Berlinale Blog International film journalists report for Goethe.de

Berlinale Blog 2015
Design: Lea Delazer

Opinions and interviews relating to films, film-makers and favourites for the Golden Bear award: Bloggers and film journalists from Beijing, Cairo, Leipzig, Madrid, Munich, Nairobi, São Paulo, Tokyo and Toronto report from the International Film Festival in Berlin.

As guests of the Goethe-Institut, bloggers and film journalists from Brazil, Canada, China, Germany, Egypt, Japan, Kenia and Spain are going to the Berlinale this February to share their impressions on the most important German film festival. How are Egyptian films represented at the Berlin Film Festival? Which interesting Brasilian co-productions have been invited? Will Chinese film makers be as successful as last year? What expectations do Spanish filmmakers have going into the Berlinale? And: What new productions will German film makers present in Berlin?

We will also take a look behind the scenes with a series of short portraits of the movers and shakers that make the Berlinale the Berlinale, called Berlinale People.
The coverage is rounded off with film reviews by the Talent Press, a joint project of Berlinale Talents, Goethe-Institut, and FIPRESCI (the International Federation of Film Critics) that invites young international film critics to Berlin.

All artictles of the Berlinale bloggers will be published in the film magazine on Goethe.de: www.goethe.de/film.

Our bloggers:
 

Wafaa Al Badry

Wafaa Al Badry Photo: Private is a journalist and TV news reporter from Cairo, Egypt. In 2007 she graduated from Ain Shams University with a Bachelor of Arts in media and communications science. Since then, she has worked for numerous media enterprises. In 2013 she participated in a Goethe-Institut programme on cultural journalism. She also works as a freelancer for Deutsche Welle.



Jutta Brendemühl

 Photo: Goethe-Institut is the Goethe-Institut Toronto's Program Curator and year-round blogger at GermanFilm@Canada. Jutta is lucky to love what she does: arts & cultural programming across the genres & through a global lens. Over the past 15 years, she has worked with Bernardo Bertolucci, Robert Rauschenberg, Wim Wenders, Pina Bausch, and other luminaries. She has an M.A. in English Literature.


Yun-hua Chen

Yun-hua Chen Photo: Private was born in Taichung, and studied in Taipei, France and Scotland. She obtained her PhD in Film Studies at the University of St Andrews (Scotland). Based in Berlin at the moment, she writes regularly for Film International, Exberliner and academica journals, and gives talks at international conferences and film seminars.




Camila Gonzatto

Camila Gonzatto Photo: © Private writes and directs films for cinema and television. She did her Master’s in creative writing at PUCRS University in Porto Alegre, Brazil, and is currently writing her PhD thesis in that field under an academic exchange with the Free University of Berlin.





Kiyohide Hayashi

Kiyohide Hayashi Photo: Private was born in Gifu, Japan, and  studied art history and law in Nagoya. After working several years as an art critic in Japan, he moved to Germany. Since 2008 he lives in Berlin and writes about the current trends in the German art- and culture scene. He regularely blogs on art themes.




Pablo López Barbero

Pablo López Barbero Photo: © Filiz Penzkofer is a journalist, comes from Madrid and lives in Berlin. He studied journalism at the Complutense University of Madrid. He worked there in a number of editorial teams until 2012, when he decided to move to the German capital. His passions are cinema and audio-visual media. He currently works for the Deutsche Welle news desk and produces contributions for a variety of publications.



Steve Mbugu

Steven Mbugu Photo: Private born and raised in Banana Hill in Kenya, is a writer interested in social and cultural matters. He discovered his passion in writing at an early age. Steve has also been involved in various poetry projects and is currently working with Berlin Street Music – Notes from underground, a programme  aimed at bringing together various artistes in and out of Berlin. Steve currently lives in Berlin.


Barbara Oswald

Barbara Oswald Photo: Private studied English language and literature, media science and Spanish philology at the University of Regensburg. She is currently studying at the August Everding Teatre academy and at the University of Television and Film in Munich, and is taking part in the supplemental programme there in theatre, film and television criticism.




Madeleine Prahs

Madeleine Prahs Photo: Louis Volkmann is an author and a film junkie. Her highly praised debut novel Nachbarn (i.e. neighbours) was published by dtv premium in autumn 2014. She studied art history in Munich and St. Petersburg, and was awarded an Authors' Workshop Grant by the Literary Colloquium Berlin and the Jürgen Ponto Foundation. She lives in Leipzig and works as a cultural journalist. Her favourite film: Billy Wilder's The Apartment.



Christopher Resch

Christopher Resch © is a journalist and Arabist who lived in Cairo until December 2013, serving as Press and Public Relations Officer at the Goethe-Institut there. Now back in Germany, Resch freelances as a journalist based in Leipzig, covering, among other things, the Arab film festivals in Leipzig and Berlin.

Berlinale-Blogger Internationale Filmjournalisten berichten für Goethe.de

Berlinale-Blogger 2015
Design: Lea Delazer

Meinungen, Hintergründe und Interviews zu Filmen, Filmemachern und Favoriten für den Goldenen Bären: Bloggerinnen und Filmjournalisten aus Kairo, Leipzig, Madrid, München, Nairobi, Peking, São Paulo, Tokio und Toronto berichten von der Berlinale.

Am 5. Februar 2015 ist es soweit: Die 65. Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin werden eröffnet. Das Goethe-Institut hat Bloggerinnen und Filmjournalisten aus Ägypten, Brasilien, China, Deutschland, Japan, Kanada, Kenia und Spanien nach Berlin eingeladen, um das größte deutsche Filmfestival zu begleiten – in Filmkritiken, Interviews und Hintergrundberichten. Wie sind Filme aus Ägypten bei der Berlinale repräsentiert? Welche interessanten brasilianischen Co-Produktionen sind im Rennen um die begehrten Preise? Kann der chinesische Film an den Erfolg von 2014 anknüpfen? Mit welchen Erwartungen reisen spanische Filmemacher zur Berlinale? Und: Was gibt es Neues von deutschen Filmemachern?

