“Western” Movie Encountering the Other

Just as in a traditional “Western” plot: Construction worker Meinhard is riding a horse.
Just as in a traditional “Western” plot: Construction worker Meinhard is riding a horse. | © 2017 Komplizen Film, Chouchkov Brothers, coop99, KNM

How do we interact with strangers and engage with foreign countries? The film “Western” tells the story of German construction workers sent to build a hydroelectric power station in Bulgaria, where their encounters with local villagers do not, to put it mildly, always go smoothly.

An almost forgotten genre used to tell a very topical story: German director Valeska Grisebach’s third feature film, Western, is exactly what the name would seem to indicate. The reimagined Western has garnered critical acclaim since premiering at the 2017 Cannes Film Festival. This may in part be because it addresses migration and xenophobia, the hot topics dominating debate in Europe today. In Western, Grisebach portrays how people from two European countries come to a better understanding, sometimes even finding friendship, despite very different cultures and languages.

Modern Western in Eastern Europe

“As a genre, the Western I grew up with in 1970s West Berlin still holds a unique, homey fascination for me,” Grisebach says. As the setting for her first Western, she chose the same backdrop against which Winnetou and Old Shatterhand, played by Pierre Brice and Lex Barker in the 1960s, once swore an oath of brotherhood. Many of the popular German films based on the books of Karl May were in fact shot in the Balkans instead of the USA.


Unlike its predecessors, Western is not set in America though. It takes place here, in rural Bulgaria, where a group of German construction workers has been sent to build a hydroelectric power station along a river. Against a backdrop of sweeping landscape tableaus, Grisebach’s tale follows the construction team as they get to know the unfamiliar region. The men seem to view Bulgaria as a kind of Wild West, where the usual rules and civilizing forces don’t apply.

Grisebach’s narrative also adopts an element of the traditional Western plot: an archetypical conflict between two male protagonists. Here the showdown is between considerate, charming Meinhard, the one German newcomer interested in initiating contact with the villagers, and sexist, violence-prone Vincent, who exhibits distain for the locals. Meinhard is portrayed as a “lonesome cowboy”, a quiet outsider. While he initially claims, “I am here to earn money,” it soon becomes apparent that he is looking for much more, for a sense of home and belonging, and a new cultural identity in this foreign land.
 
The film begins as a character and milieu study focused on the dynamics within the group of men – braggadocio around women, ritualized machismo, and coarse conversations, but also moments of friendship and solidarity around the evening campfire. The film is unique in that it features amateur actors, “real” construction workers, some of whom Grisebach approached on the street. Like main character Meinhard Neumann, who she happened to spot at Pferdemarkt Fair in the town of Havelberg near Berlin: “It was like suddenly being face to face with a film icon, as if he had climbed straight out of a Western from the thirties or forties, and was ready to climb right into my film.” Others, like scaffolder Reinhardt Wetrek who plays Vincent, auditioned for their roles. The actors were involved in writing the dialogues, and each speaks his native dialect, lending the performances a very natural flow.

  • The film “Western” tells the story of German construction workers sent to build a hydroelectric power station in Bulgaria. © 2017 Komplizen Film, Chouchkov Brothers, coop99, KNM
    The film “Western” tells the story of German construction workers sent to build a hydroelectric power station in Bulgaria.
  • The workers seem to view Bulgaria as a kind of Wild West: they raise the German flag over their camp and aggressively hit on the village women. © 2017 Komplizen Film, Chouchkov Brothers, coop99, KNM
    The workers seem to view Bulgaria as a kind of Wild West: they raise the German flag over their camp and aggressively hit on the village women.
  • The considerate, charming construction worker Meinhard (Meinhard Neuman) is the one German newcomer interested in initiating contact with the villagers. © 2017 Komplizen Film, Chouchkov Brothers, coop99, KNM
    The considerate, charming construction worker Meinhard (Meinhard Neuman) is the one German newcomer interested in initiating contact with the villagers.
  • Meinhard befriends the village bigwig Adrian, and while the two men often seem to talk at cross-purposes, they come to understand either other on a more emotional level. © 2017 Komplizen Film, Chouchkov Brothers, coop99, KNM
    Meinhard befriends the village bigwig Adrian, and while the two men often seem to talk at cross-purposes, they come to understand either other on a more emotional level.
  • As the setting for her first Western, director Valeska Grisebac chose rural Bulgaria as backdrop. © 2017 Komplizen Film, Chouchkov Brothers, coop99, KNM
    As the setting for her first Western, director Valeska Grisebac chose rural Bulgaria as backdrop.
  • Is Meinhard the winner? As such, there are no clear-cut winners or losers in “Western”. © 2017 Komplizen Film, Chouchkov Brothers, coop99, KNM
    Is Meinhard the winner? As such, there are no clear-cut winners or losers in “Western”.

