Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Berlinale Bloggers 2019
On embargoes and mistaken identity

"The Kindness of Strangers"
"The Kindness of Strangers" | Photo (Detail): © Per Arnesen

Berlinale blogger Gerasimos Bekas has a problem. He’s not allowed to say a word yet about the world premieres. Plus he got caught up in a case of mistaken identity – and thwarted expectations.

The first films have been screened, but I'm not allowed to say a word about them yet. The embargo rule on world premieres provides that reviews may not be published until half an hour after the start of their first public screening. So what do I do in the meantime? I head out to sleuth out the Big Question on everyone’s mind at the Berlinale.

Business or wellness?

What are the Berlinale parties like? Do they feel like you’re at Pablo Escobar’s villa – or Berlusconi’s? Do people mill about the whole time with their business cards trying to snatch up the next role or clinch the next deal?


There are two kinds of people at the Berlinale. Some are dying to go to the parties but aren’t invited. The others are invited but don’t go. Which makes my investigation harder than I’d expected. Though I do learn how to spot young German directors at the parties: they wear baseball caps, scarves and oversized spectacles and use the word “amazing” in conversations way too often and way too loudly. 

Rusty French

My conversation with my German informant – who’s been working as a Berlinale hostess for years and doesn’t want to blow her cover – is interrupted just as she’s about to give me the inside dope and divulge the most shocking Berlinale secrets, when a French woman, slightly taller and fitter than yours truly, grabs my shoulder, spins me round to face her and, all in a tizzy, asks whether I am Tahar Rahim. I try to counter with my own question, namely whether she is, by any chance, Juliette Binoche, but my French is probably too rusty or the lady is just too disappointed that she hasn’t met the star of The Kindness of Strangers after all. I can understand that. I'd have preferred Binoche too. But the Berlinale is reasonably young. I'll go get a cup of coffee for now.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Berlinale-Blogger 2019
Verwechslungsgefahr

"The Kindness of Strangers"
"The Kindness of Strangers" | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Per Arnesen

Berlinaleblogger Gerasimos Bekas hat ein Problem. Über die Weltpremieren darf er noch nichts verraten und verwechselt wird er auch. 

Von Gerasimos Bekas

Die ersten Filme sind geguckt, aber verraten darf ich noch nichts. Bei Weltpremieren gilt ein Embargo, das besagt, dass Kritiken erst eine halbe Stunde nach Beginn der ersten öffentlichen Vorführung veröffentlicht werden dürfen. Was tue ich also in der Zwischenzeit? Ich widme mich investigativ dem großen Thema, das alle Berlinale-Besucher umtreibt.

Business oder Wellness?

Was hat es mit den Berlinalepartys auf sich? Fühlt man sich dort wie in der Villa von Pablo Escobar oder Berlusconi? Oder laufen die ganze Zeit Menschen mit ihren Visitenkarten herum und versuchen, die nächste Rolle zu ergattern oder das nächste Geschäft zu machen?
 
Es gibt zwei Sorten von Menschen auf der Berlinale. Die einen, wollen unbedingt zu den Partys und haben keine Einladung. Die anderen sind eingeladen, gehen aber nicht hin. Das macht die Recherche schwieriger als erwartet. Immerhin erfahre ich, woran man auf den Partys junge deutsche Regisseure erkennt. Sie tragen Baseballcaps, Halstücher und zu große Brillen und verwenden in Gesprächen übertrieben oft und laut das Wort „amazing”. 

Holpriges Französisch

Mein Gespräch mit meiner deutschen Informantin, die nicht mit ihrem Namen genannt werden möchte und seit Jahren immer wieder als Hostess für die Berlinale arbeitet, wird ausgerechnet kurz vor der Offenbarung der dunkelsten Berlinale-Geheimnisse unterbrochen. Eine Französin, etwas größer und trainierter als ich, greift nach meiner Schulter, dreht mich zu sich und fragt aufgeregt, ob ich Tahar Rahim sei. Ich versuche mich an der Gegenfrage, ob ich etwa Juliette Binoche vor mir habe, doch wahrscheinlich ist mein Französisch zu holprig oder die Dame ist einfach so enttäuscht darüber, dass sie den Star aus The Kindness of Strangers doch nicht getroffen hat. Ich kann das verstehen. Binoche wäre mir auch lieber gewesen. Aber die Berlinale ist noch einigermaßen jung. Ich hole mir erstmal einen Kaffee.  

Top