Tina Roeder Discreet Grandeur

Credenza Nude Facade, 2010
Credenza Nude Facade, 2010 | © Studio Tina Roeder

Designer Tina Roeder strips objects of daily use down to their skeleton to reveal their inner soul. In an appropriation process she then individually recreates the objects by transforming her findings into materials and form.

The metal gate squeaks as it drops into the lock. Rattling noises can be heard from one of the rear brick buildings of the former hostel for the homeless. The old dormitory now houses a metal workshop that specialises in prototype production. And also in the production of unique pieces. One of these is now ready for shipment, an approximately two and a half metre long cabinet or credenza, as its creator, Tina Roeder, calls it.

Structures and perspectives

Tina Roeder Tina Roeder | © Markus Jans At a first glance the furniture piece front resembles an ink sketching on a drawing board. A closer look, however, quickly reveals the filigree precision craftsmanship with which openings have been cut out of the aluminium surface. Solid areas are again formed by individual struts where they overlap to produce a kaleidoscope-like crystalline symmetry.

“Structures and architecture fascinate me and the way in which we perceive these forms,” Tina Roeder comments. “When we walk through the streets, for instance, we never see the buildings at a 90° angle, there is always a new perspective with every step we take. This is what I refer to in my credenza series Building Structures: architectural structures and fundamentally also social structures.“

Credenza Custom Cabinet, 2014 Credenza Custom Cabinet, 2014 | © Studio Tina Roeder Having trained at Saint Martins College, London and at the Design Academy in Eindhoven, Tina Roeder, who now lives in Berlin, belongs to the young generation of designers who are blurring the line between design and art. From the perspectives of design and architecture history she works on furniture typologies. An excellent example of this approach is her credenza series in which the association to modern architecture and art deco is clearly evident. Her work also shows parallels with the conceptual art of Marcel Duchamps or with Donald Judds’ minimalism.

Archetypal material

Credenza Structures Facades, 2008 Credenza Structures Facades, 2008 | © Studio Tina Roeder For her credenza series Building Structures, that has been consistently further developed since the founding of her studio in 2007, she strips down architectures to form new structures, new perspectives and new textures. To do this, she studied archetypal materials from furniture design and architecture history, and has to date created five complex cabinets, mostly handcrafted from mono-materials such as grey board, glass, steel combined with leather as well as aluminium, with more than 5,000 individual pieces.

Lederregal à La Recherche, 2012 Lederregal à La Recherche, 2012 | © Studio Tina Roeder Alongside this credenza series Tina Roeder has been working on leather shelves that function in the same manner. Tina Roeder has completed two shelf objects called à La Recherche and Blue Leather Shelf. These designs are steel frames that have been meticulously hand-wrapped in leather – in an analogy to natural skin on the human skeleton. Never straying from her principles Tina Roeder renounces a production method that focuses on quantity. This idea is enhanced through the use of high quality materials and through the time spent on assembling the objects in laborious and meticulous precision work.

Conceptual art

Monoblocks White Billion Chairs, 2002/2009 Monoblocks White Billion Chairs, 2002/2009 | © Studio Tina Roeder This working method can be traced back to a key experience in 2002, during her first year of studies at the Design Academy in Eindhoven, and this still has a hold on her today. Her professor, the Dutch designer, Jurgen Bey, gave the students the slippery task of turning something with an ugly appearance into something that looked beautiful. In her neighbour’s front garden Tina Roeder spotted a suitable object: a monobloc, an archetypal, anonymous plastic chair that was the perfect embodiment of mass production.

“To reveal the beauty of the chair’s democratic idea I wanted to breath new life into it, give it a new status and identity“, Tina Roeder explains. She manually roughened the smooth surface of the chair and perforated it with thousands of holes the size of matchsticks, creating visual lightness through the removal of material and making it less overpowering. This gave the chair a coral or porcelain-like surface and the perforations made it delicate and fragile. As is true in nature, everything appears perfect to begin with, yet it is these barely perceivable irregularities that lend the regular form vitality and beauty – quite in contrast to industrial mass production where one moulded piece is identical to the previous one.

Tischserie: Drawer Side Tables, 2008 Tischserie: Drawer Side Tables, 2008 | © Studio Tina Roeder This “dematerialisation” of the object and the incorporation of the observer has had a firm grip on Tina Roeder ever since. As in conceptual art, her designs focus on the idea. “I am not primarily interested in the form, the material, or the technique applied, it is more the idea or the history behind it that takes part in shaping an object”, she adds. “I lay open archetypes or typologies in order to sharpen our perception of things and to question familiar structures and perceptions. And in this way gain a precision of expression.“

Tina Roeder Diskrete Grandezza

Credenza Nude Facade, 2010
Credenza Nude Facade, 2010 | © Studio Tina Roeder

Die Designerin Tina Roeder zergliedert gewöhnliche Dinge bis auf ihr Gerüst und legt somit ihr Wesen frei. In einem subjektiven Aneignungsprozess rekonstruiert sie diese, indem sie die Ergebnisse ihrer Untersuchung in Material und Form überträgt.

Das Metalltor quietscht, als es ins Schloss fällt. Aus einem der hinteren Backsteinbauten des ehemaligen Obdachlosenasyls dringen scheppernde Geräusche. In dem alten Schlafsaal ist eine Metallbauwerkstatt untergebracht, die auf die Produktion von Prototypen spezialisiert ist. Und auf Unikate. Eines steht zum Abtransport bereit: eine knapp zweieinhalb Meter lange Anrichte – oder Credenza, wie die Designerin Tina Roeder sie nennt.

