Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Berlinale Bloggers 2020
Beautiful, Terrible Heimat

Scene from the film “Walchensee forever”
Scene from the film “Walchensee forever” | Photo (detail) © Flare Film

Ranging from a horror film to a portrait of a Bavarian family – the next-gen filmmakers’ section “Perspektive Deutsches Kino” explores a complicated issue.

By Philipp Bühler

“Heimatfilm und Heimathorror” is the theme of this year’s Perspektive Deutsches Kino (Perspectives on German Cinema), which will open on Friday with Barbara Ott’s social-realist boxing drama Kids Run. Just how good or bad things are where the Heimat issue is concerned – and what the term actually means – can be explored in a total of eight films.
 
Jonas Heldt’s documentary Automotive accompanies two very different women’s careers in automobile production at the Audi firm in Ingolstadt. Wagenknecht, a portrait of the feisty left-wing politician Sahra Wagenknecht directed by Sandra Kaudelka, fits in well here.
 
But only Schlaf (Sleep) by Michael Venus delivers true Heimathorror. The feature film depicts a young woman fathoming the nightmares of her own mother – played by Sandra Hüller – in a remote hotel.

All the way to Mexico as a traditional Bavarian folk troupe

Janna Ji Wonders' Walchensee Forever is no unknown factor here – the documentary film has already been awarded the Bavarian Film Prize. Wonders follows her own family history over five generations, mainly of women, recorded since the end of World War I in a huge amount of film footage, photographs and letters.
 
From the Bavarian sub-alpine idyll of Walchensee, where Norma Werner, 105 years old at the end of the film, runs an inn for day-trippers, her daughters Anna – the filmmaker's mother – and Frauke set off into the wide world, travelling as a Bavarian music group with hammered dulcimer and guitar through the “Summer of Love” in San Francisco and on to Mexico. After a brush with enlightenment in Indian ashrams, one of them is soon drawn to the old 68-er Rainer Langhans and his infamous Munich “harem”, while the other succumbs to psychosis and dies under unexplained circumstances in the mid-1970s.
 
Heimathorror and provincial idyll – Wonders' fascinating, century-spanning tale about a family torn between homesickness and wanderlust not only offers far more than a colourful portrait of the hippie generation, it also thoroughly blurs the distinctions between such attributions.
 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Berlinale-Blogger 2020
Schöne, schreckliche Heimat

Szene aus dem Film „Walchensee forever”
Szene aus dem Film „Walchensee forever” | Foto (Detail) © Flare Film

Vom Horrorfilm bis zum bayerischen Familienporträt – die Nachwuchssektion „Perspektive Deutsches Kino“ erkundet einen schwierigen Begriff.

Von Philipp Bühler

„Heimatfilm und Heimathorror“ lautet das Motto der diesjährigen Perspektive Deutsches Kino, die am Freitag mit Barbara Otts sozialrealistischem Boxerdrama Kids Run eröffnet wird. Wie schlimm oder gut es um die Heimat steht, und was der Begriff eigentlich meint, lässt sich in insgesamt acht Filmen studieren.
 
Jonas Heldts Dokumentarfilm Automotive begleitet zwei sehr unterschiedliche Frauenkarrieren in der Autoproduktion bei der Firma Audi in Ingolstadt. Das Porträt Wagenknecht über die streitbare Linken-Politikerin Sahra Wagenknecht könnte durchaus dazu passen. Sandra Kaudelka hat Regie geführt.
 
So richtigen Heimathorror verspricht allerdings nur Schlaf von Michael Venus. Es ist ein Spielfilm über eine junge Frau, die in einem abgelegenen Hotel die Alpträume der eigenen Mutter, gespielt von Sandra Hüller, ergründet.

Als bayerische Trachtengruppe bis nach Mexiko

Janna Ji Wonders’ Walchensee Forever ist keine unbekannte Größe, der Dokumentarfilm wurde bereits mit dem Bayerischen Filmpreis ausgezeichnet. Über fünf Generationen vor allem von Frauen verfolgt Wonders die eigene Familiengeschichte, aufgezeichnet seit Ende des Ersten Weltkriegs in einer riesigen Menge von Filmaufnahmen, Fotografien und Briefen.
 
Von der bayerischen Voralpenidylle Walchensee aus, wo die am Ende des Films 105-jährige Norma Werner ein Ausflugslokal betreibt, ziehen ihre Töchter Anna – Mutter der Filmemacherin – und Frauke hinaus in die Welt, kommen als bayerische Musikgruppe mit Hackbrett und Gitarre über den „Summer of Love“ in San Francisco bis nach Mexiko. In indischen Aschrams erleuchtet, zieht es die eine bald zu Alt-68er Rainer Langhans und dessen berühmten Münchner „Harem“, während die andere in Psychosen verfällt und Mitte der 1970er unter ungeklärten Umständen ums Leben kommt.
 
Heimathorror und Provinzidylle – Wonders’ faszinierende Jahrhundertgeschichte über eine zwischen Heim- und Fernweh zerrissene Familie liefert nicht nur weit mehr als ein buntes Porträt der Hippie-Generation, sondern bringt auch solche Zuschreibungen gehörig durcheinander.
 

Top