Werner Aisslinger Between Retro-Futurism and State-of-the-Art Recycling Concepts

Werner Aisslinger
Werner Aisslinger | © Mirjam Fruscella & Daniele Manduzio

From futuristic residential cubes to kitchens as greenhouses and chairs that grow: Werner Aisslinger is a pioneer in form and material.The Berliner is considered one of the most innovative German designers with a high international profile.

A white cube stands on a green meadow in western Berlin, right on the shores of a lake. Its rounded-off corners and airplane-like stairs suggest a flying saucer – a building about six metres long standing on high stilts. A closer approach reveals the object behind large window panes shaded by horizontal wooden slats, as a mobile living unit for urban nomads.

“Loftcube”, 2013 “Loftcube”, 2013 | © Mirjam Fruscella & Daniele Manduzio Werner Aisslinger first realised this housing vision in 2003. The futuristic Loftcube could first be viewed on the roof of a former cool-storage egg warehouse in the eastern part of the city as a prototype during the first Berlin Design Festival. Ten years later it could be examined once again - though this time it hadn’t landed on the roof of a factory building, but in the garden of the exhibition centre, Haus am Waldsee.

House of the future

“ADD”, Flöttotto, 2013 “ADD”, Flöttotto, 2013 | © In this Berlin exhibition centre, Werner Aisslinger’s first retrospective show offers insights into the German designer’s projects and visions. And as the title “Home of the Future” suggests, they revolve around the future and the question of how it can be shaped in meaningful and responsible ways. Not without reason is Aisslinger, born in 1964 in Nördlingen (Bavaria), among Germany’s most visionary designers and has won numerous international awards.

“Kitchen Farming”, Home of the Future, Haus am Waldsee, 2013 “Kitchen Farming”, Home of the Future, Haus am Waldsee, 2013 | © Mirjam Fruscella & Daniele Manduzio In the old villa, Werner Aisslinger interpreted the individual functional areas of a residential house. Thus, tomorrow’s kitchen is a greenhouse-like biotope where we will not only cook, but farm as well. The centrepiece is an aquarium: the fish living in it produce fertiliser for the adjoining vegetable beds. Next to them, edible mushrooms are growing on old coffee grounds. And in the bathroom, plants and innovative materials also play an important part: here, Werner Aisslinger makes use of a high-tech steam-absorbing textile inspired by a desert-dwelling, “fog-drinker” beetle.

New and unusual

Werner Aisslinger has often demonstrated the courage to embrace the new and unusual. In this, he is one of those designers who are intervening in technological advances in new materials and introducing them into the world of product design. He often works on his own initiative, does a lot of experimentation and develops the majority of his ideas in this way. In cooperation with the chemical corporation BASF, he created the Hemp Chair, now produced by the Italian furniture manufacturer Moroso.

“Hemp Chair”, Moroso, 2012 “Hemp Chair”, Moroso, 2012 | © Alessandro Paderni The chair is produced in a single work step from a composite made of hemp and kenaf (a plant belonging to the hibiscus family), and offers an alternative to plastic. The chair is given a particularly high level of resilience through the addition of a water-based resin binder. Unlike conventional resins, no toxic substances are produced while the chair is setting, only water. This long-fibre technology is already finding many applications in the auto industry, but is still revolutionary in furniture manufacturing.

“Chair Farm”, 2012 “Chair Farm”, 2012 | © A further project of his that has attracted considerable attention is the “Chair Farm,” for which Aisslinger selected a material that indeed exists in nature: plants. They grow directly into the chair’s framework, and the finished chair need only be harvested. According to the designer, plants such as bamboo, which grow up to 30cm a day and quickly lignify, are especially well-suited for cultivating furniture on a plantation basis.

“Urban Jungle”

Nature is also the central theme of a big project in Berlin: the interior design of the Bikini House, a landmark building from the ‘Fifties next to the Berlin Zoo.

“Michelberger Hotel“, 2009 “Michelberger Hotel“, 2009 | © It is not his first hotel project in the German capital. Werner Aisslinger previously designed the Michelberger Hotel – famous for its eclecticism – in Berlin-Friedrichshain. “A collage,” as he puts it, “and not some squeaky-clean, overly-designed world.” The Bikini-Haus hotel’s moniker is Urban Jungle.

“Bikini Island”, Moroso, 2013 “Bikini Island”, Moroso, 2013 | © Nonetheless, this has nothing in common with a catchy Disneyland style with stuffed tiger heads and zebra hides. He aimed instead to develop a narrative that functions in subtler ways and transports guests to an unfamiliar, perhaps even slightly raddled place – and this through plants, once again. Vegetated concrete structures, lifts inspired by trees, and even a restaurant located in a kind of greenhouse create a jungle-like atmosphere in the city. The hotel is being watered and fertilised – and above all, lived in – since february 2014.

Werner Aisslinger Zwischen Retrofuturismus und hochmodernen Recyclingkonzepten

Werner Aisslinger
Werner Aisslinger | © Mirjam Fruscella & Daniele Manduzio

Von futuristischen Wohnwürfeln über Küchen als Gewächshäuser bis zu wachsenden Stühlen: Werner Aisslinger ist ein Pionier in Form und Material. Der Berliner gilt als einer der erfindungsreichsten deutschen Designer mit internationalem Renommee.

Auf einer grünen Wiese im Westen von Berlin, direkt an einem See, steht ein weißer Kubus. Mit seinen abgerundeten Ecken und seinen Zugängen, die an eine Flugzeugtreppe erinnern, sieht er aus wie eine fliegende Untertasse – ein Bau von etwa sechs Metern Länge, der auf hohen Stelzen steht. Beim Näherkommen offenbart sich das Objekt hinter großen Fensterscheiben, beschattet von horizontalen Holzlamellen, als mobile Wohneinheit für Stadtnomaden.

