Neighbourhood Cinemas and Alternative Film Projects The Local View

Neighbourhood Cinemas

The transition into the digital age has presented the operators of non-mainstream cinemas with quite a few challenges. Whereas many small, neighbourhood cinemas have invested in the future, the digital options for showing films are opening up new vistas for alternative projects. Not all of them are legal.

“Cinema brings the global sphere into the local sphere,” that is how Felix Bruder, managing director at the Arbeitsgemeinschaft Kino (German Art House Cinema Guild) sees the situation. “Even in the age of the Internet the cinema is still the place where people get together to watch a film and then exchange their ideas on it.“ These days it is above all the non-mainstream cinemas of the big cities that provide this opportunity. Those art house cinemas that can look back over a long tradition and pride themselves in having a personal reputation – the reputation of being the “cinema round the corner” with its very own catchment area and regular audience.

In the not too distant past people repeatedly claimed that these non-mainstream cinemas would soon die a death. The reason being that competition from multiplexes and online products was too strong. “No way, however, can we speak of these cinemas dying out,” assures Bruder. In 2012 783 of the 4617 cinemas in Germany were classified by their operators as studio, non-mainstream or art house cinemas – a mere four less than the year before.

A digital future is expensive

“The future of many of these cinemas will depend on whether they are in a position to invest in digital technology,” says Bruder. Most films these days are not available in 35mm copy format. It is the small-time distributors in particular who are afraid of the high copying costs and so they have changed to Blue-Ray disc. Bruder went on to explain that the term digitalisation does not mean that the cinemas all now use a data projector to show their films. The main issue here is in fact the DCI-Standard (Digital Cinema Initiatives) that is predetermined by the American studios. The standard requires certain coding techniques to be used – and it is expensive.

Re-equipping a cinema to show films in 2-D costs around 70,000 euros, 3-D technology is even more expensive at 100,000 euros. Nevertheless the majority of German non-mainstream cinemas have taken this leap into the digital age with great ease – thanks to a digitalisation promotion scheme by the FFA (German Federal Film Board) and also with help at both federal and regional levels. “And for those people who want to release a non-Hollywood film nationwide, they can even do it without having to conform to the DCI standard,” says Bruder. “Some cinemas are focusing their program more and more on German and European films that come from small-time distributors.”

The neighbourhood cinema is alive and kicking

“A good non-mainstream cinema is also a neighbourhood cinema,” claims Matthias Elwardt, the operator of the Abaton Cinema in Hamburg. “Because it feels committed to the area in which it is located and is integrated in the cultural life of that area.” An example of this is the fact that the Abaton Cinema cooperates with the local Jewish community, kindergartens, schools, museums and theatres. “The films the people of the area want to see also change,” says Elwardt. “You have to get used to this, if you want to keep your cinema alive.” As they are so flexible, neighbourhood cinemas have a major advantage over the multiplexes. “One reason in particular being that they are not located in expensive areas of town, where so many of the big picture palaces are to be found.”

For over five years now Elwardt has been in charge of the “Berlinale goes Kiez”, a series run under the auspices of the Berlinale – the International Film Festival in Berlin. Certain, selected festival entries from the official program are shown in seven art house cinemas in different areas of the city. “The idea originally came about on the occasion of the festival’s 60th anniversary – the idea was to thank those cinemas which show films from the Berlinale program all year round,” says Elwardt. The way it was received by audiences, the press and filmmakers was so enormous that “Berlinale goes Kiez” became an institution in itself.

Films for the neighbourhood

To bring more life into the neighbourhood – that was also one of the aims of Oliver Daffy. He is a project manager at the Freiwilligenagentur Halle (voluntary services agency in the town of Halle), in charge of the “district-based civic involvement” section. In collaboration with a group of volunteers he launched the “Neighbourhood Cinema” project. Since 2012 it has been drawing senior citizens into one of the halls at the Paul Riebeck Foundation to watch old DEFA films like Jakob der Lügner (Jakob the Liar) and Karbid und Sauerampfer (Carbide and Sorrel). The digital projection technology (even if it is not DCI standard) makes it possible to show films without any great effort. A manageable fee of 60 euros per showing was agreed upon with the distributors. The project has been well received, as a rule around 50 people come to watch the films, says Daffy. The “Neighbourhood Cinema” project , however, does not need to compensate for any lack of cinematic art in Halle. “It mainly appeals to those people whose mobility is so restricted that they don’t feel they should risk a trip to the cinema.”

