Israeli Cinema Made in Berlin

“Anderswo” by Ester Amrami
“Anderswo” by Ester Amrami | Photo (detail): © Film Kino Text

More and more filmmakers from Israel are coming to Berlin to develop their ideas and shoot their films. Serving also as a springboard for Israeli-German co-productions, the city has become an important location for contemporary Israeli cinema.

When Dror Zahavi, now a successful Berlin director, came to the socialist part of Germany to study film, the Berlin Wall was still standing and there was no sign of this ever ceasing to be the case. His friends in Israel had felt extremely sorry for him when they said their goodbyes – it was the wish of his father, an Israeli communist, that he should go to the German Democratic Republic (GDR). He began his studies at the Potsdam-Babelsberg University of Film in 1982 and graduated in 1987. The GDR seemed to him like a kibbutz on a large scale, where things may generally have been in short supply but there was a strong sense of solidarity.

Escaping the social and political conflicts

In 1991, Dror Zahavi returned to the then reunited Germany from Israel for reasons that were not all that different from those which motivate Israeli filmmakers who come to Germany today. Even though the Israeli film scene has long since blossomed in artistic terms and produces internationally acclaimed talent and major festival successes, the industry there is only small and does not provide nearly enough work for all the young filmmakers onto the market. This is because Israel, a country roughly the size of Wales, boasts a number of excellent film academies which train highly-motivated students. In recent years, the film academies in Berlin and Potsdam have also seen far more Israeli applicants. “First and foremost, however, it is already qualified filmmakers who come to Germany with a concrete project to do research or indeed to search for producers or work in the film business”, explains Dror Zahavi. He goes on to say that many, however, were seeking an escape from the social and political conflicts taking place in their home country. Berlin, however, has not become an almost mythical place just for film-makers from Israel, but the city where the cost of living is still affordable has also become a somewhat idealised rallying point for the creative with a formidable, perceptible history and a vibrant present.

Dror Zahavi has become one of Germany’s most sought-after directors. He has made some big films, especially for television, such as Die Luftbrücke (2005), Mein Leben – Marcel Reich-Ranicki (2009) and München 72 – Das Attentat (2012); weighty films dealing with contemporary history. Although Germany has become his home, Zahavi says that Israel still remains his spiritual home, as it is formany of his compatriots and colleagues who live here. In 2008 he made a moving drama about a Palestinian suicide bomber called Alles für meinen Vater (For My Father), a German-Israeli co-production. Since 2009, Dror Zahavi has observed a migration of film professionals who come from Israel to Germany to take advantage of its diverse production scene, its host of television companies and its strong regional and national film funding. Young people from his old homeland contact him increasingly often because they are looking for work in the German film business, and Zahavi helps them as best he can.

The past is still present

 
“Youth” by Tom Shoval (Trailer)

The Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg, the most important film funding body in Berlin and the surrounding area, is also very much aware of this influx and supports Israeli filmmakers in Berlin, including experimental and internationally known video artists such as Dani Gal and Amir Yatziv. Many Israeli-German co-productions have received support from public-sector funding budgets. One particular programme gives Israeli film artists a scholarship to come and work in Berlin. One of the more recent recipients was the director Tom Shoval. His film Youth (2013), a haunting portrayal of the impact of the crisis on Israeli civil society, was shown to great acclaim at the Berlinale 2013. This was also a co-production with Germany, proving that it is by no means only German-Jewish material that is addressed in such joint productions. Nonetheless, the past is naturally a motif that continues to influence the work of Israeli filmmakers and often has a very personal significance for them.

“Israel’s third generation is rediscovering Germany – the one-time enemy – for themselves. This has to do with the passing away of the generation of victims whose ambivalent attitude towards their lost homeland is prompting their grandchildren today to go and see the country that committed the crimes against their forebears for themselves”, believes Daniel Saltzwedel from Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg. He regards this very much as a poetical movement – “reclaiming their origins” – and sees the filmmakers who are coming to Germany as a great gift.

“Why Germany of all places?”


