Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Berlinale Bloggers 2019
#BerlinalePeople: Joana Vicente, film producer

Joana Vicente
Photo (Detail): © TIFF

Film producer Joana Vicente from Toronto on her favourite German films – and why the Berlinale is a special film festival.

By Jutta Brendemühl

Name and role: Joana Vicente, Executive Director and Co-Head of TIFF as of late 2018. Producer of Oscar-nomitated Capernaum. Formerly Executive Director of New York’s IFP - Independent Filmmaker Project.
 

How often have you visited the Berlinale?
This is my 6th Berlinale.

“I’ve always looked to TIFF as a prominent international platform for world cinema, with an impact that is both local and global,” you recently said about your new home. Where do you position the Berlinale on the international festival and industry circuit?
I’ve been a long-time fan. I’ve always had a lot of respect for the Berlinale within the international festival landscape and I’ve been fortunate enough to have several films I produced showcased at the Festival over the years: Black kites, Chocolate babies, Three Seasons, Little Senegal, The guys, Love the hard way, Fay grim. It holds an important place in bringing the international film community together to connect and share ideas. I’m glad I’ll be there for Dieter Kosslick’s final year at the helm.

It will have been a good Berlinale 2019 if you leave with ...:
It will be a good year if I leave having seen a film that completely catches me by surprise, taken a moment to catch up with old friends and eaten the Nem (Spring Rolls) at Monsieur Vuong in Mitte.

Your favourite German film ever (or two or three):
1. Wings of Desire
2. Metropolis
3. Ali: Fear Eats the Soul

Next big thing people can expect at TIFF:
Of course, I’m really looking forward to my first Festival co-leading the organization alongside Cameron Bailey. It will be an exciting year with new ideas and fresh perspectives. I’m eager to unveil our lineup this summer and get the first Festival under my belt. Stay tuned…
 

Part of an ongoing series of mini profiles on the blog German Film @ Canada on the movers and shakers that make the Berlinale one of the most important events in the international film calendar: the filmmakers, programmers, curators, industry promoters and visitors, from rookies to veterans.

 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Berlinale-Blogger 2019
#BerlinalePeople: Joana Vicente, Filmproduzentin

Joana Vicente
Foto (Ausschnitt): © TIFF

Filmproduzentin Joana Vicente aus Toronto über ihre deutschen Lieblingsfilme – und warum die Berlinale ein besonderes Filmfestival ist.

Von Jutta Brendemühl

Name und Tätigkeit: Joana Vicente ist seit 2018 Geschäftsführerin und Co-Leiterin des Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF). Sie ist Produzentin des oscarnominierten Films Capernaum und war Geschäftsführerin des Independent Filmmaker Project (IFP) in New York.
 

Wie oft haben Sie die Berlinale schon besucht?
Das ist meine 6. Berlinale.

Sie haben neulich über Ihren neuen Arbeitgeber gesagt: „Für mich war das TIFF schon immer eine bedeutende internationale Plattform fürs Weltkino, die nicht nur in Kanada extrem wichtig ist, sondern auch auf der ganzen Welt.“ Wo würden Sie die Berlinale im internationalen Festival- und Filmbereich ansiedeln?
Ich bin schon lange ein Fan der Berlinale. Sie war schon immer etwas Besonderes innerhalb der internationalen Festivallandschaft, und ich hatte das Glück, dass hier in den vergangenen Jahren zahlreiche von mir produzierte Filme gelaufen sind: Black KitesChocolate Babies, Three seasons, Little Senegal, The guys, Love the hard way, Fay grim. Das Festival ist ein enorm wichtiger Treffpunkt für die internationale Filmbranche: Hier werden Kontakte geknüpft und Ideen geteilt. Ich freue mich außerdem sehr, bei Dieter Kosslicks letztem Jahr als Festivaldirektor dabei zu sein.
 
Was muss passieren, damit Sie am Ende sagen: „Die Berlinale 2019 war gut“?
Wenn ich hier einen Film gesehen habe, der mich absolut gepackt hat, alte Freunde wiedergetroffen habe und bei Monsieur Vuong in Mitte Nem (Frühlingsrollen) gegessen habe, dann werde ich sagen: Das war eine gute Berlinale!

Ihr deutscher Lieblingsfilm aller Zeiten (oder auch zwei oder drei):
1. Der Himmel über Berlin
2. Metropolis
3. Angst essen Seele auf
 
Welche großen Ereignisse werfen beim TIFF ihre Schatten voraus?
Ich freue mich erst einmal riesig, mein erstes Festival gemeinsam mit Cameron Bailey als Leitung organisieren zu dürfen. Es wird ein sehr spannendes Jahr mit vielen neuen Ideen und überraschenden Perspektiven werden. Ich kann es kaum erwarten, im Sommer das Line-Up zu verkünden und mein erstes Festival unter meine Fittiche zu nehmen. Mehr dazu werde ich später verraten …
 

Teil einer laufenden Serie mit Miniprofilen auf dem Blog Deutscher Film @ Kanada zu den Machern und Impulsgebern, die die Berlinale zu einem der wichtigsten Events im internationalen Filmkalender machen: die Filmemacher, Programmgestalter, Kuratoren, Branchenförderer und Besucher.

Top