Cinema on the borderline

The possibility of showing films outside cinemas has led to quite a different kind of mobile film projection in cities like Leipzig and Berlin – they call it guerrilla cinema. Groups of conspirative film fans get together to watch films in the ruins of factories, in derelict buildings or under motorway bridges. Guerrilla cinema is of course mostly illegal. Illegal not only because in cases of doubt it constitutes breach of the peace and trespassing, but also because, as a rule, no fees are paid to the owners of the film properties when the films are shown at these public performances. “Cinema is a complex economic system that involves a lot of players who live off the revenues,” explains Felix Bruder with a hint of misgiving. “On the other hand,” says our cinema guild man, “in general we should willingly welcome anything that promotes film and any discussion on film.”

Kiez-Kinos und alternative Filmprojekte Die lokale Sicht

Kiez-Kino

Der Übergang ins digitale Zeitalter stellt die Betreiber von Programmkinos vor Herausforderungen. Während viele nachbarschaftlich verwurzelte Kinos in die Zukunft investieren, öffnen die digitalen Abspielmöglichkeiten auch Raum für alternative Projekte. Nicht alle sind legal.

„Das Kino holt das Globale ins Lokale“, sagt Felix Bruder, Geschäftsführer der Arbeitsgemeinschaft Kino. „Auch im Internetzeitalter bleibt es der Ort, an dem man sich trifft, um gemeinsam Filme zu schauen und sich darüber auszutauschen.“ Für diese Möglichkeit der Begegnung stehen heute vor allem die Programmkinos der Metropolen. Jene Filmkunsthäuser mit gewachsener Tradition und persönlichem Profil, die als „Kino um die Ecke“ ihr festes Einzugsgebiet und Stammpublikum haben.
Gerade den Programmkinos ist in der Vergangenheit wiederholt das baldige Aus prognostiziert worden. Zu stark sei die Konkurrenz durch Multiplexe und Online-Angebote, so die Befürchtung. „Von einem Sterben kann aber keine Rede sein“, versichert Bruder. 783 der insgesamt 4.617 Kinosäle in Deutschland wurden 2012 von ihren Betreibern als Studio-, Programm- oder Filmkunstkino klassifiziert – lediglich vier weniger als im Vorjahr.

Teure digitale Zukunft

„Die Zukunft mancher Kinos wird davon abhängen, ob sie in der Lage sind, in digitale Technik zu investieren“, so Bruder. Als 35mm-Kopie sind die meisten Filme schon heute nicht mehr verfügbar. Gerade kleine Verleiher scheuen die hohen Kopier-Kosten und werten ihre Filme auf Blue-Ray-Disc aus. Unter Digitalisierung verstehe man jedoch nicht, dass die Kinos über einen Beamer als Abspielmöglichkeit verfügten, erklärt Bruder. Hier gehe es vielmehr um den von US-amerikanischen Studios vorgegebenen DCI-Standard („Digital Cinema Initiatives“). Der verlangt bestimmte Verschlüsselungstechniken – und ist teuer in der Anschaffung.