When young Israeli director Yael Reuveny moved 2006 to Berlin, her parents were far from happy. However, this was the only place that Reuveny could shoot Schnee von gestern (2013, Englisch Title: Farewell, Herr Schwarz). It took her years to make this wonderful documentary film about her family’s history and about the scars that the Holocaust has still left on the grandchildren of the generation of victims and perpetrators. She tracked down some unbelievable family secrets and revealed, emphatically but always with respect, the way all sides had suppressedtheir knowledge of what had happened: an important film made by the third generation that is able to approach this subject in a more impartial and open manner.

To make this very complex film about her great-uncle, who survived the war and remained in the GDR and denied his Jewish identity, Yael Reuveny travelled through Germany talking to many people who had known the man. What came about was a panorama of attitudes and opinions in which the director herself and her experiences also played a part as the questioner and seeker, yet without any form of self-righteousness. The film that was highly praised by the critics and awarded many prizes was also shown in German cinemas.

Searching for a homeland

Like Yael Reuveny, Babelsberg Film University student Ester Amrami from Israel also found a home for herself in Berlin. She built up a large circle of by no means only Israeli friends and even started a German-Jewish family. She came here ten years ago, initially just for a few months. “Berlin was a lot cheaper than, for instance, London. What is more, it still had a taste of freedom and adventure back then”, she remembers. “Of course, Berlin is extremely interesting for Israeli filmmakers. The past is far enough away but still important. Berlin certainly offers fertile soil for exciting and emotional stories”. Her highly successful feature film debut Anderswo (English title: Anywhere Else), which has autobiographical elements, revolves around the feeling of living between different worlds and plays very wittily on the German concept of “Heimat” (i.e. homeland) as well as on the slight tensions that still exist between Germans and Israelis.

Amrami wrote the original and marvellously relaxed screenplay in collaboration with her German husband, Momme Peters. A lot of the things they show in the film about their experiences in each other's country, about misunderstandings, insecurities and embarrassing incidents of all kinds, are all similar to things they actually experienced themselves and things which they can now laugh about. Let us hope that audiences will be able to do the same for the film is to be launched in German cinemas in January 2015. Israeli films are indeed often very much favoured by critics and festival juries, but often have a difficult time at the box-office due to their very special content and the fact that the actors are mostly unknown in Germany.

Filmmakers like Yael Reuveny and Ester Amrami live in Berlin and through their refreshing films create bridges between Germany and Israel, as their works have their roots in both countries. As such, the German film scene is profiting from these young directors without the Israeli film scene having to lose out.

Israelisches Kino
Made in Berlin

„Anderswo“ von Esti Amrami
„Anderswo“ von Esti Amrami | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Film Kino Text

Immer mehr Filmkünstler aus Israel kommen nach Berlin und entwickeln ihre Stoffe in der Stadt und drehen ihre Filme dort. Auch als Ausgangspunkt von israelisch-deutschen Koproduktionen ist die Stadt zu einem wichtigen Ort für das israelische Kino der Gegenwart geworden.

Als Dror Zahavi, heute ein gefragter Berliner Regisseur, in den sozialistischen Teil Deutschlands zum Filmstudium kam, stand die Mauer noch, und das Ende der DDR war nicht abzusehen. In Israel hatten ihn seine Freunde beim Abschied heftig bemitleidet. Er erfüllte den Wunsch seines Vaters, eines israelischen Kommunisten, in die DDR zu gehen. Im Jahr 1982 trat er sein Studium an der Filmhochschule Potsdam-Babelsberg an, das er 1987 abschloss. Wie ein großer Kibbuz sei ihm die DDR erschienen, wo man im allgemeinen Mangel durchaus solidarisch zusammenlebte.

