Nora Gres Statements out of Cloth

Nora Gres sews pictures. A university-trained designer, Gres describes her elaborate cloth collages as “textile artworks.” With her plastic illustrations, city portraits and runway outfits, Gres who lives and works in Munich, has created a unique artistic discipline.

Nora Gres, Paris First Front Row Nora Gres, Paris First Front Row | © Nora Gres The lady is looking somewhat displeased from out of her sumptuous fur collar, although her lipstick perfectly picks up the ochre shade of her nail polish and the knit pattern of her Chanel handbag harmonises with that of her bobble cap. Behind her, elegant, glistening slopes of satin mountains shimmer like hardened snow in the sun, while a nostalgic textile gondola lurches through the scenery. Original, with a richness of detail and pointed, Gres’ cloth composition captures the flair of the ski resort Chamonix – or at least a posh interpretation of it. Another collage shows scenes fresh from the runway. The models’ posture and posing, attitude, look – everything is spot-on in these textile paintings. The outfits are based on original designs by prominent designers – but what does “based on” really mean here? The figures appear to have been meticulously recreated right down to the fibres.

Fashion as micro-cosmos

Nora Gres, Harriet Nora Gres, Harriet | © Nora Gres Since 2012, Nora Gres has been showing her amazing works in her new studio in Munich’s Kunsthaus Maximilian, next to colleagues such as Banksy, Andy Warhol, Keith Haring and Roy Lichtenstein. Nora’s pictures are a tribute to the world of fashion with its catwalks, supermodels, style icons and fashionistas – and furthermore are precisely observed milieu studies. A micro-cosmos of richly contrasting materials and astonishing detail, in which the spectacles of Vogue creative director André Leon Talley are as important as the facial expression of fashion tycoon Anna Wintour. Gres alternates between bold surfaces and plastic three-dimensional sections. Her use of materials and their reframing is equally surprising: a Blackberry keyboard becomes the window front of a skyscraper. And if the desired pattern for the sleeve of a suit is not to be found, Nora knits it – herself, even if it takes all night.

Art for anti-consumerists

Nora Gres, No picture Nora Gres, No picture | © Nora Gres Textile city portraits and city maps are also part of her repertoire, as well as illustrations and art objects such as a wearable tent titled “IndepenTent” and an exhibition piece called “Use Less.” A shopping bag for anti-consumerists – “impractical” because it has no handles. “In 2002 I did textile illustrations for the first time for a women’s magazine. And then I just kept on,” she says. Until then Gres, who studied communication, illustration and fashion design at the Hamburg University of Applied Sciences, evolved as an art director for fashion and women’s magazines, worked as a costume assistant and stylist for theatre, advertising film and photo productions in Germany and internationally, including for high-profile advertising agencies. “Even as a child, I was fascinated by materials and colour tones. Sewing gives me the freedom to make what I wanted and to give free rein to my ideas,” says Gres.

Inspirations on the road

Nora Gres, Mind the Gap Nora Gres, Mind the Gap | © Nora Gres Her ideas are a hit. This is evident from her homepage: her works and illustrations ─ each one-of-a-kind – have been published in magazines such as Stern, Allegra, SZ and Die Zeit and shown in exhibitions. In 2007, Nora quit her job to devote herself exclusively to creating textile art. Where does she find inspiration? “Everywhere! I travel a lot, enjoy observing people who dress individually or even weirdly. These momentary impressions arise in passing.” The collages’ charm would quickly fade if their purpose was purely decorative. But her works frequently reference deeper meanings, delineate a context, observe and call into question the situations being depicted.

Pictures in one’s mind

For instance, there is the zipper series Zip Cities, whose motifs can be zipped together as desired, creating continually new complexes of meaning. The stories also arise in the mind of the viewer, not only on the wall, she says. One motif shows a street scene in Brooklyn, the figure of an Orthodox Jewish man and a graffiti slogan “Sorry! The lifestyle you ordered is currently out of stock.”