Die Umrüstung eines Saals auf digitale 2-D-Technik kostet rund 70.000 Euro, 3-D-Technik schlägt mit 100.000 Euro zu Buche. Das Gros der deutschen Programmkinos aber habe den Sprung ins digitale Zeitalter bereits geschafft – auch dank einer Digitalisierungsförderung der FFA, des Bundes und der Länder. „Und wer keine Hollywoodfilme zum Bundesstart spielen möchte, kommt auch ohne den Standard aus“, sagt Bruder. „Einige Kinos werden ihr Programm verstärkt auf deutsche oder europäische Filme von kleineren Verleihern konzentrieren.“

Das Kiez-Kino lebt

„Ein gutes Programmkino ist immer auch ein Kiez-Kino“. Davon ist Matthias Elwardt überzeugt, der Betreiber des Abaton-Kinos in Hamburg. „Weil es seinem Umfeld verpflichtet und in das lokale kulturelle Leben eingebunden ist“. So kooperiere beispielsweise das Abaton mit der benachbarten jüdischen Gemeinde, mit Kindergärten, Schulen, Museen und Theatern im Viertel. „Die Programmwünsche der Anwohnerschaft verändern sich auch“, so Elwardt. „Darauf muss man sich einstellen, um sein Kino lebendig zu halten.“ Mit ihrer Flexibilität seien die Kiezkinos gegenüber den Multiplexen im Vorteil. „Zudem sind sie meist nicht in so teuren Lagen angesiedelt wie die großen Filmpaläste.“

Bereits im fünften Jahr betreut Elwardt für die Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin die Reihe Berlinale goes Kiez. Ausgewählte Beiträge des offiziellen Programms werden dabei in sieben Filmkunsthäusern in verschiedenen Vierteln der Stadt gezeigt. „Die Reihe entstand ursprünglich aus dem Impuls, sich anlässlich des 60. Jubiläumsjahrgangs der Filmfestspiele bei jenen Kinos zu bedanken, die das gesamte Jahr über Berlinale-Programm zeigen“, erzählt Elwardt. Der Zuspruch von Publikum, Presse und Filmemachern sei so enorm gewesen, dass Berlinale goes Kiez institutionalisiert wurde.

Filme für die Nachbarschaft

Leben in die Nachbarschaft bringen – das war auch das Ziel von Oliver Daffy, als Projektleiter der Freiwilligenagentur Halle zuständig für den Bereich „stadtteilorientierte Engagementförderung“. Zusammen mit ehrenamtlichen Mitarbeitern hat er das Projekt „Nachbarschaftskino“ aus der Taufe gehoben. Es richtet sich seit 2012 an Senioren, für die alte DEFA-Filme wie Jakob der Lügner oder Karbid und Sauerampfer gezeigt werden. Die digitale Projektionstechnik – obgleich nicht nach DCI-Standard – macht es ohne großen Aufwand möglich. Mit den Verleihern hat man sich auf eine überschaubare Gebühr von 60 Euro pro Vorführung geeinigt. Das Projekt findet Zuspruch, in der Regel kämen an die 50 Besucher, erzählt Daffy. Wobei das „Nachbarschaftskino“ keinen Mangel an Filmkunst in Halle ausgleichen müsse. „Sondern es richtet sich an jene Menschen, die in ihrer Mobilität so eingeschränkt sind, dass sie sich den Weg zum Kino nicht zutrauen.“

Zuschauen im Grenzbereich

Die Möglichkeit, Filme auch außerhalb der Kinosäle zu zeigen, hat in Städten wie Leipzig oder Berlin noch eine ganz andere Form der mobilen Vorführung aufkommen lassen: das sogenannte Guerilla-Kino. Verschworene Cineasten-Zirkel verabreden sich zu Filmabenden in Fabrikruinen, leerstehenden Wohnhäusern oder unter Autobahn-Brücken. Das Guerilla-Kino ist freilich zumeist illegal. Nicht nur, weil es im Zweifelsfall den Tatbestand des Hausfriedensbruchs erfüllt. Sondern auch, weil für diese öffentlichen Vorführungen in der Regel kein Geld an die Rechteinhaber abgeführt wird. „Kino ist ein komplexes wirtschaftliches System, bei dem verschiedenen Player zusammenwirken, die von den Einnahmen leben“, gibt Felix Bruder zu bedenken. „Auf der anderen Seite“, so Bruder, „ist generell alles zu begrüßen, was den Film und die Diskussion über Film befördert“.