Strukturen und Sichtweisen

Tina Roeder Tina Roeder | © Markus Jans Auf den ersten Blick wirkt die Front des Möbelstücks wie eine Tuschezeichnung auf einem Reißbrett. Doch bei näherer Betrachtung fallen sofort die filigranen Aussparungen auf, die in die Oberfläche aus Aluminium gefräst wurden. Dabei bilden einzelne Streben in stellenweise undurchdringbaren Überlagerungen wieder solide Flächen, die wie in einem Kaleidoskop eine kristalline Symmetrie ergeben.

„Mich faszinieren Strukturen und Architektur und wie wir diese wahrnehmen,“ sagt Tina Roeder. „Wenn wir zum Beispiel durch die Straßen gehen, sehen wir die Gebäude nie im 90-Grad-Winkel, sondern mit jedem Schritt aus immer neuen Perspektiven. Darauf beziehe ich mich in meiner Credenza-Reihe Building Structures: auf architektonische und inhärent auch auf gesellschaftliche Strukturen.“

Credenza Custom Cabinet, 2014 Credenza Custom Cabinet, 2014 | © Studio Tina Roeder Die am Londoner Saint Martins College und an der Design Academy in Eindhoven ausgebildete Wahlberlinerin gehört zu einer jungen Designer-Generation, die sich an der Schnittstelle zur Kunst bewegt. Mit Bezug zur Design- und Architekturgeschichte arbeitet sie an Ensembles von Möbel-Typologien, wie die Credenza-Werkreihe exemplarisch zeigt. Hier sind Referenzen zur architektonischen Moderne und zum Art déco erkennbar. Ebenso zeigen ihre Arbeiten Parallelen zur Konzeptkunst Marcel Duchamps und zum Minimalismus Donald Judds.

Archetypische Materialien

Credenza Structures Facades, 2008 Credenza Structures Facades, 2008 | © Studio Tina Roeder Für ihre Credenza-Reihe Building Structures, die sie seit ihrer Studiogründung 2007 immer weiter entwickelt, hat sie Architekturen entkernt, um daraus neue Strukturen, Perspektiven und Texturen zu bilden. Sie hat sich dabei mit archetypischen Materialien aus der Möbeldesign- und Architekturgeschichte auseinandergesetzt und bisher fünf komplexe Anrichten geschaffen, die vornehmlich aus Monomaterialien wie Graupappe, Glas, Stahl mit Leder sowie Aluminium bestehen und aus über 5.000 Einzelteilen handwerklich gefertigt sind.

Lederregal à La Recherche, 2012 Lederregal à La Recherche, 2012 | © Studio Tina Roeder Parallel zu den Credenzas arbeitet Tina Roeder an der Entwicklung von Lederregalen, die in derselben Weise funktionieren. Bis dato hat sie zwei Regalobjekte mit den Titeln à La Recherche und Blue Leather Shelf geschaffen. Das sind Stahlgerüste, die in penibler Handarbeit mit Leder ummantelt werden – in natürlicher Analogie zum menschlichen Skelett mit Haut. Tina Roeder entsagt einer an Masse orientierten Produktionsweise. Die Designerin veredelt die Stücke mit hochwertigen Materialien und durch den Zeitaufwand, mit dem sie die Objekte in mühevoller, kleinteiliger Manier zusammensetzt.

Konzeptkunst

Monoblocks White Billion Chairs, 2002/2009 Monoblocks White Billion Chairs, 2002/2009 | © Studio Tina Roeder Diese Arbeitsweise geht auf ein Schlüsselerlebnis zurück, das sie 2002 im ersten Studienjahr an der Design Academy in Eindhoven hatte und das sie bis heute prägt. Ihr Professor, der niederländische Designer Jurgen Bey, stellte schelmisch die Aufgabe, etwas scheinbar Hässliches in etwas scheinbar Schönes zu verwandeln. Im Vorgarten ihres Nachbarn fand Tina Roeder ein für sie passendes Objekt: einen Monoblock, ebenjener archetypische, anonyme Plastikstuhl, der als Inbegriff der Massenproduktion gilt.

„Um die Schönheit der demokratischen Idee des Stuhls freizulegen, wollte ich ihm ein neues Leben, eine neue Wertschätzung und Betrachtungsweise geben“, erklärt sie. Sie raute die Oberfläche des glatten Kunststoffstuhls matt auf und perforierte ihn mit Tausenden von streichholzkopfgroßen Löchern, um ihn durch das Wegnehmen von Material leichter und unaufdringlicher erscheinen zu lassen. Das gab ihm eine porzellanartige Oberfläche und durch die Perforationen Feinheit und Zerbrechlichkeit. Wie in der Natur wirkt zunächst alles perfekt, und doch sind es die kaum wahrnehmbaren Unregelmäßigkeiten, welche die Gleichmäßigkeit beleben und ihr Schönheit verleihen – ganz im Gegensatz zur industriellen Massenfertigung, in der ein Guss dem vorhergehenden gleicht.

Tischserie: Drawer Side Tables, 2008 Tischserie: Drawer Side Tables, 2008 | © Studio Tina Roeder Die Entmaterialisierung des Gegenstands und die Einbeziehung des Betrachters lässt Tina Roeder seit jeher nicht mehr los. Wie in der Konzeptkunst steht die Idee im Vordergrund ihrer Entwürfe. „Mich interessiert nicht primär die Form, das Material oder die Technik, sondern die Idee oder Geschichte, die dahinter steckt und die Gestalt eines Objekts mitbestimmt“, sagt sie. „Ich lege Archetypen oder Typologien frei, um unsere Wahrnehmung der Dinge wieder zu schärfen und unsere gewohnten Strukturen und Sichtweisen im Kontext zu hinterfragen. Und um damit eine Genauigkeit im Ausdruck zu erreichen.“