Flucht vor sozialen und politischen Konflikten

Dror Zahavi kehrte 1991 aus Israel ins inzwischen vereinigte Deutschland zurück, aus Gründen, die sich gar nicht so sehr von denen der heutigen israelischen Filmemacher, die nach Deutschland kommen, unterschieden. Auch wenn die israelische Filmlandschaft künstlerisch längst aufgeblüht ist und international bekannte Talente und große Festivalerfolge hervorgebracht hat, ist die Filmindustrie nur klein. Sie bietet längst nicht allen auf den Markt drängenden jungen Filmemachern genug Arbeit. Denn in Israel, einem Land von der Größe des Bundeslandes Hessen, existieren mehrere hervorragende Filmhochschulen, die hochmotivierten Nachwuchs ausbilden. Auch an den Filmhochschulen in Berlin und Potsdam bewerben sich in den letzten Jahren deutlich mehr Israelis. „Vor allem aber sind es bereits ausgebildete Filmemacher, die mit einem konkreten Projekt nach Deutschland kommen, zur Recherche ebenso wie auf der Suche nach Produzenten oder nach Arbeit im Filmgeschäft“, erklärt Dror Zahavi. Aber manche seien wohl auch auf der Flucht vor den sozialen und politischen Konflikten in der Heimat. Berlin ist nicht nur für Filmemacher aus Israel ein fast mythischer Ort geworden, eine Stadt mit noch erschwinglichen Lebenshaltungskosten, ein sicher auch etwas idealisierter Sammelpunkt der Kreativen, mit einer ambivalenten, spürbaren Geschichte und lebendiger Gegenwart.

Dror Zahavi ist heute einer der meist beschäftigten Regisseure Deutschlands. Vor allem für das Fernsehen hat er große Filme inszeniert wie Die Luftbrücke (2005), Mein Leben – Marcel Reich-Ranicki (2009) und München 72 – Das Attentat (2012), gewichtige, zeitgeschichtliche Stoffe. Deutschland sei seine Heimat geworden, doch ideell sei er wie viele seiner hier lebenden Landsleute und Kollegen immer noch in Israel zu Hause, sagt Zahavi. Er hat auch ein berührendes Drama über einen palästinensischen Selbstmordattentäter Alles für meinen Vater (2008) gedreht, eine deutsch-israelische Koproduktion. Eine Wanderbewegung aus Israel nach Deutschland mit seiner differenzierten Produktionslandschaft, den vielen Fernsehanstalten und einer finanzstarken regionalen und länderübergreifenden Filmförderung hat Dror Zahavi seit etwa 2009 beobachtet. Immer öfter wenden sich junge Leute aus seiner alten Heimat an ihn, weil sie im deutschen Filmgeschäft Arbeit suchen, und Zahavi hilft so gut er kann.

Das Vergangene ist nicht vergangen

„Youth“ von Tom Shoval (Trailer)

Auch das Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg, der wichtigste Filmförderer in Berlin und Umgebung, nimmt diese Bewegung aufmerksam wahr und unterstützt israelische Filmemacher in Berlin, darunter experimentelle und international bekannte Videokünstler wie Dani Gal und Amir Yatziv. Viele israelisch-deutsche Koproduktionen erhielten Mittel aus den öffentlichen Fördertöpfen. Ein spezielles Programm holt israelische Filmkünstler mit einem Arbeitsstipendium nach Berlin, beispielsweise den Regisseur Tom Shoval. Sein Film Youth (2013), ein eindringliches Spiegelbild der Krisenauswirkungen auf die israelische Zivilgesellschaft, lief vielbeachtet auf der Berlinale 2013. Auch dieses Werk war eine Koproduktion mit Deutschland. Es sind also keineswegs nur deutsch-jüdische Stoffe, die in solchen Gemeinschaftsproduktionen behandelt werden. Aber naturgemäß ist die Vergangenheit ein nach wie vor prägendes Motiv der Arbeit israelischer Filmemacher, oft mit einem sehr persönlichen Zugang.

„Die dritte Generation Israels entdeckt das einstige Feindesland Deutschland ganz neu für sich. Das hat mit dem Abtreten der Opfergeneration zu tun, deren gespaltenes Verhältnis zur verlorenen Heimat die Enkel heute veranlasst, sich selbst ein Bild vom Land der Täter zu machen“, meint Daniel Saltzwedel vom Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg. Er empfinde das als eine geradezu poetische Bewegung – „sich die eigene Herkunft zurückerobern“ –, und sieht die hier ankommenden Filmemacher als ein großes Geschenk.

