Pro Quote Regie Highly-qualified female seeks …

Only a good fifth of German cinema films are produced by women.
Only a good fifth of German cinema films are produced by women. | Photo (detail): © Sarah F.J. Hill - Fotolia.com

German female directors are underemployed in the German film and television industry, a situation that equal opportunities initiative Pro Quote Regie has been mobilizing against since 2014. The discussion is as topical as ever.

In cinemas across Germany, sixteen German productions in all were released in August 2015, yet just three of them were the work of female directors.

The figures are symptomatic of the German film and television industry, as film-policy information service black box discovered. It found that the German Federal Film Fund (DFFF) provided 62 million euros to fund 115 film projects in 2013, just under a tenth of the total being awarded to thirteen film projects by female directors.

A quota for female directors

Many female filmmakers see this as proof that they do not have the same opportunities on the employment market as their male colleagues. One of them is the director Bettina Schoeller-Bouju: “We have only ever blamed ourselves when we were rejected by producers, editors and film funding organizations”, she explains. In her view, however, the “unequivocal figures” reveal “an inherent problem in the industry”, namely that women tend only rarely to be engaged as directors.

To redress this, she joined forces with eleven other female directors and founded the equal opportunities initiative Pro Quote Regie e.V., launching a public appeal in October 2014. The initiative calls for a staggered quota which by 2024 would see women placed on an equal footing with their male colleagues when directorial jobs are awarded in film and television. In addition, the initiative appeals for studies of the careers and working situations of female directors to be conducted, and for parity when it comes to the members of decision-making bodies: for example, just one woman at present sits on the thirteen-member grant allocation committee of the German Federal Film Board (FFA).

Artistic quality versus allocation of funding?

But in calling for a quota, are female filmmakers not also admitting that they are unable to gain a foothold of their own accord? “A quota is really a crutch”, explains Schoeller-Bouju, “but a system in which there is such unequal treatment first has to be changed from the outside.” Critics also raise the point that it is the quality of the film that counts, not whether it was made by a man or a woman. Even Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media Monika Grütters, who certainly sympathizes with the demands made by Pro Quote Regie, explained in an interview with German news magazine Der Spiegel that there is no room for a quota in the cultural domain, claiming that it is a matter “solely of artistic merit”. As Barbara Rohm from Pro Quote Regie points out, however, this would mean that audiences were currently being shown only the best in cinemas and at home. “This discussion is not about quality but quite clearly about the allocation of funding.” Which evidently tends to favour men. For instance, the first director diversity report to be published by the German Federal Association of Directors (BVR) in November 2014 revealed that only a good fifth of German cinema films are produced by women. This imbalance is even more striking when it comes to films for television – female-directed fictional films screened at prime time by public service broadcasters account for a mere eleven percent of the total.

Sweden as a role model

How can this phenomenon be explained? “The good female directors are booked up for years in advance, with the result that a man will end up being given the job after all”, is how WDR programming director Gebhard Henke explains the allocation practice in an article in the specialist magazine Blickpunkt:Film. This view is also shared by Christine Strobl, general manager of the ARD subsidiary DEGETO. When a woman refuses a job offer, the idea of searching “consciously for a different female director” is not yet “sufficiently anchored in people’s heads”. By contrast, the difficulties of reconciling a family with a career are highlighted in the article by Liane Jessen, television film director at Hessischer Rundfunk. Pro Quote Regie finds these arguments impossible to understand. A shortage of qualified female directors? The equal opportunities initiative found in its research that 42 percent of graduate directors are female. And as far as striking a balance between family life and a career is concerned, it points out that both parents are responsible for bringing up children nowadays, “just like in all other professions”.

It is partly because of such explanations that Pro Quote Regie believes that a quota is urgently needed. As Bettina Schoeller-Bouju and Bettina Rohm are well aware, anyone who is not known to television companies will have less chance of securing funding for a film project. This is because the German funding system tends to insist on the involvement of television companies. But what instruments could be used to achieve equal opportunities for female directors? “It would make sense for example to offer producers a financial incentive to work together with women”, says Barbara Rohm. Sweden serves as a role model for the initiative – a film agreement between the government, parliament, film producers and TV companies there stipulates that half of the film funding budget will have to be awarded to female directors, screenplay writers or producers from the end of 2015.