Nora Gres, Urban_Tweed Nora Gres, Urban_Tweed | © Nora Gres The message is that lifestyles exist far removed from fashionable trends. She works for three days on a motif such as this, which can also be purchased, by the way. She starts with templates or sketches that she transfers to cloth. Gres sews, knits, and drapes a work for a day, a week or several weeks, for that matter.

The coverings of the self

Nora Gres, Looking at Nora Gres, Looking at | © Nora Gres For DIS-covered, she thematises one of fashion’s fundamental themes: nakedness. She places a Muslima in a niquab with an eye-slit next to a naked woman with her eyes covered. The contrast reveals the crass cultural difference between Orient and Occident: “In our world people display everything but their eyes, anonymity is preserved with sunglasses or a black strip. In the east, in contrast, the body is covered – only the eyes are free,” Nora explains. A political message? “I’m more story-oriented than political, I’d rather depict than judge,” she replies, “I combine individual impressions that interact and tell a new story.”

Currently, Nora is being asked over and over again for a personal photo. She’s obviously not going to go to a photo studio. Her next work is a self-portrait sewn of cloth.

Nora Gres Statements aus Stoff

Nora Gres näht Bilder. „Textile artworks“ nennt die studierte Designerin die aufwendigen Stoffcollagen. Mit ihren plastischen Illustrationen, Stadtporträts oder Runway-Outfits hat die Münchnerin eine ganz eigene künstlerische Disziplin geschaffen.

Nora Gres, Paris First Front Row Nora Gres, Paris First Front Row | © Nora Gres Die Lady schaut etwas missmutig aus dem üppigen Pelzkragen, obwohl ihr Lippenstift den Ockerton des Nagellacks perfekt aufgreift und das Strickmuster des Chaneltäschchens mit dem ihrer Pudelmütze harmoniert. Dahinter schimmern elegant gleißende Hänge eines Satingebirges wie Firn in der Sonne, während eine nostalgische Textil-Gondel durch die Szenerie zuckelt. Originell, detailverliebt und treffend fängt die Stoff-Komposition das Flair des Skiortes Chamonix ein – oder zumindest eine mondäne Lesart davon. Eine andere Collage zeigt Szenen frisch vom Laufsteg. Haltung und Posing der Models, Attitüde, Look – alles stimmt an den textilen Gemälden. Die Outfits sind Original-Entwürfen großer Designer nachempfunden – aber was heißt eigentlich nachempfunden? Die Figuren scheinen akribisch bis in die Faser hinein nachgestellt.

Mode als Mikro-Kosmos

Nora Gres, Harriet Nora Gres, Harriet | © Nora Gres Seit 2012 zeigt Nora Gres ihre erstaunlichen Werke im neuen Atelier im Münchner Kunsthaus Maximilian, neben Kollegen wie Banksy, Andy Warhol, Keith Haring oder Roy Lichtenstein. Ihre Bilder sind eine Hommage an die Modewelt mit ihren Catwalks, Starmodels, Stil-Ikonen und „Fashionistas“ – und darüber hinaus genau beobachtete Milieustudien. Ein Mikrokosmos kontrastreicher Materialien und verblüffender Details, in dem die Brille von Vogue-Kreativchef André Leon Talley eine ebenso große Rolle spielt wie die Mimik von Fashion-Tycoon Anna Wintour. Gres wechselt dabei zwischen plakativen Flächen und plastisch-dreidimensionalen Partien. Überraschend ebenso der Einsatz von Materialien und deren Umdeutung: Aus einer Blackberry-Tastatur wird da mal eben die Fensterfront eines Wolkenkratzers. Und wenn sich das gesuchte Muster für einen Kostümärmel nicht findet, strickt sie es – en miniature – eben selbst, und wenn’s die ganze Nacht dauert.

