Film Museums in Germany Old Masters in Cool Rooms

Filmmuseum Berlin

To keep memories of films alive, film museums in Germany pursue a broad range of activities – giving visitors the chance to experience the history of film for themselves, teaching media skills, bringing about encounters and cultural exchange, and archiving and restoring film material.

“In seventy years there will be a film museum where people will sometimes go and sit in the cool screening room […] to watch an old master estimated […] to be worth a hundred thousand marks; they will fidget on their seats for an hour and then stagger out onto the street with rolling eyes like drunken ducks, and then they will […] whisper into each other’s thick ears: ‘What a feat, a genuine Chaplin!’“

More than just film archives

These lines were written in 1929 by Rudolf Arnheim. A film critic who was just 25 years old at the time, Arheim recognized the museum potential of film as an art form when it was still just a few decades old. It was to take several more decades, however, before a museum of film opened in Germany.

Preserving and collecting film material and props is an important job, but an institution only really becomes a film museum when it makes its treasures come alive – after all, a museum is more than just an archive. In Germany, five institutions achieve this: the Deutsches Filmmuseum in Frankfurt am Main, the Filmmuseum Potsdam, the Filmmuseum Düsseldorf, the Deutsche Kinemathek in Berlin and the Filmmuseum Munich. With the exception of the museum in Munich, all stage a permanent exhibition and alternating special exhibitions in addition to presenting regular film screenings.

Collecting, showing, restoring, publishing

The Filmmuseum Munich was established in 1963 as a department of the Munich Stadtmuseum (i.e. city museum). Director Rudolph Joseph chose to concentrate on the films made by emigrants such as G. W. Pabst and Wilhelm Dieterle. Since 1999, Stefan Drößler has been at the helm of the Filmmuseum Munich. A silent film expert, Drößler’s focus is on film presentation and restoration. The former is evident in the daily changing programme of film screened in the museum’s in-house cinema, the latter in the museum’s involvement in the publication of a series of DVDs entitled Edition filmmuseum.

The Deutsche Kinemathek in Berlin was founded in 1963 to accommodate the collection of film director Gerhard Lamprecht, who was also the museum’s first director. In the year 2000, the Deutsche Kinemathek moved into the Filmhaus at Potsdamer Platz where it opened the Filmmuseum Berlin, which since 2006 has also included an exhibition on the history of television. One of the main tasks of the Deutsche Kinemathek is to contribute to the academic analysis and study of German film history through its own publications, seminars and exhibitions. The Deutsche Kinemathek shows its holdings at the Filminstitut Arsenal, whose screening rooms are located in the basement of the Filmhaus at Potsdamer Platz.

The Filmmuseum Potsdam is the first port of call for anyone interested in the films produced at Babelsberg Studios. The museum in Potsdam was established in 1981 as the film museum of the GDR. Nonetheless, its permanent exhibition is not devoted solely to the DEFA, the East German state film production company, but also to Ufa, the longstanding film company founded in 1917. Because the state of Brandenburg had financial problems, the Filmmuseum was incorporated into the Babelsberg University of Film and Television in 2011. In future, both institutions are to work more closely together. One initial result of this cooperation is a new permanent exhibition entitled The Dream Factory – 100 Years of Film in Babelsberg.

The Filmmuseum in Düsseldorf is likewise funded by one of Germany’s federal states, this time North Rhine-Westphalia. Established in 1993, the museum’s earliest beginnings date back to 1956 when the city began collecting historic films about the history of Düsseldorf. Even today, the focus remains firmly on artists who are from or linked to the region. The museum’s in-house Black Box cinema boasts one of just four surviving Welte organs, which is used when silent films are screened. What is more, the Düsseldorf museum is involved in the awarding of the Helmut Käutner Prize, which is endowed with 10,000 euros. This honour is bestowed on persons who through their work have strongly supported and influenced the development of German film culture.

