Design Critique Speaking about beauty without rules or postulates

Birgit Bauer
Birgit Bauer | Photo (detail): Jennifer Weber

Theory and critique are making their way again into the German discourse on design. In 2009 Birgit S. Bauer, designer and professor of conceptual design at the School for Applied Sciences in Berlin, created the internet site designkritik.dk in collaboration with Nicole Birlenbach and Michael Okraj. We catch up with Birgit B. Bauer for a long overdue discussion on critique, design – and taste.

Ms Bauer, there is a German Society for Design History and a German Society for Design Theory and Research. Why isn’t there a Society for Design Critique as well?

That would certainly suit the German need for order just fine! But seriously: design critique is such a young discipline that there is still no formalized practice – and, further, too few opinions voiced. Creating a rigid institution would be the worst possible idea in this case. Many people abroad, though, do wonder why critique takes a back seat precisely in Germany, a country that boasts such a rich tradition in design, or why there are almost no publications here that offer a serious, critical discourse. Or why – for that matter – there is such a lack of social debate on design. We in Germany have to learn again to talk about life and beauty without the constraints of rules and postulates. We are only just beginning to playfully enjoy difference– and this is what critique is about.

A message to designers

You are the editor of designkritik.dk. What are the purposes and objectives of this platform?

“Design critique ≠ I Like” could express it in a nutshell. We would like to make the discourse on design more sophisticated, and, for now, direct the message primarily to people in our industry, that is, to designers themselves.

In order to achieve this, we had to create a space completely free and independent of financial or moral considerations. Clubs, associations, magazines and blogs are often bound by obligation to their traditions, the publisher, or advertisers, and for economic reasons, don’t take the lead in anything tentative or take on any unresolved problems.

In this respect, designkritik.dk is a platform that should spur designers to think and write – through recommended readings and reviews, on the one hand, and critical texts, on the other. We’re very happy to see that most texts are actually being written by members of the community. The authors are young design scholars, but also designers and design students, who venture into uncharted territory with the writing down and formulating of their thoughts.

This seems to contrast with the notion of design as “business venue” – which is how the Design Council sees it.

In recent years the Council has made clear decisions what messages it stands for – and no less, it has made financial decisions to secure its own advancement. The Council’s strategy of exclusivity caters to its target group – the manufacturing and business sectors – which is indeed not a bad thing for starters. Can the Council, however, support companies in the future that want to focus on quality of form both internally and externally if it avails itself freely of marketing jargon and thus bend the meaning of design for society as a whole?

Instead, the Council should concentrate on helping companies muster the courage to develop an entrepreneurial culture that is not just determined by returns only.

All of this is worth mentioning because it’d be great to have an adventuresome organization that is capable of challenging conventional ways of expression. As far as I’m concerned, there are just too many awards and exhibitions ─ that speak only to the surface.

Stone Age vocabulary

To what extent is the organizational structure of a council at all suited to have the final say on matters pertaining to design? What is the future outlook for “design” critique? Can ‘good’ taste save consumers from globalized kitsch?

The Council serves as a tool – incidentally, like many awards – to promote business interests in a specific sector. This has hardly anything to do with the aesthetic value judgments people dared to make in former times. Rather, it has to do with usability - a very German notion. In the future, critique will have to deal with so many aspects of how we relate to things and with one another that ‘design’ will seem like an expression from the Stone Age. And kitschy design is no longer a problem either: there are too many rapidly changing cultural poses for that nowadays.

What role does design critique play in design courses at German universities nowadays?

In the face of rampant capitalist Actionism, which with “maker culture” and the creative imperative to a large degree emerges from design, philosopher Slavoj Žižek urges “Don't Act. Just Think.” The reason why critique still has potential for growth in universities is that thinking has often been impulsively banned to a mystical realm of theory removed from practice and design is regarded as a feverishly bustling discipline.Unfortunately, that’s also why designers prefer to let others do the talking. Critique is rather the art of differentiation and not a purely academic exercise. It can be a lot of fun if the diversity of approaches can be grasped as something positive. We are fortunately seeing a generational and technological change that indicates that an increasing number of scholars can handle the complexity of this subject very well.
 

The exhibition “Evil Things. An Encyclopedia of Bad Taste” was first shown in Berlin at the Museum der Dinge (Museum of Objects) in 2009 and has been a traveling exhibition since then.

It will premiere in Vienna at the Hofmobiliendepot on February 19 2014.

Designkritik Sprechen über Schönheit ohne Gesetze und Forderungen

Birgit Bauer
Birgit Bauer | Foto (Ausschnitt): Jennifer Weber

Raum für Theorie und Kritik im deutschen Designdiskurs: 2009 hat Birgit S. Bauer, Designerin und Professorin für Designkonzeption an der Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft Berlin, gemeinsam mit Nicole Birlenbach und Michael Okraj die Internetplattform Designkritik.dk ins Leben gerufen. Höchste Zeit für ein Gespräch mit Birgit S. Bauer über Kritik, Formgebung und Geschmack.

Frau Bauer, es gibt eine deutsche Gesellschaft für Designgeschichte und eine Deutsche Gesellschaft für Designtheorie und -forschung. Warum gibt es hierzulande keine Gesellschaft für Designkritik?

