The Ulm School of Design Back to the Future

While the Bauhaus of the 1920’s continues to fascinate people to this day as a hothouse of functionalism and a young generation of new designers, the impact history of the important Ulm School of Design has drawn less attention until now. That is about to change.

HfG-building 1955 HfG-building 1955 | Photo: Sisi von Schweinitz © HfG-Archive Ulm With the transfer of the Ulm School of Design’s archive to its traditional facilities on the Ulmer Kuhberg, the best possible conditions have been established to make this unique experimental laboratory of design and architecture of the young Bundesrepublik known to a wider public after almost 60 years since its founding. The Ulm School of Design existed for 15 years, approx. 640 students completed their studies in design there, and yet, like the Bauhaus, the school was not just a training facility for product design, visual communication, construction, information and film. The Ulm School of Design was founded in 1953 at the initiative of Inge Scholl, Otl Aicher and Max Bill as a private educational institution. It was sponsored by the Geschwister Scholl Foundation, which had been founded in 1950.

Education for a better society

Gas pump 1964/65, design: Werner Zemp, Peter Hofmeister, Franco Clivio, Horst Emundts, Verena Loibl, Edith Ross Gas pump 1964/65, design: Werner Zemp, Peter Hofmeister, Franco Clivio, Horst Emundts, Verena Loibl, Edith Ross | Photo: unknown © HfG-Archive Ulm The moral obligation of drawing conclusions from the experiences of Fascism and National Socialism and influencing young people to create a better society became the raison d’être of the school’s founding.

stool of Ulm 1955, design: Max Bill, Hans Gugelot, Paul Hildinger stool of Ulm 1955, design: Max Bill, Hans Gugelot, Paul Hildinger | Photo: Ernst Fesseler © HfG-Archive Ulm The founding concept was met with solidarity and support not only among the cultural elite of post-war Germany, but also among the American occupying forces. Personalities such as John J. McCloy as High Commissioner of the USA and Shepard Stone as his adviser and director of the Department of Public Affairs of the Military Security Council were among its first supporters; later came the City of Ulm, the State of Baden-Württemberg and the Bund. The Ulm School of Design had neither the status of an academic university, although research and development were very definitely carried out here, nor was it susceptible to the privileged snobbery of an art academy.

Team spirit and internationalism

Pick-up truck 1963/64, Design: Kerstin Bartlmae, Peter Kövari, Michael Penck Pick-up truck 1963/64, Design: Kerstin Bartlmae, Peter Kövari, Michael Penck | Photo: Wolfgang Siol © HfG-Archive Ulm Johannes Itten giving lessons 1955 Johannes Itten giving lessons 1955 | Photo: Sisi von Schweinitz © HfG-Archive Ulm In its fundamental principle, the so called “Ulm Concept” or “Ulm Model” pursued the both political and pedagogical goal of viewing design as not just an aesthetic or economic phenomenon, but as one involving society as a whole. Teamwork was given top priority as was an internationalisation of the student body. A higher education entrance qualification was not required for admission, but instead a skilled crafts apprenticeship or prior practical training. Otl Aicher had put his stamp on the programme and it was continued and developed further in cooperation with Max Bill and longstanding instructors such as Tomás Maldonaldo, Hans Gugelot, Walter Zeischegg and Herbert Ohl. A total of 282 instructors left their mark there, among them not only designers, but also the former Bauhaus members Helene Nonné-Schmidt, Johannes Itten, Walter Peterhans, Josef Albers as well as Friedrich Vordemberge-Gildewart, Richard Buckminster Fuller, Werner Sombart, Norbert Wiener and Hans Magnus Enzensberger.

Lasting projects

Bus stop 1967/68, design: Karl Gröbli, Jean-Claude Ludi, Richard Schaerer, Hubert-Michael Weiss Bus stop 1967/68, design: Karl Gröbli, Jean-Claude Ludi, Richard Schaerer, Hubert-Michael Weiss | Photo: Hartwig Koppermann © HfG-Archive Ulm This academy’s success story is manifested not only in the many prizes reaped for design, industrial and product form or in the excellence of its heterogeneous international teaching staff.

Dinnerware TC 100 1959, design: Hans (Nick) Roericht Dinnerware TC 100 1959, design: Hans (Nick) Roericht | Photo: Wolfgang Siol © HfG-Archive Ulm What was also extraordinary were the results of the production and development teams in which new methodological presuppositions provided the basis for projects that were resource-economical, durable and well thought out, sustainable and green, long before the movement even existed. The school’s departments and methodology were ahead of their time and “made ‘designer,’” thus Manfred Sack in Die Zeit in 1987, “a recognised profession.” In 1968, the Ulm School of Design was forced to close, as both political and financial support for the unconventional university experiment were lacking. It is all the more gratifying that its story has not been consigned to oblivion.

