Jil Sander Northern German icon of purism and “Queen of Less”

Jil Sander Collection Spring/Summer 2014
© Jil Sander | Photo (montage): © Jil Sander

Sleek and sculptural: no other female fashion designer represents German design tradition and casual elegance better than Jil Sander.

When Jil Sander garnered international acclaim for her minimalist women’s collections in the early 1990s, she was already an established forty-year-old designer with a very clear idea of women’s fashion. This clarity also marked her design: simple, unadorned garments made of high-quality cloth, and exquisitely tailored and crafted.

Jil Sander Collection Spring/Summer 2014 Jil Sander Collection Spring/Summer 2014 | © Jil Sander has always created fashion for grown-up women, even though a hint of delicacy has also been resonant through all her collections. The designer herself was never one of those fashion prodigies – mostly male – who even as young as 22 make a splash on the Paris runways. Instead, ever since the early seventies, Jil Sander has been steadily bringing a pure, minimalist style back to fashion. In other words, she retrieved precisely what apparently got lost in the frenzy of the 1980s with the excesses of Thierry Mugler and Christian Lacroix.

The most German of all female fashion designers

From an international perspective, Jil Sander creates very German fashion – and since 1997, also for men. The designer, who studied textile engineering, combines uncompromising, razor-sharp styling with a Bauhaus-inspired form which, together with a markedly androgynous city look, has become her signature feature. Antonella Giannone, professor of fashion theory at the Weissensee Academy of Art Berlin sums it up as follows: “Jil Sander doesn’t make women’s fashion explicitly, but rather modern fashion modeled on male apparel, such as the suit. Her philosophy has more in common with the austerity of Japanese and Belgian design than with the ornamental character of south European fashion. Sander creates classic, Central European fashion that urban career women can wear very well.”

The Hamburg style: expensive and good

Jil Sander Collection Spring/Summer 2014 Slide show: Jil Sander Jil Sander Collection Spring/Summer 2014 | ©
From a German viewpoint, you could say specifically that Jil Sander makes North German fashion. Raised in Hamburg, she best embodies the understatement traditionally cultivated in this Hanseatic city. Dressing well and expensively has always been important in this old port town and commercial hub in particular – although this pricey flair needn’t be obvious at a first glance.

The sleek garments should last for a couple of seasons and not be impossible to wear after one season because of extravagant style. Jil Sander perfected this Protestant attitude as style as no other female fashion designer has. This philosophy lay at the heart of her success. The designer first did well in Germany. Long before her big international breakthrough, even in smaller German towns it was common knowledge that a black Jil Sander turtleneck or a tailored white shirt-blouse can be a timeless piece of fashion culture.

The face of her own brand

Jil Sander Collection Spring/Summer 2014 Jil Sander Collection Spring/Summer 2014 | © A factor surely contributing to this widespread recognition is the fact that Jil Sander herself, who is actually very publicity-shy, promoted her own perfume and make-up lines – she was always the stern, beautiful face of her own brand. With these stylized campaigns, she was one of the first designers to imprint a fashion brand with her personal image.

When her company was first sold to the Prada group in 1999 and later indirectly acquired by a major Japanese fashion corporation, Jil Sander left the company twice but returned as chief designer – most recently from 2012 to 2013.

During her absence, the Belgian Raf Simons, who is today the artistic director at Dior-gave the Jil Sander label the only thing that it may have been missing: street style.

Modern? Yes. Subculture? No

Jil Sander Collection Spring/Summer 2014 Jil Sander Collection Spring/Summer 2014 | © Jil Sander has always stood for luxury, understatement and quality –and absolute modernity. Subculture it was not. Simons, who borrowed from the punk and Goth cultures, brought precisely this aspect into Sander’s clean, geometric elegance – to the delight of fashion critics and the general press. A highlight of this period was the label’s collaboration with actress Tilda Swinton which reached its highpoint in the film “I Am Love.”

During this time, Jil Sander created several collections for the Japanese fashion house UNIKLO that also garnered rave reviews from the design press. In 2012 she returned to her own label, where she spent a year. Once again, the collections she designed drew great acclaim from the critics who, as always, paid respect to her exquisite craftsmanship, on the one hand, and on the other, expressed pleasant surprise at the freshness of her new work.

Jil Sander explained her final retirement at the age of 70 in 2013 in her usual curt and calm way, as owing to “private and personal reasons.” A design team she selected herself will be responsible for creating and developing the upcoming collections of the Jil Sander label for the time being. Let’s hope her successors honor her legacy with dignity. Nevertheless, they might smuggle just a tad perhaps of street culture under those fine cashmere coats.

Jil Sander Norddeutsche Ikone des Purismus und „Queen of less“

Jil Sander Collection Spring/Summer 2014
Jil Sander Collection Spring/Summer 2014 | Foto (Montage): © Jil Sander

Klar und skulptural: Keine Modedesignerin steht so für deutsche Designtradition und lässige Eleganz wie Jil Sander.

Als Jil Sander Anfang der 1990er-Jahre international für ihre minimalistischen Damenkollektionen gefeiert wurde, war sie bereits eine gestandene Designerin von 40 Jahren mit einer klaren Vorstellung von Frauenmode. Genauso klar war auch ihr Design: schnörkellos, aus hochwertigen Stoffen, dabei exzellent geschnitten und verarbeitet.

