Christoph Finkel Between steep cliffs and a power saw

Christoph Finkel at Formex Design Fair, Stockholm August 2012
Christoph Finkel at Formex Design Fair, Stockholm August 2012 | Photo (detail): Daniel Frisk

“I don’t invent my objects – I respond to the structure of the tree-trunk.” Christoph Finkel is a wood sculptor. Long a member of the German mountain climbing elite – the artist now lives and works in his home town of Bad Hindelang in the Allgäu.

What does climbing have to do with art? “There are parallels,” says Christoph Finkel. “You need a deep respect for nature for both – and both have to do with freedom. On the mountain it’s the responsibility of one’s own, free decisions, in the other case artistic freedom. And in both disciplines you go to the limits of natural parameters: when I’m climbing I follow the course of the cliff-face lines to find new routes. And when I’m turning wood on the lathe I have to adjust to structures and givens – that’s what makes it exciting. You develop your own potential in the process. (…) And – for both you have to have passion, creativity – and you can fail along the route just as you can in working a piece of wood.”

From the “Holzlädle” to the object

Finkel 12/2012 Wood: mountain maple, 11,5 x 21,5 cm Finkel 12/2012 Wood: mountain maple, 11,5 x 21,5 cm | Photo: Daniel Frisk A visitor to Finkel’s showroom will quickly notice that wood plays a central part in his life today: it is located behind the walls of an ancient half-timbered building in the little town of Bad Bad Hindelang. The famed “Holzlädle” of his father, Rudolf Finkel, third-generation wainwright and toolmaker with his workshop in the basement of the building, is right next door. While the father here fashions traditional sleighs, toboggans and precisely worked and beautiful objects of everyday use – toys, cutlery, cutting boards, the son’s creations seem a bit more exotic.

Christoph’s artistic bowls, vases and sculptures with their elegant, sensuous forms seem to breathe a Far-Eastern, Zen aesthetics. Scandinavian style influences are hinted at, as well. With their timeless, organic form language, the objects build a bridge between tradition and modernity. Christoph now sells his objects in galleries and showrooms throughout the world, in Chicago and Miami, Sweden and South Korea. Oak, sycamore maple and pear-wood are his favourite types of wood. He finds his hand-picked pieces on outings into the local mountain forest and carries them back to the valley himself.

At the pinnacle of the mountain-climbing scene

Formex tradeshow, Stockholm August 2012 Formex tradeshow, Stockholm August 2012 | Photo: Daniel Frisk As a child, Christoph, who was born in 1971, tended cattle on the mountain pastures. He still lives according to the seasons and nature: on winter days he searches the local mountain slopes for avalanche deposits and examines them for broken branches, and then waits until spring to collect the wood. “The tree-trunks can be as much as three hundred years old, you really feel respect,” he says. He works the wood in summer. This demands great attentiveness and concentration. He has the necessary stamina as well. Out and about in the mountains from childhood on, he soon clambered his way to the pinnacle of the climbing scene. As a top athlete, he won a number of awards in the early 1990’s and became world champion in sport climbing, and later worked as national coach for the German national team and the German Alpine Association. In 2000 he bade competition farewell after winning the German championship title in bouldering – he had achieved his goals, satisfied his performance drive. Today he only climbs privately.

The character of each log

  • Finkel 14/2008, Birke, 36,5 x 25,5 cm ©
    Finkel 14/2008, Birke, 36,5 x 25,5 cm
  • Finkel 11/2011, Birne, Size: 37 x 21,5 cm ©
    Finkel 11/2011, Birne, Size: 37 x 21,5 cm
  • Finkel 32/2011, Eiche, 41,5 x 20,5 cm ©
    Finkel 32/2011, Eiche, 41,5 x 20,5 cm
  • Finkel 43/2011, Pflaume, 25 x 20 cm ©
    Finkel 43/2011, Pflaume, 25 x 20 cm
  • Finkel 12/2012 Bergahorn, 11,5 x 21,5 cm ©
    Finkel 12/2012 Bergahorn, 11,5 x 21,5 cm
  • Finkel 14/2013, Apfel, 16,5 x 10,5 cm ©
    Finkel 14/2013, Apfel, 16,5 x 10,5 cm
His artistic passion absorbs him all the more: in 1992 he enrolled at the Academy of Fine Arts in Nuremberg (Akademie der Bildenden Künste in Nürnberg), studied figurative work with nude models, was in his element – and additionally in the neighbourhood of popular climbing hot spots in the Franconian Jura Mountains. Precisely this kind of looking is what distinguishes Finkel. It becomes evident when he waxes lyrical about the qualities of the pieces of wood he has found: “Sycamore maple has light, almost porcelain-white wood. Apple wood on the other hand has a beautiful grain… I work it while it is moist because it shrinks a lot when it dries.”

