Indoor landscaping Using Nature in Architecture

Tori tori restaurant, Studio ESRAWE verde360
Tori tori restaurant, Studio ESRAWE verde360 | Photo: Raúl Rivera, NYC, Courtesy of Rojkind Arquitectos, México D.F.

Andreas Schmidt of the Trier-based Indoorlandscaping agency uses plants and imagination to give modern buildings a more pleasant feel.

“Either you’re part of the problem or you’re part of the solution or you’re just part of the landscape“, according to actor Robert de Niro in the film “Ronin“ that was made in 1998. This quotation is used as a slogan on the website of Indoorlandscaping managing director, Andreas Schmidt. Perhaps to emphasise his role as a designer of creative and ecological solutions in a jungle of lifestyle trends? But let’s start at the beginning, when a strip of turf was flipped upright by the young Indoorlandscaping designers at a trade fair booth for the tech company Siemens, back in 1998. The idea worked, this vertical lawn was a real eye-catcher. Living, fresh green, a treat for the eyes, lungs and mood. The chemistry graduate come designer realised that this concept had potential.

Tamed wilderness

indoorlandscaping.BOA.BRIDGE PERSPEKTIVE indoorlandscaping.BOA.BRIDGE PERSPEKTIVE | © indoorlandscaping.com Architects generally consider small pot plants as boring, bourgeois and suburban. Schmidt came up with an answer that met the expectations of his customers. Designed in tune with their specific needs he brought in plants on a massive scale, incorporated cascades of foliage in courtyards, implemented monochrome planted walls and created avenues of slender alders behind metre-high glass facades – a modern approach to the back-to-nature movement. Green foliage now filters daylight to create a calm, sensual contrast within the stern ensemble of glass, steel and concrete. It is projects like this tamed wilderness that break up conventional conceptions of plants in buildings.

Nature indoors

Portrait Andreas Schmidt Portrait Andreas Schmidt | Photo and © Marco Piecuch “It’s mostly operators of open plan offices, banks or hotels who decide in favour of new interior planting schemes. The words “Corporate Green” emphasise a company’s sustainable approach”, Schmidt adds. Instead of choosing a masterpiece of art for representation purposes, some banks and executive boards go for green art. “A creatively and visually designed green zone is not a mere accessory, it is a design element with added value – it affects and cools the room climate, helps people to relax based on its colour, and stands for a calm, slowed-down approach “, says Schmidt who took advanced studies in alternative medicine, naturopathy and homeopathy.

A rain forest in the boardroom

“Plants alter acoustics in space, and peat, for instance, absorbs and bonds dust. But first and foremost we see ourselves as designers, Schmidt comments. His team is now planning large projects such as sky gardens for high-rise buildings or multi-storey gardens for shopping malls – often these are installations that vary between works of art and natural air conditioning.

Going for green

Tori tori restaurant, Studio ESRAWE verde360 Tori tori restaurant, Studio ESRAWE verde360 | Photo and © Paúl Rivera, NYC, Courtesy of Rojkind Arquitectos, México D.F. Towns built with large amounts of concrete are places where companies like Indoorlandscaping can thrive. Andreas Schmidt’s projects fill a static niche with life, they form the missing link between architecture, interior and landscape architecture. The agency that operated from bases in Trier, Munich, Los Angeles and Mexico City worked for such as Amsterdam-Airport or the Bank of America and employed specialists in a variety of disciplines: designers, biologists, light designers, engineers and landscape architects. After many talks and presentations in cities such as Copenhagen, London, Singapore and Bologna, on the value added offered by his green “co-inhabitants” in highly engineered environments, Schmidt now sees his task as done. After 15 years as a promoter of green landscapes in urban space, he is looking for new challenges.

Indoorlandscaping Ein Stück Natur in der Architektur

Tori tori restaurant, Studio ESRAWE verde360
Tori tori restaurant, Studio ESRAWE verde360 | Foto: Raúl Rivera, NYC, Courtesy of Rojkind Arquitectos, México D.F.

Mit Pflanzen-Installationen und Fantasie begrünt Andreas Schmidt von der Trierer Agentur Indoorlandscaping moderne Bauten auf der ganzen Welt.