Jil Sander Collection Spring/Summer 2014 Jil Sander Collection Spring/Summer 2014 | © Jil Sander hat immer Mode für erwachsene Frauen gemacht, auch wenn in allen ihren Kollektionen bis heute etwas Zartes mitschwingt. Die Designerin war keines der – meist männlichen – Modewunderkinder, die bereits mit 22 Furore in Paris machen. Sander hat es sich seit den 1970er-Jahren zur Aufgabe gemacht, das Pure und Minimale zurück in die Mode zu bringen, also genau das, was spätestens im Rausch der 1980er-Jahre mit seinen Thierry Mugler und Christian Lacroix-Exzessen verlorengegangen schien.

Die deutscheste aller Modedesignerinnen

International gesehen macht Jil Sander, die ein Studium als Textilingenieurin absolviert hat, sehr deutsche Mode, seit 1997 auch für Männer. Kompromisslose, messerscharfe Schnitte kombiniert sie mit einer am Bauhaus orientierten Formensprache. Zusammen mit ihrem stark androgynen City-Look wurde das zu ihrem Markenzeichen. Die Professorin für Modetheorie der Kunsthochschule Weißensee in Berlin, Antonella Giannone, fasst es so zusammen: „Jil Sander macht keine explizit weibliche, sondern eine moderne, an männlichen Vorbildern wie dem Hosenanzug orientierte Mode. Ihre Philosophie deckt sich viel mehr mit der Strenge der japanischen und belgischen Designer als mit dem dekorativeren südeuropäischen Modeverständnis. Sie macht klassische mitteleuropäische Mode, die sehr gut von arbeitenden Frauen in der Stadt getragen werden kann.“

Hamburger Stil ─ teuer und gut

Jil Sander Collection Spring/Summer 2014 Bildergalerie: Jil Sander Jil Sander Collection Spring/Summer 2014 | ©
Aus deutscher Sicht könnte man noch präzisieren: Jil Sander macht norddeutsche Mode. Aufgewachsen in der Hansestadt Hamburg ist sie das beste Beispiel für das dort gepflegte Understatement. Gerade in dieser alten Handelsmetropole ist es immer wichtig gewesen gut und teuer angezogen zu sein – nur sehen sollte man es nicht unbedingt sofort.

Die schlichten Stücke sollten gerne ein paar Saisons überdauern, und nicht wegen modischem Chi-chi schon nach einer Saison untragbar werden. Diese protestantische Einstellung hat Jil Sander als Stil perfektioniert wie kaum eine zweite Modemacherin, und diese Grundeinstellung war auch die Basis ihres Erfolges. Der kam zunächst national. Schon lange vor ihrem großen internationalen Durchbruch hatte sich bis in kleinere deutsche Städte herumgesprochen, dass ein schwarzer Jil-Sander-Rollkragen-Pullover oder eine schlichte weiße Hemdbluse ein Stück Modekultur für die Ewigkeit sein können.

Gesicht ihrer eigenen Marke

Jil Sander Collection Spring/Summer 2014 Jil Sander Collection Spring/Summer 2014 | © Zu dieser Erkenntnis hat sicher auch beigetragen, dass die eigentlich sehr öffentlichkeitsscheue Jil Sander Werbung für ihre eigene Parfüm- und Kosmetik-Linie machte. Sie war also immer auch das strenge, schöne Gesicht ihrer eigenen Marke. Mit diesen stilisierten Kampagnen hat sie als eine der ersten Designer überhaupt das persönliche Image einer Modemarke geprägt.

Als ihr Unternehmen verkauft wurde – zunächst 1999 an den Prada-Konzern, dann über Umwege 2006 an einen japanischen Modekonzern – verließ sie dieses zweimal und kehrte zuletzt 2012 bis 2013 als Chefdesignerin zurück.

In ihrer Abwesenheit hatte der Belgier Raf Simons, heute Chefdesigner bei Dior, der Jil-Sander-Linie etwas gegeben, das ihrer Mode gefehlt haben könnte: Streetstyle.

Modern ja, Subkultur nein

Jil Sander Collection Spring/Summer 2014 Jil Sander Collection Spring/Summer 2014 | © Jil Sander stand immer für äußerst modernen Luxus, Understatement und Qualität, jedoch nicht für Subkultur. Simons mit seinen Anleihen aus der Punk- und Gothic–Kultur brachte genau diese in den cleanen, geometrischen Chic von Sander ein – zur Freude von Presse und Modekritik. Ein Höhepunkt dieser Zeit war sicher die Zusammenarbeit des Labels mit der Schauspielerin Tilda Swinton, die ihren Höhepunkt in dem Film I Am Love fand.

Jil Sander selbst hatte in der Zwischenzeit mehrere, ebenfalls in der Designkritik gefeierte Kollektionen für die japanische Modekette Uniqlo kreiert, bevor sie 2012 Jahr zu ihrer eigenen Marke zurückkehrte. Mit der folgenden Kollektion überzeugte sie auch hier wieder die Kritiker, die ihr einerseits Respekt für ihr nach wie vor großes handwerkliches Können zollten, aber auch überrascht von ihrer Frische waren.

Ihren endgültigen Abschied begründete die Designerin 2013, mit 70 Jahren, knapp und unaufgeregt, wie es ihre Art ist – mit „privaten und persönlichen Gründen“. Ein von ihr ausgewähltes Designerteam soll die Kollektionen der Marke Jil Sander zunächst weiterentwickeln. Es ist zu hoffen, dass die Nachfolger würdevoll mit dem Vermächtnis der Hanseatin umgehen. Ein wenig Straßenkultur dürfen sie vielleicht trotzdem unter die edlen Kaschmirmäntel schmuggeln.