Porcelain Manufactory Nymphenburg White Gold

Massemühle, Porzellan Manufaktur Nymphenburg
Massemühle, Porzellan Manufaktur Nymphenburg | Photo (detail): Porzellan Manufaktur Nymphenburg

Nymphenburg Porcelain Manufactory is unique in that it manufactures its products entirely by hand. As an undertaking it appears almost misplaced in time. All the more amazing that these fine porcelain objects embody the vision and spirit of the avant-garde.

Outside you can hear birds chirping and the rushing water of the stream that drives the belts to turn the mill and the potter’s wheels inside the Porcelain Manufactory. The establishment was founded in 1747 by Elector Max III and has been at its present site in the North Rondell of Munich’s Schloss Nymphenburg since 1761. When entering the distinguished workshops through the park landscape with its brightly coloured majolica figures it feels as if time has shifted.

Painting, Porzellan Manufaktur Nymphenburg Painting, Porzellan Manufaktur Nymphenburg | © Porzellan Manufaktur Nymphenburg The birth of every figure and every vase created at the Nymphenburg Manufactory starts in the hands of Zeus – Dieter Zeus. He is responsible for the porcelain mass of kaolin, feldspar and quartz and rolls the paste until it is smooth and then leaves it to rest for two years until it is ready for processing. “Manu factum” is meant quite literally here at Nymphenburg: besides hand-processed porcelain paste, also the paints are prepared individually in the manufacturer’s own laboratory. Turning and casting is always done by hand and every ornament is applied individually to the final piece. Working without templates and with great concentration the porcelain decorating artists rely on their instinctive feeling when they apply the different motifs to the glaze of the smoothly fired porcelain. For a single plate of the Cumberland rococo service, regarded as the world’s most complex floral design, an artist may work for up to three weeks.

Before one of these unique pieces leaves the Porzellan Manufaktur Nymphenburg it is marked with the Wittelsbach coat of arms and the personal marks of the potter, former and painter who produced the object.

Master-craftsmanship tradition fostered for centuries

Olaf Nicolai, Tea Set CULA Olaf Nicolai, Tea Set CULA | © Porzellan Manufaktur Nymphenburg Perhaps for this reason it is all the more daring and avant-garde in its design approach. The Porzellan Manufaktur Nymphenburg always understood that it would benefit from big names. Back in the rococo period already, it was the sculptor Franz Anton Bustelli who brought the Manufactory to glory with his fanciful, frivolous figures. Today it is famous artists like Kiki Smith, Tobias Rehberger and Olaf Nicolai or designers such as Ted Muehling, Konstantin Grcic and Hella Jongerius who inspire enthusiasm for the design of Nymphenburg.

Konstantin Grcic, Pepper Sprinkler Konstantin Grcic, Pepper Sprinkler | © Porzellan Manufaktur Nymphenburg Hella Jongerius chose eight animal figure designs from the treasure of historic shapes at the Manufactory and placed them in simple white bowls. The classic painting of the fox or hippopotamus was then supplemented with a different pattern from Nymphenburg’s painting archives creating a playful and appealing contrast. The Munich-based industrial designer Grcic remained true to his puristic, reduced values. He was fascinated by shapes that played a rather marginal role in the company’s history, insulators from electricity masts, for example, that he turned into sleek salt and pepper cellars. Also Patrik Muff from Switzerland, who is well known for his punk jewellery, drew inspirations from historical Nymphenburg designs, such as Franz Ignaz Günther’s Skull dating back to around 1756. He then expressed these strong sacred symbols in his Essentials jewellery line.

The selection of contemporary designers is a key element in the marketing structure of the Manufactory, and the pros and cons of a collaboration are always carefully weighed up. Ambassadors in a network of leading figures from the art world help the company make the decisions. The innovative input from these famous figureheads also draws younger buyers who then go on to discover the classic porcelain objects.

Ted Muehling, Monogram Edition Ted Muehling, Monogram Edition | © Porzellan Manufaktur Nymphenburg Long gone are the days when it was just traditionalists and collectors who showed a preference for historic designs – even in the purist atmosphere of Berlin’s loft scene elaborately decorated Cumberland plates are now quite common on the dining table.

