German couture Is there such a thing as German fashion – and if so, where is it heading?

German fashion is synonymous with Jil Sander – this is what the international fashion world long believed about German couture.

Augustin/Teboul, Showinstallation Autumn/Winter 2014/2015 Augustin/Teboul, Showinstallation Autumn/Winter 2014/2015 | © Augustin/Teboul The other big name in German design, Hamburg native Karl Lagerfeld, is so closely associated to Chanel that his Hanseatic background is merely just that: a background. Wolfgang Joop, from Potsdam, is a designer with many talents but not an artist who sets the fashion trend of a season on runways worldwide, unlike his peers in Paris and Milan – or like the Jil Sander label also managed to do in its heyday.

German purism – a thing of the past

No other style embodied German fashion more forcefully than the purism of Jil Sander. Yet many designers are now leaving just that purism behind. They are becoming more playful, like the highly praised Berlin label Achtland, and are allowing other cultures to influence their work whether they are immigrants themselves or have studied abroad – or both, like the German-French designer duo AUGUSTIN/TEBOUL who have worked in London and Paris and are also celebrated in the fashion world.

Fashion bloggers Kathrin Bierling and Barbara Markert from Modepilot see an important change taking place and attribute it precisely to immigration and internationalization. “German fashion has become more varied. Germany is an immigration destination and so foreign cultures are continuously flowing in. Let’s just take, for example, designers like the German-Croatian Damir Doma or the German-Polish Dawid Tomaszweski who are enriching German fashion today.”

Immigration and internationalization: a new chance

Michalsky Collection Summer 2014 Michalsky Collection Summer 2014 | © Michael Michalsky These very factors may well give German designers or designers working in Germany the chance to establish themselves internationally again. Berlin, which has succeeded in gaining ground over other cities and not just in terms of nightlife, is now playing an important role in young fashion design again – and can do this especially well with its culture of immigration from East and West.

Achtland, Collection Spring/Summer 2014 Achtland, Collection Spring/Summer 2014 | © Achtland Berlin’s growing significance is also recognized by leading authorities like Antonella Giannone, professor of fashion theory at the Academy of Art Berlin Weissensee, who chose the city as her new research site. She sees a new kind of urban fashion developing in the streets of the German capital. “Lately, the relationship between city and fashion is being defined anew here: Berlin has become a young, unconventional and experimental fashion hub that attracts creative people from all over the world.” Michael Michalsky, a designer well established in Berlin, puts it like this: “We are continuing a long and successful tradition. There was a time when German designers went abroad in search of success and recognition. That’s no longer the case, thank God. Berlin is back on the agenda of the international fashion capitals.”

That is certainly true – on the one hand, when you look at the successful fashion shows of the last few years and the media attention bestowed on them. On the other, big German labels like Hugo Boss and Escada have been absent from Berlin catwalks since 2013 and –perhaps a matter of greater concern for the capital’s young scene – the key players of the Berlin fashion hype like “Achtland” are currently leaving town and relocating to better-paying places like London.

The first of the new labels are already leaving

  • AUGUSTIN TEBOUL, Showinstallation Autmn/Winter 2014/2015 © Augustin/Teboul
    AUGUSTIN TEBOUL, Showinstallation Autmn/Winter 2014/2015
  • Dawid Tomaszewski, Collection Autumn/Winter 2014/15 © Dawid Tomaszewski
    Dawid Tomaszewski, Collection Autumn/Winter 2014/15
  • MICHALSKY Collection Summer 2014 © Michael Michalsky
    MICHALSKY Collection Summer 2014
  • ACHTLAND, Collection Spring/Summer 2014 © Achtland
    ACHTLAND, Collection Spring/Summer 2014
  • Vladimir Karaleev, Collection Autumn/Winter 2014/15 Photo: Stefan Kraul
    Vladimir Karaleev, Collection Autumn/Winter 2014/15
  • KAVIAR GAUCHE, Collection Summer 2014 © Kaviar Gauche
    KAVIAR GAUCHE, Collection Summer 2014
The exciting new German fashion faces a strange problem in affluent Germany: it doesn’t sell very well. When German clients spend money on haute couture or pricey garments, they prefer luxury fashion from Italy. Or they still buy Jil Sander whose dogma of quality continues to retain its appeal with German customers and retailers, and who has found in Düsseldorf designer Dorothee Schumacher a successor in terms of a more urban, affordable fashion style.