Finkel makes deliberate use of this shrinking quality: he drills grooves into his objects, creating lamellas. During drying, the lamellas then form waves along the entire piece of wood. And he also includes the traces left by his tools. With his tools, Finkel draws out the character of each piece of wood.

Christoph Finkel at Bärgündeletal, Oberallgäu Christoph Finkel at Bärgündeletal, Oberallgäu | Photo: Angelica Finkel “Most often I have a rough idea of the future form when I begin to fillet the log. When I’m turning a piece of wood on the lathe, I trace the hollow spaces and structures – the older the wood, the more tangled it is. This way of doing things has a great dynamism of its own and brings surprises with it. This way, a kind of communication arises between the wood and me.” Up to three months can pass from preparation of the wood to the dried and finished object; Finkel must monitor this process with the greatest care. Under these circumstances it seems perfectly reasonable that these unique pieces can ultimately cost up to 3000 Euros. Today a handful of select galleries and trade fairs are proud to exhibit his objects, for instance the design gallery Luminaire in Chicago. At the Salone del Mobile 2012 in Milan, together with textile designer Paola Lenti, Finkel held a highly successful exhibition in Chiostro dell'Umanitaria.

He does not ask himself whether his works are art or design. “Preconceived categories and dogmas just don’t interest me. You have either good or bad work, that’s the criterion that matters.” He is happiest wandering between the disciplines, between the worlds.

Christoph Finkel Zwischen Steilwand und Motorsäge

Christoph Finkel bei der Formex Designmesse, Stockholm August 2012
Christoph Finkel bei der Formex Designmesse, Stockholm August 2012 | Foto (Ausschnitt): Daniel Frisk

„Ich erfinde meine Objekte nicht – ich antworte auf die Strukturen des Baumstamms“. Christoph Finkel ist Holzbildhauer. Lange gehörte er zur Spitzenszene deutscher Kletterathleten – heute lebt und arbeitet der Künstler in seinem Heimatdorf Bad Hindelang im Allgäu.

Was Klettern mit Kunst zu tun hat? „Da gibt es Parallelen”, sagt Christoph Finkel. „Für beides brauchst du tiefen Respekt für die Natur – und beides hat mit Freiheit zu tun. Am Berg ist es die Verantwortung der freien, eigenen Entscheidung, im andern Fall die künstlerische Freiheit. Und in beiden Disziplinen gehst du ans Limit natürlicher Vorgaben: Beim Klettern folge ich dem Verlauf der Felslinien, um neue Routen zu finden. Auch beim Drechseln von Holz muss ich mich Strukturen und Gegebenheiten anpassen – das macht es spannend. Dabei entwickelst du dein eigenes Potenzial. Und für beides braucht man Leidenschaft, Kreativität – und scheitern kann man in der Route ebenso wie an einer Holzarbeit“.

Vom „Holzlädle“ zum Objekt

Finkel 12/2012 Holz: Bergahorn, 11,5 x 21,5 cm Finkel 12/2012 Holz: Bergahorn, 11,5 x 21,5 cm | Foto: Daniel Frisk Dass der Werkstoff Holz in Finkels heutigem Leben eine buchstäblich tragende Rolle spielt, merken Besucher seines Showrooms schnell: Dieser liegt hinter den Mauern eines uralten Fachwerkbaus mitten im kleinen Ort Bad Hindelang. Tür an Tür grenzt das bekannte „Holzlädele“ seines Vaters Rudolf Finkel an, Wagner und Werkzeugmacher in dritter Generation, der seine Werkstatt im Keller des Hauses betreibt. Während der Vater hier traditionelle Schlitten, Rodel sowie präzis gearbeitete und formschöne Alltagsdinge – Spielzeug, Besteck, Brettchen – fertigt, muten die Werke des Sohnes exotischer an.

Christophs künstlerisch geprägte Schalen, Vasen und Skulpturen sind bildlich gesprochen aus anderem Holz geschnitzt: Seine ästhetisch-sinnlichen Gebilde wirken wie von fernöstlicher Zen-Ästhetik behaucht. Auch skandinavische Stileinflüsse glaubt man zu sehen. Mit ihrer zeitlosen, organischen Formensprache schlagen die Objekte eine Brücke zwischen Tradition und Moderne. Inzwischen verkauft Christoph Finkel seine Objekte in Galerien und Showrooms auf der ganzen Welt, in Chicago und Miami, in Schweden und Südkorea. Eiche, Bergahorn oder Birne sind ihm dabei die liebsten Holzsorten. Die handverlesenen Stücke findet er auf Streifzügen durch den heimischen Bergwald und schleppt sie eigenhändig ins Tal.

