Promotion of Film in Germany Hollywood between the Spree and the Elbe

Hollywood blockbusters bring money into the country.
Hollywood blockbusters bring money into the country. | Photo (detail): © Perseomedusa - Fotolia.com

What do Quentin Tarantino, George Clooney and Lars von Trier have in common? They have all made films in Germany – and with good reason, for they too profit from Germany’s promotion of film.

When Quentin Tarantino came to Germany in 2008 and 2009 to shoot his blockbuster Inglourious Basterds starring Brad Pitt and Diane Kruger, it was not only the original Second World War film locations that persuaded him. The production also received funding to the tune of 6.8 million euros from the German Federal Film Fund (DFFF). Since 2007, the DFFF has been making funding available for the production of cinema films in Germany, so long as they meet certain criteria. For example, a German co-producer must be involved, such as Studio Babelsberg. In addition, part of the funding must be spent in Germany, as the DFFF’s website explains: “If you produce your feature, documentary or animated film in Germany and spend at least 25% of your budget here, you can obtain a grant of up to 20% of the approved costs”. Carpenters from the local region build the film set, German cameras are borrowed or post-production takes place here in Germany. This is a very profitable business for the film industry in Germany, and something that Potsdam’s Studio Babelsberg in particular has been tapping into. As early as 2003/2004, The Bourne Supremacy was produced here, the second part of the Jason Bourne trilogy starring Matt Damon.

Promoting Germany as a film location

With an annual budget of 50 to 70 million euros, the DFFF is able to support all kinds of film projects. Both home-grown projects and international co-productions are the beneficiaries: of the 115 grants approved by the DFFF in 2013, 73 went to German and 42 to international co-productions. Although German productions are clearly ahead in terms of number, funding is almost equally divided between the two: 28.5 million euros were provided to national and 33.9 million euros to international productions.

Another potential source of funding is the German Federal Film Board (FFA), which has around 76 million euros to allocate. However, while the DFFF is tax-payer funded and its promotion activities are carried out according to a defined mechanism, the FFA derives its income solely via a film levy – a fixed amount that cinema operators, film distributors and television companies are required to pay. The FFA has a board comprising representatives of politics and the German film industry which decides on which productions to fund. The criteria are not so tough – there is no minimum amount that has to be spent in Germany, for instance. The basis for the FFA’s activities is always Germany’s Film Funding Act, however.

As an FFA spokesperson explains: “For every euro of funding made available to a film project by the DFFF, six euros on average are then spent in Germany.” The German method clearly works, he continues: “Other European countries are copying our approach to film promotion.” It is also the FFA’s job to handle the distribution of the DFFF’s funds. The funds made available by the DFFF, he explains, tend to be almost entirely exhausted, just as the FFA’s funds are also fully distributed.

In addition, almost all of Germany’s federal states have their own independent film promotion agencies – North Rhine-Westphalia, Bavaria and Hesse, for example. Saxony, Saxony-Anhalt and Thuringia are jointly represented by a media promotion organization named Mitteldeutsche Medienförderung (MDM) and also actively support international blockbusters. Wes Andersen’s film The Grand Budapest Hotel was funded in part by 900,000 euros from the MDM.

The money must remain in the state

Michel Morales is a film producer and a member of the board at the Verband deutscher Filmproduzenten, the association of German film producers: “The main urban centres are Munich, Berlin and Cologne – Cologne primarily playing host to television productions such as TV shows and films for television. The major international “Hollywood productions” still always happen in Babelsberg.”

Anyone wishing to obtain funding from the film commissions in the federal states have to fulfil similar conditions as those imposed by the DFFF and are required to spend part of the money within the region. “Job hopping is par for the course in our industry. Crew members can be hired in any cities or regions where filming happens to be taking place”, explains Morales. The Grand Budapest Hotel for instance was partly filmed on location in the Saxon city of Görlitz. Young filmmakers are increasingly drawn to the German capital, however. “In recent years, there has been a growing migration to Berlin among qualified film professionals and indeed among young filmmakers who feel that the cities in the south have become too expensive”, says Morales, who goes on to point out that it is becoming increasingly difficult for people who receive funding from the state of Hesse, for example, to actually achieve the required expenditure in this region.

Cinematography excellence in Germany

The German film industry enjoys a good reputation abroad, attests Michel Morales – it is regarded as reliable and punctual, it remains within the required budget and finishes projects on schedule. Cinematography and post-production are considered to be leading in the international context – just one more reason why international productions are attracted to Germany. Although critics warn that promoting such productions means that German art-house films are often being neglected and that the diversity of the German cinema scene is at risk, there is no doubt that the German film industry profits from the money brought into the country by the Hollywood blockbusters.

Filmförderung in Deutschland „Hollywood“ zwischen Spree und Elbe

Hollywood-Blockbuster bringen Geld nach Deutschland.
Hollywood-Blockbuster bringen Geld nach Deutschland. | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Perseomedusa - Fotolia.com

Quentin Tarantino, George Clooney und Lars von Trier – sie alle haben Filme in Deutschland gedreht. Aus gutem Grund: Von der deutschen Filmförderung profitieren auch sie.