In der Reihe Berlinale People stellen wir in kurzen Porträts die Menschen vor, die vor und hinter den Kulissen der Berlinale arbeiten und gemeinsam das Gesicht des Festivals ausmachen.

Ergänzt wird die Berichterstattung mit Filmkritiken von Talent Press, einem gemeinsamen Projekt von Berlinale Talents, dem Goethe-Institut und der internationalen Filmkritiker-Organisation FIPRESCI, auf deren Einladung hin junge Filmkritiker aus aller Welt aus Berlin berichten.

Alle Beiträge der Berlinale-Blogger werden auf Goethe.de im Film-Magazin veröffentlicht: www.goethe.de/film

Es bloggen:


Wafaa Al Badry

Wafaa Al Badry Foto: Privat ist Journalistin und TV-Nachrichtenmoderatorin aus Kairo, Ägypten. Sie schloss 2007 ihr Studium der Medien- und Kommunikationswissenschaften an der Ain Shams-University mit einem Bachelor ab. Seitdem war sie für zahlreiche Medien tätig. 2013 nahm sie an einem Programm des Goethe-Instituts zum Thema Kulturberichterstattung teil. Sie arbeitet unter anderem freiberuflich für die Deutsche Welle.


Jutta Brendemühl

 Foto: Goethe-Institut ist Programmkuratorin des Goethe-Instituts Toronto und Bloggerin bei GermanFilm@Canada. Die studierte Anglistin konnte ihre Leidenschaft zum Beruf machen: Sie organisiert Kunst- und Kulturprogramme quer durch alle Genres und mit globaler Ausrichtung. In den letzten 15 Jahren hat sie bereits mit Größen wie Bernardo Bertolucci, Robert Rauschenberg, Wim Wenders oder Pina Bausch gearbeitet.


Yun-hua Chen

Yun-hua Chen Foto: Privat geboren in Taichung, studierte in Taipei, Frankreich und Schottland und promovierte im Fach Filmstudien an der St. Andrews Universität in Schottland. Derzeit in Berlin, schreibt sie regelmäßig für Film International, Exberliner und verschiedene wissenschaftliche Journale und hält Vorträge auf internationalen Konferenzen und Filmseminaren.



Camila Gonzatto

Camila Gonzatto Foto: © Privat ist Drehbuchautorin und Regisseurin für Film und Fernsehen. Sie hat an der Universität PUCRS in Porto Alegre den Master-Studiengang Kreatives Schreiben abgeschlossen und verfasst zurzeit eine Doktorarbeit im selben Fach im Austausch mit der Freien Universität Berlin.




Kiyohide Hayashi

Kiyohide Hayashi Foto: Privat geboren in Gifu, Japan, studierte Kunstgeschichte und Jura in Nagoya. Nach mehreren Jahren als Kulturkritiker in Japan, zog es ihn nach Deutschland. Seit 2008 lebt er in Berlin und schreibt über die deutsche zeitgenössische Kunst- und Kulturszene und bloggt zu Kunstthemen.




Pablo López Barbero

Pablo López Barbero Foto: © Filiz Penzkofer ist Journalist, kommt aus Madrid und lebt in Berlin. Er studierte Journalismus an der Universität Complutense in Madrid. Dort arbeitete er in verschiedenen Redaktionen, bis er 2012 beschloss, in die deutsche Hauptstadt umzuziehen. Seine Leidenschaften sind Kino und audiovisuelle Medien. Zurzeit arbeitet er für die Nachrichtenredaktion der Deutschen Welle und produziert Beiträge für verschiedene Publikationen.

Steve Mbugu

Steven Mbugu Foto: Privat geboren und aufgewachsen in Banana Hill, Kenia, ist Autor und interessiert sich für soziale und kulturelle Themen. Bereits in jungen Jahren entdeckte er seine Leidenschaft fürs Schreiben. Steve war  in mehrere Lyrikprojekte involviert und arbeitet momentan bei Berlin Street Music – Notes from Underground mit. Das Projekt bringt Künstler aus Berlin und von außerhalb zusammen. Steve lebt derzeit in Berlin.


Barbara Oswald

Barbara Oswald Foto: Privat hat an der Universität Regensburg Anglistik, Medienwissenschaft und spanische Philologie studiert. Derzeit ist sie Studentin an der Theaterakademie August Everding und der Hochschule für Fernsehen und Film in München und besucht dort den Ergänzungsstudiengang Theater-, Film- und Fernsehkritik.




Madeleine Prahs

Madeleine Prahs Foto: Louis Volkmann ist Autorin und filmsüchtig. Im Herbst 2014 erschien ihr viel gelobter Debütroman Nachbarn bei dtv premium. Sie studierte Kunstgeschichte in München und Sankt Petersburg, war Werkstattstipendiatin des Literarischen Colloquiums Berlin und der Jürgen-Ponto-Stiftung. Sie lebt in Leipzig und arbeitet als Kulturjournalistin. Lieblingsfilm: Das Appartement von Billy Wilder.



Christopher Resch

Christopher Resch © ist Journalist und Arabist und lebte bis Dezember 2013 in Kairo. Dort war er Beauftragter für Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit am Goethe-Institut. Zurück in Deutschland arbeitet er nun von Leipzig aus als freier Journalist und schreibt unter anderem über die arabischen Filmfestivals in Leipzig und Berlin.