„Entweder du bist Teil des Problems, Teil der Lösung – oder ein Teil der Landschaft“, sagt Schauspieler Robert de Niro im Film Ronin von 1998. Dieses Zitat auf seiner Website dient Andreas Schmidt, Geschäftsführer der Agentur Indoorlandscaping aus Trier, als Arbeitsmotto. Vielleicht, weil er sich selbst als ökologisch-gestaltender Problemlöser im Dschungel der Wohntrends sieht? Doch von vorne: Es begann mit einem Stück Rollrasen, den das junge Design-Büro Indoorlandscaping im Jahr 1998 für einen Messestand des Technologiekonzerns Siemens kurzerhand in die Vertikale verlegte. Der Plan ging auf, die Senkrechtwiese wurde ein Blickfang. Lebendiges, frisches Grün, das Augen, Lunge und Laune gut tut – die Idee hatte Potenzial, merkte der studierte Chemiker und Gestalter.

Ein Stück gezähmter Wildnis

indoorlandscaping.BOA.BRIDGE PERSPEKTIVE indoorlandscaping.BOA.BRIDGE PERSPEKTIVE | © indoorlandscaping.com Gerade Architekten sehen in kleinteiligen Zimmerzierpflanzen meist einen Ausdruck von Spießigkeit und Kleinbürgertum. Schmidt fand eine Antwort auf die Ansprüche seiner Kunden: Gestalterisch bezog Schmidt das Grün im großen Maßstab mit ein, installierte Blätterkaskaden in Innenhöfen, realisierte monochrome Pflanzenwände und organisierte Alleen von schlanken Erlen hinter meterhohen Glasfassaden – ein moderner Ansatz der Zurück-zur-Natur-Bewegung. Hier filtert das Grün das Tageslicht und schafft einen beruhigenden, sinnlichen Kontrast im kühnen Ensemble aus Glas, Stahl und Beton. Es sind Projekte wie dieses Stück gezähmter Wildnis, die bisherige Auffassungen von Raumbegrünung sprengen.

Natur im Raum

Portrait Andreas Schmidt Portrait Andreas Schmidt | Foto und © Marco Piecuch „Meist sind es Großraumbüros, Banken oder Hotels, die sich für neue Wege der Innenraumbegrünung entscheiden. Das sogenannte Corporate Green steht für die nachhaltigen Ambitionen der Unternehmen“, sagt Schmidt. Statt eines repräsentativen Gemäldes leisten sich einige Banken und Vorstandsetagen ein Stück grüne Kunst. „Eine visuell konzipierte Grünzone ist kein dekoratives Accessoire, sondern ein gestalterisches Element mit Mehrwert – schließlich prägt und kühlt es das Raumklima, entspannt aufgrund seiner Farbwirkung, steht für Gelassenheit und Entschleunigung“, sagt Schmidt der sich in Alternativmedizin, Naturheilkunde und Homöopathie fortbildete.

Regenwald in der Vorstandsetage

„Pflanzen verändern die Akustik im Raum. Und Moose zum Beispiel absorbieren und binden den Staub. In erster Linie sehen wir uns aber als Gestalter“, sagt Schmidt. Sein Team plant inzwischen großformatige Projekte wie Dachgärten für Hochhäuser oder mehrstöckige Gärten für Einkaufszentren – oft sind es Rauminstallationen zwischen Kunst und natürlicher Klimaanlage.

Alles im grünen Bereich

Tori tori restaurant, Studio ESRAWE verde360 Tori tori restaurant, Studio ESRAWE verde360 | Foto und © Paúl Rivera, NYC, Courtesy of Rojkind Arquitectos, México D.F. Vor allem dicht bebaute Städte liefern Firmen wie Indoorlandscaping ein weites Arbeitsfeld. Schmidts Projekte füllen eine statische Nische mit Leben, sie bilden einen „Missing Link“ zwischen Architektur, Innen- und Landschaftsarchitektur. Zwischenzeitlich besaß das Unternehmen Filialen in Trier, München, Los Angeles und Mexiko City, arbeitete für Kunden wie den Amsterdam-Airport oder die Bank of America und bezog dabei Spezialisten aus diversen Disziplinen ein: Designer, Biologen, Lichtplaner, Ingenieure und Landschaftsarchitekten. Seine Aufgabe als Impulsgeber sieht Schmidt, der in Städten wie Kopenhagen, London, Singapur und Bologna immer wieder über den Mehrwert grüner „Mitbewohner“ im technisierten Lebensraum der Menschen referiert, nun aber als beendet. Nach 15 Jahren Aufbauarbeit, in denen er dem Grün den Weg in den urbanen Raum ebnete, sucht er heute neue Herausforderungen.