Das würde dem deutschen Bedürfnis nach Ordnung sicher zupasskommen! Aber Spaß beiseite: Designkritik ist eine so junge Disziplin, dass es noch gar keine Praxis gibt – und auch zu wenige Stimmen, die sich äußern. Da wäre eine starre Institution das Schlimmste, das passieren könnte. Dabei fragen sich viele Menschen im Ausland, warum gerade in Deutschland mit seiner so reichen Designtradition Kritik so weit hinten ansteht und es kaum kritische Publikationen, geschweige denn einen gesellschaftlichen Diskurs um Design gibt. Wir müssen in Deutschland wieder lernen, wie man über das Leben und über Schönheit ohne Gesetze und Forderungen spricht. Wir fangen gerade erst mit dem spielerischen Vergnügen an Unterschieden an – und darum geht es in der Kritik.

Botschaft an die Designer

Designkritik – Occupy Design Designkritik – Occupy Design | Foto: Birgit S. Bauer Sie sind Chefredakteurin von Designkritik.dk. Was ist Zweck und Ziel dieser Plattform?

Wir möchten den Diskurs um Design differenzierter machen und richten diese Botschaft zunächst an die eigene Branche: die Designer. Dazu mussten wir einen Raum schaffen, der unabhängig ist und frei von ökonomischen oder moralischen Interessen. Vereine, Verbände, Zeitschriften und Blogs sind oft ihrer Tradition, dem Verlag und den Anzeigenkunden verpflichtet und können sich aus ökonomischen Gründen kein tastendes Vorgehen, keine ungelösten Probleme leisten.

Designkritik.dk ist in diesem Sinn eine Plattform, die Designer zum Wagnis des Denkens und Schreibens anregen soll; einerseits durch Literaturtipps und Rezensionen, andererseits durch kritische Texte. Diese Texte kommen mittlerweile zum großen Teil direkt aus der Community, was uns sehr freut. Autoren sind junge Wissenschaftler im Design, aber auch Praktiker oder Studierende, die mit dem Schreiben und Formulieren ihrer Gedanken Neuland betreten.

Dies scheint einem Verständnis gegenüber zu stehen, das Design als Wirtschaftsstandort sieht, wie es etwa der Rat für Formgebung tut.

Der Rat hat in den letzten Jahren klare Entscheidungen darüber getroffen, welche Botschaften er vertritt – nicht zuletzt ökonomische Entscheidungen über sein eigenes Fortkommen. Mit seiner Strategie der Exklusivität bedient er seine Zielgruppe, die Industrie, was ja zunächst einmal nichts Schlechtes ist. Kann der Rat jedoch in Zukunft Unternehmen unterstützen, die sich intern und nach außen mehr mit gestalterischer Qualität befassen wollen, wenn er sich des Marketing-Jargons bedient und damit die Bedeutung von Design für die Gesellschaft als Ganzes beugt?

Der Rat sollte vielmehr dabei helfen, dass Unternehmen sich wieder trauen, unternehmerische Kultur zu entwickeln, die nicht nur der Rendite geschuldet ist.

Das alles ist nur erwähnenswert, weil es schön wäre, eine experimentierfreudige Institution zu haben, die die herkömmlichen Formate der Vermittlung zu hinterfragen in der Lage ist. Mir sind das zu viele Awards und Ausstellungen.

Vokabel aus der Steinzeit

Birgit S. Bauer, Vortrag Birgit S. Bauer, Vortrag | Foto: Peter Rudolph Inwiefern ist die Organisationsform eines Rates überhaupt noch geeignet, verbindlich über Formgebung zu urteilen? Wie sieht also die Zukunft der Kritik an Formgebung aus? Kann „guter“ Geschmack Konsumenten vor globalisiertem Kitsch retten?

Der Rat ist – wie übrigens auch viele Awards – ein Instrument der Wirtschaftsförderung in einem bestimmten Segment. Hierbei geht es kaum um ästhetische Werturteile, wie man sich das früher getraut hat, sondern um Verwertbarkeit. Eine sehr deutsche Idee. Die Kritik hat in Zukunft so viele Felder unserer Beziehungen zu Dingen und untereinander zu behandeln, dass „Formgebung“ wie eine Vokabel aus der Steinzeit scheint. Und kitschige Form ist dabei auch kein Problem mehr. Dafür gibt es zu viele schnell wechselnde kulturelle Posen.

Welche Rolle spielt Designkritik heute in den gestalterischen Fächern an deutschen Hochschulen?

„Don‘t Act. Just Think“, fordert der Philosoph Slavoj Žižek angesichts des grassierenden kapitalistischen Aktionismus, der mit „Makerkultur“ und Kreativitätsbefehl zu großem Teil sogar aus dem Design kommt. Kritik in den Hochschulen ist insofern noch ausbaufähig, als man das Denken oft impulshaft in eine mystisch-praxisferne Theorie verbannt hat und Design als eine fiebrig betriebsame Disziplin begreift. Auch deshalb überlassen Designer leider gerne anderen die Sprecherposition. Dabei ist Kritik ja die Kunst der Unterscheidung und kein rein akademischer Wettbewerb. Das kann richtig Spaß machen, wenn man die Vielfalt der Herangehensweisen als Gewinn begreift. Momentan vollzieht sich glücklicherweise ein Generations- und Technologiewechsel, durch den sich zeigt, dass immer mehr Studierende gut mit dieser Komplexität umgehen können.
 

Die Ausstellung „Böse Dinge. Eine Enzyklopädie des Ungeschmacks“ wurde 2009 erstmals im Museum der Dinge in Berlin gezeigt und ist seitdem auf Wanderschaft.

Vom 19. Februar bis 6. Juli 2014 wird sie in Wien im Hofmobiliendepot zu sehen sein.