A treasury of materials and documents

HfG-Archive 2011 HfG-Archive 2011 | Photo: Linde Böhm © HfG-Archive Ulm The archive of the Ulm School of Design can now once again present its materials, documents, works and photographs of and by students and instructors – which have been collected over the last 40 years and entrusted to it as a perpetual deposit by the former Geschwister Scholl Foundation - in its traditional facilities on the Kuhberg in Ulm, where it all started. The architecture, by former Bauhaus member Max Bill, is identifiable as an exhibit even from outside and is surely its most important one thereby. In 2009, a decision by the City of Ulm to accept an offer by the HfG-Ulm Foundation – formerly the Geschwister Scholl Foundation – as owner of the building complex at Ulmer Hochsträß and to rent the approx. 1900 m² as depot, office and exhibition surface in the future, provided the basis for this new and unique perspective on the work of the Ulm School of Design. Approx. 6500 graphics, 350 models, 30,000 text documents, 11,000 photographs, and last but not least the former university’s library with approx. 6000 volumes make up its collections and are preserved and made available both for research and also to interested visitors. For instance, exhibitions on Otl Aicher’s holistic work for the 1972 Munich Olympics, as well as accompanying event programmes, film evenings and lecture series round off the programme revolving around the presentation of this abundant treasury of materials and numerous donations by former students and instructors.
 

The HfG Archive shows a permanent exhibition on the history of the HfG entitled Ulm School of Design: From the Zero Hour to 1968.

Ulmer Hochschule für Gestaltung Zurück in der Zukunft

Während das Bauhaus der 1920er-Jahre als Kaderschmiede des Funktionalismus und einer jungen Generation von neuen Gestaltern bis heute viele Menschen fasziniert, steht die Wirkungsgeschichte der bedeutsamen Hochschule für Gestaltung (HfG) in Ulm bislang weniger im Fokus. Das soll sich ändern.

HfG-Gebäude 1955 HfG-Gebäude 1955 | Foto (Ausschnitt): Sisi von Schweinitz © HfG-Archiv Ulm Mit dem Umzug des Archivs der HfG Ulm in seine angestammten Räumlichkeiten auf dem Ulmer Kuhberg sind beste Voraussetzungen dafür geschaffen, dieses einzigartige Design- und Architektur-Experimentallabor der jungen Bundesrepublik Deutschland fast 60 Jahre nach der Gründung einem breiten Publikum bekannt zu machen. Die HfG Ulm existierte 15 Jahre lang, rund 640 Studierende durchliefen hier ihr Studium zum Gestalter – doch ähnlich wie das Bauhaus war sie mehr als nur eine reine Ausbildungsstätte für Produktgestaltung, Visuelle Kommunikation, Bauen, Information und Film. Die HfG Ulm wurde 1953 auf Initiative von Inge Scholl, Otl Aicher und Max Bill als eine private Bildungseinrichtung gegründet, Träger war die 1950 gegründete Geschwister-Scholl-Stiftung.

Ausbildung zu einer besseren Gesellschaft

Zapfsäulen 1964/65, Entwurf: Werner Zemp, Peter Hofmeister, Franco Clivio, Horst Emundts, Verena Loibl, Edith Ross Zapfsäulen 1964/65, Entwurf: Werner Zemp, Peter Hofmeister, Franco Clivio, Horst Emundts, Verena Loibl, Edith Ross | Foto: unbekannt © HfG-Archiv Ulm Die moralische Verpflichtung, Lehren aus den Erfahrungen des Faschismus und Nationalsozialismus zu ziehen und junge Menschen zum Streben nach einer besseren Gesellschaft zu bewegen, wurde zum Grundstein der Hochschulgründung.

Ulmer Hocker 1955, Entwurf: Max Bill, Hans Gugelot, Paul Hildinger Ulmer Hocker 1955, Entwurf: Max Bill, Hans Gugelot, Paul Hildinger | Foto: Ernst Fesseler © HfG-Archiv Ulm Solidarität und Unterstützung fand die Gründungsidee nicht nur bei der kulturellen Elite im Nachkriegsdeutschland, sondern auch bei den amerikanischen Besatzern. Persönlichkeiten wie John J. McCloy als Hoher Kommissar der USA für Deutschland und Shepard Stone als sein Berater und Leiter des Büros für öffentliche Angelegenheiten im Militärischen Sicherheitsrat zählten zu den Förderern der frühen Stunde, später kamen die Stadt Ulm, das Land und der Bund dazu. Die HfG Ulm hatte nicht den Status einer wissenschaftlichen Hochschule, obwohl man hier sehr wohl Forschung und Entwicklung betrieb, und auch der Dünkel einer Kunstakademie haftete ihr nicht an.

