Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Berlinale Bloggers 2020
Looking back on 70 years of festivals

US actor and comedian Shia LaBeouf comes to the Berlinale with a paper bag over his head.
US actor and comedian Shia LaBeouf comes to the Berlinale with a paper bag over his head. | Photo (Detail): Jörg Carstensen

Post-war glamour and glory, scandalous films and a movie star on the red carpet wearing a paper bag over his head: some highlights from the tumultuous history of the world’s biggest film festiva

By Ula Brunner

Titania-Palast in Steglitz, West Berlin, 6 June 1951 — The highly ceremonial opening of the first edition of the Berlin International Film Festival started with a performance by the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra and a welcoming address by Berlin mayor Ernst Reuter, followed by the screening of Alfred Hitchcock's romantic thriller Rebecca. This box office smash dated from 1940, but that evening in Berlin was its German premiere. The city was jubilant as thousands lined the streets to welcome leading lady Joan Fontaine with a flower parade.

At long last, glamour and glory had returned to the still war-ravaged capital. From the outset, the “Berlinale” in the sectorized city was to put political markers down as a “showcase of the free world”. There were, to be sure, complaints from the east section of Berlin when films from socialist countries were excluded from the official programme (until 1974). But the festival was a hit, and the very next year, the screenings were moved to the centrally located district of Charlottenburg.

Festival directors: the longest and shortest stints running the Berlinale

Film actress Magda Kamel on the Kurfürstendamm during the Berlin Film Festival 1951. Film actress Magda Kamel on the Kurfürstendamm during the Berlin Film Festival 1951. | Photo (Detail): picture alliance/ullstein bild
The festival has changed directors five times in its 70-year history. Dieter Kosslick ran the show for 18 years before passing the baton to the current directorial duo of Carlo Chatrian and Mariette Rissenbeek. He consolidated its reputation as a popular festival and secured a place for German film in the competition. His predecessor, Moritz de Hadeln, had served for 22 years, from 1979 to 2001. The move to Potsdamer Platz, among other things, took place under his watch in the year 2000.

But Alfred Bauer lasted longest. For a quarter of a century, from 1951 to 1976, the jurist and film historian steered the barque of the fledgling Berlinale through the Cold War and other rough waters. It has just been revealed in an investigative report by the German weekly Die Zeit, however, that Bauer may well have been a high-ranking official in the National Socialist film bureaucracy during the Nazi era. So the Berlinale’s Alfred Bauer Prize will not be awarded in 2020. When Bauer retired, he handed an established A-list film festival over to his successor, Wolf Donner. In three short – but busy – years, Donner then stirred things up by adding a children's film festival (now called Generation) and, far more importantly, by rescheduling the Berlinale… to the winter!

Pompom hats: why winter?

For present-day Berlinale-goers, donning a warm coat and scarf is a must for the February film fest. But it wasn’t always this way. In fact, until 1978, the festival could be enjoyed under balmy summer temperatures, at first even under the stars at the Waldbühne. So why did Wolf Donner move the Berlinale to chilly February?

His main argument was that not much was going on at the Filmmesse, the market for the motion picture industry, in the dead of winter. If the International Film Festival were to be held then, Donner reasoned, film producers, buyers and distributors would be drawn to Berlin. And he was right: the Filmmesse flourished in the winter, and its successor, the European Film Market (EFM), now ranks among the most important annual events in the industry.

Longest entry and shortest Berlinale

Lav Diaz at the Berlinale 2016. Lav Diaz at the Berlinale 2016. | Photo (detail): dpa/David Heerde/Geisler-Fotopress
Lav Diaz’s A Lullaby to the Sorrowful Mystery (original Filipino title: Hele Sa Hiwagang Hapis) runs for a whopping eight hours – 482 minutes, to be precise. It won the Alfred Bauer Prize at the 2016 Berlinale. This black-and-white epic about the Philippine revolution is the longest film ever screened in the Berlinale Competition.

And the shortest Berlinale to date took place in 1970. German director Michael Verhoeven's anti-war film o.k., about the rape and murder of a Vietnamese girl by US soldiers, sparked heated controversy. The jury, chaired by American director George Stevens, resigned. So Alfred Bauer cancelled the competition, and the Berlinale Bears remained in hibernation for the first and only time in the festival’s history.

