Children of the world

Kinder der Welt ©Prix-Jeunesse

The film compilation "Children of the World" gives children from a refugee background an opportunity to encounter other cultures without language barriers.

The PRIX JEUNESSE foundation, in collaboration with Bayerischer Rundfunk, organises a bi-annual children's TV festival to select excellent television productions for child and adolescent audiences. A special PRIX JEUNESSE suitcase holds the best programmes of the last festival. This suitcase is an effective training tool that carries the festival's creative and challenging atmosphere worldwide. The Goethe-Institut is a close partner in organising and hosting suitcase and training workshops for children’s TV programme professionals and experts all over the world.

Video wird geladen

The idea for a special suitcase for migrant children originated during the migrant crisis in 2015. The “Children of the World” suitcase compiled by PRIX JEUNESSE with support from Goethe-Institut contains short quality programmes from many different countries.

How to rent a film
The films are largely without dialogue and are suitable for young audiences worldwide. The suitcase is available through the PRIX JEUNESSE foundation as well as through Goethe-Institut. Organisations or initiatives working with child refugees can borrow the suitcase free of charge for up to six weeks.

The aim of the project
The project “Children of the World” is also intended as an educational experience. While the films reflect different cultures from all over the world, the cinematic experience should be enhanced by supplementary activities. Short explanatory videos in Dari, Arabic, Kurdish, Tigrinya and German encourage active participation.

Kinder der Welt

Kinder der Welt ©Prix-Jeunesse

Mithilfe der Fernsehfilmauswahl „Kinder der Welt“ können Kinder mit Fluchthintergrund ohne Sprachbarriere Kulturen begegnen.

Die Stiftung PRIX JEUNESSE organisiert alle zwei Jahre gemeinsam mit dem Bayerischen Rundfunk das gleichnamige Kinderfernsehfestival. Im Anschluss an dieses Festival, welches herausragende Fernsehproduktionen für Kinder und Jugendliche prämiert, werden „TV-Koffer“ mit einer Auswahl der besten Beiträge zusammengestellt. In Vorführungen und Workshops für Kinderfernsehexpertinnen und Kinderfernsehexperten kommen diese Koffer dann zum Einsatz. Das Goethe-Institut ist hier Partner bei der Durchführung vor Ort.

Video wird geladen

2015 entstand im Kontext der Flüchtlingskrise die Idee eines speziellen TV-Koffers für Kinder mit Fluchthintergrund. Der vom PRIX JEUNESSE hergestellte und vom Goethe-Institut unterstützte "Kinder der Welt"-Filmkoffer für Kinder mit Fluchthintergrund enthält qualitativ hochwertige, kurze Filmbeiträge aus verschiedenen Ländern.

Ausleihprozedere
Die Filme sind weltweit einsetzbar, funktionieren zum größten Teil ohne Worte und sind bei der Stiftung PRIX JEUNESSE und auch über das Goethe-Institut ausleihbar. Organisationen oder Initiativen, die mit Kindern mit Fluchthintergrund arbeiten, können sich den Koffer kostenfrei für die Dauer von sechs Wochen ausleihen.

Filme schauen - Kultur erleben
Das Projekt „Kinder der Welt“ verfolgt einen medienpädagogischen Ansatz. Kinder und Jugendliche können durch das Projekt ihren eigenen sowie Kulturen aus aller Welt filmisch begegnen. Ziel ist, dass die Kinder die Filme nicht nur passiv anschauen. Stattdessen soll die Film-Erfahrung durch begleitende Aktivitäten vertieft werden. Dabei können kurze Erklärvideos in den Sprachen Dari, Arabisch, Kurdisch, Tigrinya sowie Deutsch helfen.