Ingo Maurer in an Interview The Enlightened One

Ingo Maurer
Ingo Maurer | Photo (detail): Artcurial

Good light makes people happy, says Ingo Maurer, grand master of lamp-making. Goethe.de met with this poet of light in his Munich studio and spoke with him about his new projects, the future of his company and the high points of a long life in design.

Bulb, Ingo Maurer, 1966 Bulb, Ingo Maurer, 1966 | Photo: Ingo Maurer GmbH Congratulations, Herr Maurer! Exactly 40 years ago, the firm Design M, founded in 1966, became Ingo Maurer GmbH. How did the name change come about?

Thank you. Our company grew very fast in its first years, fed more mouths and therefore had to be put on a more solid footing. And also, during this time there was a great flood of firms that had “design” in their names. That was really inflationary.

In the beginning, you also designed other products, clothes hangers, for instance, or candle-sticks. How did you arrive at lighting?

YaYaHo, Ingo Maurer and his Team, 1984 YaYaHo, Ingo Maurer and his Team, 1984 | © Back then, I was thinking about light and form a lot, and in the process discovered my love for the light-bulb. The lamp in the shape of a light-bulb was a totally spontaneous idea, my first big success was “Bulb” in 1966, which then was accepted into the permanent collection of the Museum of Modern Art in New York. In my years of working with lighting I’ve learned to pay more attention to the quality of light as well.

Can you describe your approach to design in one sentence?

Porca Miseria!, Ingo Maurer, 1994 Porca Miseria!, Ingo Maurer, 1994 | Photo: Tom Vack That’s very difficult, I also don’t like to analyse my own work, but perhaps thus: design should be there for people, my lighting should create a pleasant atmosphere in their homes. If I can conjure up a smile on the face of someone looking at my lamps, I feel happy and have achieved my goal.

You were both a designer and a producer from the start ─ are you also a brilliant businessman?

No (laughs), I don’t think so. But I don’t work alone, for years now, my wife Jenny and other employees manage the business side of things and demand that I think about expenses once more before I make a final decision for or against something.

What was the most important professional decision in your life?

When we began developing our low voltage system “YaYaHo” in the early 1980’s, the company’s very existence was at stake. Since we got no credit from banks for our crazy new ideas, we had to pre-finance everything out of our own pockets. But we were able to stick it out and had great success with “YaYaHo” – both in terms of design as well as in business terms.

You once said that bad light makes people unhappy. Can one draw the reverse conclusion that good light makes people happy?

Yes, absolutely. We notice it ourselves how good it feels when the sun shines for a long time in summer, how we relax and tank up on new energy. It’s the same thing with good home lighting.
 
  • My New Flame, Moritz Waldemeyer, Ingo Maurer und Team, 2012 © Ingo Maurer
    My New Flame, Moritz Waldemeyer, Ingo Maurer und Team, 2012
  • Porca Miseria!, Ingo Maurer, 1994 Foto: Tom Vack
    Porca Miseria!, Ingo Maurer, 1994
  • U-Bahnhof „Westfriedhof“, München, 1998 Foto: Markus Tollhopf
    U-Bahnhof „Westfriedhof“, München, 1998
  • Knot 2, Ingo Maurer und Team, 2013 Foto: Tom Vack
    Knot 2, Ingo Maurer und Team, 2013
You were one of the major opponents of eliminating the light-bulb. Have you now gotten over the loss?

To be honest with you, no. Although we now have qualitatively better substitutes than at the start of the prohibition, but nothing can match the warm light of a light-bulb filament.

Where are new approaches in lighting design currently turning up?

Right now, there are incredibly many developments going on in LED, and also in OLED. For instance, the new LED candle “My New Flame”, that we developed together with Moritz Waldemeyer fascinatingly and realistically reproduces the slight flickering of a flame. The diodes are getting smaller and smaller and more light-intensive – and what is also really interesting is the evolution in the area of planar light. We are working at the leading edge here and will be presenting some new innovations in 2014 once again.

“My New Flame” is one of your subtle, poetic designs, others like “Porca Miseria!” have a penchant for the dramatic … What inspires you?

“Porca Miseria!” for example, was my answer to a customer’s super-cool stainless-steel kitchen. When I saw that kitchen, it was instantly clear to me that a “big bang” was needed to break open this sterile atmosphere. Images immediately came to mind from the film “Zabriskie Point” by Michelangelo Antonioni, where an exploding villa is shown from various angles and in very slow motion.

Subway Station “Münchner Freiheit”, 2009 Subway Station “Münchner Freiheit”, 2009 | Photo: Tom Vack In recent years, you have doing a lot of work on projects in public space, such as subway stations …

I enjoy very much making a contribution to bettering people’s lives together. Especially in subway stations, several thousand people encounter each other every day on their way to work, home, or in their leisure time. These public spaces need a signature and a face. I’d like to have people feel comfortable in these places and linger for a few minutes.

