Berlinale Blog “A love letter to cinema”: The winners at the Berlinale

Golden Bear: “Taxi” by Jafar Panahi – Hana Saeidi, the niece of director Jafar Panahi, accepted the prize on his behalf.
Golden Bear: “Taxi” by Jafar Panahi – Hana Saeidi, the niece of director Jafar Panahi, accepted the prize on his behalf. | Photo: Richard Hübner © Berlinale 2015

Iranian director and regime critic Jafar Panahi takes the Golden Bear for “Taxi”, Charlotte Rampling and Tom Courtenay Silver Bears for best acting in Andrew Haigh’s splendid chamber drama “45 Years”.

Hanna Saeidi stretches her arm, holding the Golden Bear high and smiling from ear to ear. She’s Jafar Panahi’s niece. His wonderful film Taxi has just won the Bear, but Panahi is not attending. The regime critic is under house arrest at home in Iran, where he shot the film although banned from filmmaking. Taxi is “a love letter to cinema”, said jury president Darren Aronofsky upon announcing the winner. The jury’s decision is a clear-cut signal, a plea for artistic liberty and freedom of speech.

Three Silver Bears go to Latin America

For their splendid acting in Andrew Haigh’s domestic tragedy 45 Years, Charlotte Rampling and Tom Courtenay were each awarded a Silver Bear. Three more Silver Bears went to Latin America: Patricio Guzmán’s at times overly emotional documentary The Pearl Button won for best screenplay, Pablo Larain’s powerful drama about clerical abuse El Club was awarded the Jury Grand Prix (i.e. runner-up to Taxi for best film) and the Alfred Bauer Prize (for opening new perspectives on cinematic art) was quite rightly conferred on Jayro Bustamante’s impressive Ixcanul Volcano. The jury was split on best directing between the Romanian Radu Jude (Aferim!) and the Polish filmmaker Malgorzata Szumowska (Body).

Schipper’s “Victoria” honoured for outstanding artistic achievement

Sturla Brandth Grøvlen, DoP for the German film Victoria (R.: Sebastian Schipper), received the award for outstanding artistic achievement for his cinematography. The cameramen for the Russian Under Electric Clouds were also honoured for their work in this category. We only wish Schipper’s splendid, powerful drama with its captivating leads (Laia Costa and Frederick Lau) had been awarded another distinction or two.

Berlinale-Blogger „Ein Liebesbrief ans Kino“ – die Gewinner der Berlinale

Goldener Bär: „Taxi“ von Jafar Panahi – Hana Saeidi, die Nichte des Regisseurs Jafar Panahi, nahm den Preis stellvertretend entgegen.
Goldener Bär: „Taxi“ von Jafar Panahi – Hana Saeidi, die Nichte des Regisseurs Jafar Panahi, nahm den Preis stellvertretend entgegen. | Foto: Richard Hübner © Berlinale 2015

Der iranische Regisseur und Regimekritiker Jafar Panahi erhält den Goldenen Bären für seinen Film „Taxi“. Die Schauspieler Charlotte Rampling und Tom Courtenay werden für ihr grandioses Kammerspiel in Andrew Haighs „45 Years" ausgezeichnet.

Hanna Saeidi streckt den Arm nach oben, hält den Goldenen Bären in die Höhe und strahlt über das ganze Gesicht. Sie ist die Nichte von Jafar Panahi. Dessen wunderbarer Film Taxi hat gerade den Goldenen Bären gewonnen, doch Panahi selbst ist nicht anwesend. Der iranische Regimekritiker steht in seiner Heimat unter Hausarrest, den Film hatte er dort trotz Berufsverbots gedreht. Taxi sei „ein Liebesbrief ans Kino“, sagte Jury-Präsident Darren Aronofsky, als er den Gewinner verkündete. Mit ihrer Entscheidung setzte die Jury ein deutliches Zeichen für die Kunst- und Meinungsfreiheit.

Drei Silberne Bären gehen nach Lateinamerika

Für ihre grandiosen darstellerischen Leistungen in Andrew Haighs Ehetragödie 45 Years erhielten Charlotte Rampling und Tom Courtenay jeweils den Silbernen Bären. Gleich drei Silberne Bären gingen nach Lateinamerika. Patricio Guzmáns mitunter sehr gefühlsüberladener Dokumentarfilm El botón de nácar (Der Perlmuttknopf) erhielt den Preis für das beste Drehbuch, Pablo Larraíns eindringliches Missbrauchs-Drama El Club erhielt den Großen Preis der Jury, und der Alfred-Bauer-Preis ging völlig zu Recht an Jayro Bustamantes beeindruckenden Film Ixcanul. Der Bär für die beste Regie wiederum wurde geteilt, zwischen dem Rumänen Radu Jude (Aferim!) und der Polin Malgorzata Szumowska (Body).

Schippers „Victoria“ erhält Nebenpreis

Sturla Brandth Grøvlen, der Kameramann des deutschen Films Victoria unter der Regie von Sebastian Schipper, erhielt den Preis für eine herausragende künstlerische Leistung. In dieser Sparte wurden auch die Kameramänner des russischen Films Under Electric Clouds geehrt. Allerdings hätte man Schippers großartigem, kraftvollem Drama mit seinen hinreißenden Hauptdarstellern (Laia Costa, Frederick Lau) durchaus noch die eine oder andere Auszeichnung gewünscht.