Scandals: controversial films

In the realm of the senses In the realm of the senses | Photo (detail): dpa/United Archives/Impress
Needless to say, o.k. wasn’t the only picture to cause a political uproar at the festival. In 1979, the socialist countries withdrew their films and delegates in protest against Michael Cimino's depiction of sadistic North Vietnamese in The Deer Hunter. In 1986, the screenings of Reinhard Hauff’s Stammheim, about the trial of the Red Army Faction (RAF) terrorists in Stammheim Prison, took place under police protection. When it won the Golden Bear, jury president Gina Lollobrigida breached her obligation of secrecy and publicly stated, “I was against this film.”

Explicit sex scenes have also made waves. To this day, Japanese director Nagisa Oshima's In the Realm of the Senses (Ai no Corrida), a study in sexual obsession, is still considered the most scandalous film ever shown at the Berlinale. After its first screening in Berlin in 1976, the public prosecutor's office confiscated the film on suspicion of pornography (though the charges were soon dropped).

Even decades later, scenes of frank physicality and intimacy could still cause a stir. The explicit sex scenes in Patrice Chéreau's Intimacy were hotly debated in 2001. Romanian filmmaker Adina Pintilie's debut Touch Me Not, an experimental semi-documentary exploration of intimacy, unsettled plenty of viewers and critics in 2018. But the jury awarded both pictures a Golden Bear.

RED CARPET: Highlights

George Clooney on the red carpet at the 2016 opening. George Clooney on the red carpet at the 2016 opening. | Photo (detail): dpa/Eventpress Schulz
The Berlinale wouldn’t be a major festival without movie stars and ecstatic fans: the public couldn’t get enough of Joan Fontaine back in 1951, and Julia Roberts caused a commotion wherever she showed up in 1996. Leonardo DiCaprio hardly dared showed  his face in the street in 2000 after a Berlin tabloid offered 1000 marks to any Berlin girl who managed steal a kiss from him. Half the city was all aflutter about Bollywood star Shah Rukh Khan in 2008, and the prospect of George Clooney’s coming to town sparked weeks of tabloid hysteria even before the festival started in 2014. But it was another movie star who stole the show that year: Shia LaBeouf walked down the red carpet with a brown paper bag over his head that said, “I am not famous anymore.”

Speaking of the red carpet: the approximately 1,500-sq-m fabric gets changed once or twice during each festival. So in 2019, the Berlinale opted for sustainability: Berlin's most glamorous floor covering is now made of recycled fishing nets.

The public, the jury and the filmmakers

The Berlinale is now considered the world’s largest film festival in terms of attendance. In 2019, 400 films from 135 different countries were screened to the general public: attendance figures totalled 487,504, including 331,637 paid admissions – nearly double the figure for 2002.
One little-known fact about the Berlinale is that from 1952 to 1955, the audience had a say in awarding the Golden and Silver Bears. The festival was accorded A-list status as early as 1956, after which it was entitled to bring in an international jury of experts.
Over the past 70 years, the jury have awarded the Golden Bear to women filmmakers only six times – most recently to Adina Pintilie for her aforementioned Touch Me Not in 2018 – mainly because most of the entries are by male directors. So there’s plenty of room for improvement here in future.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Berlinale-Blogger 2020
Ein Filmfestival feiert Jubiläum

US-Schauspieler und Komiker Shia LaBeouf zeigt sich mit Papiertüte bei der Berlinale.
US-Schauspieler und Komiker Shia LaBeouf zeigt sich mit Papiertüte bei der Berlinale. | Foto (Detail): Jörg Carstensen

Sehnsüchte, Skandalfilme und ein Star mit einer Papiertüte über dem Kopf: Schöner kann die Geschichte eines Festivals gar nicht sein.

Von Ula Brunner

Berlin-Steglitz, Titania-Palast, 6. Juni 1951. Ein besonders festlicher Auftakt: Die Berliner Philharmoniker spielen; Ernst Reuter, Regierender Bürgermeister der Stadt, hält eine Rede. Dann präsentieren die allerersten Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin ihren allerersten Film: Alfred Hitchcocks Rebecca. Der Kassenschlager stammt schon aus dem Jahr 1940, aber an diesem Abend feiert er seine Deutschlandpremiere. Die Stadt jubelt: Hauptdarstellerin Joan Fontaine wird mit Blumencorso empfangen, Tausende säumen die Straßen.