Sophisticated, with a conscious awareness of tradition and a feel for modernism

Christian Lacroix, Julia, Commedia Couture Edition Christian Lacroix, Julia, Commedia Couture Edition | © Porzellan Manufaktur Nymphenburg Under the management of Prinz Luitpold von Bayern since 2011, the Porzellan Manufaktur Nymphenburg continues to prosper. New markets are opening up, especially in China, where old craftsmanship skills are gradually becoming scarce and where the opulently decorated Nymphenburg porcelain objects are extremely popular. Nevertheless, growth strategies are only being pursued with careful consideration. With its current workforce of 80 employees the Manufactory wishes to set forth its philosophy that supports a culture of craftsmanship. For instance, an apprenticeship in the individual craft trades at the Manufactory takes three years to complete. It then takes five times as long again before the young talent have acquired the skills to produce one of the masterpieces.

To demonstrate its role as promoter of the porcelain avant-garde and to show that “white gold” has not lost its magic in the 21st century, the Manufactory committed fashion designers such as Vivienne Westwood, Christian Lacroix and Elie Saab to design a new attire for Franz Anton Bustelli’s Commedia dell’Arte figures – the ensemble considered the most elegant in porcelain history.

Porzellanmanufaktur Nymphenburg Weißes Gold

Massemühle, Porzellan Manufaktur Nymphenburg
Massemühle, Porzellan Manufaktur Nymphenburg | Foto (Ausschnnitt): Porzellan Manufaktur Nymphenburg

Nymphenburg gilt als letzte große Reinstmanufaktur für Porzellan weltweit. Ein Ort wie aus der Zeit gefallen. Um so bemerkenswerter, dass das feine Porzellan, das dort entsteht, den Geist der Avantgarde atmet.

Draußen zwitschern die Vögel, man hört das Rauschen eines Bachs. Über einfache Riemen treibt er die Mühle und Drehscheiben der Porzellanmanufaktur an. Sie wurde 1747 von Kurfürst Max III. gegründet und ist seit 1761 im nördlichen Rondell von Schloss Nymphenburg in München beheimatet. Wer die altehrwürdigen Werkstätten über die mit bunt bemalten Keramik-Majoliken geschmückte Parkanlage betritt, fühlt sich in eine andere Zeit versetzt.

Malerei, Porzellan Manufaktur Nymphenburg Malerei, Porzellan Manufaktur Nymphenburg | © Porzellan Manufaktur Nymphenburg Jede Figurine, jede Vase, die in der Porzellanmanufaktur Nymphenburg entsteht, nimmt ihren Anfang bei Zeus, dem Massemüller Dieter Zeus. Er walkt die Porzellanmasse aus Kaolin, Feldspat und Quarz so lange durch, bis sie geschmeidig ist. Dann ruht die Masse erst einmal zwei Jahre, bis sie weiter verarbeitet werden kann. „Manu factum” – von Hand gemacht – wird hier noch wörtlich verstanden: Nicht nur die Porzellanmasse wird selbst erzeugt, auch die Farben entstehen im hauseigenen Labor. Gedreht und gegossen wird von Hand, jedes Ornament einzeln appliziert. Schablonen sucht man in Nymphenburg vergebens: Mit äußerster Konzentration und Fingerspitzengefühl bringen Porzellanmaler unterschiedlichste Dekore auf die Glasur des glattgebrannten Porzellans auf. An einem Teller des Rokoko-Service Cumberland, dessen Motiv als das aufwendigste Blumendekor der Welt gilt, arbeitet ein Maler bis zu drei Wochen.

Bevor eines der Unikate die Manufaktur verlässt, wird es mit dem Wittelsbacher Rautenschild und den persönlichen Zeichen des Drehers, des Formers und des Malers markiert.

