Berlinale Blog A volcanic debut

“Ixcanul” by Jayro Bustamante
“Ixcanul” by Jayro Bustamante | Photo (detail): © La Casa de Producción

For the first time in the history of the Berlinale, a Guatemalan film is in the running for the Golden Bear. “Ixcanul” is Jayro Bustamante’s impressive directorial debut.

Ixcanul means volcano in Kaqchikel, a Mayan language. The Kaqchikel are an indigenous people who live in the highlands of Guatemala. And this is where Jayro Bustamante’s film Ixcanul is set. It tells the story of Maria, a 17-year-old Kaqchikel girl who lives with her parents in a small house at the foot of the volcano. The family live in poverty: a small farm and their jobs on the coffee plantation are all they have.

A good catch

The girl is in love with Pepe, a boy from the village, whose only thought is of emigrating to the US. Maria wants to go with him, but her family would never allow that. Above all because her mother already has other plans for her: she is to marry Ignacio, the administrator of the coffee plantation. Doubtless a good catch for her family.

But Maria doesn’t want to submit to an arranged marriage and will go to any lengths to leave her oppressive life behind. When she accidentally becomes pregnant, Pepe takes off for the north without her, which makes everything even more complicated. But there’s a surprise twist at the end of the film.

Young Maria is like the seething force inside the volcano that wants out to explore the world. But this yearning for freedom is stifled by the mother. The ongoing confrontation between these two characters makes for a spontaneous and authentic narrative approach, which is reinforced by the very documentary quality of the film. This film can definitely be regarded as a candidate for the Golden Bear.

Double debut

Ixcanul is a double debut. It’s the first time in the festival’s history that a film from Guatemala is screening in the main competition for the Golden Bear, a momentous signal for the aspiring Central American motion picture industry. It’s also the debut of Guatemalan director Jayro Bustamante.

And Bustamante has come out with an impressive first feature. Working with an amateur cast, he has succeeded in telling a solid story on a shoestring budget. And their exertions have proved worthwhile. After the screening at the Berlinale, the audience gave the film a long round of applause.

Berlinale-Blogger Ein Debüt wie ein Vulkanausbruch

„Ixcanul“ von Jayro Bustamante
„Ixcanul“ von Jayro Bustamante | Foto (Ausschnitt): © La Casa de Producción

Erstmals in der Geschichte der Berlinale steht ein Film aus Guatemala im Wettbewerb um den Goldenen Bären. „Ixcanul“ von Jayro Bustamante ist ein beeindruckendes Regiedebüt.

In der Maya-Sprache der Kakchiquel bedeutet „Ixcanul“ Vulkan. Das indigene Volk der Kakchiquel lebt im Hochland von Guatemala. Dort spielt der Film Ixcanul von Jayro Bustamante. Er erzählt die Geschichte von Maria, einer 17-jährigen Kakchiquel-Frau. Sie lebt mit ihren Eltern in einem kleinen Haus am Fuß des Vulkans. Die Familie lebt in Armut: Ein kleiner Bauernhof und die Arbeit auf der Kaffeeplantage sind alles, was sie haben.

Eine gute Partie

Das junge Mädchen ist verliebt in Pepe, ein Junge aus dem Dorf, der nur daran denkt, in die USA auszuwandern. Maria will mit ihm gehen. Ihre Familie würde dies aber niemals zulassen. Vor allem deshalb nicht, weil ihre Mutter bereits andere Pläne für sie hat: Sie soll Ignacio heiraten, den Verwalter der Kaffeeplantage. Für die Familie zweifellos eine gute Partie.
 
Maria möchte sich nicht auf eine arrangierte Ehe einlassen und alles Erdenkliche tun, um ihr bedrückendes Leben hinter sich zu lassen. Sie wird ungewollt schwanger und Pepe flüchtet ohne sie Richtung Norden. Das macht alles noch komplizierter. Am Ende nimmt der Film aber eine überraschende Wendung.

Die junge Maria ist wie die brodelnde Kraft im Innern des Vulkans, die heraus möchte, um die Welt zu erkunden. Dieses Streben nach Freiheit wird jedoch von der Mutter unterdrückt. Die fortwährende Konfrontation dieser beiden Figuren sorgt für eine spontane und authentische Erzählweise, die noch verstärkt wird durch den sehr dokumentarischen Charakter des Films. Der Film kann durchaus als Kandidat für den Goldenen Bären betrachtet werden.

Doppeltes Debüt

Ixcanul ist in doppelter Hinsicht ein Debüt. Erstmals in der Geschichte des Festivals steht ein Film aus Guatemala im Wettbewerb um den Goldenen Bären, ein bedeutendes Signal an die aufstrebende mittelamerikanische Filmbranche. Aber es ist auch das Debüt des guatemaltekischen Regisseurs Jayro Bustamante.

Und Bustamante hat ein beeindruckendes Erstlingswerk abgeliefert. Er hat mit Laiendarstellern gearbeitet und es geschafft, mit minimalem Budget eine solide Geschichte zu erzählen. Die Kraftanstrengung hat sich gelohnt. Nach der Vorführung auf der Berlinale gab es lange anhaltenden Applaus..