Opening up different perspectives

Pro Quote Regie believes that one success of its initiative is that its appeal a year ago made many people in the industry and in politics aware for the first time that female directors were being disadvantaged. DEGETO, which produces around 100 feature films and series for public-service broadcaster ARD each year, has now committed itself to awarding 20 percent of all contracts to women. Pro Quote Regie sees this as sending out an important signal. It is after all “fundamentally important for stories to be told in different ways and from as many different perspectives as possible”, as Bettina Schoeller-Bouju explains. “So that the diversity in our society is also reflected in the media”.

Pro Quote Regie Weiblich, ausgebildet, sucht …

Nur etwa ein Fünftel der deutschen Kinofilme sind von Frauen inszeniert.
Nur etwa ein Fünftel der deutschen Kinofilme sind von Frauen inszeniert. | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Sarah F.J. Hill - Fotolia.com

Deutsche Regisseurinnen sind unterbeschäftigt in der Film- und Fernsehlandschaft. Um das zu ändern, wurde 2014 der Gleichstellungsverein Pro Quote Regie ins Leben gerufen. Die Diskussion ist noch immer aktuell.

Im August 2015 sind in den Kinos in Deutschland bundesweit 16 deutsche Produktionen angelaufen. Nur drei davon waren unter weiblicher Regie entstanden.

Die Zahlen sind symptomatisch für die deutsche Film- und Fernsehbranche, wie der filmpolitische Informationsdienst black box herausfand. Demnach unterstützte im Jahr 2013 der Deutsche Filmförderfonds (DFFF) 115 Filmprojekte mit insgesamt 62 Millionen Euro. Ein knappes Zehntel davon ging an 13 Filmprojekte von Regisseurinnen.

Eine Quote für Regisseurinnen

Viele Filmemacherinnen sehen darin einen Beweis, dass sie auf dem Arbeitsmarkt nicht die gleichen Chancen haben wie ihre männlichen Kollegen. So auch die Regisseurin Bettina Schoeller-Bouju: „Wir haben den Grund für Absagen von Produzenten, Redakteuren und Filmförderern immer nur bei uns selbst gesucht“, erklärt sie. Die „eindeutigen Zahlen“ offenbaren ihrer Ansicht nach jedoch „ein systemimmanentes Problem der Branche“, nämlich dass Frauen generell nur selten für Regieposten engagiert werden.

Zusammen mit elf weiteren Regisseurinnen gründete sie deshalb den Gleichstellungsverein Pro Quote Regie und ging im Oktober 2014 mit einem Appell an die Öffentlichkeit. Die Forderung der Initiative: eine gestaffelte Quote, die bis 2024 Frauen bei der Verteilung von Regieaufträgen für Film und Fernsehen gleichstellt. Zudem plädiert die Initiative für Studien zum Werdegang und zur Arbeitssituation von Regisseurinnen, aber auch für die paritätische Besetzung von Entscheidungsgremien: So sitzt beispielsweise in der 13-köpfigen Vergabekommission der Filmförderanstalt FFA derzeit nur eine Frau.

Künstlerische Qualität versus Verteilung?

