Hanna Ernsting and the Platform kkaarrlls Of Nest Builders and Bridge Builders

Hanna Emelie Ernsting
Hanna Emelie Ernsting | Photo (detail) and © David Hecker

A protected shelter for conceptualising and experimenting or applied training for daily professional life? In contrast to the visual arts, the issue in design is also to prepare students for a life outside the box of both the unique prototype and the serially manufactured product.

The cuddly fellows from the animal kingdom are named Ella, Daisy, Erni and Finn, and prove highly serviceable for putting one’s legs up on them and burying one’s feet in their soft upholstery. These cheerful “Petstools” were designed by Hanna Ernsting, a German-American designer currently focusing on the theme of “Storytelling im Produktdesign” – theoretically as well. Ernsting summarises her guiding principle in design with the words: Form follows mood. The user should not have to adjust to the product: the object should allow itself to be modified in accordance with the individual needs of its owner instead. Ernsting was already following this path during her studies at the Karlsruhe University of Arts and Design (HfG Karlsruhe) and the ENSAD Paris – with her shelf system “Slide Aside,” for instance, whose individual elements can be turned so that they can be loaded up from different positions.

The room divider “Parawall”, developed two years later, also follows the principle of variability. The user can decide individually where it should provide privacy, allow an airy transparency towards what is behind it or supplement shelf space.

  • Hanna Emelie Ernsting “Petstools – Ella” 2013 © Hanna Ernsting
    Hanna Emelie Ernsting “Petstools – Ella” 2013
  • Hanna Emelie Ernsting “Petstools – Daisy” 2013 © Hanna Ernsting
    Hanna Emelie Ernsting “Petstools – Daisy” 2013
  • Hanna Emelie Ernsting “Petstools – Fin” 2013 © Hanna Ernsting
    Hanna Emelie Ernsting “Petstools – Fin” 2013
  • Hanna Emelie Ernsting “Slide Aside” 2007 © Hanna Ernsting
    Hanna Emelie Ernsting “Slide Aside” 2007
  • Hanna Emelie Ernsting “Parawall” 2009 © Hanna Ernsting
    Hanna Emelie Ernsting “Parawall” 2009
  • Hanna Emelie Ernsting “Moody Couch” 2011 © Hanna Ernsting
    Hanna Emelie Ernsting “Moody Couch” 2011

Seating for any mood

With her 2011 diploma project “Moody Couch,” Ernsting finally gained public attention, second place for design in the Deutscher Rat’s D3 Contest for young talent, and any number of contacts for her step into independence. Firmly attached to the body of the sofa, the oversized fabric cover adjusts to each and every mood of its user. It can be used as a blanket, be rolled up to form a backrest or a cushion, serve as a seat pad and can be draped neatly or casually, as desired. The textile envelope of the somewhat smaller “Moody Nest” seems specially created to almost absorb its user and convey a sense of comfort and security, whereas with the “Moody Bag” one can upgrade simple plastic chairs or other seats into new seating options. The “Pet Stools” that Ernsting produces in her studio can be seen as further developments of this philosophy.

A platform as bridge

Ernsting's training centre, the HfG in Karlsruhe, offers a special platform for future designers: Kkaarrlls, which sounds like hesitant stuttering, is the decidedly self-assured Internet presence of students and graduates of the HfG Karlsruhe’s Department of Product Design, initiated, selected and mentored by Prof. Volker Albus und Stefan Legner. In 2009, they appeared for the first time at the Milan Furniture Trade Fair with an edition collection, and since then their range of products has been expanded by about 15 works per season.
Yvonne Fehling / Jennie Peiz, Chairstoolbench 2009 edition of 5 Yvonne Fehling / Jennie Peiz, Chairstoolbench 2009 edition of 5 | Photo: Philip Radowitz
According to Stefan Legner, who as artistic assistant of the department coordinates Kkaarrlls, conveying a fixed image of design as a profession is not part of the HfG Karlsruhe’s educational and training programme.

From very early on, individual guidance is aimed at discovering where a student’s particular uniqueness and qualities lie and to support personal approaches to work. The palette of tomorrow’s household goods is correspondingly diverse. Although the individual objects are on offer in relatively small editions, the university is not pursuing any commercial interest with kaarrlls, seeking instead to assist young designers with advice and support in realising their designs, providing a high-quality platform for their results, and building bridges in the period between their studies and professional life – to the public, manufacturers and the media. The concept seems to be working, because kkaarrll’s design is generating interest both nationally and internationally. Thus the black Hockerbank (a combination of chairs and bench) by the duo Fehling & Peiz has been spotted in the flagship store of an Italian fashion label on New York’s Fifth Avenue, the Chairstoolbench, the non-upholstered version with backrests provides seating at the Arp Museum in Rolandseck.

