Does this give you first and foremost a sense of personal freedom?

Well, all along I took the liberty of designing for other companies on the side, like Classicon.

Nevertheless, it’d be impossible to think of Auerberg without the twenty years at Designaffairs ─ Siemens, that is. In this respect, establishing Auerberg has an autobiographical element, of course. Design is always oriented towards usability. The question is: what is the goal? At the end of the day, what big corporations always pursue is increasing sales. The years 2005/2006 were outstanding for Designaffairs. In retrospect, though, I’d have to say that we did sell our souls a bit. We had created a design machine and optimized processes, rolling out mobile phones almost with the efficiency of a baker fetching rolls from the oven.

So Auerberg is set up modeled on an author-run publishing co-op?

My “book cart” from 2008 kick started this project. The producer for whom I had originally designed the cart got cold feet due to financial reasons and backed out. I then set out to find a way of working with a network of people but without the overhead expenses. I contacted friends and colleagues from the design world and they all got very excited. Everybody knew right away that this was not about making money but about being able to design with complete freedom.

Auerberg features prestigious designers such as Herbert Schultes, Tobias Grau or Alfredo Häberli. Do you also work with budding designers?

I get a lot of inquiries from them. The first thing I always ask them is: What is your story, what makes you tick? We have been very successful bringing out work by some young designers like Gerry Kellermann.

Do you only market and sell online?

Yes, on our website. Having an “A” as the first letter of our label, which is named after my hometown in Upper Bavaria, does its bit - an invaluable advantage in search engines (laughing) Well, actually, in the meantime we also work with retailers who understand our philosophy and carry our products.

Your collection offers a wide range – from Tobias Grau’s tray tables to your own Soester stool and Binchotan activated coal that filters water. What is the idea behind them?

The objects must be able to be produced in small quantities because we cannot invest in tools and equipment. They must also be made of authentic materials like glass, tin or wood. Another important criterion is size – due to logistical reasons, as we came to realize. The cardboard boxes must not exceed certain measurements– the so-called tape measures. And since we don’t want to be elitist, our projects aren’t expensive. Other than that, we have complete freedom.

How come your collection features the blowpipe “Bouffadou” –an archaic forefather of the bellows?

Some of the products we carry have been especially designed. Yet there are also some ready-mades such as the Bouffadous from France – they are neat things, so why not give them a chance, too?

Auerberg’s slogan is “radically subjective.” Can you tell us the story of your Book Bench?

When the weather is bad, the benches at the beer gardens are stacked on top of one another but their legs stick out. This is what inspired us to create this small kinematic object. Shipping it is difficult, though, so we also offer the assembly kit. With DYI now being so popular, the bench is a big hit.

Who has the final say on whether to produce a design or not?

It’s me, ultimately. But I work a lot on developing the product hand in hand with the designers. A unique thing is that there are hardly any big egos among the group members. This means that we ponder an idea back and forth, playing around with it until it works – we all work on an equal footing.

Is there a best-seller?

Several. Tobias Grau’s tables, Herbert Schulte’s carafes, my book carts or the wire baskets. The Bouffadous also sell like hotcakes. But we’ve had some huge flops, too.

Where do you see the future of Auerberg?

I’d like to be more daring, venture into more experimental projects. Right now, I am working on having the wire baskets, which from an art historical perspective originated in Italy and then found their way to Africa, glass-blown by the craftspeople in the Bavarian Forest region. This technique originally comes from Murano so this brings us full circle: an Italian design lives on in Africa, then finds its way back to Europe and in Bavaria is finally transformed into a new object by means of an age-old Italian glass-blowing technique. A really exciting project. Similar to my Soester stool… people told me then: “The only reason he made it was because he didn’t know it wouldn’t work.” I love immersing myself in a project almost like an amateur and finding out that it ultimately does work after all.

Christoph Böninger „Die Idee, frei entwerfen zu können“

Mit seinem Label Auerberg hat sich der Münchner Designer und Manager Christoph Böninger einen Traum erfüllt. Er legt Möbel und Accessoires international renommierter Gestalter auf, die jenseits von Marketing-Logiken liegen. Das Firmenmotto: Radikal subjektiv.

Bücherbank, Design: Christoph Böninger Bücherbank, Design: Christoph Böninger | Foto: © Thomas Koller Herr Böninger, als Diplomarbeit haben Sie Anfang der 1980er-Jahre den weltweit ersten Laptop entworfen. Macht es Sie stolz, ein Pionier der Computerwelt zu sein?

Stolz ist zu viel gesagt. Aber ich bekam so die Chance, nach meinem Studium für Schlagheck & Schultes im Silicon Valley zu arbeiten. Diese spannende Aufbruchphase der Computerentwicklung in Amerika zu erleben, war ein Riesenprivileg.

Sie waren Geschäftsführer von Designaffairs und als solcher Vertreter eines stark von Marketing bestimmten Designs. Mit Auerberg haben Sie 2011 ein Designlabel jenseits aller Marketingstrategien gegründet. Gibt Ihnen das vor allem auch ein Gefühl von persönlicher Freiheit?

Ich habe mir ja immer schon die Freiheit rausgenommen, nebenher für Firmen wir Classicon zu entwerfen.

