German documentary films Duisburg Film Festival and DOK Leipzig

The International Festival for Documentary and Animated Films in Leipzig
The International Festival for Documentary and Animated Films in Leipzig | Photo (detail): Bertram Bölkow © DOK Leipzig

The numerous annual festivals dedicated to documentary films in Germany are proof that the genre explores topics in our society that people feel are relevant – and viewers come in droves to enjoy the premieres.

If you want to see how German documentary films are doing these days, head to the Duisburg Film Festival or to DOK Leipzig, the International Festival for Documentary and Animated Films.

Award-winning projects

Every autumn since 1977, the Duisburg Film Festival has been a cultural highlight in the Ruhr Region, presenting works from Germany, Austria and Switzerland. In 2011, the jury awarded Carte Blanche, by Swiss director Heidi Specogna, with first prize for its portrayal of a trial in the International Court of Justice in The Hague. Next came a film from Bernd Schoch, Aber das Wort Hund bellt ja nicht (But the Word Dog doesn’t Bark), which explored a completely different subject, namely, the Berlin free-jazz band “Schlippenbach Trio”. Another prize went to Theo Solnik for Anna Pavlova lebt in Berlin (Anna Pavlova lives in Berlin), a portrait of a young woman making her way in the big capital city, while the unique, two-and-a-half hour Die große Passion(The Big Passion) by Jörg Adolphs, which showed preparations for the Passion Play in Oberammergau, won the People’s Choice award.

The Duisburg event also offers a unique category among German festivals: Doxs, a series of documentaries focused on young people. The prizes in Duisburg are presented by TV stations ARTE and 3sat as well as the City of Duisburg itself. The Goethe-Institut also awards its own documentary film prize, which in 2011 went to a film from the Leipzig event. In previous years, the Prize was presented during the Duisburg Film Festival.

Documentary films are booking record viewing numbers

The DOK Leipzig international festival is run by Claas Danielson and is the oldest of its kind in the world. After Amsterdam it is also the second largest in Europe. 300 documentary and animated films from 47 countries were on show in 2011, from over 3,000 submissions. Public interest is apparently massive, because the festival is posting continuously increasing viewer numbers: in 2011, roughly 38,000 people came to the 54th annual DOK Leipzig – another new record.

The winning films in Leipzig included Work hard, play hard by Carmen Losmann, a look at the mechanisms of the modern working world. The best German film went to Louisa by Katharina Pethke. Mexican director Tatiana Huezo took first prize at the show for her El lugar más pequeno (The Tiniest Place).

The Arab Spring category at the festival was proof that documentary filmmakers react extremely swiftly to political and social change. There were an astonishing six films just about the revolutions in Egypt and Tunisia, but the award went to Fragments of a Revolution, about the failed uprising in Iran. The director remained anonymous for reasons of personal safety – a French production company submitted the film.

New challenges

Despite the popularity of the genre, festival director Claas Danielsen also mentioned some of the problems in the industry. “We are watching with concern as independent production companies go out of business or just give up because they can no longer live from their work, while broadcasting company subsidiaries fortify their market positions,” he said. Talented people are not given enough support and editorial departments often give producers insufficient funding. As a result, Danielsen announced the establishment of the DOK Fund to support “artistic, innovative, cutting-edge, courageous and visionary documentaries and animated film projects” in the future.

As part of the festival, and as a reaction to the increasingly difficult conditions in the sector, a new trade association was established for the German animated film industry: the Arbeitsgemeinschaft Animationsfilm, which aims to garner tangible support among government organizations and broadcasters. “The German TV broadcasting companies have withdrawn from funding and co-production in this genre, despite its popularity among German viewers, and are now increasingly purchasing foreign series,” says a press release from the special interest group. Given these concerns in the documentary film industry, it is no surprise that filmmakers have for years been experimenting with new funding models. The so-called “crowdfunding” concept collects donations from the Internet. Based on the US-based Kickstarter site, artists in Germany can now shop their projects around on numerous web sites in an effort to attract help from interested parties. Carl Fechner, for example, was able to raise over EUR 1 million for his critical environmental documentary Die 4. Revolution, yet another indication of the astonishing popularity of the documentary film.

Deutscher Dokumentarfilm Resümee der Duisburger Filmwoche und DOK Leipzig

Das Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
Foto (Ausschnitt): Bertram Bölkow © DOK Leipzig

Die Dokumentarfilmszene spürt die Themen der Gesellschaft auf, das beweisen die jährlichen Festivals der Branche – und die Zuschauer strömen in Scharen zu den Vorführungen.

Will man einen Eindruck davon gewinnen wie es um den deutschen Dokumentarfilm steht, dann kommt man um die Duisburger Filmwochen und das Internationale Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm (kurz DOK Leipzig) nicht herum.