Mishaps and misunderstandings

Bit by bit the film depicts the first interactions between the visiting Germans and local Bulgarians. Logistical problems repeatedly slow down construction on the hydroelectric power station, giving the men time to explore the area. But initiating contact with the inhabitants of a neighbouring village is not always easy, and that’s putting it mildly. This is due in large part to the visitors’ boorish behaviour, as they raise the German flag over their camp and aggressively hit on the village women.
 
The language barrier often leads to miscommunications. Both construction workers and the villagers exclusively speak their respective mother tongue, and only have a very rudimentary command of English, if at all. The dialogue was not dubbed, which serves to highlight the mishaps and misunderstandings. Grisebach places her audience squarely between the two worlds, as viewers follow both sides of the dialogue via subtitles.
 
The film also shows how communication can sometimes transcend cultural and language barriers. Meinhard befriends the village bigwig Adrian, and while the two men often seem to talk at cross-purposes, they come to understand either other on a more emotional level. In one particularly moving scene, Meinhard talks about the trauma of losing his brother. And although Adrian can’t speak a word of German, he immediately understands that Meinhard is sharing a tragic story.
 
Western doesn’t come to a conclusion about the right way to approach the other, and there is no definitive division into good and evil as in a classic Western. As such, there are no clear-cut winners or losers either. The film refrains from giving a pat answer and provides ample food for thought. This is cinema that explores and investigates, reflecting the challenges of our time as it tries to identify the best way forward.

Valeska grisebach

A director and lecturer at the Deutsche Film- und Fernsehakademie Berlin (i.e. German Film and Television Academy Berlin), Valeska Grisebach was born in Bremen in 1968 and grew up in and still lives and works in Berlin. After completing a degree in philosophy and German studies, she enrolled at the Filmakademie Wien (i.e. Film Academy Vienna) in 1993. Her 2001 thesis film Mein Stern (i.e. Be My Star) won a number of awards, as did her second film, Sehnsucht (i.e. Longing), presented at Berlin’s international film festival, the Berlinale in 2006. Western is her third feature film, which premiered at the 2017 Cannes Film Festival.

Film „Western“ Dem Fremden begegnen

Wie in einem klassischen Western: Der Bauarbeiter Meinhard lernt ein wildes Pferd reiten.
Wie in einem klassischen Western: Der Bauarbeiter Meinhard lernt ein wildes Pferd reiten. | © 2017 Komplizen Film, Chouchkov Brothers, coop99, KNM

Ein moderner Western im Osten Europas: „Western“ erzählt von deutschen Bauarbeitern, die in Bulgarien ein Wasserkraftwerk errichten und dabei auf die Dorfbevölkerung treffen. Das Kennenlernen gestaltet sich, gelinde gesagt, nicht immer einfach.

Ein fast schon vergessenes Genre, um ein hochaktuelles Thema zu erzählen: Western, der dritte Spielfilm der deutschen Regisseurin Valeska Grisebach, ist eben das – ein Western. Seit seiner Premiere bei den Filmfestspielen in Cannes 2017 loben ihn die Filmkritiker. Dies hat sicher auch damit zu tun, dass die Themen Migration und Fremdenfeindlichkeit im Jahr des Festivals die politische Debatte in Europa dominieren. Grisebach beschreibt in Western, wie sich Menschen aus zwei europäischen Ländern trotz aller kultureller Unterschiede und Sprachbarrieren annähern – und auch, wie zumindest einige von ihnen in Freundschaft zueinander finden.