„Loftcube“, 2013 „Loftcube“, 2013 | © Mirjam Fruscella & Daniele Manduzio Diese Wohnvision setzte Werner Aisslinger erstmals 2003 in die Realität um. Während des ersten Berliner Designfestivals konnte der futuristische Loftcube auf dem Dach eines ehemaligen Eierkühlhauses im Osten der Stadt als Prototyp besichtigt werden. Zehn Jahre später konnte man ihn wieder während des Designfestivals begutachten – diesmal war er nicht auf dem Flachdach eines Fabrikgebäudes gelandet, sondern im Garten des Ausstellungshauses am Waldsee.

Haus der Zukunft

„ADD“, Flöttotto, 2013 „ADD“, Flöttotto, 2013 | © Das Haus am Waldsee bot mit Werner Aisslingers erster Werkschau einen Einblick in die Projekte und Visionen des deutschen Designers. Und wie der Titel Home of the Future schon erahnen ließ, drehen sie sich um die Zukunft und um die Frage, wie diese sinnvoll und verantwortungsbewusst gestaltet werden kann. Nicht ohne Grund zählt der 1964 im bayerischen Nördlingen geborene Aisslinger zu den visionärsten Gestaltern Deutschlands und hat zahlreiche internationale Preise gewonnen.

„Kitchen Farming“, Home of the Future, Haus am Waldsee, 2013 „Kitchen Farming“, Home of the Future, Haus am Waldsee, 2013 | © Mirjam Fruscella & Daniele Manduzio In der alten Villa interpretierte Werner Aisslinger die einzelnen Funktionsbereiche eines Wohnhauses. So ist die Küche von morgen ein gewächshausartiges Biotop, in dem nicht nur gekocht, sondern auch angebaut wird. Das Herzstück bildet ein Aquarium: Die darin lebenden Fische spenden Dünger für die angeschlossenen Gemüsebeete. Daneben wachsen essbare Pilze auf altem Kaffeesatz. Auch im Bad spielen Pflanzen und innovative Materialien eine wichtige Rolle: Hier nutzte Werner Aisslinger ein von Nebelkäfern aus der Wüste inspiriertes Hightech-Textil, das Dampf absorbieren kann.

Neues und Ungewöhnliches

Werner Aisslinger hat schon oft Mut zu Neuem und Ungewöhnlichem bewiesen. Dabei gehört er zu den Designern, die in die Technologisierung von neuen Werkstoffen eingreifen und sie in die Welt des Produktdesigns einführen. Er arbeitet oft in Eigeninitiative, experimentiert viel und entwickelt so einen Großteil seiner Ideen. In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Chemiekonzern BASF schuf er den heute von dem italienischen Möbelhersteller Moroso produzierten Hemp Chair.
„Hemp Chair“, Moroso, 2012 „Hemp Chair“, Moroso, 2012 | © Alessandro Paderni Der Stuhl wird in einem Arbeitsgang aus einem Verbundwerkstoff aus Hanf und Malvengewächs hergestellt und bietet eine Alternative zum Kunststoff.Durch die Zugabe eines wasserbasierten Acrylharzes wird er besonders belastbar. Beim Aushärten entstehen, anders als bei herkömmlichen Harzen, keine giftigen Substanzen, sondern lediglich Wasser. Die auf Langfasern basierende Technologie wird schon vielseitig in der Autoindustrie angewendet, in der Möbelbranche ist sie jedoch noch nicht angekommen.

„Chair Farm“, 2012 „Chair Farm“, 2012 | © Ein weiteres Projekt, das viel Aufmerksamkeit erregte, ist die Chair Farm, für die Aisslinger ein natürlich vorhandenes Material wählte: die Pflanze. Diese wächst direkt in ein Stuhlgerüst hinein, das fertige Sitzmöbel muss nur noch geerntet werden. Gewächse wie Bambus, der täglich bis zu 30 Zentimeter wächst und schnell verholzt, würden sich nach Aussage des Designers besonders gut eignen, um als Möbel auf Plantagen gezüchtet zu werden.

Urbaner Urwald

Natur war auch das Leitthema eines Großprojektes in Berlin: die Innengestaltung eines neuen Hotels im Bikini-Haus, einem denkmalgeschützten Gebäude aus den 1950er-Jahren am Zoologischen Garten.

„Michelberger Hotel“, 2009 „Michelberger Hotel“, 2009 | © Es ist nicht sein erstes Hotelprojekt in der deutschen Hauptstadt. Werner Aisslinger hat bereits in Berlin-Friedrichshain das Michelberger Hotel entworfen, „eine Collage“, wie er sagt, „und keine saubere, designte Welt“. Das Motto des Hotels im Bikini-Haus lautet „Urban Jungle“.

„Bikini Island“, Moroso, 2013 „Bikini Island“, Moroso, 2013 | © Dieser Dschungel habe jedoch keinesfalls etwas mit einem plakativen Disneyland-Stil und ausgestopften Tigerköpfen und Zebrafellen zu tun. Aisslinger ging es vielmehr darum, eine Geschichte zu entwickeln, die subtiler funktioniert und den Gast in einen unbekannten, vielleicht sogar etwas verlebten Ort versetzt – durch Pflanzen. Bewachsene Betonstrukturen, von Bäumen inspirierte Fahrstühle und ein Restaurant in einer Art Gewächshaus sollen eine Urwaldatmosphäre in die Stadt transportieren. Seit Februar 2014 darf das Hotel gedüngt, gegossen und vor allem bewohnt werden.