Endlich wieder Glanz und Glamour in der noch immer kriegszerstörten Metropole. Von Anfang an soll die „Berlinale“ in der Sektorenstadt ein politisches Zeichen setzen, ein „Schaufenster der freien Welt“ sein. Zwar kommt aus dem Ostteil Berlins Kritik, da Filme sozialistischer Länder aus dem offiziellen Programm ausgeschlossen sind (und es bis 1974 auch bleiben). Doch das Festival wird ein großer Erfolg: Schon im Jahr darauf verlagert man die Vorführungen in den zentral gelegenen Stadtteil Charlottenburg.

Chefs: Wer ist am längsten dabei? wer nur ganz kurz?

Filmschauspielerin Magda Kamel auf dem Kurfürstendamm während der Berliner Filmfestspiele 1951. Filmschauspielerin Magda Kamel auf dem Kurfürstendamm während der Berliner Filmfestspiele 1951. | Foto (Detail): picture alliance/ullstein bild

Fünf Leitungswechsel hat die Berlinale in ihrer siebzigjährigen Geschichte erlebt. Vor der aktuellen Doppelspitze Carlo Chatrian und Mariette Rissenbeek hat Dieter Kosslick 18 Jahre den Hut auf. Er festigt den Ruf der Berlinale als Publikumsfestival und verankert den deutschen Film im Wettbewerb. 22 Jahre lang, von 1979 bis 2001, bestimmt Moritz de Hadeln ihre Geschicke. In seine Ära fällt etwa der Umzug an den Potsdamer Platz im Jahr 2000.

Am längsten dabei ist Alfred Bauer. Ein Vierteljahrhundert, von 1951 bis 1976, führt der Jurist und Filmhistoriker die junge Berlinale durch Kalten Krieg und die folgenden Zeiten. Erst gerade wird allerdings bekannt gegeben, dass Bauer im Verdacht steht, während der NS-Zeit ein hochrangiger Beamter der nationalsozialistischen Filmbürokratie gewesen zu sein. Dies haben Recherchen der Wochenzeitung DIE ZEIT ergeben. Der nach ihm benannte Alfred-Bauer-Preis wird deshalb 2020 ausgesetzt. Als Bauer in den Ruhestand geht, übergibt er ein etabliertes Filmfestival an seinen Nachfolger Wolf Donner. Der wiederum wirbelt in drei kurzen – aber umtriebigen – Jahren einiges durcheinander: Er verhilft der Berlinale zu einem Kinderfilmfest (heute: Generation). Und: Er verlegt sie in den Winter!

Pudelmütze: Warum die Berlinale im Winter stattfindet

Für heutige Kinofans gehören Schals und warme Jacken zum unverzichtbaren Berlinale-Outfit. Das ist nicht immer so gewesen. Tatsächlich kann man das Festival bis 1978 bei lauen Temperaturen im Sommer genießen, anfangs sogar unter freiem Himmel in der Waldbühne. Warum also verschiebt Wolf Donner die Berlinale in den ungemütlichen Februar?

Sein Hauptargument ist die Filmmesse, der Handelsplatz der Filmwirtschaft. Im Winter ist hier wenig los. Würde man die Berlinale in diese Zeit legen, so die Überlegung Donners, könne man Produzenten, Filmeinkäufer und Verleiher nach Berlin locken. Die Rechnung geht auf: Die Filmmesse expandiert und ihr Nachfolger, der European Film Market (EFM) gehört heute zu den wichtigsten Branchentreffs der Filmindustrie.

Der längste WettbewerbsFilm – und die kürzeste BerlinalE

Lav Diaz auf der Berlinale 2016. Lav Diaz auf der Berlinale 2016. | Foto (Detail): dpa/David Heerde/Geisler-Fotopress

482 Minuten, acht Stunden, dauert A Lullaby To The Sorrowful Mystery von Lav Diaz. Hele Sa Hiwagang Hapis, so der philippinische Original-Titel, erhielt 2016 den Alfred-Bauer-Preis der Berlinale. Das Schwarzweiß-Epos über die philippinische Revolution ist der bislang längste Wettbewerbsbeitrag einer Berlinale.

Seinen kürzesten Wettbewerb erlebt das Festival hingegen 1970. Der Film o.k. von Michael Verhoeven erzählt die Vergewaltigung und Ermordung eines vietnamesischen Mädchens durch US-amerikanische Soldaten. Ein heikles Thema. Heftige Kontroversen entzünden sich. Die Jury unter Vorsitz des US-amerikanischen Regisseurs George Stevens tritt zurück. Alfred Bauer bricht den Wettbewerb ab, die Bären-Trophäen bleiben im Schrank: zum ersten und einzigen Mal in der Festivalgeschichte.

