Berlinale Blog No safety net

Film still “Barra fel Share‘”
Film still “Barra fel Share‘” | © Jasmina Metwaly, Philip Rizk

In “Barra Fel Share” (“Out on the Street”), Jasmina Metwaly and Philip Rizk explore the social injustices that triggered the revolution in Egypt in 2011. The young directors’ first feature celebrated its world premiere at the Berlinale 2015.

Metwaly and Rizk are members of Mosireen, a media collective that combine “street journalism” (aka “citizen” or “public” journalism) with cultural-political activism. Since 2011 Mosireen have been probing social issues in Egypt in brief YouTube reportages only a few minutes long.

Injustice, police brutality, corruption

Barra Fel Share’ is about injustice in the workplace, police brutality and rampant corruption. The camera follows a group of ten factory workers in Helwan, a borough of Greater Cairo, who are all used to being exploited day in, day out. They have to live with it in order to survive. When one day they begin rebelling against the prevailing conditions, they risk far more than just losing their jobs.

In two different ways, however, Metwaly and Rizk have tampered with the documentary-style lens through which we see the action: For one thing, the workers are politically committed amateur actors who have jobs and problems in their real lives very close to those enacted in the film. For another, the directors make use of a drama workshop to stage the injustices that prevail in the factory. During the workshop, Metwaly and Rizk exercised directorial restraint, leaving themselves and the actors room for improvisation. There was a clear-cut opening, but no script. The emphasis was on the process of working on the film together.

Stark focus on the issues

Barra Fel Share‘ experiments with various stylistic devices. Through its video aesthetic, in which the camera always keeps close to the actors, and its theatrical staging, making do with only the most essential props, Metwaly and Rizk succeed in zeroing in with remarkable clarity on the basic issue here: a life of insecurity, with no safety net at all. A life “out on the street”. That the film may be construed as a metaphor for the current situation in Egypt is quite intentional.

Berlinale-Blogger Ohne jedes Fangnetz

Filmstill „Barra fel Share‘“
Filmstill „Barra fel Share‘“ | © Jasmina Metwaly, Philip Rizk

In „Barra fel Share‘“ („Out on the Street“) nähern sich Jasmina Metwaly und Philip Rizk den Auslösern für die 2011 beginnende Revolution in Ägypten an. Der erste Langfilm der jungen Regisseure feierte auf der Berlinale 2015 seine Weltpremiere.

Metwaly und Rizk sind Mitglieder von „Mosireen“, einem Medienkollektiv, das die Konzepte des Bürgerjournalismus und des kulturell-politischen Aktivismus miteinander verknüpft. Seit 2011 beschäftigt sich Mosireen in meist mehrminütigen Youtube-Reportagen mit den sozialen Problemen in Ägypten.

Ungerechtigkeit, Willkür, Korruption

Auch für Barra fel Share‘ sind Ungerechtigkeit am Arbeitsplatz, polizeiliche Willkür und Korruption die inhaltlichen Ausgangspunkte: Die Kamera begleitet eine Gruppe von zehn Fabrikarbeitern in Helwan, einem Viertel von Kairo. Sie alle kennen die tagtägliche Ausbeutung. Sie müssen mit ihr leben, um zu überleben. Als sie eines Tages anfangen, gegen die Zustände zu rebellieren, riskieren sie weit mehr als nur den Verlust ihres Arbeitsplatzes.

Metwaly und Rizk brechen die Linse, durch die der Zuschauer den Film sieht, dabei gleich doppelt: Zum einen sind die Arbeiter engagierte Laienschauspieler, die im wirklichen Leben ganz ähnliche Berufe und Probleme haben wie im Film. Zum anderen stellen sie die Missstände in der Fabrik mithilfe eines inszenierten Theaterworkshops dar. Die Regisseure hielten sich hierbei bewusst zurück, ließen sich und den Schauspielern Raum für Improvisationen. Es gab einen klaren Beginn, aber kein Skript, im Vordergrund stand der Prozess des gemeinsamen Arbeitens.

Reduktion auf den Inhalt

Barra fel Share‘ experimentiert mit verschiedenen Stilmitteln. Durch die Videoästhetik, in der die Kamera stets nah an den Darstellern ist, und das Theaterhafte, das mit nur den nötigsten Requisiten auskommt, gelingt Metwaly und Rizk in eindrucksvoller Deutlichkeit die Reduktion auf den Inhalt: Ein Leben ohne Sicherheit, ohne jedes Fangnetz. Ein Leben „draußen auf der Straße“. Dass man den Film als Metapher für die derzeitige Situation in Ägypten verstehen kann, ist durchaus gewollt.