Prämierte Dokumentationen

Die Duisburger Filmwochen finden seit 1977 jeden Herbst in Duisburg im Ruhrgebiet statt. Sie präsentieren Werke aus Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz. 2011 zeichnete die Jury das Werk Carte Blanche der Schweizerin Heidi Specogna aus, das ein Verfahren am Internationalen Strafgerichtshof in Den Haag filmisch begleitet. Ein ganz anderes Thema behandelte Bernd Schoch mit seinem ebenfalls ausgezeichneten Werk Aber das Wort Hund bellt ja nicht – er beschäftigte sich mit dem Free Jazz der deutschen Band Schlippenbach Trio. Ein weiterer Preis ging an Theo Solnik für Anna Pavlova lebt in Berlin, das Porträt einer jungen Frau, die sich in der Hauptstadtmetropole durchschlägt. Für Aufsehen sorgte auch Die große Passionvon Jörg Adolphs: Die zweieinhalbstündige Dokumentation begleitet die Vorbereitungen für die Oberammergauer Passionsspiele und erhielt den Publikumspreis.

Bundesweit einzigartig ist am Duisburger Festival der Programmpunkt Doxs, eine eigene Reihe nur mit Dokumentarfilmen für junge Menschen. Die Preise in Duisburg werden von den Fernsehsendern Arte und 3sat sowie der Stadt Duisburg dotiert. Zudem vergibt das Goethe-Institut einen eigenen Dokumentarfilmpreis – dieses Jahr wurde die Auszeichnung beim Filmfestival in Leipzig verliehen, zuvor wurde der Preis im Rahmen der Duisburger Filmwoche verliehen.

Der Dokumentarfilm feiert Zuschauerrekorde

Das internationale Festival DOK Leipzig unter der Leitung von Claas Danielsen ist das älteste Dokumentarfilmfestival der Welt und, nach Amsterdam, das zweitgrößte in Europa. 300 Dokumentar- und Animationsfilme aus 47 Ländern waren 2011 zu sehen – ausgewählt aus ursprünglich mehr als 3.000 Einreichungen. Das Interesse beim Publikum ist offenbar groß, denn das Festival verzeichnet kontinuierlich steigende Zuschauerzahlen: Etwa 38.000 Besucher kamen zur 54. Ausgabe des DOK Leipzig – ein neuer Rekord.

Für preiswürdig hielt man in Leipzig dieses Mal Work hard, play hard von Carmen Losmann, eine Untersuchung der Mechanismen der modernen Arbeitswelt. Als bester deutscher Film galt Louisa von Katharina Pethke. Den Hauptpreis des Festivals bekam die mexikanische Regisseurin Tatiana Huezo für El lugar más pequeno (The Tiniest Place).

Der Programmschwerpunkt Arabischer Frühling bewies, dass Dokumentarfilmer extrem schnell auf politische und gesellschaftliche Veränderungen reagieren: Allein sechs Filme über die Revolutionen in Ägypten und Tunesien waren vertreten, einen Preis erhielt dabei Fragments of a Revolution über die gescheiterte Revolution im Iran – der Filmemacher beziehungsweise die Filmemacherin blieb aus Sicherheitsgründen anonym. Eine französische Produktionsfirma reichte den Film ein.

Neue Herausforderungen

Festivalleiter Claas Danielsen wies in seiner Eröffnungsrede allerdings auch auf die Probleme der Branche hin. „Wir sehen mit Unruhe, dass unabhängige Produktionsfirmen insolvent gehen oder aufgeben, weil sie von ihrer Arbeit nicht mehr leben können, während sendereigene Tochterfirmen ihre Marktposition ausbauen“, sagte er. Talente würden nicht ausreichend gefördert und die Redaktionen würden den Produzenten oft zu wenig finanzielle Unterstützung anbieten. Deshalb gab Danielsen die Gründung des „DOK Fonds“ bekannt, mit dem in Zukunft „künstlerische, innovative, riskante, mutige und visionäre Dokumentar- und Animationsfilmprojekte“ unterstützt werden sollen.

Im Zuge des Festivals gründete sich, als Reaktion auf die schwieriger werdenden Produktionsbedingungen, auch ein neuer Berufsverband für die deutsche Animationsfilmbranche: Die Arbeitsgemeinschaft Animationsfilm will konkrete Forderungen an die Politik und die Sender stellen. „Die deutschen Fernsehsender haben sich aus der Finanzierung und Koproduktion des beim Publikum beliebten Genres weitgehend zurückgezogen und kaufen ausländische Serien an“, heißt es in einer Mitteilung der Interessenvertretung.

Angesichts dieser Sorgen der Dokumentarfilmbranche verwundert es nicht, dass Filmemacher schon seit einiger Zeit mit neuen Finanzierungsmodellen experimentieren: Das sogenannte Crowdfunding bezeichnet das Sammeln von Spenden im Internet. Auf verschiedenen Websites können Künstler nun auch in Deutschland nach dem Vorbild der US-Website Kickstarter ihr Projekt bewerben und Interessierte um Hilfe bitten. So sammelte der Filmemacher Carl Fechner für seine kritische Öko-Dokumentation Die 4. Revolution mehr als eine Million Euro – auch dieser Erfolg lässt sich als Indiz werten, wie stark das Interesse am Dokumentarfilm ist.