„Eine eigenartige heimelige Faszination“

„Das Genre Western, mit dem ich in den Siebzigerjahren in West-Berlin großgeworden bin, übt bis heute ungebrochen eine eigenartige heimelige Faszination auf mich aus“, erzählt Grisebach. Für ihren ersten Western wählt sie denn auch die Kulisse, vor der sich in den 1960er-Jahren bereits Pierre Brice und Lex Barker als Winnetou und Old Shatterhand Blutsbrüderschaft schworen: Viele der damals in Deutschland beliebten Karl-May-Verfilmungen wurden nicht in den USA, sondern auf dem Balkan gedreht.

Anders als in der Vorlage jedoch spielt die Geschichte von Western nicht in Amerika, sondern genau hier: in der Provinz Bulgariens. Eine Gruppe deutscher Bauarbeiter auf Auslandsmontage soll an einem Flusslauf ein Wasserkraftwerk errichten. In weitläufigen Landschaftstableaus porträtiert Grisebach die Männergruppe, die sich eine ihnen unbekannte Region erschließt: Bulgarien ist für die Arbeiter eine Art Wilder Westen – ein Ort fernab aller bekannten Regeln und zivilisatorischen Zwänge.

 
Auch dramaturgisch bedient sich Grisebach der Tradition des klassischen Westerns und besetzt die beiden Hauptrollen mit zwei rivalisierenden Männern. Zum einen ist dort der rücksichtsvolle und charmante Meinhard, der Einzige unter den deutschen Neuankömmlingen, der den Kontakt zu den bulgarischen Dorfbewohnern sucht. Und dann ist da Vincent, der sexistisch und gewalttätig auftritt und wenig Interesse an der lokalen Bevölkerung zeigt. Meinhard wird als „lonesome Cowboy“ porträtiert, als stiller Außenseiter, der zu Beginn erklärt: „Ich bin hier, um Geld zu verdienen.“ Doch schnell wird klar, dass er in der Fremde durchaus mehr sucht: Heimat, Zugehörigkeit, eine neue kulturelle Identität.
 
Der Film beginnt als Charakter- und Milieustudie, die die internen Dynamiken der Männergruppe zeigt – das Balzgehabe gegenüber Frauen, den ritualisierten Machismo, die grobschlächtigen Gespräche. Aber auch die Momente von Freundschaft und Solidarität am abendlichen Lagerfeuer. Was diese Situationen so besonders macht: Die Gruppe wird von Laienschauspielern dargestellt, von „echten“ Bauarbeitern, die Regisseurin Grisebach zum Teil auf der Straße angesprochen hat. Den Hauptdarsteller Meinhard Neumann beispielsweise habe sie auf einem Pferdemarkt in Havelberg in der Nähe von Berlin entdeckt: „Das war wie so eine Filmikone, die man plötzlich in der Wirklichkeit sieht. Als wäre er aus einem Western der Dreißiger- oder Vierzigerjahre rausspaziert und könnte jetzt in meinen Film reinspazieren.“ Andere Darsteller – wie den Gerüstbauer Reinhardt Wetrek, der Vincent spielt – habe sie über ein Casting gefunden. Dass die Darsteller die gemeinsam erarbeiteten Dialoge zudem in ihrem jeweiligen Dialekt sprechen, lässt sie auf besondere Weise natürlich wirken.

