Berlinale Blog When one door closes …

“Beauty and the Right to the Ugly”
“Beauty and the Right to the Ugly” | Photo (detail): © Wilfried Lentz Rotterdam, Wendelien van Oldenborgh

This year’s exhibition in the Forum Expanded section of the Berlinale is called “To the Sound of the Closing Door”. Despite the name, the video installations actually open doors to fascinating stories.

As a film critic, I must admit that I spend a lot more time in cinemas than in art exhibitions, so my experience in this domain is limited. I was nonetheless very keen to visit the Forum Expanded and firmly resolved to approach the somewhat abstract works – somewhere in-between art and film – with an open mind. The Forum Expanded is all about film programmes that question conventional narrative formats. More than 20 installations by artists from more than 20 countries are on show in two galleries at the Akademie der Künste on Hanseatenweg. The leitmotif connecting the various works is that of doors and gates as the points of transition into other worlds.

Everyday situations that make political statements

In Roy Dib’s A Spectacle of Privacy, for example, the conversation between a pair of lovers is documented. Dissatisfied with the relationship, the woman compares their problems to the conflict between Israel and Palestine. In her opinion, this political conflict – just like the couple’s personal conflicts – should be resolved with more love and trust. The conversation is accompanied by highly intimate pictures of the couple on three screens  – the two of them naked on the bed, the man taking a shower. All that can be seen are their bodies, as their heads have been cropped off the top of the images. By opening a “door“ into the couple’s private life, Roy Dip succeeds in visualizing the way in which private and political questions overlap and influence one another.

A true community of artists   

Het Karregat, an old Dutch community centre, is the central focus of Wendelien van Oldenborgh’s Beauty and the Right to the Ugly. Opened in the 1970s, it offered the local community open and innovative schools, youth clubs, healthcare and stages for artists over the course of several decades. The centre was designed by the architect Frank Van Klingeren such that it would be as open as possible, without any internal walls, so as to provide space and scope for it to be used however people wanted. It is now being converted to serve a new purpose, however. Van Oldenborgh has taken this as an opportunity to open the doors to this one-time community centre one final time and interview its former members. She presents her work on three screens set up in a triangle. The title the artist has given to her short films is “Experiments don’t need to succeed, they just need to exist”.

Even if the era of Het Karregat may be finished, my experiment – my excursion into the world of video installations – was a resounding success. Fascinated by the depicted stories, which at once informed and touched me in much the same way as films do, I return to the big cinemas at Potsdamer Platz.

Berlinale-Blogger Wenn sich eine Türe schließt …

„Beauty and the Right to the Ugly“
„Beauty and the Right to the Ugly“ | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Wilfried Lentz Rotterdam, Wendelien van Oldenborgh

„To the Sound of the Closing Door“ heißt die diesjährige Ausstellung der Berlinale-Sektion Forum Expanded. Im Gegensatz zu ihrem Titel öffnen die Videoinstallationen Türen zu faszinierenden Geschichten.

Als Filmkritikerin, das muss ich ehrlich gestehen, halte ich mich sehr viel mehr in Kinos als in Kunstausstellungen auf. Daher habe ich wenig Erfahrung in diesem Bereich. Doch ich war sehr gespannt darauf das Forum Expanded zu besuchen und fest entschlossen, mich auf die eher abstrakten Arbeiten zwischen Kunst und Film einzulassen. Das Programm des Forum Expanded steht für Filmprogramme, die klassische Erzählformate in Frage stellen. In der Akademie der Künste am Hanseatenweg werden in zwei Hallen über 20 Installationen von Künstlern aus mehr als 20 Ländern gezeigt. Das Thema, Türen und Tore als Übergang in andere Welten, zieht sich durch die Arbeiten wie ein roter Faden.

Alltagssituationen mit politischen Aussagen

In A Spectacle of Privacy von Roy Dib, zum Beispiel, wird das Gespräch eines Liebespaares dokumentiert. Unzufrieden mit der Beziehung, vergleicht die Frau die Probleme der beiden mit dem Konflikt zwischen Israel und Palästina. Ihrer Meinung nach wäre der politische Konflikt ebenso mit mehr Liebe und Vertrauen zu lösen, wie die persönlichen Konflikte des Paares. Das Gespräch wird unterlegt mit sehr privaten Bildern der beiden, auf drei Leinwänden – beide nackt auf dem Bett, er unter der Dusche. Nur ihre Körper sieht man, die Köpfe sind am oberen Bildrand abgeschnitten. Indem Roy Dip die „Tür“ in das Privatleben des Paares öffnet, gelingt es ihm, die Durchdringung von privaten und politischen Fragen sichtbar zu machen.

Eine wahre Künstlergemeinschaft   

Das alte niederländische Gemeindezentrum Het Karregat steht im Zentrum von Wendelien van Oldenborghs Beauty and the Right to the Ugly. In den 1970er Jahren eröffnet, bot es für die umliegende Gemeinde jahrzehntelang offene, innovative Schulen, Jugendklubs, ärztliche Betreuung und Bühnen für Künstler. Das Zentrum wurde einst von dem Architekten Frank Van Klingeren so konstruiert, dass es möglichst offen, ohne Zwischenwände, Raum für freie Entfaltung bietet. Doch nun wird es umgebaut, um neue Funktionen zu erfüllen. Van Oldenborgh nimmt dies zum Anlass, die Türen zu diesem einmaligen Gemeindezentrum ein letztes Mal zu öffnen um frühere Mitglieder des Hauses zu interviewen. Auf drei Leinwänden, die in einem Dreieck aufgestellt sind, präsentiert sie ihre Arbeit. Den zweiten Teil ihrer kurzen Filme betitelt die Künstlerin mit den Worten „Experiments don’t need to succeed, they just need to exist“.

Auch wenn die Zeit des Het Karregat vorbei sein mag, mein Experiment, der Ausflug in die Welt der Videoinstallationen, war ein voller Erfolg. Fasziniert von den dargestellten Geschichten, die mich zugleich informiert und berührt haben, eben so wie es Spielfilme vermögen, kehre ich zu den großen Kinos am Potsdamer Platz zurück.