Berlinale-Blogger 2017 In the backstreets of 'Dark City'

The Berlinale means not only premieres of feature films and documentaries, but also retrospectives. This year's Retrospective is devoted to SF cinema, and you have to agree that it looks impressive – including both classic and exotic titles from the genre.

It was Monday, 2.30 p.m., the middle of a working day. Meanwhile, a large auditorium in the CinemaxX multiplex was filled to capacity. The crowd of spectators hadn't come to see a fresh premiere. On the contrary. They were about to see Dark City from 1998, a film almost twenty years old, and which has been available for years on DVD or BluRay. But it's one thing to watch this visual masterpiece by Alex Proyas at home, and another to see it on a big cinema screen. That was probably the thinking of the organisers of this year's retrospective: to give the public a unique opportunity to see SF films in the conditions for which they were originally intended.

Blade Runner, Close Encounters of the Third Kind, Alien, Ghost in the Shell, or the aforementioned Dark City – these are just a few of the 27 (!) films presented in the series, whose two leitmotifs are: the society of the future, and the strange and Other. The screenings are extremely diverse. In addition to classics of the genre, they include an extensive range of films from countries of the former Eastern Bloc, such as the famous Letters from a Dead Man by Konstantin Lopuszanski, World on a Wire by Rainer Werner Fassbinder, and three Polish titles: On the Silver Globe by Andrzej Zulawski, O-bi, O-ba: The End of Civilization by Piotr Szulkin and Pilot Pirx's Inquest by Marek Piestrak.

And, coming back to Dark City: the cinema screening of the film, which is a display of visual creativity, is just a completely different kind of artistic experience. It offers the opportunity to discern details hidden in the background, and deeper, and to immerse yourself in an atmosphere that no home cinema can give you. It's fantastic to be able to plunge into the backstreets of Dark City and experience the real magic of cinema.

Berlinale-Blogger 2017 In den Gassen der „Dark City”

Dark City, von Alex Proyas
Dark City, von Alex Proyas | © 1998 New Line Productions, Inc. All Rights Reserved™

Die Berlinale präsentiert nicht nur Premieren von Spielfilmen und Dokumentarfilmen, sondern bietet auch Retrospektiven. Die diesjährige Retrospektive ist dem Science-Fiction-Kino gewidmet, und man muss zugeben, dass sie beeindruckt. Sie zeigt nicht zur Klassiker, sondern auch exotischere Filme des Genres.

Montag, 14.30 Uhr, mitten an einem gewöhnlichen Werktag. Der große Saal im CinemaxX ist auch zu dieser Tageszeit bis auf den letzten Platz ausverkauft. Die Besuchermassen sind nicht zu einer heißen Premiere gekommen. Ganz im Gegenteil. Gleich wird Dark City von 1998 gezeigt, ein fast zwanzig Jahre alter Film, der außerdem seit langem auf DVD oder BlueRay erhältlich ist. Das visuelle Meisterstück von Alex Proyas zu Hause anzusehen oder auf einer großen Kinoleinwand sind jedoch zwei unterschiedliche Sachen. Ähnlich haben bestimmt die Programmgestalter der diesjährigen Retrospektive gedacht, indem sie die einzigartige Chance bieten, Science-Fiction-Filme unter den Bedingungen zu zeigen, für die sie von Anfang an gedacht waren. 

Blade Runner, Close Encounters of the Third Kind, Alien, Ghost in the Shell oder die erwähnte Dark City – das sind nur einige von 27 (!) Filmen dieser Reihe, deren beiden Leitthemen sind: Gesellschaft der Zukunft (society of the future) und das Seltsame und das Andere (the Strange and Other). Das Programm der Retrospektive ist äußerst vielfältig. Neben Klassikern des Genres werden zum Beispiel auch zahlreiche Filme aus ... dem ehemaligen Ostblock gezeigt, darunter Pisma mjortwowo tscheloweka von Konstantin Lopuschanski, Welt am Draht von Rainer Werner Fassbinder sowie drei polnische Filme: Na srebrnym globie (Der silberne Planet) von Andrzej Żuławski, O-bi, o-ba: Koniec cywilizacji (O-Bi, O-Ba. The End of Civilization) von Piotr Szulkin und Test pilota Pirxa (Der Test des Piloten Pirx) von Marek Piestrak.

Zurück zu Dark City: die Kinovorführung eines Films, in dem visuelle Kreativität sich wie in keinem anderen Medium ausdrückt, ermöglicht ein unverwechselbares Kunsterlebnis. Sie macht auch die kleinen Nuancen im Hintergrund erkennbar und bietet Möglichkeiten in die Atmosphäre einzutauchen wie kein Heimkino. Es ist wunderbar, sich in die Gassen der Dark City vorzuwagen und die wahre Magie des Kinos zu erleben.