  • Der Film „Western“ erzählt von deutschen Bauarbeitern, die in Bulgarien ein Wasserkraftwerk errichten sollen. © 2017 Komplizen Film, Chouchkov Brothers, coop99, KNM
    Der Film „Western“ erzählt von deutschen Bauarbeitern, die in Bulgarien ein Wasserkraftwerk errichten sollen.
  • Bulgarien ist für die Arbeiter eine Art Wilder Westen: Sie hissen die deutsche Bundesflagge über ihrem Lager und baggern die Frauen des Dorfes aggressiv an. © 2017 Komplizen Film, Chouchkov Brothers, coop99, KNM
    Bulgarien ist für die Arbeiter eine Art Wilder Westen: Sie hissen die deutsche Bundesflagge über ihrem Lager und baggern die Frauen des Dorfes aggressiv an.
  • Der rücksichtsvolle und charmante Meinhard (Meinhard Neumann) ist der Einzige unter den deutschen Neuankömmlingen, der Kontakt zu den bulgarischen Dorfbewohnern sucht. © 2017 Komplizen Film, Chouchkov Brothers, coop99, KNM
    Der rücksichtsvolle und charmante Meinhard (Meinhard Neumann) ist der Einzige unter den deutschen Neuankömmlingen, der Kontakt zu den bulgarischen Dorfbewohnern sucht.
  • Meinhard freundet sich mit dem Dorf-Obersten Adrian (Syuleyman Alilov Letifov) an. Sie sprechen oft aneinander vorbei, verstehen sich aber auf einer anderen, eher emotionalen Ebene. © 2017 Komplizen Film, Chouchkov Brothers, coop99, KNM
    Meinhard freundet sich mit dem Dorf-Obersten Adrian (Syuleyman Alilov Letifov) an. Sie sprechen oft aneinander vorbei, verstehen sich aber auf einer anderen, eher emotionalen Ebene.
  • Als Schauplatz für ihren ersten Western hat Regisseurin Valeska Grisebach ein Dorf in Bulgarien gewählt. © 2017 Komplizen Film, Chouchkov Brothers, coop99, KNM
    Als Schauplatz für ihren ersten Western hat Regisseurin Valeska Grisebach ein Dorf in Bulgarien gewählt.
  • Ist Meinhard ein Held? Welche Herangehensweise im Umgang mit dem Fremden die Richtige ist, bleibt in „Western“ offen. © 2017 Komplizen Film, Chouchkov Brothers, coop99, KNM
    Ist Meinhard ein Held? Welche Herangehensweise im Umgang mit dem Fremden die Richtige ist, bleibt in „Western“ offen.

Das Publikum zwischen den Welten

Nach und nach zeigt der Film die ersten Begegnungen zwischen Deutschen und Bulgaren. Da Logistikprobleme immer wieder den Bau verzögern, geht die Arbeit an dem geplanten Wasserwerk nur langsam voran. Die Männer haben Zeit, die Gegend zu erkunden. Doch der Kontakt zu den Bewohnern des nahegelegenen Dorfs gestaltet sich – vorsichtig ausgedrückt – nicht immer einfach. Das liegt auch am Verhalten der Zugereisten: Sie hissen die deutsche Bundesflagge über ihrem Lager und baggern die Frauen des Dorfes aggressiv an.

Insbesondere an der Sprachbarriere scheitert die Kommunikation oft – sowohl Bauarbeiter als auch die Dorfbewohner sprechen jeweils in ihrer Muttersprache, Englisch beherrschen beide Seiten wenn, dann rudimentär. Die Dialoge werden nicht synchronisiert, wodurch die Missverständnisse besonders deutlich zu Tage treten. Grisebach positioniert das Kinopublikum zwischen den Welten: Durch Untertitel verstehen die Zuschauer stets beide Seiten des Gesprächs.

Der Film zeigt aber auch, wo Kommunikation trotz Sprach- und Kulturbarrieren funktionieren kann: Meinhard freundet sich schon bald mit dem Dorf-Obersten Adrian an. Auch sie sprechen oft aneinander vorbei, verstehen sich aber auf einer anderen, eher emotionalen Ebene. In einer besonders anrührenden Szene berichtet Meinhard vom traumatischen Verlust seines Bruders. Und obwohl Adrian kein Wort Deutsch spricht, erkennt er sofort, dass Meinhard etwas Trauriges erzählt.
 
Welche Herangehensweise im Umgang mit dem Fremden die Richtige ist, bleibt in Western offen – es gibt keine klare Unterteilung in Gut oder Böse, wie man sie aus einem klassischen Western kennt, und entsprechend auch keine Gewinner oder Verlierer. Der Film gibt keine allgemeingültige Antwort, wohl aber viele Denkanstöße: Es ist ein tastendes, forschendes Kino, das die Herausforderungen unserer Zeit abbildet und herauszufinden versucht, wie man sie meistern kann.

valeska grisebach

Die Regisseurin und Dozentin an der Deutschen Film- und Fernsehakademie Berlin, Valeska Grisebach, wurde 1968 in Bremen geboren und lebt und arbeitet heute in Berlin. Nach einem Philosophie- und Germanistik-Studium ging sie 1993 an die Wiener Filmakademie. Schon ihr Abschlussfilm Mein Stern (2001) gewann mehrere Preise, ebenso ihr zweiter Spielfilm Sehnsucht, der 2006 auf der Berlinale präsentiert wurde. Western ist ihr dritter Film. Er wurde bei den Filmfestspielen in Cannes 2017 uraufgeführt.