You don’t give the impression of wanting to retire …

Broken Egg, Installation/Pavillon for Inhotim, Brasil (being planned) Broken Egg, Installation/Pavillon for Inhotim, Brasil (being planned) | Photo: Tom Vack I’ve been working in this company since 1965, and in the course of time it’s become my life’s purpose. Although I sometimes would really like to pack it all in because I have the feeling that it’s all getting to be too much for me, I then think about all those employees, so many of whom have been with us for so many years. When I founded the firm, I took on a great responsibility for these people and I want to support and advance the company as long as I can. Afterwards, they’ll have to do without me, but I’m very confident they will manage.

You have been heaped with distinctions, in 2011 you were awarded the Oscar from design, the Compasso d'Oro. Do you still have any unfulfilled dreams?

Yes, as a matter of fact, I do have some: at the moment we are working on a large-scale exhibition pavilion for the art park Inhotim in the Brazilian rain forest near Belo Horizonte. We are planning a large-scale enterable egg. In addition, about three years ago, I was asked to develop a concept for a stage setting for Tristan und Isolde. The commission came from the USA. When the concept was completed, the global crisis came along and the opera house no longer had enough sponsors to realize the project. I hope I’ll live to see them both …

Ingo Maurer im Gespräch Der Erleuchter

Ingo Maurer
Ingo Maurer | Foto (Ausschnitt): Artcurial

Gutes Licht macht glücklich, sagt der Altmeister des Lampenbaus, Ingo Maurer. Goethe.de traf den Lichtpoeten in seinem Münchner Atelier und sprach mit ihm über neue Projekte, die Zukunft seines Unternehmens und die Höhepunkte eines langen Designerlebens.

Bulb, Ingo Maurer, 1966 Bulb, Ingo Maurer, 1966 | Foto: Ingo Maurer GmbH Glückwunsch, Herr Maurer! 1984, vor 40 Jahren, wurde aus der 1966 gegründeten Firma Design M die Ingo Maurer GmbH. Wie kam es zu dem Namenswechsel?

Vielen Dank. Unsere Firma ist in den ersten Jahren sehr schnell gewachsen, hat mehr Menschen ernährt und musste darum auf solidere Füße gestellt werden. Außerdem gab es in dieser Zeit eine große Schwemme von Firmen, die Design im Namen trugen. Das war wirklich inflationär.

Anfangs haben Sie auch andere Produkte entworfen, zum Beispiel Kleiderbügel oder Kerzenleuchter. Wie sind Sie auf Licht gekommen?

YaYaHo, Ingo Maurer und Team, 1984 YaYaHo, Ingo Maurer und Team, 1984 | © Ich habe mich damals sehr viel mit Licht und Form beschäftigt und dabei meine Liebe zur Glühbirne entdeckt. Die Lampe in Form einer Glühlampe, das war eine ganz spontane Idee, mein erster großer Erfolg Bulb von 1966, der dann schon 1969 in die permanente Sammlung des Museum of Modern Art in New York aufgenommen wurde. Durch die jahrelange Arbeit mit Licht habe ich immer mehr gelernt, auch sehr auf die Qualität des Lichts zu achten.

Können Sie Ihre Designhaltung in einem Satz beschreiben?

Porca Miseria!, Ingo Maurer, 1994 Porca Miseria!, Ingo Maurer, 1994 | Foto: Tom Vack Das ist sehr schwierig, ich analysiere auch ungern meine Arbeit, aber vielleicht so: Design soll für die Menschen da sein, mein Licht soll eine angenehme Atmosphäre in ihrer Wohnung schaffen. Wenn ich den Betrachtern meiner Lampen ein Lächeln aufs Gesicht zaubern kann, bin auch ich glücklich und habe mein Ziel erreicht.

Sie waren von Beginn an Entwerfer und Produzent in einem, sind Sie auch ein genialer Geschäftsmann?

Nein (lacht), das glaube ich nicht. Aber ich arbeite ja nicht allein, seit Jahrzehnten managen meine Frau Jenny und andere Mitarbeiter die geschäftlichen Aspekte und fordern mich auf, Ausgaben noch mal zu reflektieren, bevor ich mich endgültig dafür oder dagegen entscheide.

Was war die wichtigste berufliche Entscheidung in Ihrem Leben?

Als wir Anfang der 1980er-Jahre begannen, das Niedervoltsystem YaYaHo zu entwickeln, stand die Existenz unserer Firma auf dem Spiel. Da wir von den Banken keinen Kredit für die verrückte neue Idee bekamen, mussten wir alles aus eigener Tasche vorstrecken. Aber wir konnten durchhalten und hatten mit YaYaHo großen Erfolg – sowohl auf der gestalterischen Ebene, als auch geschäftlich.

Ungutes Licht macht unglücklich, haben Sie mal gesagt. Kann man daraus den Umkehrschluss ziehen, dass gutes Licht glücklich macht?

Ja, absolut. Wir merken doch selbst, wie gut es tut, wenn im Sommer die Sonne lange scheint, wie wir aufatmen und neue Energie tanken. So ist es auch mit gutem Wohnlicht.
 