Doch gestehen die Filmemacherinnen mit ihrem Ruf nach der Quote nicht auch ein, dass sie sich nicht aus eigener Kraft etablieren können? „Eine Quote ist eigentlich eine Krücke“, erklärt Schoeller-Bouju, „aber man muss ein System, in dem eine derartige Ungleichbehandlung herrscht, erst einmal von außen verändern.“ Kritische Stimmen führen zudem an, dass die Güte des Films zähle und weniger die Frage, ob ein Mann oder eine Frau ihn gemacht habe. Auch die Staatsministerin für Kultur und Medien, Monika Grütters, die mit den Forderungen von Pro Quote Regie durchaus sympathisiert, erklärte in einem Interview mit dem Nachrichtenmagazin Der Spiegel, eine Quote habe im Kulturbetrieb keinen Platz. Da ginge es „nur um künstlerische Klasse“. Das allerdings würde bedeuten, dass im Kino oder zu Hause derzeit nur das Beste zu sehen sei, gibt Barbara Rohm von Pro Quote Regie zu bedenken. „Es geht bei dieser Diskussion nicht um Qualität, sondern ganz klar um Verteilung.“ Und die fällt offensichtlich zugunsten von Männern aus. So zeigt der im November 2014 veröffentlichte erste Regie-Diversitätsbericht vom Bundesverband Regie (BVR), dass nur gut ein Fünftel der deutschen Kinofilme von Frauen inszeniert sind. Beim Fernsehfilm spitzt sich diese Schieflage noch zu. Ihr Anteil liegt im fiktionalen Hauptabendprogramm der öffentlich-rechtlichen Sender bei nur elf Prozent.

Schweden als Vorbild

Wie ist dieses Phänomen zu erklären? „Die guten Regisseurinnen sind auf Jahre hinaus ausgebucht, sodass am Ende doch wieder ein Mann beauftragt wird“, erläutert der WDR-Programmbereichsleiter Gebhard Henke in einem Artikel des Fachmagazins Blickpunkt:Film die Vergabepraxis. Diese Beobachtung teilt auch die Geschäftsführerin der ARD-Tochter DEGETO, Christine Strobl. Es sei noch nicht „genügend in den Köpfen verankert“, bei der Absage einer Frau „bewusst nach einer anderen Regisseurin“ zu suchen. Die Fernsehfilmchefin des Hessischen Rundfunks Liane Jessen verweist im Artikel dagegen auf die schlechte Vereinbarkeit von Familie und Beruf. Pro Quote Regie kann diesen Argumenten nicht folgen. Ein Mangel an qualifizierten Regisseurinnen? 42 Prozent der Regieabsolventen sind weiblich, hat der Gleichstellungsverein recherchiert. Und was das Spannungsverhältnis Familie und Beruf betrifft, hätten heutzutage „wie bei allen anderen Berufsgruppen“ beide Elternteile die Verantwortung für die Kindererziehung.

Auch angesichts solcher Aussagen erscheint Pro Quote Regie die Einführung einer Quote dringlich. Wer in den Fernsehredaktionen nicht bekannt sei, sagen Bettina Schoeller-Bouju und Bettina Rohm, habe auch weniger Aussicht auf die erfolgreiche Förderung eines Filmprojekts. Schließlich schreibe das deutsche Fördersystem meist die Beteiligung des Fernsehens vor. Doch mit welchen Instrumenten kann die Chancengleichheit für Regisseurinnen erreicht werden? „Sinnvoll wäre es etwa, Produzenten finanzielle Anreize zu bieten, wenn sie mit Frauen zusammenarbeiten“, erklärt Barbara Rohm. Schweden dient dem Verein als Vorbild. Ein Film-Agreement zwischen Regierung, Parlament, Filmproduzenten und TV-Sendern legt dort fest, dass ab Ende 2015 die Hälfte des Filmförderungsbudgets an Regisseurinnen, Drehbuchautorinnen oder Produzentinnen vergeben werden muss.

Verschiedene Perspektiven ermöglichen

Dass der Aufruf 2014 vielen, die in der Filmbranche und Politik tätig sind, die Benachteiligung von Regisseurinnen erst bewusst gemacht habe, wertet Pro Quote Regie als Erfolg ihrer Initiative. Die DEGETO, die jährlich rund 100 Spielfilme und Serien für die ARD produziert, hat sich mittlerweile verpflichtet, 20 Prozent aller Aufträge an Frauen zu vergeben. Für Pro Quote Regie ist dies ein wichtiges Signal. Schließlich sei es „grundsätzlich wichtig, dass Geschichten auf unterschiedliche Arten und aus möglichst verschiedenen Perspektiven erzählt werden“, so Bettina Schoeller-Bouju, „damit sich die Diversität unserer Gesellschaft auch in den Medien widerspiegelt“.