The 2017 Berlinale Bloggers

Berlinale 2017 © Lea Delazer

Berlin will be playing host to the world of film when the 67th Berlinale comes to town from 9 to 19 February 2017. On behalf of the Goethe-Institut, twelve bloggers and film journalists from around the world will be our Berlinale Bloggers, reporting on the international film festival from a multinational perspective.

What makes the Berlinale special for the Brazilian blogger, and how does her view differ from the Italian perspective? And what strikes the Australian blogger as interesting about the German submissions? Which trends in the film world make the Spanish journalist optimistic? And what does the blogger from the UK think about this? To what extent do the experts feel influenced by their own cultural background?
 
The 2017 Berlinale Bloggers are from Egypt, Australia, Brazil, China, Germany, Italy, Canada, Japan, Norway, Poland, Spain and the United Kingdom. A multinational team, they will be out and about in Berlin, searching for fascinating stories in the cinema theatres and behind the festival scenes. They will be jointly reflecting on their impressions against the backdrop of their own cultures.

goethe.de/berlinaleblogger
goethe.de/berlinaleblogger
goethe.de/australia/berlinaleblogger
goethe.de/brasil/berlinaleblogger
goethe.de/canada/berlinaleblogger
goethe.de/china/berlinaleblogger
goethe.de/egypt/berlinaleblogger
goethe.de/espana/berlinaleblogger
goethe.de/italia/berlinaleblogger
goethe.de/japan/berlinaleblogger
goethe.de/norge/berlinaleblogger
goethe.de/polska/berlinaleblogger
goethe.de/uk/berlinaleblogger

Sarah Ward – Australia

Sarah Ward Photo: © Darren Ward is a freelance film critic, arts writer and film festival organizer. She is the Australia-based critic for Screen International, a film reviewer and feature writer for ArtsHub, the weekend editor and a senior writer for Concrete Playground, and a contributor to SBS, Metro Magazine and Screen Education. She is also the editor of Trespass Magazine and a film and TV critic for ABC radio Brisbane.
Twitter: @swardplay
 

Camila Gonzatto – Brazil

Camila Gonzatto Photo: © Private writes and directs films for cinema and television. She took a master’s degree in creative writing at PUCRS University in Porto Alegre, Brazil, and wrote her PhD thesis in that field within the framework of an academic exchange with Freie Universität Berlin.
Twitter: @camila_gonzatto
Instagram: @camilagonzatto
 

Jutta Brendemühl – Canada

Jutta Brendemühl Photo: © Goethe-Institut is the Goethe-Institut Toronto’s Program Curator and year-round blogger at GermanFilm@Canada. Jutta is lucky enough to love what she does: arts and cultural programming across the genres and through a global lens. Over the past 15 years, she has worked with Bernardo Bertolucci, Robert Rauschenberg, Wim Wenders, Pina Bausch and other luminaries. She has an M.A. in English Literature.
Twitter: @JuttaBrendemuhl
 

Yun-hua Chen – China

Yun-hua Chen Photo: © Private studied in Taipei, France and Scotland. She obtained her PhD in Film Studies at the University of St Andrews (Scotland). Currently based in Berlin, she writes for a range of journals and regularly gives talks at international conferences and film seminars. In December 2016, Neofelis Verlag published her monograph “Mosaic Space and Mosaic Auteurs: On the Cinema of Alejandro González Iñárritu, Atom Egoyan, Hou Hsiao-hsien, Michael Haneke”.
Instagram: @yun_hua_chen
 

Ahmed Shawky – Egypt

Ahmed Shawky Photo: © Private is a blogger and film critic. He studied pharmacology and media sciences, and since 2009 has been working primarily as an author in the areas of film and art, including as an independent critic at international and Arabic film festivals.
Twitter: @shawforlife
Instagram: @shawforlife
 

Philipp Bühler – Germany

Philipp Bühler Photo: © Private is a freelance film critic who has been reporting on the Berlinale since 2000, among other things for Berliner Zeitung. Having majored in history and English language and culture at university, he works for Germany’s Federal Agency for Civic Education and the film classics programme of the German Film Academy in the area of cinema education. He has also co-authored and edited a range of popular book series on cinema.
 