Apart from that, retailers are hesitant about new designers and thus deprive labels that are launched with great enthusiasm, like Augustin/Teboul, from securing the financial basis they need for their elaborate collections. The result in the case of Augustin/Teboul is that the two designers are now in Paris, testing the waters.

“The German retail trade and the fashion labels are warming up to each other only very slowly,” fashion journalist Jennifer Wiebking points out. Labels like Vladimir Karaleev or Achtland have more customers abroad than in Germany.

Kaviar Gauche, Collection Summer 2014 Kaviar Gauche, Collection Summer 2014 | © Kaviar Gauche Berlin and German fashion are again in vogue internationally and are, like the Berlin label Kaviar Gauche, perceived to have their own distinctive style, according to fashion photographer Kira Bunse: “Of course there is a German fashion – but only a few German labels have managed to rank among the international fashion elite. The question is how many new German fashion labels and which among them will be able to establish themselves in the international fashion world in the future?”

For German fashion and its great variety of young labels, in part absolutely capable of competing internationally, there still seems to be a long away ahead to make it to the top of the fashion business.

Deutsche Kreationen Gibt es deutsche Mode – und wenn ja, wie viele?

Deutsche Mode ist Jil Sander – dieser Eindruck herrschte lange in der internationalen Modewelt vor, wenn es um deutsche Kreationen ging.

Augustin/Teboul, Showinstallation Herbst/Winter 2014/2015 Augustin/Teboul, Showinstallation Herbst/Winter 2014/2015 | © Augustin/Teboul Der andere große deutsche Designer, der Hamburger Karl Lagerfeld, ist so sehr mit Chanel verbunden, dass sein hanseatischer Hintergrund wirklich nur ein Hintergrund ist, und der Potsdamer Wolfgang Joop ist ein Designer mit vielen Talenten, aber kein Künstler, der international die stilistische Richtung für eine ganze Saison vorgeben könnte, wie die Kollegen in Paris und Mailand – und wie es dem Label Jil Sander in guten Zeiten gelungen ist.

Deutscher Purismus – das war gestern

Der Purismus von Jil Sander stand wohl so stark wie kaum eine andere Richtung für das Deutsche in der Mode. Zurzeit lösen sich viele Designer genau davon, werden spielerischer, wie das Berliner Label Achtland, und lassen sich mehr von anderen Kulturen beeinflussen – entweder weil sie selbst aus dem Ausland kommen oder weil sie im Ausland studiert haben – oder beides, wie das in der Modewelt gefeierte deutsch-französische Duo Augustin/Teboul mit Arbeitserfahrung in London und Paris.

Auch Modebloggerinnen wie Kathrin Bierling und Barbara Markert von Modepilot sehen gerade im Bereich Zuwanderung und Internationalisierung eine wichtige Veränderung: „Die deutsche Mode ist vielfältiger geworden. Deutschland ist ein Immigrationsland, und so fließen immer mehr ausländische Kulturen mit ein. Nehmen wir nur Designer, wie den Deutsch-Kroaten Damir Doma oder den Deutsch-Polen Dawid Tomaszweski, die heute die deutsche Mode bereichern.“

Chance durch Zuwanderung und Internationalität

Michalsky Kollektion Sommer 2014 Michalsky Kollektion Sommer 2014 | © Michael Michalsky Genau das dürfte auch die Chance für deutsche oder in Deutschland arbeitende Designer sein, um sich wieder im internationalen Vergleich zu behaupten. Berlin, das es nicht nur im Nachtleben geschafft hat, sich gegen andere Städte zu behaupten, spielt auch in der jungen Mode mit und kann da natürlich besonders mit seiner Einwanderungskultur punkten.