From 2009 to 2011, the Deutsches Filmmuseum in Frankfurt am Main needed to undergo a process of modification and modernization, but has now been fully restored to its former glory. Its main attraction is the newly designed permanent exhibition which gives an impression of the emergence and tradition of film perception. In line with Hilmar Hoffmann’s philosophy of “culture for everyone”, its director Claudia Dillmann has made it her goal “to function to a greater extent as a museum cinema”, combining for example expert lectures with the cinematic programme. Back in 2006, the Filmmuseum had merged with the Deutsches Filminstitut, which has one of Germany’s largest film archives in Wiesbaden. Wiesbaden is likewise home to the Friedrich Wilhelm Murnau Foundation, which preserves and provides access to a major part of German film heritage.

The film museum as a place of cultural exchange

Film museums pursue activities which are important in a media-dominated world and will become even more important in future. Archiving and presenting films alone is not enough to make film history come alive. A film museum can offer genuine added value if it remains a place of cultural exchange and education. This involves offering lectures and discussions, educational programmes, guided tours and publications which allow the public to engage with film as a form of art and cultural memory.

Filmmuseen in Deutschland Alte Meister im kühlen Saal

Ständige Ausstellung, „Spiegelsaal“, Filmmuseum Berlin

Filmgeschichte erfahrbar machen, Medienkompetenz vermitteln, Filmmaterial archivieren und restaurieren: Filmmuseen nehmen vielfältige Aufgaben wahr, um das Gedächtnis des Films wachzuhalten.

„In siebzig Jahren wird es ein Filmmuseum geben, und die Filmleute werden manchmal hineingehen und sich im kühlen Vorführungsraum […] einen alten Meister zeigen lassen, der […] auf hunderttausend Mark geschätzt ist; da werden sie eine Stunde auf ihren Sitzen zappeln und dann mit verdrehten Augen auf die Straße torkeln wie betrunkene Enten, und dann werden sie […] einander ins wulstige Ohr flüstern: ,Kunststück, ein echter Chaplin!‘“

Mehr als nur Filmarchive

Diese Zeilen schrieb Rudolf Arnheim im Jahr 1929. Der damals 25-jährige Filmkritiker erkannte das museale Potenzial der Kunstform Film, als diese erst wenige Jahrzehnte alt war. Bis in Deutschland ein Museum für Film öffnete, sollten allerdings noch mehrere Dekaden vergehen.

Das Aufbewahren und Sammeln von Filmmaterial und Requisiten ist eine wichtige Aufgabe, doch zu einem Filmmuseum wird eine Institution erst dann, wenn sie ihre Schätze lebendig macht – ein Museum ist schließlich mehr als ein Archiv. In Deutschland erfüllen fünf Institutionen diesen Anspruch: das Deutsche Filmmuseum in Frankfurt am Main, das Filmmuseum Potsdam, das Filmmuseum Düsseldorf, die Deutsche Kinemathek in Berlin und das Filmmuseum München. Mit Ausnahme des Hauses in München zeigen alle Einrichtungen neben regelmäßigen Filmvorführungen auch eine Dauerausstellung und wechselnde Sonderausstellungen.

Sammeln, Zeigen, Restaurieren, Publizieren

Das Münchner Filmmuseum entstand 1963 als Abteilung des Münchner Stadtmuseums. Direktor Rudolph Joseph konzentrierte sich dabei auf das filmische Schaffen von Emigranten wie G. W. Pabst und Wilhelm Dieterle. Seit 1999 leitet Stefan Drößler die Geschicke des Münchner Filmmuseums. Der Fokus des Stummfilmexperten liegt auf der Filmpräsentation und auf der Restaurierung von Werken. Ersteres drückt sich in einem täglich wechselnden Filmprogramm im hauseigenen Kino aus, Letzteres unter anderem in der Mitarbeit an der Herausgabe der DVD-Reihe Edition filmmuseum.

