Berlinale-Blogger 2017 Yesterday's Spain stands before the mirror

La reina de España by Fernando Trueba
La reina de España by Fernando Trueba | © Gyorgy Stalter | „La reina de España‘

In „La Reina de España“ („The Queen of Spain“), veteran director Fernando Trueba portrays a country on the cusp of opening itself up to the world following the end of the international embargo against the Franco dictatorship. But the new winds of modernity are nothing more than quaint decoration, as the wounds of the Spanish Civil War remain ever present.

The protagonist of The Queen of Spain is Macarena Vidal, a renowned Hollywood actress – played in real life by Penélope Cruz – who returns to Spain to star as Queen Isabella in an American-produced film about the Catholic Monarchs of the 15th century. Upon learning of the upcoming film, director Blas Fontiveros (played by Antonio Resines), who had not set foot in Spain since fleeing the country 18 years before, also decides to return and catch up with some of his old friends from the Spanish cinema scene. The return from exile unleashes a series of problems that involve both the retrograde security apparatus and political atmosphere of the Franco regime, which will do whatever it takes to protect the status quo.
 
Surely it must not have been easy for Trueba to string together stories so seemingly disconnected. What is certain, though, is that the film falls time and again into moments of predictability, relies too heavily on easy jokes and exploits classic clichés without adding a new perspective. All of this, when mixed together with a pseudo-homage to Spanish cinema, is hard to digest.
 
Ultimately, the film ends without resolution: its air of social and political commitment remain vague, and the attempt to create a film-within-a-film is also wobbly. Only the intertwining love stories between the radiant Penélope Cruz and a young cameraman who is part of the underground anti-Franco resistance give the viewer something to grasp onto and maintain the tension of the plot.

The film, which was included of the Berlinale Special Series and was not up for any awards, received discrete applause at its showing. The Queen of Spain is actually a sequel to La niña de tus ojos (The girl of your dreams), one of the most successful comedies of contemporary Spanish cinema. Perhaps the expectations were too high – almost as elevated as its sovereign title. One also expected something more from the spectacular cast, featuring great actors from Spanish cinema like Javier Cámara and Antonio Resines.

Berlinale-Blogger 2017 Das alte Spanien vor dem Spiegel

La reina de España von Fernando Trueba
La reina de España von Fernando Trueba | © Gyorgy Stalter | „La reina de España‘

Der Regisseur Fernando Trueba porträtiert in „La Reina de España“ (Die Königin von Spanien) ein Land, das nach dem Ende der internationalen Blockade gegen die Diktatur beginnt, sich der Welt zu öffnen. Aber der frische Wind der Moderne ist nur eine hübsche Dekoration – die Wunden des Bürgerkriegs bleiben schmerzlich präsent.

La Reina de España ist in Wahrheit Macarena Vidal, eine berühmte Hollywood-Schauspielerin – dargestellt von Penélope Cruz –, die nach Spanien zurückkehrt, um die Geschichte der katholischen Könige unter der Leitung und Regie einiger US-amerikanischer Produzenten zu verfilmen. Als er davon hört, entschließt sich der Filmschaffende Blas Fontiveros (Antonio Resines), der nicht mehr in Spanien war, seit er es 18 Jahre zuvor verlassen hatte, ebenfalls zurückzukehren, und sich mit einigen seiner alten Freunde aus der Welt des Films zu treffen. Die Ankunft des Emigranten löst eine Serie von Problemen aus – sowohl mit den altmodischen Sicherheitsstrukturen des Franco-Regimes als auch mit seinem Umfeld, das sehr um seine Sicherheit besorgt ist. 

Es ist Trueba sicher nicht leicht gefallen, ausgangs derart voneinander unabhängige Geschichten miteinander zu verflechten. Tatsächlich ist es so, dass die Handlung immer wieder ziemlich vorhersehbar ist, zu viel einfach gestrickten Humor einsetzt und die klassischen Klischees nutzt, ohne etwas Neues beizusteuern. All dies wird vermischt mit einer Pseudo-Hommage an das spanische Kino, was, alles in allem, schwer verdaulich ist.

Letztendlich bleibt der Film auf halbem Weg stecken: Sein vorgebliches politisches und soziales Engagement bleibt verschwommen, und das Ziel, Kino im Kino zu schaffen, kommt flügellahm daher. Nur die Liebesgeschichte zwischen der strahlenden Penélope Cruz und einem jungen Kameramann, einem früheren Mitglied der heimlichen Opposition gegen Franco, sind für den Zuschauer interessant und verleihen der Handlung Spannung. 

Der Film, der in der Sektion Berlinale Special gezeigt wird und nicht am Wettbewerb teilnimmt, wurde bei seiner Vorstellung mit höflichem Applaus aufgenommen. La Reina de España ist eigentlich die Fortsetzung von La niña de tus ojos, einer der erfolgreichsten Komödien des zeitgenössischen spanischen Kinos. Vielleicht waren die Erwartungen zu hoch. Fast so hoch wie der fliegende Filmtitel. Von der spektakulären Besetzung mit großen Schauspielern des spanischen Kinos wie Javier Cámara und Antonio Resines hätte man sich ebenfalls mehr erwartet.