Skandale: Um diese Filme wird gestritten

Im Reich der Sinne Im Reich der Sinne | Foto (Detail): dpa/United Archives/Impress

Natürlich bleibt o.k. nicht der einzige politische Eklat des Festivals: Aus Protest gegen Michael Ciminos Vietnamkriegsfilm The Deer Hunter ziehen 1979 die sozialistischen Staaten ihre Filme und Delegierten zurück. 1986 finden die Vorführungen von Reinhard Hauffs Stammheim unter Polizeischutz statt. Als der Film über den RAF-Terrorprozess den Hauptpreis erhält, verstößt Jury-Präsidentin Gina Lollobrigida gegen ihre Schweigepflicht und distanziert sich öffentlich: „I was against this film.“

Auch das Thema Sexualität löst hitzige Diskussionen aus. Als heftigster Berlinale-Skandalfilm gilt bis heute Nagisa Oshimas Geschichte einer sexuellen Obsession: Im Reich der Sinne (Ai no Corrida).
Während der Premiere 1976 beschlagnahmt die Staatsanwaltschaft das japanische Drama wegen Verdachts der Pornografie.

Jahrzehnte später kann ein offener Umgang mit Körperlichkeit und Intimität immer noch für Aufregung sorgen: Viel debattiert werden 2001 explizite Sexszenen in Patrice Chéreaus Intimacy. 2018 verstört Adina Pintilies halbdokumentarischer Erfahrungstrip Touch me Not Kritik und Publikum. Beide Filme würdigt die Jury mit einem Goldenen Bären.

ROTER TEPPICH: die gröSSTEN SHOWMOMENTe

George Clooney auf dem Roten Teppich bei der Eröffnung 2016 George Clooney auf dem Roten Teppich bei der Eröffnung 2016 | Foto (Ausschnitt): dpa/Eventpress Schulz

Keine Berlinale ohne Stars und begeisterte Fans: Kann das Publikum 1951 von Joan Fontaine kaum genug bekommen, erregt 1996 Julia Roberts Tumulte, wo immer sie auftaucht. Leonardo DiCaprio traut sich 2000 kaum auf die Straße, weil eine Berliner Zeitung „Kussgeld“ auf ihn aussetzt. Die halbe Stadt ist 2008 wegen Bollywoodstar Shah Rukh Khan aus dem Häuschen, und George Clooney tritt 2014 schon vor Festivalstart eine wochenlange Boulevardhysterie los. Die Show stiehlt ihm dennoch kurzfristig sein Kollege Shia LaBeouf, der mit einer braunen Papiertüte über dem Kopf über den roten Teppich spaziert. Aufschrift: „I am not famous anymore.“

Apropos roter Teppich: Ein bis zwei Mal werden die rund 1.500 Quadratmeter Stoff während des Festivals ausgetauscht. 2019 setzt die Berlinale dabei auf Nachhaltigkeit: Der glanzvollste Bodenbelag Berlins besteht aus recycelten Fischernetzen.

Das PUBLIKUMSFESTIVAL, die Jury und die Regisseurinnen

Die Berlinale gilt mittlerweile als größtes Publikumsfestival der Welt. Kein Festival verkauft mehr Tickets. 2019 verzeichnet die Statistik 400 Filme aus 135 Herkunftsländern im öffentlichen Programm, 487.504 Kinobesuche und 331.637 verkaufte Eintrittskarten – fast doppelt soviel wie 2002. Was wenige wissen: Von 1952 bis 1955 entscheidet das Publikum auch über die Bären.

Schon 1956 bekommt die Berlinale einen A-Status und damit einen Anspruch auf eine internationale Fachjury. Dass diese am Ende Filmemacherinnen mit einem Goldenen Bären auszeichnet, ist allerdings die Ausnahme – auch weil noch immer die Mehrzahl der Filme von männlichen Regisseuren eingereicht wird. Erst sechsmal ist die Haupttrophäe an eine Frau gegangen, zuletzt 2018 an die Rumänin Adina Pintilie für Touch me Not. Da bleibt für die Zukunft noch viel Luft nach oben.

Top