  • My New Flame, Moritz Waldemeyer, Ingo Maurer und Team, 2012 © Ingo Maurer
    My New Flame, Moritz Waldemeyer, Ingo Maurer und Team, 2012
  • Porca Miseria!, Ingo Maurer, 1994 Foto: Tom Vack
    Porca Miseria!, Ingo Maurer, 1994
  • U-Bahnhof „Westfriedhof“, München, 1998 Foto: Markus Tollhopf
    U-Bahnhof „Westfriedhof“, München, 1998
  • Knot 2, Ingo Maurer und Team, 2013 Foto: Tom Vack
    Knot 2, Ingo Maurer und Team, 2013
Sie waren einer der größten Gegner der Abschaffung der Glühbirne. Haben Sie den Verlust inzwischen verwunden?

Ehrlich gesagt, nein. Wir haben mittlerweile zwar qualitativ viel bessere „Ersatzlampen“ als zu Beginn des Verbots, aber das warme Leuchten eines Glühdrahts bekommt keine hin.

Wo gibt es momentan im Lichtdesign neue Ansätze?

Zurzeit passiert wahnsinnig viel mit LED, aber auch OLED. Unsere neue mit Moritz Waldemeyer gemeinsam entwickelte LED-Kerze My New Flame gibt zum Beispiel das leichte Flackern einer Flamme realistisch und faszinierend wieder. Die Dioden werden immer kleiner und lichtintensiver – und ganz interessant ist auch die Entwicklung im Bereich des flächigen Lichts. Wir arbeiten da an vorderster Front mit und werden auch 2014 wieder einige Neuheiten vorstellen.

„My New Flame“ gehört zu Ihren poetischen, leisen Entwürfen, andere wie „Porca Miseria!“ haben den Hang zum Dramatischen … Was inspiriert Sie?

Porca Miseria! beispielsweise war meine Antwort auf eine super coole Edelstahlküche eines Kunden. Als ich diese Küche sah, war mir sofort klar, dass es hier einen großen Knall geben musste, um diese sterile Atmosphäre aufzubrechen.

In meinen Kopf kamen dann sofort Bilder aus dem Film Zabriskie Point von Michelangelo Antonioni, wo eine explodierende Villa aus verschiedenen Blickwinkeln und in starker Zeitlupe gezeigt wird.

U-Bahnhof „Münchner Freiheit“, 2009 U-Bahnhof „Münchner Freiheit“, 2009 | Foto: Tom Vack In den letzten Jahren befassen Sie sich viel mit Projekten im öffentlichen Raum wie beispielsweise U-Bahnhöfen ...

Ich finde es sehr reizvoll, einen Beitrag für das Zusammenleben von Menschen zu leisten. Gerade auf U-Bahnhöfen treffen sich täglich mehrere Tausend Menschen auf dem Weg zur Arbeit, nach Hause oder in die Freizeit. Diese öffentlichen Plätze brauchen eine Handschrift und ein Gesicht. Ich möchte, dass sich die Passanten an diesem Ort wohlfühlen und gerne ein paar Minuten verweilen.

Es macht nicht den Anschein, dass Sie sich zur Ruhe setzen wollen.

Broken Egg, Installation/Pavillon für Inhotim, Brasilien (in Planung) Broken Egg, Installation/Pavillon für Inhotim, Brasilien (in Planung) | Foto: Tom Vack Ich arbeite jetzt seit 1965 in dieser Firma und über die Zeit ist sie zu meinem Lebensinhalt geworden. Obwohl ich manchmal wirklich gerne alles hinschmeißen möchte, weil ich das Gefühl habe, es wird mir alles zu viel, denke ich dann doch immer wieder an die vielen Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter, die zum Großteil schon so viele Jahre bei uns sind. Ich habe mit der Gründung der Firma auch eine große Verantwortung für diese Menschen übernommen und möchte sie, so lange ich es kann, unterstützen. Danach müssen sie es ohne mich schaffen, aber ich bin sehr zuversichtlich, dass sie das schaffen werden.

Sie wurden mit Ehrungen überhäuft, 2011 erhielten Sie den Oscar des Designs, den Compasso d‘Oro. Gibt es für Sie noch unerfüllte Träume?

Ja, es gibt sie tatsächlich: Momentan arbeiten wir an einem großen Ausstellungspavillon für den Kunstpark Inhotim im brasilianischen Regenwald nahe Belo Horizonte. Wir planen ein großes begehbares Ei. Außerdem wurde ich vor etwa drei Jahren von einem Opernhaus in den USA gebeten, ein Konzept für das Bühnenbild zu einer Inszenierung von Tristan und Isolde zu entwickeln. Als das Konzept fertig war, kam die große Krise, und das Opernhaus hatte nicht mehr genug Geldgeber, um das Projekt umzusetzen. Ich hoffe, dass ich beides noch erleben werde.