An der Spitze der Kletterszene

Formex Designmesse, Stockholm August 2012 Formex Designmesse, Stockholm August 2012 | Foto: Daniel Frisk Als Kind hütete Christoph, der 1971 geboren wurde, das Vieh auf den Almen. Noch immer lebt er nach den Jahreszeiten und der Natur: An den Wintertagen sucht er die heimischen Steilflanken nach Lawinenkegeln und diese nach geknickten Stämmen ab, wartet dann bis zum Frühjahr, um das Holz zu bergen. „Die Stämme sind bis zu 300 Jahre lang gewachsen, da hat man Respekt“, sagt er. Im Sommer verarbeitet er das Holz, „das verlangt viel Aufmerksamkeit und Konzentration“. Die Ausdauer dazu hat er ebenfalls: Von Kind an in den Bergen unterwegs, kraxelte er bald an die Spitze der Kletterszene. Als Top-Athlet gewann er Anfang der 1990er-Jahre mehrere Preise, wurde Weltcup-Sieger im Sportklettern, arbeitete später als Bundestrainer der deutschen Nationalmannschaft und beim Deutschen Alpenverein. Nach dem deutschen Meistertitel im Bouldern beendete er 2000 das Wettkämpfen – die Ziele waren erreicht, das Leistungsdenken abgeschlossen. Klettern tut er nur noch privat.

Der Charakter jedes Baumstamms

  • Finkel 14/2008, Birke, 36,5 x 25,5 cm ©
    Finkel 14/2008, Birke, 36,5 x 25,5 cm
  • Finkel 11/2011, Birne, Size: 37 x 21,5 cm ©
    Finkel 11/2011, Birne, Size: 37 x 21,5 cm
  • Finkel 32/2011, Eiche, 41,5 x 20,5 cm ©
    Finkel 32/2011, Eiche, 41,5 x 20,5 cm
  • Finkel 43/2011, Pflaume, 25 x 20 cm ©
    Finkel 43/2011, Pflaume, 25 x 20 cm
  • Finkel 12/2012 Bergahorn, 11,5 x 21,5 cm ©
    Finkel 12/2012 Bergahorn, 11,5 x 21,5 cm
  • Finkel 14/2013, Apfel, 16,5 x 10,5 cm ©
    Finkel 14/2013, Apfel, 16,5 x 10,5 cm
Umso mehr geht er in seiner Passion als Künstler auf: 1992 ging er an die Akademie der Bildenden Künste in Nürnberg, studierte figürliches Arbeiten nach Aktmodellen, war damit in seinem Element – und ganz nebenbei in Nähe beliebter Kletter-Hot-Spots im Frankenjura. „Erst auf der Kunstakademie habe ich das Sehen gelernt“, eben diese Art des Hinschauens zeichnet Finkel aus. Sie wird deutlich, wenn er von den Qualitäten der hölzernen Fundstücke schwärmt: „Bergahorn hat helles, fast porzellanweißes Holz. Apfelholz dagegen eine schöne Maserung. Ich bearbeite es feucht, weil es sich beim Trocknen stark verzieht.“

Diesen Effekt des Verziehens setzt Finkel bewusst ein: Er dreht Rillen in seine Objekte, dadurch entstehen Lamellen. Beim Trocknen legen diese sich dann in Wellen um den gesamten Holzkörper. Auch die Spuren, die das Werkzeug hinterlässt, bezieht er mit ein. Mit seinen Werken fördert Finkel den Charakter eines jeden Baumstamms zu Tage.

Christoph Finkel im Bärgündeletal, Oberallgäu Christoph Finkel im Bärgündeletal, Oberallgäu | Foto: Angelica Finkel „Meistens hab ich bereits eine grobe Vorstellung der künftigen Form, wenn ich anfange, den Stamm zu filetieren. Beim Drechseln auf der Drehbank spüre ich dann Hohlräumen und Strukturen nach – je älter das Holz, umso verwachsener ist es. Dieses Vorgehen hat viel Eigendynamik und bringt Überraschungen. So entsteht eine Art von Kommunikation zwischen mir und dem Holz.“ Vom Vorbereiten des Stamms bis zum fertig getrockneten Objekt vergehen mitunter bis zu drei Monate, diesen Prozess muss Finkel penibel kontrollieren. Dass die Unikate am Ende bis zu 3.000 Euro kosten, scheint da plausibel. Ein paar handverlesene Galerien und Messen sind heute stolz darauf, seine Objekte zeigen zu dürfen, so zum Beispiel die Design-Galerie Luminaire in Chicago. Auf dem Mailänder Salone del Mobile 2012 stellte er zusammen mit der Textildesignerin Paola Lenti im Chiostro dell’Umanitaria aus – ein großer Erfolg.

Ob seine Werke nun eher Kunst oder Design sind, fragt er sich nicht. „Schubladen und Dogmen interessieren mich nicht. Es gibt entweder gute oder schlechte Arbeiten, das sind die Kriterien, auf die es ankommt“. Am liebsten wandelt er dabei zwischen den Disziplinen, zwischen den Welten.