Achtland, Kollektion Frühling/Sommer 2014 Achtland, Kollektion Frühling/Sommer 2014 | © Achtland Dafür spricht auch, dass sich Expertinnen, wie die neue Professorin für Modetheorie an der Kunsthochschule Berlin-Weißensee, Antonella Giannone, für Berlin als Forschungsort entschieden haben. Sie sieht, wie sich auf den Straßen der Hauptstadt gerade eine neue, urbane Art der Mode entwickelt: „In letzter Zeit wird gerade hier die Beziehung zwischen Stadt und Mode neu definiert, etwa durch die Entwicklung Berlins zu einer jungen, unkonventionellen und experimentellen Modestadt, die Kreative aus der ganzen Welt anzieht.“ Und Michael Michalsky, ein Designer, der in Berlin sehr präsent ist, sagt es so: „Wir knüpfen gerade an eine lange, erfolgreiche Tradition an. Es gab eine Zeit, da gingen deutsche Modedesigner ins Ausland, um Erfolg und Anerkennung zu finden. Das ist zum Glück vorbei. Berlin ist zurück auf der Karte der internationalen Modezentren.“

Das stimmt einerseits, wenn man auf die erfolgreichen und in der Presse sehr präsenten Fashion-Shows der vergangenen Jahre blickt. Andererseits haben große deutsche Labels wie Hugo Boss und Escada seit 2013 nichts mehr in Berlin gezeigt, und – vielleicht noch beunruhigender für die junge Hauptstadtszene – die Protagonisten des Berlin-Modehypes wie Achtland verlassen im Moment die Stadt in Richtung zahlungskräftigere Orte wie London.

Die ersten der neuen Labels gehen schon wieder

  • AUGUSTIN TEBOUL, Showinstallation Herbst/Winter 2014/2015 © Augustin/Teboul
    AUGUSTIN TEBOUL, Showinstallation Herbst/Winter 2014/2015
  • Dawid Tomaszewski, Kollektion Herbst/Winter 2014/15 © Dawid Tomaszewski
    Dawid Tomaszewski, Kollektion Herbst/Winter 2014/15
  • MICHALSKY Kollektion Sommer 2014 © Michael Michalsky
    MICHALSKY Kollektion Sommer 2014
  • ACHTLAND, Kollektion Frühling/Sommer 2014 © Achtland
    ACHTLAND, Kollektion Frühling/Sommer 2014
  • Vladimir Karaleev, Kollektion Herbst/Winter 2014/15 Foto: Stefan Kraul
    Vladimir Karaleev, Kollektion Herbst/Winter 2014/15
  • KAVIAR GAUCHE, Kollektion Sommer 2014 © Kaviar Gauche
    KAVIAR GAUCHE, Kollektion Sommer 2014
Die neue deutsche Mode hat im wohlhabenden Deutschland ein seltsames Problem: Sie verkauft sich nicht so gut. Wenn deutsche Kunden Geld für Haute Couture oder Mode im oberen Preissegment ausgeben, dann für italienischen Luxus. Oder auch für Jil Sander, deren Qualitätsdogma deutsche Kunden und Einzelhändler noch immer überzeugt und die in der Düsseldorfer Designerin Dorothee Schumacher eine Mitstreiterin in Sachen urbaner, verkäuflicher Mode hat.

Ansonsten zögert der Handel bei den neuen Designern, und entzieht so auch enthusiastisch gestarteten Labels wie Augustin/Teboul die finanzielle Basis für ihre aufwendigen Kollektionen – mit dem Ergebnis, dass die beiden Designerinnen jetzt in Paris vorfühlen, wie sie dort aufgenommen werden.

„Nur sehr langsam spielen sich der deutsche Einzelhandel und die Modemarken aufeinander ein”, merkt die Modejournalistin Jennifer Wiebking an, und Labels wie Vladimir Karaleev oder eben Achtland haben mehr Kunden im Ausland als in Deutschland.

Kaviar Gauche, Kollektion Sommer 2014 Kaviar Gauche, Kollektion Sommer 2014 | © Kaviar Gauche Berlin und die deutsche Mode gelten zwar international wieder als en vogue, und ihr Stil, wie der des Berliner Labels Kaviar Gauche, wird auch als eigenständig wahrgenommen, wie die Modefotografin Kira Bunse bestätigt: „Es gibt natürlich deutsche Mode, aber nur wenige deutsche Labels haben es in die internationale Mode-Elite geschafft. Die Frage ist: Wie viele und welche neuen deutschen Modelabels werden sich in Zukunft in der internationalen Modewelt etablieren?“

Für die deutsche Mode und ihre unterschiedlichen, teilweise durchaus international wettbewerbsfähigen jungen Labels scheint es noch ein langer Weg bis ganz nach oben ins Modebusiness zu sein.