Berlinale Blog “Sangue Azul” and “Beira-Mar” in the Brazilian Programme

“Beira-Mar” (Seashore) by Filipe Matzembacher and Marcio Reolon
“Beira-Mar” (Seashore) by Filipe Matzembacher and Marcio Reolon | Photo (detail): © Berlinale

The feature film “Sangue Azul” opened the Berlinale Panorama section in four sold-out theatres. “Beira-Mar” has likewise opened in the festival cinemas.

Sangue azul (Blue Blood), a film by director Lírio Ferreira which won the 2014 Rio Film Festival, is set in the Fernando de Noronha archipelago. “We wanted the film to be set on an island. When we returned from a visit there, we were so enthusiastic about the location that it ended up actually having a role in the film”, reports the director, explaining the choice of filming location.

Old conflicts flare up

A circus sets up camp for a season on the archipelago. One of the main attractions is Zolah, an artiste who has returned to the island after having left it as a child. His homecoming and the presence of the circus change the daily lives of the island’s inhabitants and cause old conflicts to flare up again, including Zolah’s incestuous relationship with his sister. In an allusion to cinema itself, the film also submerges itself in the world of circus magic and illusion. From time to time the director adds an element of mysticism, especially in the scenes in which an old islander (Ruy Guerra) makes prophecies about the archipelago. Sangue Azul relies on careful camera work to highlight the paradise that is Fernando de Noronha – what stands out particularly is the breath-taking opening sequence in black-and-white, which is reminiscent of images by photographers such as Pierre Verger.

Subtropical winter

From tropical Brazil we now travel to the country’s southernmost tip, to a (wintry) beach on the coast of Rio Grande do Sul, the setting for the film Beira-mar (Seashore). This film debut by Filipe Matzembacher and Marcelo Reolon is about two young men, both roughly 18 years old, whose confrontation with family problems and discovery of their sexuality prompts them to reflect on their lives and their relationship with the world.  

Beira-mar uses close-ups, out-of-focus shots and restless camera work to present the universe of the characters to us in a subtle and intimate way. The film develops in a rhythm that seems as slow and calm as a desolate beach in winter. The colour spectrum is always shifting into white, be it when portraying the light on cold and overcast days or when composing images in which white elements predominate. “We wanted to isolate the characters in the house, which is why the window lights are always dazzlingly bright. Gradually they begin to see things more clearly”, explain the directors, who met back in film school and have worked together ever since. Their next feature film, Garoto Neon, has just been selected for funding by the Dutch Hubert Bals Fund.

Sangue Azul and Beira-Mar are competing, alongside another Brazilian film Ausência (Absence), for the Teddy Award for films dealing with LGBT themes.

Berlinale-Blogger „Sangue Azul“ und „Beira-Mar“ im brasilianischen Programm

„Beira-Mar“ (Seashore) von Filipe Matzembacher und Marcio Reolon
„Beira-Mar“ (Seashore) von Filipe Matzembacher und Marcio Reolon | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Berlinale

In vier ausverkauften Sälen eröffnete der Spielfilm „Sangue Azul“ die Berlinale-Sektion Panorama. „Beira-Mar“ ist ebenfalls in den Festivalkinos angelaufen.

Der Film des Regisseurs Lírio Ferreira und Gewinner des Filmfestivals von Rio 2014 Sangue azul (Blue Blood) hat den Archipel Fernando de Noronha zum Schauplatz. „Wir wollten, dass der Film auf einer Insel spielt. Als wir von einem Besuch dort zurückkehrten, waren wir so sehr von dem Ort begeistert, dass er schließlich zu einem Darsteller des Films wurde“, berichtet der Regisseur über die Auswahl des Drehortes.

Alte Konflikte brechen auf

Auf dem Archipel richtet sich für eine Spielzeit ein Zirkus ein. Eine der Hauptattraktionen ist Zolah, ein Artist, der auf die Insel zurückkehrt, nachdem er sie noch als Kind verlassen hatte. Seine Heimkehr und die Anwesenheit des Zirkus verändern den Alltag der Inselbewohner und lassen alte Konflikte wieder aufbrechen, einschließlich der inzestuösen Beziehung von Zolah zu seiner Schwester. In Anspielung auf das Kino selbst, taucht der Film außerdem in die Welt der Magie und der Illusion des Zirkus ein. Hin und wieder schlägt der Regisseur einen mystischen Ton an, vor allem in den Szenen, in denen ein alter Inselbewohner (Ruy Guerra) Prophezeiungen über das Archipel macht. Sangue Azul setzt auf eine behutsame Kameraführung, die den paradiesischen Schauplatz von Fernando de Noronha hervorhebt – herausragend ist die atemberaubende Anfangssequenz in Schwarz-Weiß, die auf Bilder von Fotografen wie Pierre Verger verweist.

Subtropischer Winter

Von einem tropischen Brasilien reisen wir nun in den äußersten Süden des Landes: an einen (winterlichen) Strand an der Küste von Rio Grande do Sul, wo der Film Beira-mar (Seashore) spielt. Das Spielfilmdebüt von Filipe Matzembacher und Marcelo Reolon handelt von zwei etwa 18-jährigen Jugendlichen, die über ihr Leben und ihr Verhältnis zur Welt reflektieren, ausgehend von der Konfrontation mit familiären Problemen und der Entdeckung ihrer Sexualität.

Beira-mar stellt uns das Universum der Figuren auf eine subtile und intime Weise vor und setzt dabei auf Nahaufnahmen, Unschärfen und eine bewegte Kameraführung. Der Film entwickelt sich in einem Rhythmus, der so langsam und beruhigt erscheint wie ein leerer Strand im Winter. Die Farbgebung geht stets ins Weiße über, sei es bei der Lichtführung von kalten und bedeckten Tagen oder bei der Bildgestaltung, in der weiße Elemente dominieren. „Wir wollten die Figuren im Haus isolieren, deswegen ist das Licht der Fenster stets grell. Allmählich beginnen sie, die Dinge klarer zu sehen“, erzählen die Regisseure, die sich schon von der Filmhochschule kennen und seitdem zusammenarbeiten. Der nächste Spielfilm der beiden, Garoto Neon, wurde gerade durch den niederländischen Hubert Bals-Fund zur Filmförderung ausgewählt.

Sangue Azul und Beira-Mar konkurrieren neben dem ebenfalls aus Brasilien stammenden Film Ausência (Absence) um den Teddy-Award, eine Auszeichnung für Filme mit queeren Themen.