Andrea D’Addio – Italy

Andrea D'Addio Photo: © Private has been writing about film since 2002, reporting from major international festivals such as Cannes, Venice, Toronto and Marrakech for various Italian and German newspapers.
@daddioandrea
 

Shino Nagata – Japan

Shino Nagata Photo: © Guillaume Tauveron is an actress and translator. Having grown up in Germany and Austria, she studied German literature at the University of Tokyo until 2009, while at the same time training as an actress at the Bungakuza-Kenkyujo until 2010. She heads the “I.N.S.N.KIKAKU” group of actors she founded in 2012. She has also appeared in films such as Nacho Abad’s “El vuelo de la zarigüeya real” (2015) and Timo Behnke’s “Edamame”.
 

Julia Thurnau – Norway

Julia Thurnau Photo: © Private is a German-French actor. She studied visual arts at the Einar Granum School of Fine Art in Norway, as well as at Berlin University of the Arts, where she attended philosophy seminars under Byung-Chul Han and courses in academic and artistic writing. In film she is particularly interested in gender-related themes.
Twitter: @Julia_Thurnau
 

Dorota Chrobak – Poland

Dorota Chrobak Photo: © Private is a film journalist and a graduate of the University of Warsaw, where she took an interdisciplinary individual degree in humanities and social sciences. She has been writing (“Film”, “Sukces”) and talking (Radio PiN, “Kultura do kwadratu” for Polsat News 2) about film and culture in the widest sense for over 15 years.
 

Pablo López Barbero – Spain

Pablo López Barbero Photo: © Filiz Penzkofer is a journalist from Madrid who lives in Berlin. He studied journalism at the Complutense University of Madrid, where he worked in a number of editorial teams until deciding in 2012 to move to the German capital, where he has lived ever since. His passions are cinema and audio-visual media. He currently works for the Deutsche Welle news desk and produces articles for a variety of publications.
 

Nathanael Smith – United Kingdom

Nathanael Smith Photo: © Rachael Gilfillan is a freelance film writer based in Edinburgh. He regularly reviews for BBC Radio Scotland, contributes to websites such as VODzilla and Think Theology and often writes for the Glasgow Film Theatre. His main passion is animation and he maintains that Hayao Miyazaki's canon is perfect.
Twitter: @NathanaelSmith

#Berlinaleblogger live

Issues

The 67th Berlinale is over, so what main impressions has it left on our Berlinale Bloggers? Three issues preoccupied all of them equally: the question of identity, reflections upon now and then, and a critical look at borders.

Contributions

Louis Hofmann, deutscher Shooting Star

Video-Interview
Louis Hofmann Shooting Star

Der 19jährige Deutsche Louis Hofmann ist der jüngste der European Shootings Stars der diesjährigen Berlinale. Der Film „Unter dem Sand“, in dem er einen jungen Kriegsgefangenen spielt, ist als bester ausländischer Film für die Oscars nominiert.


Alessandro Borghi bei der Berlinale

Italian next-gen filmstar Alessandro Borghi has gained fame thanks to his leading roles in "Suburra" and "Non essere cattivo" ("Don't Be Bad"). At the Berlinale he ranks among the 10 European Shooting Stars.

Video-Interview
Berlinale 2017

Our blogger Andrea D’Addio has interviewed Berlinale visitors: What do film viewers think of the festival? And of Berlin? Where do they come from? What film did they see for their first visit to the cinema?

Berlinale Talents 2017

Kooperationen

We also support sound film reviews with the press programme Berlinale Talents - a joint project of Berlinale Talents, the Goethe-Institut and the international film critics association FIPRESCI.

Berlinale-Blogger 2017

Berlinale 2017 © Lea Delazer

Die Filmwelt zu Gast in Berlin: vom 9. bis zum 19. Februar 2017 findet die 67. Berlinale statt. Zwölf Bloggerinnen und Filmjournalisten aus der ganzen Welt berichten als Berlinale-Blogger gemeinsam im Auftrag des Goethe-Instituts über das internationale Filmfest – aus einer multinationalen Perspektive.

Was macht die Berlinale für die brasilianische Bloggerin besonders und wie unterscheidet sich ihre Sicht von der italienischen Perspektive? Oder: Was fällt der australischen Bloggerin an den deutschen Filmbeiträgen auf? Welche Tendenzen in der Filmwelt machen den spanischen Journalisten optimistisch? Was meint der Blogger aus dem Vereinigten Königreich dazu? Wie sehr fühlen sich die Expertinnen und Experten von ihrer kulturellen Prägung beeinflusst?

