Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Annette Hess
Series success

Screenwriter Annette Hess has been writing plots for feature films and TV series for about 20 years – especially on historical topics.
Screenwriter Annette Hess has been writing plots for feature films and TV series for about 20 years – especially on historical topics. | Photo (detail): © picture alliance / dpa

While the German television audience is unlikely to recognize her name, her stories move millions: she penned the “Weissensee” series set among East Berlin’s artists and Stasi loyalists, along with the “Ku’damm 56/59” TV series. Author Annette Hess has more than proven her impressive versatility throughout her career. 

By Romy König

20 years as a screenwriter

Annette Hess has worked as a screenwriter since 1998. As a student at the University of the Arts (UdK) in Berlin, she began working as a programme and directing assistant, journalist and screenplay editor. Her first nationwide success was also her UdK thesis: Was nützt die Liebe in Gedanken (What Use Is Love in Thought Alone) was the name of the production filmed by director Achim von Borries and released in 2004. In 2007, her first television film followed with Die Frau vom Checkpoint-Charlie (The Woman from Checkpoint Charlie). 

“Series create an entire world”

Annette Hess is especially partial to the series format, as its length allows her to develop her characters more in depth and give them relatable traits. It is also an opportunity for a narrator to explore topics with greater intensity, and to create more atmosphere than in a film. Her historical TV series, Weissensee (2010 on) and Ku'damm56/59 (2016 on) was watched by millions on public television. "A good series can create an entire world," the author says.
<i>Weissensee</i> is a series about the decline of the GDR and two East Berlin families who could not be more different: while one is loyal to the regime and works closely with the Stasi, the other is part of the dissident underground. Weissensee is a series about the decline of the GDR and two East Berlin families who could not be more different: while one is loyal to the regime and works closely with the Stasi, the other is part of the dissident underground. | Photo (detail): © picture-alliance/dpa/Nestor Bachmann

Experiencing history through stories

Hess is not driven by a desire to simply retell history, which would be just as boring as history class at school. She tries to create living characters with whom the viewer can “experience history”. Her writing is often based on personal experience where distance in time and location provide space for story development, she told the Tagespiegel. Annette Hess’ biography has little overlap with the German Democratic Republic, yet she finds East Germany’s history moving. The GDR is still “a bit of a puzzle”, she adds.  

And now a book

In her debut novel Deutsches Haus (The German House), published in 2018, Annette Hess remains true to her principle of telling history through personal stories. The protagonist is a young woman working as an interpreter at the first Auschwitz trial in Frankfurt in 1963 and has to deal with her family's past over the course of the case. According to the publisher, the novel was sold in 15 countries six months after publication.
<i>Ku'damm '56 and '59</i> are about emancipation in the 1950s. Annette Hess used the family-run Galant dance school to reflect on German society in the post-war period and during the economic miracle. Ku'damm '56 and '59 are about emancipation in the 1950s. Annette Hess used the family-run Galant dance school to reflect on German society in the post-war period and during the economic miracle. | Photo (detail): © ZDF/Stefan Erhard

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Annette Hess
Erfolg in Serie

Die Drehbuchautorin Annette Hess schreibt seit rund 20 Jahren Plots für Kinofilme und TV-Serien – am liebsten zu historischen Themen.
Die Drehbuchautorin Annette Hess schreibt seit rund 20 Jahren Plots für Kinofilme und TV-Serien – am liebsten zu historischen Themen. | Foto (Zuschnitt): © picture alliance / dpa

Ihr Name dürfte dem deutschen Fernsehpublikum weitgehend unbekannt sein, ihre Geschichten aber bewegen Millionen: Die im Ostberliner Künstler- und Stasimilieu spielende Serie „Weissensee“ stammt ebenso aus ihrer Feder wie die TV-Produktionen „Ku’damm 56/59“. Doch die Autorin Annette Hess beweist Vielseitigkeit. 

