Location scouts in Germany Looking for the Needle in the Haystack

Location scout Rüdiger Jordan from Cologne at work
Location scout Rüdiger Jordan from Cologne at work | Photo (detail): © Rüdiger Jordan

In the old days the task of looking for photogenic locations for films was yet another job that set designers and production managers had to do. Nowadays, however, it is done by specialists, especially when unusual locations are required.

Where would all those timeless film classics be without their impressive locations? Where, for example, would Doctor Zhivago be without its Siberian snowfields, where would Lawrence of Arabia be without the Sahara Desert or even Wim Wender’s Wings of Desire without its poetic, urban images? Some locations are unique and fortunately there is no substitute for them, like a stand-in or a stuntman for an actor; others on the other can be substituted. This was the case for location scout, Rüdiger Jordan, from Cologne, when he found out that Danish director, Lars von Trier, was planning to shoot his film Antichrist in North Rhine-Westphalia, although it was actually set in the USA. “I was asked to find landscapes within a radius of 50 kilometres of Cologne that look like the Rocky Mountains.” Deep in the Westphalian forest the 44-year-old location scout also managed to find exactly the right log cabin, in which some of the film’s most important scenes were shot - perfect for the writer-director’s psychodrama. “It wasn’t easy, but in the end I managed it.”

When looking for suitable locations Jordan can fall back on his own treasure trove of images. “My database contains about 151,000 photos of thousands of locations,” reports Jordan. “Whenever I enter a room, I always take two to four photos. Sometimes, if it is a large building, it can mount up to a good 200 photos.” With this selection of photos as back-up, he does not have to start from scratch when he gets a job enquiry. He is especially pleased when people give him tips about places that might be suitable as a film location or when he is approached by easygoing house owners. “Sometimes looking for the proverbial needle in the haystack turns out well after all.”

Sociability and a lot of imagination

Jordan has been working full-time as a location scout since 2006. However, when he worked as a recording and production manager he also had to look for suitable locations. Slowly, but surely he started to realise that location scouting was more his thing. “It is now my main source of income.” Many of his colleagues in the business also went down similarly winding roads until they actually found the job – a job for which there is no official training. Jordan estimates that in Germany there are about 100 full-time location scouts who earn their living with the job. About 45 of them are members of the Federal Association of Location scouts, which was only recently set up in Berlin in 2010.

So what does a person need to be a successful location scout? A knowledge of architectural history, experience in the shooting of films, sociability and negotiating skills, as Jordan says. “At the same time you should be a good photographer and also have a lot of imagination so that you can visualise what the scenes are going to look like in advance.”

George Clooney in the hills of the Upper Harz

Whenever Jordan and his colleagues cannot find the right location, they use the motif databases of the regional film promotion organisations. For example, since 2001 the Film Commission of the North Rhine-Westphalian Film and Media Foundation has been helping people to find locations in the state of North Rhine-Westphalia. “Our database comprises 4,500 locations with 14,500 images and is thus the largest of its kind in Germany,” says the head of the Film Commission, Lena Kraan. “The database is unique in Europe and enables the Film Commission, 39 film studios/filmmaking locations and 14 location scouts to work together in close cooperation, whereby the scouts and the studios are always adding new material and motifs.”

According to Ms. Kraan the popularity of the portal is growing. “The seven most sought after topics that were registered by last year’s 170,000 searches were: Cologne, street, room, gate, city, design and pub.” Hollywood stars also like to avail themselves of the services of the scouts when they come to make a film in Germany. George Clooney, for example, when he was making his historical film The Monuments Men, used some picturesque mines and mineshafts in the hills of the Upper Harz region that had been recommended to him by Benno Pastewka from Leipzig.

Bollywood on the Bergstrasse

The Film Commission of the state of Hesse has, in contrast, acquired a liking, for something totally different. In 2006 Bollywood producers shot the film Humraah (The Traitor) on the romantic Bergstrasse (Mountain Road) – a region in the state of Hesse; in 2007 Indian superstar, Himesh Reshammiya, also made a movie there – Aap Kaa Surroor – The Movie. Ever since then quite a few other Indian directors have started savouring the delights of the region’s quaint half-timbered buildings and hills full of blossoming fruit trees. In order to deal with the Bollywood demand for romantic idyllic locations a special agency was set up in Heppenheim – the Indo-German Film Agency. It is a service point for international and German productions and has apparently been working quite successfully – in 2013 VK Singh shot the melodrama Spark in Heppenheim, Hirschhorn and Lorsch.

In the meantime shooting films has become an important business factor for many towns and regions. In order to whet the appetites of both German and foreign filmmakers, every year the Film Commission of the Stuttgart region organises a theme-related location tour of interesting places to shoot films. These tours are not just an established instrument for the marketing of regional motifs, emphasises Ulla Matzen from the Stuttgart Commission. “Films transport images of the region way beyond its borders. This is why location placement is becoming more and more important as a marketing strategy for the region’s tourism.”

Locationscouts in Deutschland Die Nadel im Heuhaufen suchen

Der Kölner Drehortsucher Rüdiger Jordan bei der Arbeit
Der Kölner Drehortsucher Rüdiger Jordan bei der Arbeit | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Rüdiger Jordan

Früher war es in der deutschen Filmbranche üblich, dass Szenenbildner und Herstellungsleiter nebenbei nach fotogenen Schauplätzen suchten. Heute übernehmen das Spezialisten, vor allem, wenn ausgefallene Drehorte benötigt werden.