Die Berlinale-Blogger 2017 kommen aus Ägypten, Australien, Brasilien, China, Deutschland, Italien, Kanada, Japan, Norwegen, Polen, Spanien und dem Vereinigten Königreich. Als multinationales Team sind sie in Berlin unterwegs, auf der Suche nach spannenden Geschichten in den Kinosälen und hinter den Kulissen des Filmfests. Ihre Eindrücke reflektieren sie gemeinsam vor dem Hintergrund der Kulturen, aus denen sie kommen.


goethe.de/berlinaleblogger
goethe.de/australia/berlinaleblogger
goethe.de/brasil/berlinaleblogger
goethe.de/canada/berlinaleblogger
goethe.de/china/berlinaleblogger
goethe.de/egypt/berlinaleblogger
goethe.de/espana/berlinaleblogger
goethe.de/italia/berlinaleblogger
goethe.de/japan/berlinaleblogger
goethe.de/norge/berlinaleblogger
goethe.de/polska/berlinaleblogger
goethe.de/uk/berlinaleblogger
 

​Ahmed Shawky – Ägypten

Ahmed Shawky Foto: © Privat ist Blogger und Filmkritiker. Er studierte Pharmazie und Medienwissenschaften und arbeitet seit 2009 vorwiegend als Autor im Bereich Film und Kunst, unter anderem als unabhängiger Kritiker bei internationalen und arabischen Filmfestivals.
Twitter: @shawforlife
Instagram: @shawforlife

 

 

Sarah Ward – Australien

Sarah Ward Foto: © Darren Ward ist freiberufliche Filmkritikerin, Autorin und Film-Festival-Organisatorin. Sie ist die australische Kritikerin für Screen International, Filmkritikerin und Feuilletonistin für ArtsHub, die Wochenendredakteurin und Autorin für Concrete Playground sowie freie Mitarbeiterin für den australischen Sender SBS und für Metro Magazine & Screen Education. Zudem arbeitet Sarah als Redakteurin beim Trespass Magazine und Film- und Fernsehkritikerin für das ABC Radio in Brisbane.
Twitter: @swardplay

 

Camila Gonzatto – Brasilien

Camila Gonzatto Foto: © Privat ist Drehbuchautorin und Regisseurin für Film und Fernsehen. Sie hat an der Universität PUCRS in Porto Alegre den Masterstudiengang Kreatives Schreiben abgeschlossen und und eine Doktorarbeit im selben Fach im Austausch mit der Freien Universität Berlin angefertigt.
Twitter: @camila_gonzatto
Instagram: @camilagonzatto

 

Yun-hua Chen – China

Yun-hua Chen Foto: © Privat studierte in Taipei, Frankreich und Schottland und promovierte im Fach Filmstudien an der St. Andrews Universität in Schottland. Derzeit in Berlin, schreibt sie regelmäßig für verschiedene Zeitschriften und hält Vorträge auf internationalen Konferenzen und Filmseminaren. Im Dezember 2016 ist von ihr die Monographie „Mosaic Space and Mosaic Auteurs: On the Cinema of Alejandro González Iñárritu, Atom Egoyan, Hou Hsiao-hsien, Michael Haneke“ im Neofelis Verlag erschienen.
Instagram: @yun_hua_chen

 

Philipp Bühler – Deutschland

Philipp Bühler Foto: © Privat berichtet als freier Filmkritiker seit 2000 über die Berlinale, unter anderem für die Berliner Zeitung. Im Bereich Filmbildung ist der studierte Historiker und Anglist für die Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung und das Filmklassikerprogramm der Deutschen Filmakademie tätig. Außerdem ist er Mitautor und Lektor diverser populärer Filmbuchreihen.

 

Andrea D’Addio – Italien

Andrea D'Addio Foto: © Privat schreibt seit 2002 zum Thema Film und berichtet seitdem für verschiedene italienische und deutsche Zeitungen von den großen internationalen Festivals wie Cannes, Venedig, Toronto, Marrakech.
Herausgeber des Berlino Magazine und Co-Autor des Buches „Oscar 2012, vincitori e vinti dell’84esima edizione“.
Twitter: @daddioandrea

 

Jutta Brendemühl – Kanada

Jutta Brendemühl Foto: © Goethe-Institut ist Programmkuratorin des Goethe-Instituts Toronto und Bloggerin bei GermanFilm@Canada. Die studierte Anglistin konnte ihre Leidenschaft zum Beruf machen: Sie organisiert Kunst- und Kulturprogramme quer durch alle Genres und mit globaler Ausrichtung. In den letzten 15 Jahren hat sie unter anderem mit Bernardo Bertolucci, Robert Rauschenberg, Wim Wenders oder Pina Bausch gearbeitet.
Twitter: @JuttaBrendemuhl
 

 

Shino Nagata – Japan

Shino Nagata Foto: © Guillaume Tauveron ist Schauspielerin und Übersetzerin.  Aufgewachsen in Deutschland und Österreich, studierte sie bis 2009 Deutsche Literatur an der Universität Tokyo und machte zeitgleich eine Schauspielausbildung an der Bungakuza-Kenkyujo bis 2010. Sie ist Leiterin der von ihr 2012 gegründeten Schauspielgruppe „I.N.S.N.KIKAKU“. Daneben spielte sie in Filmen wie  „El vuelo de la zarigüeya real” (2015) von Nacho Abad und „Edamame“ von Timo Behnke mit.