Teamgeist und Internationalität

Kleintransporter 1963/64, Design: Kerstin Bartlmae, Peter Kövari, Michael Penck Kleintransporter 1963/64, Design: Kerstin Bartlmae, Peter Kövari, Michael Penck | Foto: Wolfgang Siol © HfG-Archiv Ulm Johannes Itten im Unterricht 1955 Johannes Itten im Unterricht 1955 | Foto: Sisi von Schweinitz © HfG-Archiv Ulm Das sogenannte Ulmer Konzept oder Ulmer Modell verfolgte in seiner Grundidee das politische wie auch pädagogische Ziel, Gestaltung als ein gesamtgesellschaftliches und nicht nur als ästhetisches oder ökonomisches Phänomen zu betrachten. Teamarbeit und eine internationale Zusammensetzung der Studentenschaft waren wichtig. Voraussetzung für das Studium war nicht zwingend die Hochschulreife, sondern eine handwerkliche Lehre oder praktische Vorbildung. Das Programm hatte Otl Aicher geprägt, und es wurde gemeinsam mit Max Bill und von langjährigen Dozenten wie Tomás Maldonaldo, Hans Gugelot, Walter Zeischegg und Herbert Ohl fortgeschrieben und weiterentwickelt. Insgesamt 282 Dozenten wirkten an der HfG Ulm, darunter nicht nur Designer, sondern auch die ehemaligen Bauhäusler Helene Nonné-Schmidt, Johannes Itten, Walter Peterhans, Josef Albers und auch Friedrich Vordemberge-Gildewart, Richard Buckminster Fuller, Werner Sombart, Norbert Wiener und Hans Magnus Enzensberger.

Nachhaltige Projekte

Bushaltestelle 1967/68, Design: Karl Gröbli, Jean-Claude Ludi, Richard Schaerer, Hubert-Michael Weiss Bushaltestelle 1967/68, Design: Karl Gröbli, Jean-Claude Ludi, Richard Schaerer, Hubert-Michael Weiss | Foto: Hartwig Koppermann © HfG-Archiv Ulm Die Erfolgsgeschichte dieser Hochschule manifestiert sich nicht nur in den zahlreichen Preisen, mit denen sie für Gestaltung, Industrie- und Produktform ausgezeichnet wurde, oder in der internationalen exzellenten Dozentenschaft.

Stapelgeschirr TC 100 1959, Entwurf: Hans (Nick) Roericht Stapelgeschirr TC 100 1959, Entwurf: Hans (Nick) Roericht | Foto: Wolfgang Siol © HfG-Archiv Ulm Außergewöhnlich waren auch die Ergebnisse der Werk- und Entwicklungsgemeinschaften, in denen neue methodische Voraussetzungen den Bodensatz für Projekte bildeten, die ressourcensparend, weil rohstoffarm waren, haltbar und scharf durchdacht, nachhaltig und ökologisch, bevor es diese Bewegung überhaupt gab. Die Abteilungen der HfG und ihre Methodik waren ihrer Zeit voraus und „machten den Designer zum anerkannten Beruf“, so Manfred Sack 1987 in der deutschen Wochenzeitung Die Zeit. 1968 musste die HfG Ulm schließen, die politische wie auch die finanzielle Unterstützung für das außergewöhnliche Hochschulexperiment fehlte. Umso erfreulicher ist, dass ihre Geschichte nicht dem Vergessen preisgegeben ist.

Reichhaltige Materialien und Dokumente

HfG-Archiv 2011 HfG-Archiv 2011 | Foto: Linde Böhm © HfG-Archiv Ulm Das Archiv der HfG Ulm kann nun wieder seine gesammelten und von der ehemaligen Geschwister-Scholl-Stiftung als unbefristetes Depositum überlassenen Materialien, Dokumente, Arbeiten und Fotografien von Schülern und Dozenten in den angestammten Räumen auf dem Kuhberg in Ulm präsentieren, genau da, wo alles seinen Ursprung hatte. Die vom ehemaligen Bauhäusler Max Bill entworfene Architektur ist dabei ein bereits von außen ablesbares und damit sicherlich wichtigstes Exponat. Grundlage für die neue und einmalige Sicht auf das Schaffen der HfG wurde 2009 der Entschluss der Stadt Ulm, das Angebot der Stiftung HfG-Ulm – ehemals Geschwister-Scholl-Stiftung – als Eigentümerin des Gebäudekomplexes am Ulmer Hochsträß anzunehmen und die rund 1.900 Quadratmeter zukünftig als Depot-, Büro- und Ausstellungsfläche zu mieten. Etwa 6.500 Grafiken, 350 Modelle, 30.000 Schriftdokumente, 11.000 Fotografien und nicht zuletzt die Bibliothek der ehemaligen Hochschule mit rund 6.000 Bänden zählen zum Bestand und werden für die Forschung, aber auch für interessierte Besucher aufbewahrt und zur Verfügung gestellt. Ausstellungen zum Beispiel über das ganzheitliche Schaffen von Otl Aicher für die olympischen Spiele 1972 in München, aber auch begleitende Veranstaltungsprogramme, Filmabende und Vortragsreihen runden das Programm um die Präsentation des reichen Materialfundus und der vielen Schenkungen der ehemaligen Studenten und Lehrer ab.
 

Unter dem Titel Hochschule für Gestaltung Ulm: Von der Stunde Null bis 1968 zeigt das HfG-Archiv eine Dauerausstellung zur Geschichte der HfG.