Kunst für Konsumverweigerer

Nora Gres, No picture Nora Gres, No picture | © Nora Gres Auch textile Städteporträts und Stadtpläne gehören zum Repertoire, dazu Illustrationen und Kunstobjekte wie ein tragbares Zelt namens IndepenTent oder ein Exponat namens Use Less: eine „unpraktische“ weil henkellose Shoppingbag für Konsumverweigerer. „2002 habe ich im Auftrag einer Frauenzeitschrift erstmals textile Illustrationen erstellt. Und dann einfach weitergemacht“, erzählt sie. Bis dahin entwickelte Gres, die Kommunikations-, Illustrations- und Modedesign an der Hochschule für angewandte Wissenschaften in Hamburg studierte, als Art-Directorin Mode- und Frauenmagazine, arbeitete als Kostümassistentin und Stylistin für Theater-, Werbefilm- und Fotoproduktionen im In- und Ausland, auch für namhafte Werbeagenturen. „Schon als Kind war ich von Materialien und Farbklängen fasziniert. Das Nähen gibt mir die Freiheit, zu machen, was ich will und meinen Ideen nachzuhängen“, sagt Gres.

Inspirationen von unterwegs

Nora Gres, Mind the Gap Nora Gres, Mind the Gap | © Nora Gres Ihre Ideen kommen an. Das zeigt ein Blick auf die Website: Die Arbeiten und Illustrationen – jede ein Unikat – wurden in Zeitungen und Magazinen wie Stern, Allegra, Süddeutsche Zeitung und Zeit veröffentlicht, zudem in Ausstellungen präsentiert. 2007 kündigte Gres den Job, um ausschließlich Textilkunst zu machen. Wo sie Inspiration findet? „Überall! Ich reise viel, beobachte gern Leute, die sich individuell oder sogar skurril kleiden. Diese Momentaufnahmen entstehen im Vorbeigehen“. Ginge es um rein dekorative Effekte, wäre der Reiz der Collagen schnell dahin. Doch ihre Werke verweisen oft auf tiefere Bedeutungen, stellen einen Kontext her, beobachten und hinterfragen gezeigte Situationen.

Bilder im Kopf

Da gibt es zum Beispiel die Reißverschluss-Serie Zip Cities, deren Motive nach Gusto aneinander gezippt werden können, was immer neue Sinnzusammenhänge herstellt. „Die Geschichten entstehen auch im Kopf der Betrachter, nicht nur an der Wand“, sagt sie. Ein Motiv zeigt eine Straßenszene aus Brooklyn, die Figur eines orthodoxen Juden und dazu den Graffiti-Spruch: „Sorry! The lifestyle you ordered is currently out of stock.“ (Entschuldigung! Der Lebensstil, den Sie bestellt haben, ist gerade nicht verfügbar.)

Nora Gres, Urban_Tweed Nora Gres, Urban_Tweed | © Nora Gres Dass es Lebensstile weitab modischer Tendenzen gibt, ist die Botschaft. Drei Tage arbeitet sie an einem solchen Motiv, das man übrigens auch kaufen kann. Am Anfang stehen jeweils Vorlagen oder Skizzen, die sie auf Stoff überträgt. Einen Tag, eine Woche oder auch mehrere – so lange näht, strickt und drapiert Gres an einem Werk.

Die Hüllen des Ich

Nora Gres, Looking at Nora Gres, Looking at | © Nora Gres Für DIS-covered thematisiert sie eines der Ur-Themen der Mode: die Nacktheit. Einer entblößten Frau mit bedeckten Augen stellt sie eine Muslima mit Sehschlitz-Niquab gegenüber. Der Kontrast offenbart den krassen Kulturunterschied zwischen Orient und Okzident: „In unserer Welt zeigt man alles bis auf die Augen, die Anonymität wird durch Sonnenbrillen oder den schwarzen Balken gewahrt. Im Osten dagegen verhüllt man den Körper – nur die Augen bleiben frei“, erklärt Gres. Eine politische Botschaft? „Ich bin eher erzählerisch als politisch, will eher darstellen, als bewerten“, entgegnet sie, „ich kombiniere einzelne Momentaufnahmen, die interagieren und eine neue Geschichte erzählen“.

Aktuell wird sie immer wieder nach einem persönlichen Foto gefragt. Klar, dass sie dafür nicht ins Studio geht. Ihr nächstes Werk ist ein genähtes Selbstporträt aus Stoff.