Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Berlinale Bloggers 2020
A lost future

Scene from the film “Time to Hunt". Director: Yoon Sung-hyun
Scene from the film “Time to Hunt". Director: Yoon Sung-hyun | Photo (Detail): © 2020 Union Investment Partners, Littlebig Pictures, Sidus. All Rights Reserved.

World premiere for the movie “Time to Hunt” by Korean director Yoon Sung-hyun – and for the audience an exceptional cineastic experience.

By Hyunjin Park

After Parasite took four prizes at the Oscars 2020, including the one for best film, interest in Korean film has been keen worldwide. Time to Hunt (Sanyang-ui Sigan), one of two Korean films invited to the Berlinale 2020, is no exception. At the press screening the day before the official premiere, journalists queued up 30 minutes before the start, and at the press conference many questions were asked about the recent attacks on Parasite by US President Trump. 

A dystopiAN vision

Time to Hunt is set in a Korea of the near future. Due to an economic crisis, the government is yet again negotiating with the International Monetary Fund, workers are on strike in protest against restructuring, and young people in the cities have long since lost all hope. Jun-seok (Lee Je-hoon), who has just been released from jail to the ruins of the city, dreams of a new life on a small island in the turquoise blue sea. Together with his friends Jang-ho (Ahn Jae-hong), Ki-hoon (Choi Woo-shik) and Sang-su (Park Jeong-min) he concocts a risky caper. At first everything works out as planned, but soon they are on the run from a mysterious pursuer (Park Hae-soo) – what happens then provides the viewer with a high dose of tension and draws them under its spell.
 
In his debut film Bleak Night director Yoon Sung-hyun sensitively described the emotional confusion of teenagers and was celebrated by critics and viewers alike. Time to Hunt takes the exact opposite tack. The plot is simple and direct, the director aimed to generate tension above all through the situation in which his characters find themselves. “In this work I didn't focus on the plot or the dialogues, but on what only films can do: Music and sound, set design, editing rhythm, the actors' facial expressions,” explains Yoon Sung-hyun.

AN ENIGMATIC PURSUER

When Ki-hoon and Jang-ho pick up Jun-seok from prison at the beginning of the film, the view of the  dystopian cityscape is underlain with hip-hop music. The resulting synergy expresses the emotional world of the neglected young people in a way that fascinates. The pistol shots must also be mentioned in connection with the film's sound design. They are so impressive and realistic that sensitive persons or those with heart problems should be forewarned.
 
The role of the antagonist also dominates the film in an impressive style. However, the past of this character, who mentally resembles a psychopath and physically a robot or god, is only barely addressed. Only the countless scars and tattoos on his muscular body, which can be seen briefly in a shower scene, as well as the cut-off ears hanging on the wall in the apartment, hint at his past life. The desperation of the young men, hunted by him without knowing why and who must fear for their lives, feels empty. Nevertheless, the tension of the film, which so powerfully challenges the senses, is inescapable.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Berlinale-Blogger 2020
Verlorene Zukunft

Szene aus dem Film „Time to Hunt“. Regisseur Yoon Sung-hyun
Szene aus dem Film „Time to Hunt“. Regisseur Yoon Sung-hyun | Foto (Detail): © 2020 Union Investment Partners, Littlebig Pictures, Sidus. All Rights Reserved.

Weltpremiere für den Film „Time to Hunt“ des koreanischen Regisseurs Yoon Sung-hyun – und für die Zuschauer*innen ein ungewöhnliches cineastisches Erlebnis.

Von Hyunjin Park

Nachdem Parasite bei der Oscarverleihung 2020 mit vier Preisen ausgezeichnet wurde, darunter auch den für den besten Film, ist das Interesse am koreanischen Film weltweit groß. Time to Hunt (Sanyang-ui Sigan), einer von zwei geladenen koreanischen Filmen bei der Berlinale 2020, macht da keine Ausnahme. Bei der Pressevorführung einen Tag vor der offiziellen Premiere standen die Journalisten schon 30 Minuten vor Beginn Schlange, und bei der Pressekonferenz kamen viele Fragen zu den jüngsten Angriffen des US-amerikanischen Präsidenten Trump auf Parasite

Dystopische Vision

Time to Hunt spielt im Korea der nahen Zukunft. Aufgrund einer Wirtschaftskrise verhandelt die Regierung wieder mit dem Internationalen Währungsfonds, aus Protest gegen Umstrukturierungen befinden sich die Arbeiter*innen im Streik, und die jungen Menschen in den Städten haben schon lange jede Hoffnung verloren. Jun-seok (Lee Je-hoon), der gerade aus dem Knast in die Ruinen der Stadt entlassen wurde, träumt von einem neuen Leben auf einer kleinen Insel im türkisblauen Meer. Mit seinen Freunden Jang-ho (Ahn Jae-hong), Ki-hoon (Choi Woo-shik) und Sang-su (Park Jeong-min) heckt er einen riskanten Coup aus. Zunächst läuft alles wie geplant, doch schon bald sind sie auf der Flucht vor einem mysteriösen Verfolger (Park Hae-soo) – was dann passiert, beschert den Zuschauer*innen ein großes Maß an Spannung und zieht sie in den Bann.
 
In seinem Debütfilm Bleak Night beschrieb Regisseur Yoon Sung-hyun auf einfühlsame Weise die Gefühlsverwirrungen von Teenagern und wurde dafür von Kritik und Zuschauern gefeiert. Time to Hunt geht in genau die entgegengesetzte Richtung. Die Handlung ist einfach und direkt, die Spannung wollte der Regisseur vor allem durch die Situation erzeugen, in der sich seine Charaktere wiederfinden. „Bei diesem Werk habe ich den Fokus nicht auf die Handlung oder die Dialoge gelegt, sondern auf das, was nur Filme können: Musik und Sound, Bühnenbild, Schnittrhythmus, den Gesichtsausdruck der Schauspieler“, erklärt Yoon Sung-hyun.

Rätselhafter Verfolger

Als Ki-hoon und Jang-ho zu Beginn des Films Jun-seok aus dem Gefängnis abholen, wird die Ansicht der dystopischen Stadtlandschaft mit Hip-Hop-Musik unterlegt. Die daraus entstehende Synergie bringt die Gefühlswelt der vernachlässigten jungen Menschen auf faszinierende Weise zum Ausdruck. Im Zusammenhang mit dem Filmsound müssen auch die Pistolenschüsse erwähnt werden. Sie sind so eindrucksvoll und realistisch, dass sich Menschen mit schwächeren Nerven oder Herzproblemen in Acht nehmen sollten.
 
Die Rolle des Antagonisten dominiert den Film ebenfalls auf eindrucksvolle Weise. Die Vergangenheit dieses Charakters, der geistig einem Psychopathen und körperlich einem Roboter oder Gott gleicht, wird jedoch kaum thematisiert. Nur die unzähligen Narben und Tätowierungen auf dem muskulösen Körper, die in einer Duschszene kurz zu sehen sind, sowie die abgeschnittenen Ohren, die in der Wohnung an der Wand hängen, lassen sein bisheriges Leben erahnen. Die Verzweiflung der jungen Männer, die ohne den Grund zu wissen, von ihm gejagt werden und um ihr Leben fürchten müssen, fühlt sich leer an. Der Spannung des Films, der die Sinne so stark herausfordert, kann man sich aber dennoch nicht entziehen.
 

Top