Über Jahrhunderte erhaltene Handwerkstraditionen

Olaf Nicolai, Tee Set CULA Olaf Nicolai, Tee Set CULA | © Porzellan Manufaktur Nymphenburg Umso experimentierfreudiger und avantgardistischer ist man in Nymphenburg dagegen in puncto Entwurf. Von Anfang an verstand man es, mit großen Namen zu punkten. Schon in der Rokokozeit verhalf vor allem der Bildhauer Franz Anton Bustelli mit seinen kunstvollen wie frivolen Figuren der Manufaktur zur Blüte. Heute sind es renommierte Künstler wie Kiki Smith, Tobias Rehberger und Olaf Nicolai oder Designer wie Ted Muehling, Konstantin Grcic und Hella Jongerius, die das Design des Hauses weiterentwickeln.

Konstantin Grcic, Pfefferstreuer Konstantin Grcic, Pfefferstreuer | © Porzellan Manufaktur Nymphenburg Hella Jongerius wählte acht Tierfiguren aus dem Archiv der Manufaktur und platzierte sie in einfache weiße Schalen. Die klassische Bemalung von Fuchs oder Nilpferd komplementierte die Niederländerin dann jeweils mit einem weiteren Dekor aus dem reichen Musterrepertoire des Hauses. Ein reizvoller Kontrast. Gewohnt puristisch ging der Münchner Industriedesigner Konstantin Grcic vor. Ihn faszinierten Formen, die eher am Rande der Firmengeschichte eine Rolle spielen, Isolatoren von Strommasten etwa, die er zu schlichten Salz- und Pfefferstreuern verwandelte. Auch der Schweizer Patrik Muff, bekannt für seinen Punkschmuck, ließ sich von historischen Nymphenburg-Entwürfen wie Franz Ignaz Günthers Totenkopf von circa 1756 inspirieren und entwarf die von sakraler Symbolik geprägte Schmucklinie Essentials.

Die Auswahl der zeitgenössischen Gestalter gehört zur Marketingstrategie des Hauses. Sorgsam wird abgewogen, mit wem man arbeiten will. Bei der Suche beraten sogenannte Ambassadors, ein Netzwerk von führenden Köpfen der Kunstszene. Der innovative Input hat noch einen weiteren Nutzen: Über die renommierten Aushängeschilder finden jüngere Käufer Zugang zu den Klassikern.

Ted Muehling, Monogramm Edition Ted Muehling, Monogramm Edition | © Porzellan Manufaktur Nymphenburg Längst sind es sind nicht mehr nur Traditionalisten und Sammler, die das historische Design präferieren, selbst in ansonsten puristisch eingerichteten Berliner Lofts wird heute von prächtigen Cumberland-Tellern gespeist.

Anspruch, Traditionsbewusstsein und Gespür für die Moderne

Christian Lacroix, Julia, Commedia Couture Edition Christian Lacroix, Julia, Commedia Couture Edition | © Porzellan Manufaktur Nymphenburg Das seit 2011 unter der Leitung von Prinz Luitpold von Bayern stehende Unternehmen floriert. Neue Märkte werden erschlossen, allen voran China, wo die alten Handwerkstechniken verloren zu gehen drohen und man die Opulenz der Nymphenburg-Dekore schätzt. Trotzdem wird mit Bedacht expandiert, denn die Manufaktur mit derzeit 80 Mitarbeitern will ihre Philosophie der handwerklichen Kultur bewahren. Drei Jahre dauert die hauseigene Lehre in einem der Handwerksberufe. Fünfmal so lang, bis der Nachwuchs die Fertigkeit besitzt, eines der Meisterwerke zu schaffen.

Um ihre Vorreiterrolle als Porzellanavantgarde zu beweisen und zu zeigen, dass das weiße Gold auch im 21. Jahrhundert nichts von seiner Faszination verloren hat, ließ die Manufaktur Franz Anton Bustellis Commedia-dell’arte-Figuren aus dem 17. Jahrhundert neu einkleiden. Dem Ensemble, das bis heute als das eleganteste in der gesamten Porzellangeschichte gilt, wurden kostbare neue Roben von Modeschöpfern wie Vivienne Westwood, Christian Lacroix und Elie Saab gewissermaßen auf den Leib geschneidert.