Trotzdem wäre Auerberg ohne 20 Jahre Designaffairs, sprich Siemens, gar nicht vorstellbar. Insofern hat die Gründung natürlich etwas Autobiografisches. Design ist ja immer orientiert am Nutzen. Die Frage ist, was ist der Zweck. Für ein großes Unternehmen ist der Zweck letztlich immer die Verkaufsförderung. 2005/2006 hatten wir mit Designaffairs extrem gute Jahre. Im Nachhinein muss ich sagen, wir haben fast ein bisschen unsere Seele verkauft. Wir hatten eine Designmaschine aufgebaut und Prozesse so optimiert, dass wir Handys quasi wie die Bäcker aus dem Ofen holten.

Auerberg ist also deshalb nach Vorbild des Autorenverlags aufgebaut?

Den konkreten Ausschlag gab 2008 meine „Bücherkarre“. Der Produzent, für den ich sie entworfen hatte, bekam aus wirtschaftlichen Gründen kalte Füße und zog sich zurück. Daraufhin habe ich einen Weg gesucht, in einem Netzwerk und ohne Gemeinkosten zu arbeiten. Ich habe dann Freunde und Weggefährten aus der Designszene angesprochen und alle waren begeistert. Jedem war klar: Hier geht es nicht ums Geld, sondern um die Idee, frei entwerfen zu können.

Hinter Auerberg stehen namhafte Designer wie Herbert Schultes, Tobias Grau oder Alfredo Häberli. Arbeiten Sie auch mit Nachwuchsdesignern?

Ich bekomme viele Anfragen. Meine erste Frage ist dann immer: Was ist deine Geschichte, um was geht es dir? Einige junge Designer wie Gerry Kellermann haben wir sehr erfolgreich aufgelegt.

Wird das Design nur online vertrieben?

Ja, über unsere Website. Der Anfangsbuchstabe „A“ des nach meinem oberbayerischen Domizil benannten Labels tut das Seine, ein unschätzbarer Vorteil in Suchmaschinen (lacht). Es gibt aber inzwischen auch Händler, die unseren Ansatz verstehen und uns vertreiben.

Die Bandbreite der Kollektion reicht von Tobias Graus Tabletttischen über Ihren Soester Hocker bis hin zu Aktivkohle, die Wasser filtert. Was ist Ihr Konzept?

Die Projekte müssen in kleinen Stückzahlen zu fertigen sein, weil wir nicht in Werkzeuge investieren können. Und es sollen authentische Materialien wie Glas, Blech oder Holz sein mit natürlichen Oberflächen. Ein weiteres wichtiges Kriterium, das sich aus der Logistik ergeben hat, ist die Größe. Es gibt gewisse maximale Maße für die Kartons, die sogenannten Bandmaße. Und wir wollen nicht elitär sein und deshalb auch nicht zu teuer. Ansonsten sind wir frei.

Was sucht das Blasrohr „Bouffadou“, ein archaischer Vorläufer des Blasebalgs, in der Kollektion?

Es gibt Produkte, die sind bewusst gestaltet. Und es gibt einige Readymades wie zum Beispiel die Bouffadous aus Frankreich, tolle Sachen, warum sollte man denen keine Chance geben?

Radikal subjektiv ist das Motto von Auerberg. Welche Geschichte steckt hinter Ihrer Bücherbank?

Wenn bei schlechtem Wetter im Biergarten die Bänke gestapelt werden, dann stehen die Beine raus. So ist es zu diesem kleinen kinematischen Objekt gekommen. Weil es schwer zu versenden ist, bieten wir auch den Bausatz an. Im Zuge der DYI-Bewegung kommt er gut an.

Wer entscheidet, ob ein Entwurf realisiert wird?

Am Ende des Tages ich. Aber ich erarbeite vieles mit den Designern gemeinsam. Das Besondere an der Gruppe ist, dass es fast keine Eitelkeiten gibt. Das heißt, eine Idee kann hin und her gespielt werden, wir arbeiten alle auf Augenhöhe miteinander.

Gibt es einen Bestseller?

Mehrere. Die Tische von Tobias Grau, die Karaffen von Herbert Schultes, meine Bücherkarre oder die Drahtkörbe. Auch die Bouffadous laufen wie geschnitten Brot. Aber wir hatten auch sensationelle Flops.

Wo sehen Sie Auerberg in der Zukunft?

Ich möchte noch mehr Experimente wagen. Momentan arbeite ich daran, die Drahtkörbe, die kulturhistorisch wohl aus Italien stammen und dann ihren Weg nach Afrika fanden, von Glasbläsern im Bayerischen Wald „ausblasen“ zu lassen. Diese Technik kommt ursprünglich aus Murano und hier schließt sich der Kreis: Ein italienisches Design überlebt in Afrika, findet seinen Weg zurück nach Europa und wird in Bayern mit einer alten italienischen Glasbläsertechnik zu einem neuen Objekt überführt. Ein spannendes Projekt. Ähnlich wie mein Soester Hocker, da haben damals alle gesagt: „Den hat er nur gemacht, weil er nicht wusste, dass es nicht geht.“ Es reizt mich, sich fast dilettierend in etwas hineinzubegeben und festzustellen, es geht ja doch.