Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Berlinale Bloggers 2021
Where is home, mum?

“The Seed”, director Mia Maariel Meyer, with Hanno Koffler
“The Seed”, director Mia Maariel Meyer, with Hanno Koffler | Photo (detail) © kurhaus productions

From the Black Forest to Hong Kong: Perspektive Deutsches Kino, the section for debut films, looks beyond the horizon to take in the great wide world.

By Philipp Bühler

It may well be the most candid look at the human rights protests in Hong Kong: from her hotel window, Anke gazes down at the throngs below and hears their shouts only as distant murmurs, for her thoughts are elsewhere. The pensioner has flown all the way from the Black Forest to this embattled metropolis to see her son. But he hasn’t showed his face and might well have very different problems of his own. Anke gets to talking with the locals and gradually comes to feel a spiritual connection to the place. And she comes to see her yearning as the expression of a greater human desire. This is, at any rate, one way of viewing Jonas Bak's debut film Wood and Water, in which the director cast his mother in the leading role. He is the absent son who causes his mother so much pain, but succeeds in capturing that pain in poignant atmospheric images with the aid of some remarkable camera work.

Across borders

Closeness and distance in a globalized world are one theme of the “Perspektive Deutsches Kino” section at this year's Berlinale, which once again asks: How do you define German film? In When a Farm Goes Aflame, Jide Tom Akinleminu documents a gripping Danish-Nigerian love story, the story of his parents. The filmmaker grew up in both countries, but did his training in filmmaking in Germany. So did Yana Ugrekhelidze, who, in the documentary Instructions for Survival, explores the plight of trans people in her native Georgia.

No salvation

Mia Maariel Meyer's feature film Die Saat (The Seed) is a very German film about a very global problem called capitalism. Whilst working on a building site, an ambitious tiler with a precarious family life has to give up on his hopes of a promotion. With his usual dogged tenacity, the renowned actor Hanno Koffler works his way through a Ken Loach plot, at the end of which everything lies in ruins. Only Jesus Egon Christus, a feature film about a drug rehab clinic run by evangelicals, is even more moving. It owes its heavily documentary feel to the use of an authentic amateur cast who move in no less clearly stylized milieus – you can tell that the directors, brothers David and Saša Vajda, studied philosophy. Paul Arámbula, who is obviously troubled himself, turns in a fabulous performance as Egon, a psychotic misfit with a messianic complex. Was he just the wrong patient for an otherwise viable solution? This is a gripping, challenging film about spiritual anguish, religion as a substitute drug and the unappeasable yearning for salvation.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Berlinale-Blogger*innen 2021
Wo ist Zuhause, Mama?

„Die Saat”, Regie Mia Maariel Meyer, mit Hanno Koffler
„Die Saat”, Regie Mia Maariel Meyer, mit Hanno Koffler | Foto (Detail): © kurhaus productions

Zwischen Schwarzwald und Hongkong: Die Nachwuchssektion Perspektive Deutsches Kino blickt hinaus in alle Welt.

Von Philipp Bühler

Vielleicht ist das der ehrlichste Blick auf die Menschenrechtsproteste in Hongkong: Aus einem Hotelfenster schaut Anke hinunter auf die wandernden Massen, hört die Rufe nur als fernes Murmeln, ist mit den Gedanken woanders. Aus dem Schwarzwald ist die Rentnerin in die umkämpfte Metropole gekommen, um ihren Sohn zu besuchen. Doch der lässt sich nicht blicken, hat womöglich ganz andere Probleme. Über Gespräche mit Einheimischen knüpft sie schließlich doch eine spirituelle Verbindung zu diesem Ort, erkennt ihre Sehnsucht als Ausdruck eines größeren menschlichen Begehrens. So jedenfalls lässt sich Jonas Baks Debüt Wood and Water betrachten, das der Regisseur mit seiner Mutter in der Hauptrolle besetzt hat. Er ist der abwesende Sohn im Film, der Schmerz verursacht, aber diesen mithilfe einer bemerkenswerten Kamera in atmosphärisch berührende Bilder zu fassen versteht.

Über Grenzen

Distanz und Nähe in einer globalisierten Welt sind ein Thema der diesjährigen Berlinale-Sektion „Perspektive Deutsches Kino”, die einmal mehr die Frage stellt: Was ist eigentlich deutscher Film? In When a Farm Goes Aflame dokumentiert Jide Tom Akinleminu eine spannende dänisch-nigerianische Liebesgeschichte, die Geschichte seiner Eltern. In beiden Herkunftsländern ist der Filmemacher aufgewachsen, doch seine Ausbildung erhielt er in Deutschland, ebenso wie Yana Ugrekhelidze, die in ihrem Dokumentarfilm Instructions for Survival die Situation Transidentitärer in ihrer Heimat Georgien beleuchtet.

Keine Erlösung

Ein sehr deutscher Film zu einem globalen Problem namens Kapitalismus ist Mia Maariel Meyers Spielfilm Die Saat. Auf einer Baustelle muss ein ambitionierter Fliesenleger mit prekärem Familienleben die Hoffnung auf eine Beförderung begraben. Gewohnt stur arbeitet sich der bekannte Schauspieler Hanno Koffler durch einen Ken-Loach-Plot, an dessen Ende alles in Scherben liegt. Noch berührender gerät nur Jesus Egon Christus, ein Spielfilm über eine Drogenentzugsklinik unter evangelikaler Leitung. Die stark dokumentarische Anmutung verdankt sich der Arbeit mit authentisch gecasteten Laiendarstellern, die sich allerdings in ebenso deutlich stilisierten Settings bewegen – man merkt, dass die Regie-Brüder David und Saša Vajda Philosophie studiert haben. Der offensichtlich selbst betroffene Paul Arámbula liefert eine fabelhafte Leistung als psychotischer Sonderling Egon, der sich im Glauben verrennt. War er nur der falsche Patient für eine mögliche Lösung? Ein herausfordernder, packender Film über seelische Qualen, Religion als Ersatzdroge und die unstillbare Sehnsucht nach Erlösung.

Top