Design for forest re-naturalisation

Philipp Scholz “Lehner”, 2008 Produktion: ECHTWALD Philipp Scholz “Lehner”, 2008 Produktion: ECHTWALD | Photo: Philip Radowitz To date, starting last year, five objects from the kkaarrll’s collection, among them the multiple socket “Lehner” by Philipp Scholz, and Tom Pawlofsky’s and Tibor Weissmahr’s “7x stool,” manufactured by a robot, are available from the Echtwald Foundation.

Echtwald, founded by Nanette Hagstotz and the entrepreneur Thomas Grässlin, is dedicated to the re-naturalisation of commercial forests, supports local production and traditional merchandise of superb quality. So cooperation with Kkaarrlls, which is located practically at the foot of the Black Forest, makes perfect sense.

Hanna Ernsting und die Plattform Kkaarrlls Von Nest- und Brückenbauern

Hanna Emelie Ernsting
Hanna Emelie Ernsting | Foto (Ausschnitt) und © David Hecker

Geschützter Hort des Konzipierens und Probierens oder angewandtes Training für den Berufsalltag? Anders als bei der bildenden Kunst geht es im Designstudium auch darum, die Studierenden auf ein Leben jenseits des prototypischen Unikates und diesseits eines seriell hergestellten Produktes vorzubereiten.

Die kuscheligen Gesellen aus der Tierwelt hören auf die Namen Ella, Daisy, Erni sowie Finn und erweisen sich als höchst praktisch, wenn es gilt, die Beine auf ihnen abzulegen und die Füße in ihrem weichen Bezug zu vergraben. Entworfen wurden jene heiteren „Petstools“ von der deutsch-amerikanischen Designerin Hanna Emelie Ernsting, die sich der Thematik des „Storytelling im Produktdesign“ zurzeit auch theoretisch widmet. Ihre Design-Richtlinie fasst Ernsting mit den Worten „Form Follows Mood“ (die Form folgt der Stimmung) zusammen. Nicht der Nutzer soll sich dem Produkt anpassen, sondern umgekehrt, das Objekt soll sich auf die individuellen Bedürfnisse seines Besitzers modifizieren lassen. Bereits während ihres Studiums an der HfG Karlsruhe und der ENSAD Paris hat Ernsting diesen Weg verfolgt. Mit dem Regalsystem „Slide Aside“ beispielsweise, dessen einzelne Elemente sich drehen lassen, sodass sie von verschiedenen Positionen aus zu bestücken sind.

Auch der zwei Jahre später entwickelte Raumteiler „Parawall“ gehorcht dem Prinzip der Wandelbarkeit. Wo er einen Sichtschutz bietet, eine luftige Transparenz zulässt oder durch eine Ablagefläche ergänzt wird, kann individuell entschieden werden.

  • Hanna Emelie Ernsting „Petstools – Ella“ 2013 © Hanna Ernsting
    Hanna Emelie Ernsting „Petstools – Ella“ 2013
  • Hanna Emelie Ernsting „Petstools – Daisy“ 2013 © Hanna Ernsting
    Hanna Emelie Ernsting „Petstools – Daisy“ 2013
  • Hanna Emelie Ernsting „Petstools – Fin“ 2013 © Hanna Ernsting
    Hanna Emelie Ernsting „Petstools – Fin“ 2013
  • Hanna Emelie Ernsting „Slide Aside“ 2007 © Hanna Ernsting
    Hanna Emelie Ernsting „Slide Aside“ 2007
  • Hanna Emelie Ernsting „Parawall“ 2009 © Hanna Ernsting
    Hanna Emelie Ernsting „Parawall“ 2009
  • Hanna Emelie Ernsting „Moody Couch“ 2011 © Hanna Ernsting
    Hanna Emelie Ernsting „Moody Couch“ 2011

 