Die Deutsche Kinemathek in Berlin geht auf die Sammlung des Regisseurs Gerhard Lamprecht zurück, der auch als erster Direktor der 1963 gegründeten Einrichtung wirkte. Im Jahr 2000 zog die Deutsche Kinemathek ins Filmhaus am Potsdamer Platz und eröffnete dort das Filmmuseum Berlin, das seit 2006 auch eine Ausstellung zur Geschichte des Fernsehens beherbergt. Eines der Hauptanliegen der Deutschen Kinemathek besteht darin, durch eigene Publikationen, Seminare und Ausstellungen einen wissenschaftlichen Beitrag zur Aufbereitung der deutschen Filmgeschichte zu leisten. Ihre Bestände zeigt die Deutsche Kinemathek über das Filminstitut Arsenal, dessen Vorführsäle sich im Untergeschoss des Filmhauses am Potsdamer Platz befinden.

Das Filmmuseum Potsdam ist die erste Anlaufstelle für diejenigen, die sich für die Filmherstellung in den Babelsberger Studios interessieren. Die Einrichtung in Potsdam entstand 1981 als Filmmuseum der DDR. Die ständige Ausstellung widmet sich allerdings nicht nur der DEFA, dem staatlichen Filmunternehmen der DDR, sondern auch der Ufa, dem traditionsreichen, 1917 gegründeten Filmkonzern. Finanzielle Probleme des Landes Brandenburg führten 2011 dazu, das Filmmuseum in die Babelsberger Hochschule für Film und Fernsehen einzugliedern. Beide Institutionen sollen künftig verstärkt zusammenarbeiten. Ein erstes Ergebnis der Kooperation ist die neue Dauerausstellung Die Traumfabrik – 100 Jahre Film in Babelsberg.

Ebenfalls von einem Bundesland – in diesem Fall Nordrhein-Westfalen – wird das Filmmuseum in Düsseldorf getragen. Die Anfänge des 1993 gegründeten Hauses gehen bis in das Jahr 1956 zurück, als die Stadt eine Sammlung mit historischen Filmen zur Düsseldorfer Geschichte einrichtete. Auch heute noch liegt der Schwerpunkt auf Künstlern aus oder mit Bezug zur Region. Im hauseigenen Kino Black Box steht eine von nur noch vier erhaltenen Welte-Orgeln, die bei Stummfilmvorführungen zum Einsatz kommt. Außerdem ist das Düsseldorfer Museum an der Verleihung des mit 10.000 Euro dotierten Helmut-Käutner-Preises beteiligt. Diese Auszeichnung wird an Personen verliehen, die durch ihr Schaffen die Entwicklung der deutschen Filmkultur nachdrücklich unterstützt und beeinflusst haben.

Das Deutsche Filmmuseum in Frankfurt am Main musste sich von 2009 bis 2011 einem Umbau unterziehen, erstrahlt seitdem jedoch wieder in neuem Glanz. Hauptattraktion ist die neu gestaltete Dauerausstellung, die einen Eindruck von der Entstehung und Tradition filmischer Wahrnehmung vermittelt. Gemäß Hilmar Hoffmanns Ansatz „Kultur für alle“ hat sich Direktorin Claudia Dillmann zum Ziel gesetzt, „stärker als Museumskino zu fungieren“ und beispielsweise Expertenvorträge mit dem Kinoprogramm zu verbinden. Bereits 2006 hatte sich das Filmmuseum mit dem Deutschen Filminstitut zusammengeschlossen, das in Wiesbaden über eines der größten Filmarchive Deutschlands verfügt. In Wiesbaden sitzt auch die Friedrich-Wilhelm-Murnau-Stiftung, die einen großen Teil des deutschen Filmerbes bewahrt und zugänglich macht.

Das Filmmuseum als sozialer Ort

Filmmuseen nehmen Aufgaben wahr, die in einer medial geprägten Welt wichtig sind und künftig noch wichtiger werden. Archivieren und Präsentieren von Filmen alleine macht Filmgeschichte noch nicht erfahrbar. Einen Mehrwert bietet ein Filmmuseum dann, wenn es ein Ort des kulturellen Austausches und der Bildung bleibt. Dazu gehören Vorträge und Diskussionen, pädagogische Programme, Führungen und Publikationen, die eine öffentliche Auseinandersetzung mit dem Film als Kunstform und kulturellem Gedächtnis ermöglichen.