Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Berlinale Bloggers 2020
Born in Hildesheim

With “No Hard Feelings” /”Futur Drei”, Faraz Shariat presents a upbeat portrait of a new generation
Faraz Shariats hero Parvis (Benjamin Radjaipour) is young, gay and refreshingly hedonistic | Foto (detail): © Edition Salzgeber, Jünglinge Film

Between racism and absurd expectations: Several films in the “Panorama” section explore post-migrant perspectives on Germany.

Germany is a country of immigration. The complicated-sounding term “post-migration”, which not only refers to people with a migration background but also presupposes immigration as a fact of society as a whole, implies nothing else. In film, theatre and literature this implicit presupposition is still reflected just as rarely as in politics. This is why in 2020 “post-migrant perspectives” will be a special focus of the entire Berlinale, but especially of the Panorama section. How does it feel to be born in Germany but still not really belong? Or to feel that way even though one has in fact long since moved on?

All just paranoia?

It is precisely this ambiguous feeling that Visa Moina enacts in Exile. Like the director, Xhafer – personified by the well-known German actor Mišel Mišel – was born in Kosovo, but has long since made it: job, family, row house. But he still feels shunned by his colleagues. Everyone seems to stare at him and overlook him at the same time. He has evidently been removed from important e-mail distribution lists. Is it racism? His German wife Nora, played by Sanda Hüller, thinks he’s imagining things. Maybe he's just not all that likeable. The film’s brilliant take is that she could be right. Xhafer is no saint. But even in his paranoia one can see the deep core of a social problem. In its best moments, Moina's oppressively claustrophobic thriller looks like a German version of Michael Haneke's film Hidden / Caché.

Young, gay and hedonistic

With No Hard Feelings / Futur Drei, Faraz Shariat presents a decidedly more upbeat portrait of a new generation. His hero Parvis (Benjamin Radjaipour) is young, gay and refreshingly hedonistic. But everywhere, whether at parties or on Grindr dates, he is repeatedly confronted with his Iranian origins. Born in Hildesheim, but who cares! With his first love Amon and his sister Banafshe, he airs sometimes doubtfully, sometimes humorously questions of origin, language and identity, but also the absurd expectations of the locals. The briskly-montaged film incorporates old video footage of the director's parents, which in itself tells a story of Iranian immigration to Germany. They are played by none other than Shariat's own parents – a wonderful idea and the best possible statement on the subject of integration.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Berlinale-Blogger 2020
Born in Hildesheim

Faraz Shariat liefert mit „Futur Drei“ ein recht fröhliches Bild einer neuen Generation.
Faraz Shariats Held Parvis (Benjamin Radjaipour) ist jung, schwul und erfrischend hedonistisch. | Foto (Detail): © Edition Salzgeber, Jünglinge Film

Zwischen Rassismus und absurden Erwartungen: Mehrere Filme der Sektion „Panorama“  erörtern postmigrantische Sichtweisen auf Deutschland.

Von Philipp Bühler

Deutschland ist ein Einwanderungsland. Nichts anderes besagt der kompliziert klingende Begriff der „Postmigration“, der eben nicht nur Menschen mit Migrationshintergrund meint, sondern die Einwanderung als gesamtgesellschaftliche Tatsache voraussetzt. In Film, Theater und Literatur wird diese Selbstverständlichkeit noch genauso selten reflektiert wie in der Politik. Deshalb liegt 2020 auf „postmigrantischen Sichtweisen“ ein besonderes Augenmerk der gesamten Berlinale, aber besonders der Sektion Panorama. Wie fühlt es sich an, in Deutschland geboren zu sein, aber immer noch nicht richtig dazuzugehören? Oder sich so zu fühlen, obwohl man eigentlich längst weiter ist?

Alles Paranoia?

Eben dieses unbestimmte Gefühl inszeniert Visa Moina in Exil. Xhafer, verkörpert vom bekannten deutschen Schauspieler Mišel Matičević, wurde wie der Regisseur im Kosovo geboren, ist aber längst angekommen: Job, Familie, Reihenhaus. Doch noch immer fühlt er sich von den Kollegen gemieden. Alle scheinen ihn zugleich anzustarren und zu übersehen. Aus wichtigen E-Mail-Verteilern wurde er offenbar entfernt. Ist es Rassismus? Seine deutsche Frau Nora, gespielt von Sanda Hüller, hält das für ein Hirngespinst. Vielleicht sei er einfach nicht so sympathisch. Die brillante Konzeption des Films besteht darin, dass sie recht haben könnte. Xhafer ist kein Heiliger. Doch selbst in seiner Paranoia erkennt man den tiefen Kern eines gesellschaftlichen Problems. In den besten Momenten wirkt Moinas bedrückend klaustrophobisch inszenierter Thriller wie eine deutsche Version von Michael Hanekes Film Caché.

Jung, schwul und hedonistisch

Das entschieden fröhlichere Bild einer neuen Generation liefert Faraz Shariat mit Futur Drei. Sein Held Parvis (Benjamin Radjaipour) ist jung, schwul und erfrischend hedonistisch. Doch überall, ob auf Partys oder Grindr-Dates, wird er immer wieder mit seiner iranischen Herkunft konfrontiert. Geboren in Hildesheim, aber who cares! Mit seiner ersten Liebe Amon und dessen Schwester Banafshe erörtert er mal zweifelnd, mal belustigt Fragen von Herkunft, Sprache und Identität, aber auch die absurden Erwartungen der Einheimischen. In den flott montierten Film eingebaut sind alte Videoaufnahmen der Eltern des Regisseurs, die für sich eine Geschichte iranischer Einwanderung in Deutschland erzählen. Gespielt werden sie von niemand anderem als Shariats eigenen Eltern – eine wundervolle Idee und das denkbar beste Statement zum Thema Integration.

Top