Sitzmöbel für jede Laune

Mit ihrem Diplomprojekt „Moody Couch“ 2011 erlangte Ernsting schließlich öffentliche Aufmerksamkeit, den 2. Platz des D3 Contest für junge Talente des Deutschen Rates für Formgebung und jede Menge Kontakte für den Schritt in die Selbstständigkeit. Fest verbunden mit dem Korpus des Sofas, passt sich der überdimensionierte Stoffbezug jeder Laune seines Benutzers an. Er lässt sich als Decke verwenden, zu einer Lehne rollen, zu einem Polster formen, dient als Sitzunterlage und lässt sich je nach Wunsch akkurat oder nachlässig drapieren. Die textile Hülle des etwas kleineren „Moody Nest“, scheint geschaffen dafür, seinen Nutzer gleichsam zu absorbieren und Geborgenheit zu vermitteln, mit der „Moody Bag“ hingegen lassen sich einfache Kunststoffsessel oder andere Stühle zu neuen Sitzgelegenheiten aufmöbeln. Die „Petstools“, die Ernsting in ihrem Studio produziert, kann man als Weiterführung dieser Philosophie sehen.

Eine Plattform als Brücke

Ernstings Ausbildungsstätte, die HfG in Karlsruhe, bietet eine spezielle Plattform für angehende Designer: Kkaarrlls, was klingt wie ein zaghaftes Stottern, ist der durchaus selbstbewusste Auftritt von Studenten und Absolventen des Fachbereiches für Produktdesign, initiiert, ausgewählt und betreut durch Prof. Volker Albus und Stefan Legner. 2009 ist man erstmals mit einer Editionskollektion auf der Mailänder Möbelmesse in Erscheinung getreten, seither wird das Angebot um rund 15 Arbeiten pro Saison erweitert.

Yvonne Fehling / Jennie Peiz, Stuhlhockerbank 2009 edition of 5 Yvonne Fehling / Jennie Peiz, Stuhlhockerbank 2009 edition of 5 | Foto: Philip Radowitz Zur Programmatik der Lehre an der Karlsruher Ausbildung gehöre, so erklärt Stefan Legner, der als künstlerischer Assistent des Fachbereiches Kkaarrlls koordiniert, kein gefestigtes Berufsbild des Designers zu vermitteln.

Sehr früh bereits geht es in der Einzelbetreuung darum, herauszufinden, wo die speziellen Eigenarten und Qualitäten des Studierenden liegen und persönliche Arbeitsweisen zu fördern. Entsprechend vielfältig gibt sich die Palette des Hausrates von Morgen. Wenngleich die einzelnen Objekte in relativ kleinen Auflagen verkäuflich sind, verfolgt die Hochschule mit Kkaarrlls kein kommerzielles Interesse. Vielmehr geht es darum, den jungen Designer bei der Umsetzung ihrer Entwürfe mit Rat und Tat zu Seite zu stehen, ihnen für das Ergebnis eine qualitativ hochwertige Präsentationsplattform zu bieten und im Zeitraum zwischen Studium und Berufsleben Brücken zu schlagen, zur Öffentlichkeit, zu Herstellern und den Medien. Das Konzept scheint zu funktionieren, denn Kkaarrlls-Design stößt auf nationales wie internationales Interesse. So wurde die schwarze Hockerbank des Duos Fehling & Peiz im Flagshipstore eines italienischen Modelabels auf der New Yorker 5th Avenue gesichtet, die Stuhlhockerbank, das ungepolsterte Pendant mit Lehnen, möbliert das Arp Museum in Rolandseck.

Design für die Renaturalisierung von Wäldern

Philipp Scholz „Lehner“, 2008 Produktion: ECHTWALD Philipp Scholz „Lehner“, 2008 Produktion: ECHTWALD | Foto: Philip Radowitz Seit letztem Jahr sind bislang fünf Objekte der Kkaarrlls-Kollektion, unter ihnen die Mehrfachsteckdose „Lehner“ von Philipp Scholz oder der in einer anschaulichen Performance von einem Roboter gefertigten Hocker „7x stool“ von Tom Pawlofsky und Tibor Weissmahr im Angebot der Stiftung Echtwald.

Echtwald, gegründet von Nanette Hagstotz und dem Unternehmer und Kunstsammler Thomas Grässlin, setzt sich für die Renaturalisierung von Wirtschaftswäldern ein, unterstützt lokale Produktion und heimische Produkte von erlesener Qualität. Naheliegend die Kooperation mit Kkaarrlls, das gleichsam am Fuße des Schwarzwaldes ansässig ist.