Als Quentin Tarantino in den Jahren 2008 und 2009 den Blockbuster Inglourious Basterds mit Brad Pitt und Diane Kruger in Deutschland gedreht hat, haben ihn nicht nur die Originalschauplätze des Zweiten Weltkriegs überzeugt. Mit 6,8 Millionen Euro wurde die Filmproduktion vom Deutschen Filmförderfonds (DFFF) unterstützt. Der DFFF existiert seit 2007 und stellt Fördergelder für die Produktion von Kinofilmen in Deutschland zur Verfügung, sofern bestimmte Auflagen erfüllt werden. So muss ein deutscher Koproduzent vorhanden sein – zum Beispiel das Filmstudio Berlin-Babelsberg. Außerdem muss ein Teil der Fördersumme in Deutschland ausgegeben werden: „Wenn Sie Ihren Spiel-, Dokumentar- oder Animationsfilm in Deutschland produzieren und mindestens 25 Prozent Ihres Budgets im Land ausgeben, können Sie einen Zuschuss in Höhe von bis zu 20 Prozent der anerkannten Kosten erhalten“, heißt es auf der Website des DFFF. Regionale Tischler bauen das Filmset, deutsche Kameras werden ausgeliehen oder die Postproduktion läuft hier im Land ab. Ein sehr rentables Geschäft für die Filmwirtschaft in Deutschland, das besonders das Studio Babelsberg in Potsdam für sich entdeckt hat. Hier wurde schon in den Jahren 2003/2004 Die Bourne Verschwörung produziert, der zweite Teil der Jason-Bourne-Trilogie mit Matt Damon.

Standortförderung ist das Stichwort

Mit jährlich durchschnittlich 50 bis 70 Millionen Euro kann der DFFF Filmprojekte aller Art unterstützen. Davon profitieren sowohl rein inländische Projekte, als auch internationale Koproduktionen: Von 115 bewilligten Förderungen des DFFF im Jahr 2013 gingen 73 an deutsche und 42 an internationale Koproduktionen. Obwohl von der Anzahl her die deutschen Produktionen deutlich vorne liegen, teilt sich die Fördersumme fast gleich auf: 28,5 Millionen Euro erhielten nationale, 33,9 Millionen Euro internationale Produktionen.

Eine weitere Adresse ist die Filmförderungsanstalt (FFA), die rund 76 Millionen Euro zur Verfügung stellen kann. Doch während der DFFF sich aus Steuergeldern speist und die Förderung nach einem festgelegten Mechanismus läuft, finanziert sich die FFA ausschließlich durch die sogenannte Filmabgabe: ein fester Betrag, den Kinobetreiber, Filmverleiher und das Fernsehen zahlen müssen. Bei der FFA entscheidet ein Gremium aus Politik und der deutschen Filmwirtschaft über die Vergabe. Die Auflagen sind geringer – es gibt zum Beispiel keinen Mindestbetrag, der auch wieder in Deutschland ausgegeben werden muss. Grundlage bildet dabei aber immer das Filmförderungsgesetz.

Ein Sprecher der FFA rechnet vor: „Für jeden Euro Fördersumme, mit dem der DFFF ein Filmprojekt fördert, werden durchschnittlich sechs Euro in Deutschland wieder ausgegeben. Die deutsche Methode überzeugt“, erklärt er weiter: „Andere europäische Länder kopieren unsere Art der Filmförderung.“ Die FFA habe ebenfalls den Auftrag, die Abwicklung der DFFF-Fördermittel zu übernehmen. Die Fördermittel des DFFF, so heißt es, werden in der Regel fast vollständig ausgeschöpft, ebenso wie die Mittel des FFA vollständig vergeben werden.

Zusätzlich verfügt fast jedes Bundesland über eine eigene Filmförderung, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Bayern und Hessen zum Beispiel. Sachsen, Sachsen-Anhalt und Thüringen sind gebündelt in der Mitteldeutsche Medienförderung (MDM) vertreten und fördern aktiv auch internationale Blockbuster. So erhielt The Grand Budapest Hotel von Wes Andersen unter anderem 900.000 Euro aus dem Topf der MDM.

Das Geld muss im Bundesland bleiben

Michel Morales ist Filmproduzent und Mitglied im Vorstand des Verbands deutscher Filmproduzenten: „Die Ballungsräume sind München, Berlin und Köln. In Köln wird überwiegend für das Fernsehen produziert, beispielsweise Fernsehshows und TV-Filme. Die großen internationalen sogenannten ‚Hollywood‘- Produktionen finden aktuell noch immer in Babelsberg statt.“

Wer von den Filmkommissionen der Bundesländer gefördert werden möchte, erhält ähnliche Auflagen wie beim DFFF und muss einen Teil des Geldes in der Region ausgeben. „Das Jobhopping ist in unserer Branche gang und gäbe. In den Städten und Regionen, wo aktuell gedreht wird, lassen sich auch die Crewmitglieder anheuern“, erzählt Morales. The Grand Budapest Hotel zum Beispiel wurde unter anderem in der sächsischen Stadt Görlitz gedreht. Doch es zieht den filmischen Nachwuchs zunehmend in die deutsche Hauptstadt. „Qualifiziertes Filmpersonal und auch die jungen Filmemacher, denen die Städte im Süden zu teuer wurden, sind in den letzten Jahren verstärkt nach Berlin gezogen“, so Morales. Wenn man zum Beispiel finanzielle Mittel aus Hessen bekomme, werde es zunehmend schwieriger, die geforderten Gelder auch tatsächlich in dieser Region auszugeben.

Viel Fachkompetenz in Deutschland

„Die deutsche Filmbranche hat einen guten Ruf im Ausland: Sie gilt als zuverlässig und pünktlich, bleibt im geforderten Budgetrahmen und schließt die Projekte termingerecht ab“, meint Michel Morales. Dass deutsche Filmtechnik und Postproduktion als führend im internationalen Kontext gelten, sei ein Grund mehr, aus dem es ausländische Produktionen nach Deutschland ziehe. Zwar mahnen Kritiker, dass durch deren Förderung deutsche Arthousefilme oft benachteiligt würden und die Vielfältigkeit der deutschen Kinolandschaft gefährdet sei – doch die deutsche Filmwirtschaft profitiert ohne Frage von dem Geld, das Hollywood-Blockbuster ins Land bringen.