„Ausgerechnet Deutschland!“

Die Eltern der jungen israelischen Regisseurin Yael Reuveny waren nicht sehr glücklich, als ihre Tochter 2006 nach Berlin zog. Aber nur hier konnte Reuveny in jahrelanger Arbeit ihren großartigen Dokumentarfilm Schnee von gestern (2013) über ihre Familiengeschichte drehen, über die Spuren, die der Holocaust noch in der Enkelgeneration der Täter und der Opfer hinterlassen hat. Sie kam unglaublichen Familiengeheimnissen auf die Spur und enthüllte nachdrücklich, aber immer mit Respekt, Verdrängung auf allen Seiten. Entstanden ist ein wichtiger Film der Dritten Generation, die sich unbefangener und offener der Vergangenheit nähern kann. Für diese komplexe Dokumentation über ihren Großonkel, der als Überlebender nach dem Krieg in der DDR blieb und seine jüdische Identität verleugnete, ist Reuveny durch Deutschland gereist und hat mit vielen Menschen, die ihren Großankel kannten, gesprochen. Es entstand ein Panorama der Haltungen und Meinungen, in das sich auch die Regisseurin mit ihren Erfahrungen ohne jede Selbstgerechtigkeit einbringt, als Fragende und Suchende. Der von der Kritik hochgelobte und mit vielen Preisen bedachte Film lief auch in den deutschen Kinos.

Auf der Suche nach Heimat

Wie Yael Reuveny ist auch die israelische Studentin der Filmuniversität Babelsberg Ester Amrami in Berlin heimisch geworden, fand hier einen großen, keineswegs nur israelischen Freundeskreis und hat sogar eine deutsch-jüdische Familie gegründet. Sie kam vor zehn Jahren hierher, zunächst nur für ein paar Monate. „Berlin war viel billiger als etwa London. Außerdem hatte es damals noch den Geschmack von Freiheit und Abenteuer“, erinnert sie sich. „Für israelische Filmemacher ist Berlin natürlich sehr interessant. Die Vergangenheit ist weit genug weg, aber immer noch wichtig. Berlin ist schon ein fruchtbarer Boden für spannende und emotionale Geschichten“. Ihr autobiografisch gefärbtes, sehr gelungenes Spielfilmdebüt Anderswo umkreist das Gefühl, zwischen den Welten zu leben, ein sehr witziges Spiel mit dem deutschen Begriff „Heimat“, aber auch mit den nach wie vor bestehenden deutsch-israelischen Spannungsfeldern.

Amrami schrieb das originelle und herrlich unverkrampfte Drehbuch zusammen mit ihrem deutschen Mann Momme Peters. Vieles von dem, was die beiden da sehr komisch von den Erlebnissen im jeweils anderen Land erzählen, von Missverständnissen, Unsicherheiten und Peinlichkeiten aller Art, haben sie so ähnlich durchaus erlebt. Sie können darüber längst lachen. Hoffentlich folgt ihnen das Publikum dabei, denn Anderswo ist ab Januar 2015 in den deutschen Kinos zu sehen. Israelische Filme sind zwar oft Lieblingskinder der Kritiker und Festivaljurys, haben es aber mit ihren sehr besonderen Geschichten, mit sehr guten, aber hierzulande eher unbekannten Schauspielern an den Kinokassen meist schwer.

Filmemacherinnen wie Yael Reuveny und Ester Amrami leben in Berlin und schlagen mit ihren erfrischenden Filmen Brücken zwischen Deutschland und Israel, ihre Arbeiten sind hier wie dort verwurzelt. So sind diese jungen Regisseure und Regisseurinnen ein Gewinn für die deutsche Filmlandschaft, ohne einen Verlust für die israelische zu bedeuten.