Was wären viele Filmklassiker ohne imposante Schauplätze? Was wäre Dr. Schiwago ohne sibirische Schneefelder, was wäre Lawrence von Arabien ohne die Wüste Sahara oder aber Wim Wenders‘ Himmel über Berlin ohne seine poetischen Großstadtbilder? Einzigartige Drehorte lassen sich zum Glück nicht doubeln, andere dagegen schon. Das hat auch der Kölner Drehortsucher Rüdiger Jordan gelernt, als der dänische Regisseur Lars von Trier in Nordrhein-Westfalen seinen Film Antichrist drehen wollte, der in den USA spielt. „Da bekam ich die Anfrage: Finde bitte im Umkreis von 50 Kilometern um Köln diverse Landschaften, die wie die Rocky Mountains aussehen!“ Für das Psychodrama des Autorenfilmers machte der 44-Jährige auch die gewünschte Holzhütte im tiefsten westfälischen Wald ausfindig, in der sich zentrale Szenen des Films abspielen: „Das war nicht einfach, aber am Ende habe ich es geschafft.“

Bei seinen Motivsuchen greift Jordan in der Regel auf den eigenen Bilderschatz zurück. „Rund 151.000 Fotos von tausenden Schauplätzen umfasst meine Datenbank“, berichtet Jordan. „Ich mache von jedem Raum, den ich betrete, zwei bis vier Fotos. Bei größeren Gebäuden kommen so leicht 200 Fotos zusammen.“ Mit dieser Foto-Auswahl im Rücken muss er bei vielen Anfragen nicht bei Null anfangen. Besonders freut er sich, wenn er Tipps zu filmtauglichen Objekten bekommt oder aufgeschlossene Hauseigentümer auf ihn zukommen. „Manchmal fand die Suche nach der Nadel im Heuhaufen so doch ein gutes Ende.“

Kontaktfreudigkeit und viel Fantasie

Als hauptberuflicher Locationscout ist Jordan seit 2006 tätig. Passende Schauplätze hat er allerdings auch schon gesucht, als er noch als Aufnahme- und Produktionsleiter gearbeitet hat. Nach und nach stellte er fest, dass das Locationscouting ihm mehr Spaß machte. „Jetzt ist das mein erstes Standbein.“ Auf ähnlich verschlungenen Wegen kamen auch viele Kollegen zu dem Beruf, für den es keine geregelte Ausbildung gibt. Jordan schätzt, dass es in ganz Deutschland etwa 100 hauptberufliche Locationscouts gibt, die mit diesem Job ihren Lebensunterhalt bestreiten. Etwa 45 davon gehören dem Bundesverband Locationscouts an, der im September 2010 in Berlin gegründet wurde.

Und was braucht man, um als Drehortsucher erfolgreich zu sein? Kenntnisse in Architekturgeschichte, Erfahrungen bei Dreharbeiten, Kontaktfreudigkeit und Verhandlungsgeschick nennt Jordan. „Zudem sollte man fotografieren können und so viel Fantasie haben, dass man Drehbuchszenen für die Umsetzung prävisualisieren kann.“

George Clooney im Oberharz

Wenn Jordan und Kollegen im eigenen Archiv kein passendes Objekt finden, nutzen sie auch die Motiv-Datenbanken der regionalen Filmfördereinrichtungen. So bündelt und vermittelt die Film Commission der Film- und Medienstiftung Nordrhein-Westfalen seit 2001 Drehorte im Bundesland. „Unsere Datenbank umfasst über 4.500 Locations mit 14.500 Bildern und ist damit die größte ihrer Art in Deutschland“, erläutert die Leiterin der Film Commission Lena Kraan. „Bei der europaweit einzigartigen Datenbank arbeiten Film Commission, 39 Filmstädte und 14 Locationscouts eng zusammen, wobei Scouts und Städte selbst immer neue Motive einpflegen.“

Das Portal erfreut sich laut Kraan wachsener Beliebtheit. Die sieben meistgesuchten Begriffe bei den 170.000 Recherchen des Vorjahres waren „Köln, Straße, Raum, Tor, Stadt, Bauart, Pub.“ Auch wenn Hollywood-Stars mal zum Drehen nach Deutschland kommen, nutzen sie gerne die Dienste der Scouts. So ließ sich George Clooney vom Leipziger Benno Pastewka pittoreske Bergwerke und Schächte im Oberharz für den Historienfilm Monuments Men – Ungewöhnliche Helden empfehlen.

Bollywood in der Bergstraße

Auf ganz andere Vorlieben hat sich die Film Commission Hessen spezialisiert. Seit Bollywood-Produzenten 2006 an der hessischen Bergstraße den Film Humraah – Der Verräter drehten und 2007 der indische Superstar Himesh Reshammiya dort Aap Kaa Surroor – The Movie realisierte, fanden etliche andere indische Regisseure ebenfalls Gefallen an urigem Fachwerk und blühenden Obstbaumhängen. Um die Bollywood-Nachfrage nach romantischen Idyllen zu befriedigen, wurde in Heppenheim eigens die Indo-German Film Agency gegründet. Die Servicestelle für internationale und deutsche Produktionen arbeitet offenkundig erfolgreich: 2013 drehte VK Singh in Heppenheim, Hirschhorn und Lorsch das Melodram Spark.

Dreharbeiten sind inzwischen für viele Städte und Regionen ein wichtiger Wirtschaftsfaktor. Um in- und ausländischen Filmschaffenden mögliche Filmkulissen schmackhaft zu machen, veranstaltet die Film Commission der Region Stuttgart jedes Jahr eine themengebundene Location-Tour zu herausragenden Drehorten. Solche Touren seien nicht nur ein etabliertes Instrument zur Vermarktung regionaler Motive, betont Ulla Matzen von der Stuttgarter Commission. „Filme tragen Bilder der Region weit über ihre Grenzen hinaus.“ Damit würde auch das Location Placement, also das Bewerben von Orten durch Filme, zunehmend zu einer wichtigen touristischen Vermarktungsmöglichkeit.