Berlinale Blog Veterans versus neophytes

Berlinale
© Berlinale

German cinema has a great deal to offer at this year’s Berlinale. Along with old masters back in the running, young aspiring filmmakers are introducing themselves and portraying the host country in various shades.

Wim Wenders and Werner Herzog, two of the foremost exponents of the German film scene, are screening in the main competition at the Berlinale again. Wenders’ Every Thing Will Be Fine shows the impact of a tragic accident on the parties thereto, whilst Herzog’s Queen of the Desert chronicles the life of an English woman – scholar, administrator, cartographer and spy – exploring the Middle East in the early 20th century. But alongside such great internationally renowned names, we shouldn’t overlook the other German hopefuls in the main competition. Andreas Dresen’s Als wir träumten (“As We Were Dreaming”) is a study of a group of young people experiencing the decline of East Germany first-hand as they grow older. And Sebastian Schipper’s Victoria tells the story of strangers on a road trip together across Berlin. So we have German history versus a modern portrait of the German capital.

Focus on family histories

“Wild” young directors often present their first films in the Perspektive Deutsches Kino section, and family portraits seem to be centre-stage this year. In Anatol Schuster’s Ein idealer Ort (“A Perfect Place”), a rural family seek their fortune in the big city. In Tom Sommerlatte’s Im Sommer wohnt er unten (“Summers Downstairs”), power-plays within the family put the relationship between two brothers to the test. It will be exciting in any case to observe the young auteurs’ different approaches to the family, a subject that every viewer can personally relate to.

Tribute to Wim Wenders

Fans of classics can stick to this year’s tribute to Wim Wenders. His greatest hits like Der Himmel über Berlin (“The Wings of Desire”) and Paris, Texas will be screened for older admirers to enjoy once again and for younger viewers, like myself, to discover on the screen for the very first time.

Berlinale-Blogger Erfahrung versus Erstlingswerke

Berlinale
© Berlinale

Der deutsche Film hat in diesem Berlinale-Jahr viel zu bieten. Neben Altmeistern im Wettbewerb präsentieren junge, aufstrebende Regisseurinnen und Regisseure sich und das Gastgeberland.

Mit Wim Wenders und Werner Herzog finden sich zwei der wichtigsten Vertreter des deutschen Films im diesjährigen Wettbewerb der Berlinale wieder. Wenders’ Film Every Thing Will Be Fine zeigt die Auswirkungen eines tragischen Unfalls auf die Beteiligten, während Herzogs Film Queen of the Desert das Leben einer Forscherin zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts nachzeichnet, die den Orient bereist. Neben diesen auch international bekannten Namen stehen zwei weitere deutsche Regisseure im Wettbewerb: Andreas Dresen schickt mit Als wir träumten eine Studie über eine Gruppe von Jugendlichen ins Rennen, die beim Erwachsenwerden den Verfall der DDR miterleben. Ein gemeinsamer Roadtrip von einander Fremden durch Berlin wird in Sebastian Schippers Victoria erzählt. Deutsche Geschichte tritt gegen ein modernes Porträt der deutschen Hauptstadt an.   

Fokus auf Familiengeschichten

In der Sektion Perspektive Deutsches Kino präsentieren die jungen Wilden des Films oftmals ihre Erstlingswerke. In diesem Jahr scheinen Familienporträts im Vordergrund zu stehen. In Ein idealer Ort von Anatol Schuster sucht eine Familie vom Land ihr Glück in der Großstadt, in Tom Sommerlattes Im Sommer wohnt er unten wird eine Geschwisterbeziehung durch Machtspiele auf die Probe gestellt. Es wird auf jeden Fall spannend werden, die unterschiedlichen Herangehensweisen der jungen Regisseurinnen und Regisseure an das Thema Familie, mit dem jeder Zuschauer etwas Persönliches verbindet, zu beobachten.

Hommage an Wim Wenders

Die Fans von Klassikern können sich an die Wim Wenders gewidmete Hommage halten. Seine größten Erfolge wie Der Himmel über Berlin oder Paris, Texas können von älteren Bewunderern noch einmal und von jüngeren Zuschauern, wie mir, zum ersten Mal auf der Leinwand entdeckt werden.