Von Romy König

20 Jahre Drehbuchautorin

Seit 1998 arbeitet Annette Hess als Drehbuchautorin. Schon während des Studiums an der Universität der Künste (UdK) in Berlin war sie als Programm- und Regieassistentin, Journalistin und Drehbuchlektorin tätig. Ihr erster bundesweiter Erfolg war zugleich ihre UdK-Abschlussarbeit: Die von Regisseur Achim von Borries verfilmte Produktion Was nützt die Liebe in Gedanken kam 2004 in die Kinos; ihr erster Fernsehfilm folgte 2007 mit Die Frau vom Checkpoint-Charlie

„Serien erschaffen eine ganze Welt“ 

Doch Annette Hess schätzt vor allem das Serienformat: Die Länge der Darstellungsform erlaube ihr, Figuren vertieft zu erzählen und Charakterzüge „nachvollziehbar zu gestalten“. Auch könne ein Erzähler intensiver in Themen eindringen und mehr Atmosphäre erzeugen, als dies im Film möglich sei. Ihre TV-Serien zu historischen Themen, Weissensee (ab 2010) und Ku’damm 56/59 (ab 2016), erreichten im öffentlich-rechtlichen Fernsehen Millionen Zuschauer. „Eine gute Serie kann eine ganze Welt erschaffen“, so die Autorin.
<i>Weissensee</i> ist eine Serie über den Niedergang der DDR und über zwei Familien in Ost-Berlin, die gegensätzlicher nicht sein könnten: Während eine Familie stramm regimetreu für die Stasi arbeitet, zählt sich die andere zum kritischen Milieu. Weissensee ist eine Serie über den Niedergang der DDR und über zwei Familien in Ost-Berlin, die gegensätzlicher nicht sein könnten: Während eine Familie stramm regimetreu für die Stasi arbeitet, zählt sich die andere zum kritischen Milieu. | Foto (Zuschnitt): © picture-alliance/dpa/Nestor Bachmann

Geschichte über Geschichten erleben

Ihr Antrieb sei dabei jedoch nicht, Historie einfach nachzuerzählen – das sei ähnlich langweilig wie Geschichtsunterricht in der Schule. Stattdessen versuche sie, lebendige Figuren zu kreieren, mit denen der Zuschauer „Geschichte miterlebt“. Dafür geht sie beim Schreiben oft von persönlichen Erfahrungen aus, bevorzugt aber für das Entwickeln der Geschichten eine zeitliche und örtliche Distanz, wie sie dem Tagesspiegel verriet. Mit dem Sujet DDR beispielsweise hat Annette Hess wenig biografische Berührungspunkte, und doch bewegt sie die ostdeutsche Geschichte. Die DDR sei immer noch „ein Stück Rätsel“ für sie.

Und nun ein Buch 

In ihrem Romandebüt Deutsches Haus, das 2018 erschien, bleibt Annette Hess ihrem Prinzip treu, Geschichte mittels persönlicher Geschichten zu erzählen: Eine junge Frau arbeitet 1963 beim ersten Auschwitzprozess in Frankfurt als Dolmetscherin und muss sich im Verlauf der Verhandlungen mit der Vergangenheit ihrer Familie auseinandersetzen. Der Roman wurde laut Verlagsangaben bereits ein halbes Jahr nach Erscheinen in 15 Länder verkauft.
Bei <i>Ku’damm ’56 und ’59</i> geht es um Emanzipation in den 1950er-Jahren: Wie es um die deutsche Gesellschaft in der Nachkriegszeit und während des Wirtschaftswunders bestellt war, stellt die Drehbuchautorin Annette Hess am Beispiel der familienbetriebenen Tanzschule Galant am Ku’damm dar. Bei Ku’damm ’56 und ’59 geht es um Emanzipation in den 1950er-Jahren: Wie es um die deutsche Gesellschaft in der Nachkriegszeit und während des Wirtschaftswunders bestellt war, stellt die Drehbuchautorin Annette Hess am Beispiel der familienbetriebenen Tanzschule Galant am Ku’damm dar. | Foto (Zuschnitt): © ZDF/Stefan Erhard

Top