 

Julia Thurnau – Norwegen

Julia Thurnau Foto: © Privat ist eine deutsch-französische Schauspielerin. Sie studierte Bildende Kunst an der Hochschule Einar Granum in Norwegen und an der Universität der Künste Berlin. Dort besuchte sie Philosophieseminare bei Byung-Chul Han und Kurse in akademischem und künstlerischem Schreiben. Im Bereich Film interessiert sie sich besonders für Gender-Themen.
Twitter: @Julia_Thurnau

 

Dorota Chrobak – Polen

Dorota Chrobak Foto: © Privat ist Filmjournalistin und Absolventin des interdisziplinären individuellen Studiengangs der Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften an der Universität Warschau. Seit über fünfzehn Jahren schreibt („Film“, „Sukces“) und spricht (Radio PiN, „Kultura do kwadratu“ für Polsat News 2) sie über Filme und Kultur im weitesten Sinne.

 

Pablo López Barbero – Spanien

Pablo López Barbero Foto: © Filiz Penzkofer ist Journalist, kommt aus Madrid und lebt in Berlin. Er studierte Journalismus an der Universität Complutense in Madrid. Dort arbeitete er in verschiedenen Redaktionen, bis er 2012 beschloss, in die deutsche Hauptstadt umzuziehen, wo er seitdem lebt. Zurzeit arbeitet er u.a. für die Nachrichtenredaktion der Deutschen Welle.

 

Nathanael Smith – Vereinigtes Königreich

Nathanael Smith Foto: © Rachael Gilfillan ist freischaffender Filmkritiker und lebt in Edinburgh. Er rezensiert regelmäßig für BBC Radio Scottland, wirkt bei Webseiten wie VODzilla und Think Theology mit und schreibt oft für das Glasgow Film Theatre. Seine größte Vorliebe gilt Trickfilmen und er hält Hayao Miyazakis Werk für perfekt.
Twitter: @NathanaelSmith 

#Berlinaleblogger live

Themen

Die 67. Berlinale ist vorbei. Welche großen Eindrücke bleiben bei den Berlinale-Bloggern hängen? Drei Themen haben alle gleichermaßen beschäftigt: die Frage nach Identität, die Reflektion vom Damals und Heute sowie die Auseinandersetzung mit Grenzen.   

Beiträge

Berlinale 2017 – Der schönste und der schlechteste Film?

Video-Interview
Der schönste und der schlechteste Film?

Andrea D’Addio hat Blogger und Besucher vor dem Berlinale Palast getroffen und sie nach dem schönsten und dem schlechtesten Film der diesjährigen Berlinale gefragt.  
 

Louis Hofmann, deutscher Shooting Star

Video-Interview
Louis Hofmann Shooting Star

Der 19jährige Deutsche Louis Hofmann ist der jüngste der European Shootings Stars der diesjährigen Berlinale. Der Film „Unter dem Sand“, in dem er einen jungen Kriegsgefangenen spielt, ist als bester ausländischer Film für die Oscars nominiert.

Berlinale 2017: Videointerview mit Alessandro Borghi

Video-Interview
Alessandro Borghi bei der Berlinale

Der italienische Nachwuchs-Filmstar Alessandro Borghi ist dank seiner Hauptrollen in „Suburra“ und „Non essere cattivo“ bekannt geworden. Bei der Berlinale gehört er zu den 10 European Shooting Stars.

Berlinale 2017: Videointerview mit dem Publikum

Video-Interview
Berlinale 2017

Unser Blogger Andrea D’Addio hat das Publikum der Berlinale interviewt: Wie finden die Zuschauer das Festival? Und Berlin? Wo kommen sie her? Welchen Film haben sie bei ihrem ersten Kinobesuch gesehen?

Berlinale Talents 2017

Gute Filmkritik fördern wir auch mit dem Berlinale Talent Press-Programm – einem gemeinsamen Projekt von Berlinale Talents, dem Goethe-Institut und der internationalen Filmkritiker-Organisation FIPRESCI.


Kooperationen