Berlinale Blog Diversity and Nostalgy

Film still of “Jia Zhang-ke, a guy from Fenyang”
Film still of “Jia Zhang-ke, a guy from Fenyang” | Photo (detail): © Berlinale

Chinese cinema might seem under-represented at Berlinale 2015, compared to Berlinale 2014's buzz and hype around it, but its diversity and vigorousness do not stop to surprise.

In comparison to the Berlinale 2014, when three films were showcased in Competition and one of the three, Black Coal, Thin Ice (白日焰火),  was awarded the Golden Bear, it might seem that Chinese cinema has a less glamorous presence at the Berlinale 2015. Yet I think it is a good year.

China’s ethnic diversity

There are three beautiful films representing China’s ethnic diversity: River Road (家在水草丰茂的地方) showing the life of the Yugur people in Gansu Province, the film K picturing Inner Mongolia, and the Tibetan film Gtsngbo. There is also Jiang Wen's (姜文) ambitious Gone with the Bullets (一步之遥), which brings Broadway and a wide range of film references to 1920s' Shanghai. Participation of another renowned Chinese auteur Jia Zhang-ke can be felt through his role as executive producer and producer in K and as the main character in Walter Salles' Jia Zhang-ke, A Guy from Fenyang (汾陽小子賈樟柯). Although there is no film from Hong Kong, Chang Tso-chi's Thanatos, Drunk (醉•生梦死) and Doze Niu's Paradise in Service (军中乐园) transport the audience to Taiwan's past and present.

These films' diverse approaches and geopolitical settings truly enrich and embellish the scope of Chinese cinema or even better, Chinese cinemas, to emphasise pluralities and multiplicities.

The local and the global

In terms of negotiation between the local and the global, at the same time that Jiang Wen audaciously uses a lot of globally recognisable tropes and visuals to package his local concerns and settings, Li Ruijun and Sonthar Gyal introduce under-mediatised local practices and issues into the global arena. As for Emyr ap Richard, Darhad Erdenibulag, Doze Niu and Chang Tso-chi, they wander somewhere in-between. With films of varying scales, with heterogeneous doses of art and entertainment, from diverse localities and for all age groups, there is something for everyone.

Berlinale-Blogger Diversität und Nostalgie

Szene aus „Jia Zhang-ke, a guy from Fenyang“
Szene aus „Jia Zhang-ke, a guy from Fenyang“ | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Berlinale

Verglichen mit dem ganzen Rummel, den es bei der Berlinale 2014 um das chinesische Kino gab, mögen chinesische Filme dieses Jahr unterrepräsentiert wirken. Trotzdem überraschen sie weiterhin mit ihrer Vielfalt und Stärke.

Bei der Berlinale 2014 war das chinesische Kino mit gleich drei Filmen im Wettbewerb vertreten, wovon einer, Black Coal, Thin Ice (白日焰火), mit dem Goldenen Bären ausgezeichnet wurde. Der diesjährige Auftritt beim Festival scheint dagegen weniger glamourös. Und dennoch denke ich, dass es ein gutes Jahr ist.

Chinas ethnische Vielfalt

Unter anderem werden drei wunderbare Filme gezeigt, die die ethnische Vielfalt Chinas auf die Leinwand bringen: In River Road (家在水草丰茂的地方) stehen die Yugur aus der Provinz Gansu im Mittelpunkt, der Film K befasst sich mit der Inneren Mongolei und Gtsngbo mit Tibet. Außerdem ist da noch Jiang Wens (姜文) ehrgeiziger Film Gone with the Bullets (一步之遥), mit dem er den Broadway und eine Vielzahl an Filmreferenzen ins Shanghai der 1920er bringt. Einen starken chinesischen Einfluss spürt man deutlich in Walter Salles Jia Zhang-ke, A Guy from Fenyang (汾陽小子賈樟柯), bei dem der renommierte chinesische Filmemacher Jia Zhang-ke als Regisseur und Produzent mitwirkte. Dieses Jahr gibt es keinen Beitrag aus Hongkong, dafür versetzen Chang Tso-chis Thanatos, Drunk (醉•生梦死) und Doze Nius Paradise in Service (军中乐园) den Zuschauer in Taiwans Vergangenheit und Gegenwart. Die unterschiedlichen Ansätze und geopolitischen Hintergründe dieser Filme tragen ihren Teil dazu bei, die Bandbreite des chinesischen Kinos – oder besser der chinesischen Kinos – mit ihrem Fokus auf Vielfalt zu bereichern und zu erweitern.

Globalität und Lokalität

In Hinblick auf das Verhältnis von Globalität und Lokalität lässt sich beobachten, dass Jiang Wen recht kühn Gebrauch von international lesbaren bildlichen Ausdrücken und Symboliken macht, um seine in Shanghai spielende Geschichte zu verpacken. Dagegen bringen Li Ruijun (李睿珺) und Sonthar Gyal mit ihren Filmen lokale Praktiken und Thematiken, die bisher in den Medien unterrepräsentiert waren, auf die weltweite Bühne. Emyrap Richard, Darhad Erdenibulag, Doze Niu (钮承泽) und Chang Tso-chi bewegen sich mit ihren Filmen irgendwo dazwischen.

Bei dieser Bandbreite an Filmen von unterschiedlicher Projektgröße, mit Schwerpunkten auf Kunst oder Unterhaltung, von überall her und für alle Altersklassen, ist sicher für jeden etwas dabei.